Q18a Party to win next elections: When asked which party they think would win the next election, one in seven of the respondents (16%) felt the DLP would win, while a much larger group (46%) felt the BLP would win. There is however a sizeable group (36%) who did not say which party they felt would win. Those who felt the BLP would win were found well spread by sex, but higher among those in the 16-55 years age group, those with post primary education, and those who would support the BLP.

90 responses to “New Poll Gives BLP 46% and DLP 16% of the Respondents”

1. I have to print and go through the numbers, but please note that person saying they think “party A will win” does not necessarily mean the person will vote for A. It also appears these question was not asked of voters/likely voters but to the general population. Extrapolate at your own peril.

Heather raises some pertinent question related to sample size, sampling methodology. etc….

2. seriously !it got to be silly season

3. @ Lawson
    you need a white guy that doesn’t need more money
    Bushie sees that you are practicing up on your oxymorons….

4. That’s right George Carlin you saw thru the bull shale, its all MASTURBATION either mental or physical and the people ALWAYS get the gov’t they deserve. They’re just too educated and intelligent to see the BIG PICTURE. One of the greatest and most effective strategies of the controllers was to remove the chains from the wrists and ankles and place them securely on the MINDS.

5. @ Artax. ….the longest walk begins with one step. You don’t necessarily have to win the race (51%) the first time out. If inroads are made into some of these so called safe seats, perhaps we can realize the beginning of the turn around. Just saying.

6. Bushy when I think of Barbados and oxymoron’s the ones that come to mind are loyal opposition, unbiased opinion or one that we see a lot there negative growth. I know it would seem odd having a white guy in charge, many questions could arise like ,how could you bribe yourself or is he asking me ,telling me, ordering me or is it in my job description who cares lets march.

7. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

We are not asking the right questions……….AGAIN!

Why would a person run for public office?

For sincere reasons – to give back to society what he has been given (success).
    For corrupt reasons – access to dishonest money.

For the purpose of this discussion I will ignore No.2, we need only look at the current cabinet to understand the effects.

To achieve No.1 a candidate must have already realised his life’s ambitions and be on the threshold of Maslow’s last step in the ‘Hierarchy of Needs’ self actualisation, having achieved the previous steps of safety (financial security), sense of belonging (socially) and self esteem (personal or professional achievement).

To be clear, there was a reason the House of Lords was filled with successful men, whether self-made or granted by the King.

There was a reason our House of Commons was filled with successful men in times past, whether self-made or educated professionals.

When Donville Inniss says his civil service income is his only income, shouldn’t that set off alarms?

We can’t have people entering parliament looking to make money or a name for themselves, it must be a pre-requisite.

Therein lies our problem. Those people are not going to get into pissing matches on public podiums with the rest of our political scum.

8. Agreed Lawson … those are good oxymorons…
    But why does it seem ‘odd’ having a white guy in charge?
    Who the hell do you think we now have in charge…? Froon?

Being ‘in charge’ does not have to mean sitting in the driving seat… you ever heart of remote control? Who do you think put that fella on the Central Bank board?
    Who do you REALLY think dish out those one-sided contracts to Bizzy and Maloney?
    …an educated, independent, thinking, black leader of a post-slavery country?

LOL …what ‘questions would arise’ are you talking about? Such questions have been answered for 400 years straight… check out our plantation history…

@ Frustrated B
    You are correct that successful experience is THE most critical factor for selecting credible leadership.
    HOWEVER…
    If that ‘success’ has been attained in a clearly illegal and fraudulent manner (by bribery, underhand deals, and inside trading) then such ‘self made’ persons surely do not qualify to lead a fair and balanced society….
    You therefore need to qualify what you mean by “realising life’s ambitions”…

With the clear and unmistakable exception of one of Bushie’s top men in Barbados (Lowdown Hoad) there are VERY few of the persons to whom Lawson refers ..who ever seem to be contented with their material successes….

Everyone seems to want to be a multi-Zillionaire….. like in the good old plantation days…

9. Bushy what are you saying froon is an oreo ???? Some PRETTY UGLY things have happened in the past and it is an OPEN SECRET that white people may be in charge but that’s OLD NEWS, GOOD GRIEF cant we get over that….. how are those oxymoron’s

10. To be honest Lawson, you getting ‘good as shiite’ at this oxymoron business 🙂

11. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

What I don’t understand is why the people of Barbados did not just pelt DEM out instead of waiting until 2018- too passive uh?

12. Bush Tea February 24, 2016 at 9:25 AM #

“Agreed Lawson … those are good oxymorons…”

Jester Ince, Reggie Hunte and Dennis Kellman are also examples of good “Ossie Moore-rons.”

Hmmmmmm……. sorry, I meant “those are good oxymorons…”

13. So wait who needed a polls to tell we this?…DLP doing BARE SHOITE and going NOWHERE FAST……they lost DEM way 7 years ago and up to today they don’t know their thumbs from dey DxCKS. Ac cud really hush……Dey gine try again wid the $$$ but even dat ent gine WORK. NO WATER,NUFF TAXES..Nutting to help a fella..A FAT TAX even….BARE SHOITE DENNNNNnnnnnnn!!!!

