solutions_barbados

Hi David:

I noticed that only Hartley Henry’s clever and impressive redefinition of Solutions Barbados was carried in today’s nation, and not my rebuttal. I am asking you to allow us to respond.

Solutions Barbados is very concerned with all of the principal problems that hinder Barbados’ and therefore, every resident’s development. We have defined workable solutions to these problems and published them on 1st July 2016 on SolutionsBarbados.com for public discussion and improvement. They encompass: governance, regulations, criminal justice, procurement, education, transportation, health, welfare, business development, taxation, agriculture, and national infrastructure. All of these comprise Barbados’ economy.

With workable solutions in hand, we then invited the other political parties to implement them. Being aware that both parties have not implemented similar solutions despite 15 years of my active lobbying, we also invited persons to consider running in the next general elections in order to implement the necessary structural changes to the economy.

We recognize that in 1991, the NDP had a superior message and more accomplished candidates, and the time was ideal – since they were the formal opposition during a recession. Yet they could not convince the electorate that they were more capable then a party with less opposition members.

The Caribbean has been run by single professionals and former employees who have, by any reasonable measure, generally mismanaged the public services and their national economies. The problem appears to be one of individual preparation. They were simply not properly prepared to manage, and therefore, not capable of managing a national economy.

We are convinced that employers, who risk starting a business and employing others, is a good preparatory path. However, they need to demonstrate that they can improve their product and expand their business through increased employment. They also need to have survived an economic down-turn by choosing reduced profits in order to maintain their employees. Therefore, we set the standard at 10 employees for a decade, or thereabout.

Given that most people are employees, we understand that they would rightly feel uncomfortable if their only experience of an employer is someone who was more focused on increasing profit rather than on improving the product. Please note that an employer includes: engineers (like myself), doctors, lawyers, contractors, merchants, hair dressers, landscapers, barbers, and every other professional and non-professional who took the risk of starting their own business and employing others. We just happen to believe that such a path better prepares an individual to implement the published solutions.

If someone can identify a better preparation path, then please provide it.

Best regards,
Grenville Phillips II
Founder, Solutions Barbados

140 responses to “Grenville Phillips II Founder of Solutions Barbados Responds to Feedback”

1. Hi AC:

On renewable energy, this needs to be an organic ‘bottom up’ solution. Government can facilitate this by providing every household with a small PV array that can power a cell phone. Once people see the immediate practical uses of this simple power source, they can add modular arrays as necessary to power their computers, TV etc.

PV arrays are to be duty free, and all components to manufacture a PV array will be duty free. This should facilitate people importing individual PV cells and hopefully starting an array manufacturing industry in Barbados. Ditto for small windmills and dynamos.

Best regards,
    Grenville

2. Huh??

3. @Grenville,
    The Auditor General can only have prosecutorial power over government departments. The necessary legislation would have to be drafted debated and passed in the house and the Senate. What types of sanctions would be required?
    How would you determine the extent of any bribe.? Do you expect mea clue types of responses?Don’t be so naive.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvin Cummins

You are such a Johnny come cockroach. Did he say he wants the auditor general to have legislative power to prosecute wrong-doing in the business (private) sector? Did you not read what the man wrote? He will extend the powers of the auditor general to go after public sector misappropriation practices. Then it is obvious that if those practices show up discrepancies in the public and business sector arrangement then the information can be passed to the relevant authorities to undertake an investigation. Stop trying to prove you are a knowledge guru, idiot. Seem to have twisted notion that you are here to educate. Stuuuuupse.

5. @ Grenville
    A word to the wise…
    Moses was a strong and intelligent leader, but he needed Aaron because he tended to talk a lotta shiite….
    Bushie recommends Caswell “Aaron” Franklyn who has already PUBLICLY volunteered to assist Solutions Barbados in any way that he can.

6. @ Vincent
    What exactly makes you or the Lady think that Froon and Company are interested in “curing corruption”…?
    Why do you think they joined the ‘political class’ in the first place…?

7. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea March 4, 2016 at 10:04 AM #

I agree with you that it is not in the interest of the political class to address the matter of “curing corruption”.

My point was that it is a valid goal to aim for and must be kept in the public domain with the intention to force the agenda.

8. Excellent point Vincent, but then linking it to the ‘Republic’ nonsense is a red herring….and is just what the political class intends for us bowls to do…
    Whereas, in fact, just what David (BU) is doing is the best legitimate means of ‘curing corruption’ …. along with the ‘bulldozer’ that is Naked Departure… like it or not…

The Republic thing is just a distraction aimed at getting us to discuss that shiite-nonsense instead of CAHILL, CLICO and the embarrassing closeness between the political class and the REALLY big crooks in the society.
    We would do well to ignore the republic distraction …and let us dig into some more “public underground audits” such as the one done at CE by BU..

Do you REALLY think that the public sector people responsible for the ongoing thieving reported by the Auditor General are nameless?

