water-dripThe following comment posted by BU commenter Are-we-there-yet in response to another commenter Crusoe.

Crusoe;

Yuh certain dat there is now a prohibition on FILLING tanks in excess of 400 litres (roughly 100 gallons) from the mains?

How are they going to enforce that?

Ensure that every household with a larger capacity tank install some type of system that would shut off when the water level reaches a height equivalent to a volume of 400 litres?

Are such systems available for existing larger capacity tanks or will they rely on the householders to shut off the water manually when it reaches the prescribed level?

If so how will they ensure that householders are obeying the drought restriction regulations? Use the Police? Use the SSA officers? Use Min of Health personnel? Use BWA personnel?

Do they know all of the houses that have tanks with greater capacity than 400 litres?

Will they ask householders with existing larger tanks (most people, as 450 gallon tanks seem to be the most popular ones) to replace them with 100 gallon tanks?

Will the prohibition be all over the Island? Or will those areas in St Thomas, St Andrew, etc. which only get intermittent supply of water from the mains be allowed to pump more than the 400 litres of water while the rest of the island will be subject to the prohibition?

In such areas a more relevant measure might be limiting the amount of water to be supplied by tanker to households with tanks but without water to 400 litres at any one time to ensure that such water is provided to everyone in an even handed manner.

The rationing of water is a good thing and all Barbadians should play their part and one can understand the need to limit the water being held in tanks. But what appears to be being mandated here needs a lot of refinement to be workable and enforceable in the short term but could be developed to be part of a workable long term strategy where all households would be allowed to fill potable water tanks to a limit of x litres per household member. Thus a 2 member household might have a limit of x litres and a 4 member household one of 2x litres.

I wonder if the current strategy has taken into consideration the relatively high water use by washing machines and water toilets as well as showers and if the given 400 litre figure takes these into account?

Something seems awry in what has been reported so far. Perhaps tomorrow’s paper might give some better indication of what is in store for us.

127 responses to “Water Rationing from March 1, 2016”

1. @Alvin

And you expect the BWA to implement what you have suggested?

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

AC;

Wow!

It wasn’t Crusoe that was harping on the prohibition of filling of Overhead tanks.

The prohibition on filling of overhead tanks over 800 litres is actually unnecessary in the case of such tanks connected to BWA mains as they are automatically refilled as water is being used. THE RESTRICTION SHOULD BE ON THE USAGE OF THE WATER not on the filling of such tanks which is invisible to people outside the household and almost impossible to monitor unless the BWA employs an army of water inspectors.

Requiring people to set up a macgyver system to comply with an inadequately worked out law is unhelpful and is unlikely to be taken up.

Adoption of Bushtea’s suggestion of using historical vs, current monthly meter data to calculate monetary penalties would be much more even handed and workable.

Colour coding of pipes used for water for different purposes and of different levels of purity makes sense.

3. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Just saw your post above.

Sorry to post more on this. It seems like belabouring a simple point and perhaps it is.

But my overweening point is that the prohibitions, even though their objective is a good and necessary one, are inadequately thought out and are unlikely to be as effective as they should be because they CANNOT be adequately policed.

My point is also that the Bushtea solution is workable but that partisan political considerations will ensure that it will not be implemented and that actually if the BLP and DLP could come together on this that the Island will benefit significantly on the effect such a system could have on reducing wastage of water over an extended period in and outside of drought situations.

4. @Are-we-there-yet

Agree with you.

5. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Perhaps BWA needs to revisit this minimum charge clause, which in effect penalises home owners for not using enough water. Should there not be an incentive rather than a penalty for under usage ? We have heard stories of some people running a water hose all night to some banana trees just to get their monies worth from the Minimum Charge. People will continue to use, or waste, water with the notion that they are not anywhere near their minimum charge yet.

6. @Look;
    Do you really mean this? Don’t you really mean”Prosecute”?

7. https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/why-are-we-not-exporting-coconut-water/comment-page-2/#comments

You know too much Alvin Cummings, said it yourself on the Why Are We Not Exporting Coconut Water blog submitted by St. George’s Dragon 06/15/13 @ 5:52pm but just can’t save the Barbados ship from sinking, can’t do it. GOOD GRIEF CHARLIE BROWN!!!!

Barbados would need a lot more than coconut water to save it. At moment, it needs more than tourism.

https://youtu.be/TLUxpmxtXZk

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Colonel Buggy, re. your 2:16 pm post yesterday.

THought a bit about your suggestion which seems to be an excellent one.

Perhaps the BWA could develop a system that would vary the rates applied to individual domestic users (from their historical and current usage data) and derived from using one or more correction factors based on historical and current rainfall data, the breakeven revenue for BWA, the percentage of maximum volumes in the resevoirs, etc. etc.

This system would be very similar to the one used by Emera for arriving at the individual water bills of all electricity users in Barbados. The correction factors would encompass the various elements that would affect individual usage plus an additional correction for wastage or conservation in periods of drought.

I think it is doable but would have a very small likelihood of implementation by the political class even though it should result in transparent even handed rates across the whole spectrum of domestic users.