14. David

BTW…….U ent got ah more amiable foto of FUMBLES doah? Is like a SCARY MOVIE all ova again….cud laud!

15. @Hitler Young February 23, 2016 at 5:46 PM “Candidate must be persons with track records of doing and honesty.

3) No persons who just like the attractiveness of parliament but have no interest in good governance

4) No hungry persons who are bribe-able

Finally, hang cocaine dealers and corrupt politicians by the balls from a pimpler tree!”

And while ya hanging, hang those people who say persons when people is a perfectly good word. You do know that people is the good and correct plural of person right? And hang those people too who say breakfast instead of the correct brek’fast. And those who say Thompson instead of Tom’son, and Thomas instead of Tom’as.

And hang those as well who call themselves Hitler anything

Lolll!!!

By the time we are done hanging we may only have two or three people left.

16. @Vincent Haynes February 23, 2016 at 9:41 AM “I just dont get it…a third party will be made up of our fellow bajans with the same predelictions as us.”

They planning to ask God to send down a few angels from the Kingdom of Heaen. God is a Bajan right? So I think that he will help we out.

17. @Onions

He is what he is, a Black man from St. Phillip…lol.

18. hi ole onions ac not worried ,,not even breking a sweat bout this brek neck poll have gotten used to the BLP mixing apples wid oranges ,bolting out of the stable gate then getting tired and fatigue and dropping dead half way down the stretch ,,,,,as i see it the poll reminiscent deja vue all ova again

19. Simple Simon February 25, 2016 at 3:33 PM #

If you had read the PMs letter you would have seen that he already has,he sent his angels,which is why I asked BT to explain what de france BBE did to Bim creating so many BBs here……so far BT has been unable or too shame to explain it all.

20. Simple Simon February 25, 2016 at 3:33 PM #
    @Vincent Haynes February 23, 2016 at 9:41 AM “I just dont get it…a third party will be made up of our fellow bajans with the same predelictions as us.”

………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Why do we keep talking about a Third Party when since post Errol Barrow, we have had one which, sink or swim, rain or snow, controls the majority of politicians in our Houses of Parliament .
    Ask Bizzy, Cow, Maloney, Bejerkham et al. The Invisible Conservative Party is alive and kicking, thanks to Bizzy’s P.I.G’s

21. Can someone tell me what type of housing project was to be at the villages of Coverley? Was it low income or medium income or what? Also what was the cost of the leasing agremment per year.

22. @ Colonel Buggy February 26, 2016 at 2:59 PM,

……meanwhile in Zimbabwe, Mugabe kicks a white family off their land!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3465233/Black-British-doctor-seized-farm-white-Zimbabwean-couple-personally-knows-Mugabe-family-extraordinary-picture-reveals.html

23. @ Heather,

figure it out.

http://villagesatcoverley.net/

24. Let me help a little more Heather.

http://villagesatcoverley.net/residences/the-homes

25. Exclaimer so typical I wonder how long it is before the the crops are dead, the land goes into disuse because they don’t know what to do with it, the farm is scavenged in a free for all then cry when the only people that want to invest there are crooks and charletons….sound familiar

26. I see that the BWA is announcing a prohibition on the use of water for certain uses, shockingly, includes household water tanks greater than 400 litres which is smaller than many have. That makes no sense.

Household water tanks do not change the amount of USAGE, they only remove the inconvenience of having water off at odd times like early in the morning when one is trying to shower for work, which has happened to me.

Are Barbadians now to pay for the inept water management of the BWA and successive Governments?

Indeed, while Barbadians suffer for lack of water, will the sale of multi millions of gallons weekly of potable water to cruise ships continue?

I guess so, as it is $$$$$?

Why does the BWA not build more reservoirs?? Why?

I guess a plant to burn rubbish is more important.

Ha.

What a joke.

27. @Crusoe

Please clarify:

The thousands of water tanks Barbadians were encouraged to installed must now be removed?

28. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Hitler Young February 23, 2016 at 5:50 PM #

Oh a third party gine cut much votes and will attract the 34 % undecided as well as the disenchanted BDLP yardfowls. Thus George Belle and Peter Wickham using psychological tactics to get into the masses minds that third partys cannot exist.

De DLP was a third party formed by Errol Walton Barrow!. need I say more.@@@@@@

As you can see , the other 2 parties have their goats out there trapping the people minds in this, Vote for us or not at all , they still win,
    People sick of the media in BIM and on line doing their dirty work ,, the CUP will hit them hard ,, this is why you are seeing Blog WARS and the people are waking up,

Once people know there are others out there running it will cut on on their 46 % ans 16% add just 2% off each party to 38% will leave CUP with 42% or more , the 2 other parties will have to join in real as they have already done behind closed doors.

All of Barbados media can go to hell , as you can can see they are all fake , We hope they have a clear title for CBC and the Nation for we hold the Plantation deeds, those fraudsters will have to find land to set up with COW,

29. David,

No, the Nation reports that the BWA is putting a prohibition on various uses of piped water, including the filling of water tanks in excess of 400 litres.

