Submitted by islandgal
Garbage at Accra Beach

Dear Mr  PM,

You were speaking about the garbage situation in Barbados.You claim that it is not the government that produces waste, it is us the householders, I can agree with that to some extent. You claim when you drive around the island you see large piles of garbage,  I am so glad you can now see what we have been seeing for many years. You say that it is because householders want to  quickly get rid of their garbage that they put it out even though they know full well when the truck will be passing. Mr PM you keep blaming the citizens of this country for the piles of garbage along the roadsides. How the hell can we put our garbage on schedule?  Have you any idea that we the householders haven’t a clue when the garbage truck will pass? They no longer come on the scheduled days and many times they fail to come for many weeks.  They will arrive at any time including very late at night sometimes around midnight.

Why don’t you ask the Minister in charge of the Sanitation and Environment why this is so? But your Ministers have gone ahead and secretly signed an agreement with an unknown company with no track record to build  a Waste to Energy plant without any thought of how it will affect this island in the long run. I know we have a very poor track record of implementing and maintaining standards on this island. We can’t even run the sewage plant efficiently, so how the hell can we run a Waste to Energy plant? Have you all tried other measures for a cleaner environment, such as banning Styrofoam? Taxing the fast food places? Making it mandatory that all school children be responsible for cleaning up the litter around the school they attend?  The private schools are doing it successfully. How about making drug offenders and those caught littering do community service by cleaning up the island?

Your government made a money grab last year calling it a Solid Waste Tax now you all are looking for ways to further tax us for garbage your government is incapable of collecting.  Your government has yet to fine anyone for illegal dumping and citizens for littering. Your Finance Minister is looking at ways to tax Waste Haulers as if that will stop illegal dumping. Can’t you all for once look at the bigger picture? By introducing the tipping fee you have made it almost impossible for citizens like myself to hire someone to take away my garden trash. I do recycle and compost but the larger pieces I used to burn like tree branches, coconut branches and coconut shells to use the ashes in my garden. Now I can’t burn garden thrash but the farmer next door to me can spray his deadly chemicals into my airspace, my home, contaminating my environment and endangering my health as well as my household.

Is there anyone in your government capable of seeing the bigger picture?

111 responses to “Dear Prime Minister, Good to Hear You Talking Garbage”

1. That white boy got balls.

” I don’t know who may be hiding from the goodly minister, but I certainly am not. Lowe, my picture is on this page.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77816/black-white-lowe-tries-trashing-critics#sthash.DjDwKxT7.dpuf

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bushman….stop insulting Island…lol

Miller….Scalia thought he was hitler too and he dropped dead yesterday…lol

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is easy….Lowelife threw down the gauntlet on nation news, if he insists on creating poison for the island’s air, just shut him in the gassification machine for a test run. I can’t for the life of me understand how adults and leaders could be so hard headed, but they want young people to not only listen to them and obey them, but also follow them like sheep.

4. “why must you read what I post”

I don’t yuh sick loose bowel fart!

5. Happy Valentines Hants sweetie pie!

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…good going Island,

7. Take a look at this article. The Caribbean region is at the point of implosion. I see no hope and no future for her citizens. Imagine you are a tourist visiting the region for the first time. Wow what a let down! What a disappointment!

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/09/trinidad-too-much-trash/

How bad can things get in that region?

8. We are of the opinion that because we have grown accustomed to the garbage strewn about around us,and therefore do not see it, that it is also invisible to the tourist. Imagine we have a prime minister who invites frequent visitors to this island ,to his official residence every month, and yet is blind to the unsightly garbage that these same visitor have to encounter daily.

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Colonel Buggy March 10, 2016 at 4:26 PM #

I am convinced that our standards have changed and not for the better,the politicos will only react to the will of the people and that is lacking…..we seem to like it so.

10. Go ahead Trinidad, little Trinidad is behind you . Barbados has gone to the Trinis, lock ,stock and Garbage.
    http://i.imgur.com/1mtXEVp.jpg?2

11. Good news coming out from Guyana. Will Barbados adopt the same policy?

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/10/guyana-all-styrofoam-imports-banned-from-april/