A similar system could be used to arrive at reasonable rates for commercial concerns.

9. @Alvin C
    I would also humbly propose that government build a series of reservoirs for non potable water, into which NON-POTABLE water from the sewage plants can be (COLOUR CODED)placed, and from which it can redrawn and trucked to assist in irrigation of fields, watering of cricket and recreational fields (cricket and polo etc.) trees, plants
    Non potable water (waste water effluent) is being used to irrigate plants, recreational fields, golf courses etc. and even some agricultural fields in Florida and California. Actually some plants do well with non- potable water due to the organic material and nutrients in the water. Go to Vegas? See how many Golf courses around that town? Anytime a visitor flushes a toilet in Vegas a golf course is impacted BTW the accepted colour for pipes transporting non potable water is purple.

Future trend? Toilet to tap but you already knew that since you live in Toronto and the sewage treatment plants discharge its waste water into Lake Ontario and the City draws its drinking water supply from Lake Ontario, however what they are proposing in California is more direct.

http://www.cnbc.com/2015/10/22/la-considers-1-billion-toilet-to-tap-water-program.html

10. Barbados is surrounded by water. If Barbados became a “desert” water would still be available for

” DESALINATION AND PURIFICATION”.

11. @ Sargeant
    “…..since you live in Toronto and the sewage treatment plants discharge its waste water into Lake Ontario and the City draws its drinking water supply from Lake Ontario,…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Thank you for clearing up THAT mystery…
    Many on BU had been stumped at the level of shiite coming from De Ingrunt Word, Alvin, and certain other bloggers who are from that particular neck of the woods….

Vincent probably have his bottled and shipped in….. 🙂

Where are you located again Sarge….?

12. @ Bush Tea,

A lot of us Torontonians have been drinking bottle water for years.

13. LOL @ Hants
    …..and you feel that they bypass Lake Ontario to fill those bottles…?
    You may just be paying more for the same shiite water Hantsie boy…..

Come home Boss-
    the worse you can get here is some ‘Mary J’ residue from the Belle…. ha ha ha

14. Barbados has been misled by General Electric and Williams into investing in a desal plant. Now GE has admitted publicly that there are cheaper sources of potable water available.

15. @Bush Tea

Keep fooling yuhself about that pristine water supply yuh got down there, yuh know yuh live on an island made up of limestone and at least 90 percent of the homes that have water toilets empty into wells that are dug till they meet a “suck”, when the water enters a “suck” where does it end up?

Yuh think there is a special aquifer for you down there that is not contaminated by ground water runoff?

Look fuhget I wrote the above, just keep dem scales over your eyes. =))

16. Man Sarge…. tek it easy nuh!!
    Bushie had long diagnosed the source of the brass bowlery in Barbados …and you are probably spot on…
    What had eluded the bushman so far, is how to explain DIW, your good self ….and ESPECIALLY Alvin. ha ha ha
    Hants is easy to explain – since, despite his shiite talk about ‘bottled water’, we all know that he hydrates on brandy….and other bottled stuff of that ilk..
    LOL … it is YEARS now that Bushie has been drinking rain water….from BBE’s desal plant…..and none from Bizzy’s …which sources its water from too damn near to the Mental for Bushie’s liking…. ha ha ha

17. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/11/06/clean-up-ordered/

The United States is a large country has pollution as does other large countries but other countries do not have the five Great Lakes – the largest known body of fresh water located in northern North America (United States/Canada): Lake Superior, Lake Huron, Lake Michigan, Lake Ontario and Lake Erie. Excluding Lake Michigan, all are shared by both the United States and Canada. Only Lake Michigan is completely within the United States. Like it or not, the United States is large, powerful and rich in natural resources. Like it or not, Barbados is on its knees and NASTY.

18. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Sargeant March 5, 2016 at 11:55 PM #
    You are quite right, Sarge, and this was ably demonstrated ,as I’ve mentioned previously, in the then Water Works Department abandoning twin-wells at Harrison’s Gully, St Thomas

19. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea March 5, 2016 at 10:40 PM #

Bottled water from the Belle or Bowmanston…..good business to get into……BBEs rainwater full of sulphur here.

20. What about the massive freshwater lens in the limestone aquifers under the island?

21. @watchman14

To what empirical source do you refer to support?

22. Millions of tax payers $ were paid to foreign consultants to develop reports on the prolific capacity of the freshwater lens. The BWA and John Mwansa have to know about these reports. Call and ask them. If they deny it, I have copies of these reports.

23. @waterman14

Why don’t you save us time and email BU the reports? Government departments are not known for sharing information.

24. David, I was totally ignored by the BWA, particularly John Mwansa and Minister Estwick when I was offering my technical expertise to them for FREE several months ago. Now the water situation in the country is approaching a critical stage. These bastards at BWA must be exposed for concealing information from the tax payers. Mia Motley must check into this too.

25. I thought the reluctance of the government to share information only existed in China. From my recollection I think the freshwater lens studies were completed in Barbados under Owen Arthur’s watch.