I guess that this prohibition is temporary, until Barbados actually gets rain. But the point is, water tanks per se do not cause more water to be used or prevent misuse. They prevent the inconvenience of water outages from impacting regular usage.

The use or misuse is a totally different matter.

One really has to wonder what people come up with these so-called solutions.

I really wonder where Barbados is going.

Not only that, but with the Government removing incentive in tax savings to install solar electricity generation, who really is thinking about the future.

Green energy?

LIP SERVICE!

30. David, PS , how are they going to Police this? By using the new ‘law’ to come into your home at will?

Some VERY strange things happening now.

Be careful and respectful of your freedoms, protect them or you will lose them.

31. Crusoe February 26, 2016 at 9:15 PM #

Some VERY strange things happening now.
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    No stranger than reducing the sugar output to 7000 tons.
    No stranger than knocking down Andrews Sugar factory to be replaced by a Super Factory to produce 7000 tons of sugar, if we are lucky, annually.
    No stranger than planting fields of wild river tamarind when Barbados is now almost cover from north to south in wild river tamarind.
    No stranger than restricting the capacity of domestic water tanks, while running a 10 inch water main almost directly from the pumping station to lands at Lears now being turned into an industrial estate by COW.
    No stranger than building a super sugar factory while, allowing much of the agricultural land which formerly produced canes to be turned into industrial and residential estates.
    No stranger than building an SSA Office block next door to the garbage dump, when at present we have one secondary school in Roebuck Street abandoned, and many other schools and government buildings being affected with serious environmental issues.
    No stranger than promoting alternative energy, while at the same time penalising those who are producing it.
    No stranger than paying high prices for petrol and diesel at the pump, while the price of oil has been reduced to its lowest in many years.
    No stranger than addressing and regaling frequent visitors from overseas, but have no time for locals.
    No stranger than bringing Koreans to carry out a transport survey at SSA.

32. Heather February 26, 2016 at 6:32 PM #
    Well, Heather, the real Minister of Housing, Mark Maloney, has indicated tonight on CBC News that he has started a project at Coverly ,west, building some bigger and flashier units, as requested by many Bajans prospective homeowners . Meanwhile the original boxes , are rapidly being snapped up.

33. Not to worry too much. As soon as Mark Maloney has obtained the mould to manufacture 500 gallon Hard Rock concrete tanks for household use, the two water rats will have no more to say.

34. lawson February 26, 2016 at 7:21 PM #
    We are almost there. But some enterprising farmers have found an alternative crop. It is so important, like the vineyards of France, that the Barbados Government ,now has the security forces reaping this crop, in abundance ,almost weekly.

35. Crusoe;

Yuh certain dat there is now a prohibition on FILLING tanks in excess of 400 litres (roughly 100 gallons) from the mains?

How are they going to enforce that?

Ensure that every household with a larger capacity tank install some type of system that would shut off when the water level reaches a height equivalent to a volume of 400 litres?

Are such systems available for existing larger capacity tanks or will they rely on the householders to shut off the water manually when it reaches the prescribed level?

If so how will they ensure that householders are obeying the drought restriction regulations? Use the Police? Use the SSA officers? Use Min of Health personnel? Use BWA personnel?

Do they know all of the houses that have tanks with greater capacity than 400 litres?

Will they ask householders with existing larger tanks (most people, as 450 gallon tanks seem to be the most popular ones) to replace them with 100 gallon tanks?

Will the prohibition be all over the Island? Or will those areas in St Thomas, St Andrew, etc. which only get intermittent supply of water from the mains be allowed to pump more than the 400 litres of water while the rest of the island will be subject to the prohibition?

In such areas a more relevant measure might be limiting the amount of water to be supplied by tanker to households with tanks but without water to 400 litres at any one time to ensure that such water is provided to everyone in an even handed manner.

The rationing of water is a good thing and all Barbadians should play their part and one can understand the need to limit the water being held in tanks. But what appears to be being mandated here needs a lot of refinement to be workable and enforceable in the short term but could be developed to be part of a workable long term strategy where all households would be allowed to fill potable water tanks to a limit of x litres per household member. Thus a 2 member household might have a limit of x litres and a 4 member household one of 2x litres.

I wonder if the current strategy has taken into consideration the relatively high water use by washing machines and water toilets as well as showers and if the given 400 litre figure takes these into account?

Something seems awry in what has been reported so far. Perhaps tomorrow’s paper might give some better indication of what is in store for us.

36. […] The following comment posted by BU commenter Are-we-there-yet in response to another commenter Crusoe. […]

37. Col you half to start a civil war so you can get off that rock Start a fight and we will send you a free tent

38. canvas coverleys

39. Right out the box for Jamaica new PM is a meeting with IMF

40. Next time I hope the poll tell us that Barbados is done GREAT and no more on the verge of eminent collapse from lack of sufficient FOREX, Maybe all DEM ostriches that like BURYING they heads in the SANDS will find SOLACE in such POLLS that more agreeable to DEM.