Look at international sport…
    The IOC, Cycling, FIFA, …even Tennis have been caught stealing on massive scales….
    Do you REALLY think that local auditor’s reports for sport (where some 12 Million dollars per year in lottery money goes)…can be shared with the public?

Do you REALLY think that the financial arrangements between doctors private business and their QEH business could stand the light of public scrutiny…?

Do you think that there would be ANY lawyers left …if they were forced to account tomorrow for all their client fees…?

9. Glenville,

We visited your site last year shortly after you launched it. Since then, not much has changed. Where do you stand on the hot topics? Are you out there in the trenches meeting with the electorate, or running for office behind a desk? Why should the voting public care about you and your team? Speaking of which, who else is with you? The S.B. lists only yourself as a candidate, why isn’t your picture up on the website? Politics is about people, there is no face to your lengthy yet impressive bio!

Maybe you should engage the services of H.H. and read a copy of The Prince (a man like H.H. must have a copy close to hand!).

Good luck, Sir!

SS.

10. David says:
    JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.
    sss, I joined the discussion. Your opinion don’t mean one frumpy to me. And I know my opinions are felt the same way by you, so what. I don’t try to impress anyone. I give my opinion. If no one read it or commented wouldn’t matter to me. I would still give my opinion.

11. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea March 4, 2016 at 1:16 PM #

We are funilly enough on the same wavelength……wonders never cease.

12. The Bush guy is very a practical and sensible man. The only time I think he is wrong is when he is on the same wavelength as Chad10k-1

13. Cuh dear Vincent, nothing funny about it. Even AC has once taken a correct position….
    …. you are bound to be right occasionally….and on the same wavelength as Bushie 🙂

14. LOL @ TheGazer
    ….perhaps you are really concerned that Bushie may be also correct in the Chad10K-1 area…. but with Mrs Gazer looking over your shoulder ….and with the regular weekend treat at stake….. you have probably decided to sacrifice bushie in favour of your carnal cravings…

….Good call.

15. Wille D learned something in Canada. Save the QEH!!!!

https://www.princessmargaretlotto.com/main.php

https://www.heartandstrokelottery.ca/

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvin Cummins

Of course, your opinions matter to me. It shows me the lengths at which a string puppet and wannabe self-proclaimed delusions of grandeur person would do to get some recognition. Alvi, the moment I found out that you were a pretensive two face hypocrite, I no longer was interested in what you wrote, I just read it because to get an understand how paling cock you are. You see Alvi, you cannot bring any objectivity in your views. You are too political to have any meaningful discourse that would allow persons on here to take you seriously. There are times when some of what you wrote speak to an Alvin Cummins that once had principles and morals, but that is a seldom occurrence that occurs when you do a little self-introspection and realize how far from Mount Olympus you have fallen. If you read your contributions the majority are just onesided.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

I just love the read you and few others writings. What you stated is so true of this administration. The PM believes that he can work the same psychologically over the heads of bajans that resulted in a favourable outcome for him and his party. What he does not know is that he has succeeded in alienating more bajan than ever before. Thus, his attempts in the next two years to fool the public that he had their best interest at heart would not overshadow the shite that he did to bajans in the previous years. He will lose his seat and I guarantee that the only legacy he is going to go out with is a legacy of scorn and discredit.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Well folks read all about it…..we now know the reason why no anti-corruption legislation is needed as we are squeaky clean according to the AG.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/05/not-here-3/

19. pieter pieper Avatar

It is patently clear that this government will not consider INTEGRITY,TRANSPARENCY,ACCOUNTABILITY AND FREEDOM OF INFORMATION LEGISLATION now or at anytime in the future ! It will be interesting to hear the position of the BLP ( and Solutions Barbados and any would-be third party) on this matter ! (Should we ask Philip Nicholls if there is bribery,corruption,nepotism, and outright thievery …serious crimes and misdemeanours in high places,from top to bottom,in Barbados ?) ! God help us !

20. There is no need for anti corruption legislation. The existing laws need to be enforced.

21. @Hants March 5, 2016 at 1:39 PM “There is no need for anti corruption legislation. The existing laws need to be enforced.”

I second this.

22. FOI and Integrity Legislation? If this is all we can regurgitate after 8 years, the politicicians right to “fool” us. Small wonder then that Solutions’ alternative energy policy is to give each household a small pv array and in the long term manufacture pv arrays. #alicesinwonderland

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

” We will not pursue any new contentious issue that is not published on our web-site (SolutionsBarbados.com) without getting a new mandate from the electorate.”
    This is going to prove difficult when it comes to election time. A political party must surely be able to state what its position is on whatever the electorate thinks is an issue.
    If same sex marriage becomes a hot topic, it is not credible to say that Solutions will not have a view on it until it has been voted in. Indeed, the opposite should be the case. Voters decide who to vote for on the basis of what a party’s policy is.
    Absence of a view means the party is not being honest with the electorate and will never have a mandate from them on that issue.
    By the way – why isn’t same sex marriage a “bottom up solution” like renewable energy?

24. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

One cannot enter the political arena as anything other than as a politician,one cannot change the rules of politics and as a politician one has to think and answer on the stump.

One can only govern through an election of politicians or a dictatorship.

One has to go on the stump and convince the masses that your way is the one to follow and your way must come from listening and interacting with the masses,not by telling them what is good for them.

25. question what is Phillips message and vision for the country outside that of having a govt occupied by the Donald trump retards

26. @ac”govt occupied by the Donald trump retards”.

I think you mean’t DLP retards. You see Donald is worth $ 4.5 billion. What’s Barbados net worth under the Fundel Stuarts DLP………?

27. @Solutions Barbados

You, and your supporters need to burn shoe leather by hitting the streets with your proposals. That means passing out common sense fliers, soliciting ideas, and money. Going door to door, getting media attention. Pointing out that the ruling party programs, and failed policy has pushed the country to the brink of bankruptcy……….

28. if Greenville govt policies are as piss poor as his election policies the country would not have much to look forward too

Some bloggers on BU has tried to solicit some kind of a response from Greenvile regarding some nagging problem. there have been no answer from Greenvile except for the occasional filtered reply hoping to suffice

29. @AC
    …based on your 12:30 AM Grenville would seem to be using Fundel Froon as a role model…
    It may be asking a bit much of you, but can you think a little bit before posting crap and putting your DLP paymasters in such a bad light…?

What do you want Grenville to do? …address a bunch of tourists at his mansion?

30. bush shite good mawning maybe u should think about your response before you write , are you saying Greenville start out of the box is a replicate of “Froon then if what you stated is true his mission to form a third party becomes void and does not represent change the people are looking for .
    Maybe he should use his energy in forming a base upon which his “policies” would be energized and become mostly transparent and maybe even popular and acceptable amongst the populist
    As usual bushhite would become the vanguard of dissent always first and foremost ready to bushwack and reviewed opposing opinion
    have a good day ole boar

31. ….just trying to help you to keep the side job of DLP pimp and yardfowl AC… thats all… 🙂

By the way – yuh better pay taxes on that money the DLP paying you on the side ….cause Caswell will surely audit your ass as soon as BUP takes over bout here…. LOL ha ha ha

32. Listen bush shit you have made some bold faced accusations which are lies /Can you show proof or evidence of what you stated?
    IMHO you are treading on sandy ground and if not careful you might find yourself buried from head to toe

33. LOL @ AC
    The day that you…or anyone that you know… could ‘bury’ one of BBE’s boys – such as Bushie, can NEVER EVER come….
    Luckily for you… Bushie prays for you – day and night, least one of Bushie’s angels get carried away and think that you may be serious ….and not just a blabbering idiot…. 🙂

34. Hi Such Salt et al:

There are benefits to be derived from presenting our candidates at this time. However, in the current political environment, I can confirm that the personal cost is very high. It is better for Barbados if the candidates maintained their businesses for as long as possible while Solutions Barbados tries to change the vile political trench where reputations can be destroyed, businesses bankrupted, families torn apart, and their relatives and close friends threatened.

You need to understand that we are not members of the ‘political class’ that accuse themselves of manifest corruption while they are in opposition, but appear blind to what was obvious to them when it is their turn to form the government. The part of the ‘class’ in opposition then makes the predictable accusations while waiting for their turn at the wheel – to which they have convinced themselves that they are entitled as members of this class. Woe to any who appear to threaten this entitlement. Dreaded woe to any who propose to effectively address corruption.

Solutions Barbados plans to gradually change this vile political environment to a place where people can offer themselves as candidates without fear of victimization. Further, if voters choose another candidate, then our candidates can return to their businesses without shame and with their reputations unblemished. We do not need more martyrs.

Let me digress for a moment. You may, with much justification, deem this an unattainable dream given the current filthy state of the political trench where the ‘cut and thrust’ of reputations appears obligatory for members of this ‘class’. Well, I do have a dream, and I have been to the mountain top and have visioned what a properly managed Barbados can become – although, like MLK, I may not get there with you.

For 50 years we have been manipulated into turning against each-other. Give us some time to expose this manipulation and clean up this vile trench so that our candidates are not unnecessarily harmed.

Best regards,
    Grenville

35. Hi St George et al:

We are focusing on the main problems hindering Barbados’ development. We are not seeking a mandate on same-sex marriage, legalizing marijuana, becoming a republic etc. Therefore, we will not be legislating any changes in such controversial matters where we have not specifically requested a mandate.

Best regards,
    Grenville

36. @Solutions Barbados Glad to see you finally speaking out Mr Phillips

37. F*ckin’ tremendous issues here. I am very glad to look your article. Thank you so much and i am taking a look forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

38. Your writing style reminds me of my roomate back in Kansas. I would like to say magnificent blog! it is like you wrote the book on it or something.

39. If you can, write me an email and we can chat because I have an idea you will like. I bet seasoned WordPress professionals would agree with you.