Submitted By William Skinner
L-R): Edison Alleyne (Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment), Margot Harvey (Chairman, Sanitation Service Authority), Dr Denis Lowe (Minister of Environment), Clare Cowan (CEO of Cahill Energy), Christopher Sinckler (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs), Denis Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development), Senator Darcy Boyce (Minister of Energy in the Office of the Prime Minister)

The political class has failed to reform an education system that is now basically destroying the lives of a major portion of our only resource, our people. I am sometimes amazed, that those who for the better part of four decades, propped up the system, are now crying crocodile tears. The simple truth is that in our society, the educated elite, relishes the social and economic elevation the so-called “good” education guarantees them. Their legacy is to pass on the same to their children and grand children. It is from within this process, that the great and powerful political managerial class has emerged.

Those who attempt to institute change find themselves ostracized or are forced to join the elites even if they are never fully accepted. In some cases, those who benefitted from the elitist system, never make their mark and usually become bitter and despondent because they have failed to read the game. They are to be found unleashing their venom on the same political class they aspired to but failed to find any success.

Hence we have a society that cannot come to terms with its strengths or its challenges and is constantly falling short of simple national goals, such as the collection of garbage and the proper delivery of water to its citizens. While the weather can be blamed for some of our current water shortages, the simple truth is that all the engineers and scientists we have produced at the University of the West Indies, have failed to solve any of our problems. They being the crème de crème of the educational system are by far the greatest evidence that it has failed.

If indeed we accept that the society is falling apart, we must be intellectually honest and own up to how and why it is falling apart. Somewhere in some primary school, we are right now producing citizens who will spend the next thirteen years or so of their lives, receiving instruction that will guarantee them unemployment. In that same class room, we are producing the next litter of Napoleon’s pups that will destroy those who will be at the mercy of the elites. We will parade Napoleon’s litter for all to see and they will then continue the slaughter. This is the society we now have.

That is why more and more citizens will refuse to pick up litter that is not theirs. We have seen what happens to the Boxers of this world. Nobody wants to be other peoples’ corned beef. That system no longer works and we can continue to fool ourselves forever but that Barbados where we were taught to only take instruction and orders is quickly disappearing. And that is what the political managerial class and the non productive educated elites fear most. Soon those who are rabid apologists for the political managerial class will also see the largesse disappearing and they too will learn not to depend on fleecing the society. In other words, we all have a date with destiny. In order to have the society that will benefit all of our citizens, we must first have an educational system that embraces all of our children. Otherwise things will continue to just fall apart.

145 responses to “An Ineffective Political Class”

1. so donna why don/t you kiss my a,,,ss again if it would make you feel better

2. If this is the level of discussion the blog will be closed if it continues.

On 4 February 2016 at 23:38, Barbados Underground wrote:

3. Would’nt be caught dead around that stinking mess! LOL

4. @ David
    But AC WANTS you to close the blog
    It is all about her inept political class…

Bushie moves that instead, you put her in detention (ban) for two weeks and make her write 50 lines….
    “I will wash my dirty mouth with soap, as that may be the only way to clean my brass bowl.”

5. “Heather February 4, 2016 at 2:32 PM #

@Balance, Barrow started an evolution. What the country needs is a revolution in politics in order to achieve changes in Barbados.”
    I agree with you. I have consistently stated on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness.

6. “Bush Tea February 4, 2016 at 9:55 PM #

But AC WANTS you to close the blog
    It is all about her inept political class…

Bushie moves that instead, you put her in detention (ban) for two weeks and make her write 50 lines…”.

To be fair Bushie; justice would only be served if both are censored not just one

7. The Education system in Bim is very effective because it has achieved its intended results i.e CONSUMERS. Now had the OverClass in Bim really wanted a thinking,productive populace they would have allowed their subjects to EDUCE i.e to draw from within rather than to indoctrinate them. The structure is designed with built in biases wherein a student is praised for learning by memorization while the student who has a natural affinity as a builder of society, a maker of fine linens or as an agricultural engineer with an aversion to being force-fed another man’s way of learning/thinking is cast aside as ‘not-bright.’ And Voici…….A Greedy, Corrupt System where bling is king irregardless of how its obtained. This system is brought to by the Prussians where you can memorize and get a BS …Bull Shit degree, MS…More shit or better yet a Phd..Piled High in Deep Shit and what has Barbados done with such accolades but sit back and become a monkey see monkey do society where every law,code,rule is copied from the US, UK or Canada and put into practice. In this way you don’t even have to sit and think about what is good and beneficial for the citizens, just copy,cut and paste. As a result you don’t produce THINKERS just Literate Monkeys.

The educated system as practiced today esp. in the Western world is about keeping Avarice, Corruption and many other vices foremost in our minds

There was a time on this planet when knowledge was not limited to 3 or 4 degrees, knowledge was 360*.

Nothing will change for the better until the society is led by WISE MEN & WOMEN not ‘educated’ persons. When the society gets back to practicing UNIVERSAL law then will we see a change for the better.

So till such time STOP HATING THE PLAYERS & HATE THE GAME..because that’s all it is a game. Even the Players at that local level are manipulated.

8. @ David,
    I agree with you . Only recently I said that a part of maturity is to agree to disagree with passion and respect. BU is a wonderful organ and it allows followers to protect their identity. Sometimes this is abused. What it does is rob the BU of some followers who only read. There is no excuse. And then we ask: How the youth get so. c

9. @William

It is also disrespectful to persons like you who take the time to put your opinions together to share only to be diminished by silly exchanges.

10. I do not wonder about these politicians in Bim. They are like the judges. Again and again the CCJ criticizes systemic delays in Barbados court system (see latest news).

Consequences? Non. The judicial politicians just go to the next cocktail-party and relax.

11. good mawning to all but reasoning logical and commonsense dictates the necessity to defend oneself when confronted by obnoxious and unwarranted attacks ,
    Therefore i have no reason to apology to anyone who purposefully engaged in malicious and often degrading potshots on me via BU
    Those who are willing to give out should be willing to accept whatever comes there way.
    If the shoe fits wear it

12. Balance,

Censor me for pointing out what most of you point out daily? AC was boasting about the literacy rate, while herself not being numbered among the literate. She cuss me and I laughed. It was not a prolonged.

Where was the censorship when Lawson was taking potshots at me, my sexual habits and the sexual identity of my son?

I have been wanting to say this for a while. GP does have a point. Only certain people can say what they like bout here.

Hell, I don’t need this! You people are beginning to bore me, anyway!

13. @ Donna,

BU is like Kensington Oval. All kinds a people does be in de stands ( blogs ).

Anybody can say anything duh like.

Nuhbody ent get ban yet.

14. Have a watch of the following video, it might help some not to sweat the small stuff.

https://www.facebook.com/shankar.naidu/videos/10151464452687242/

15. “Hell, I don’t need this! You people are beginning to bore me, anyway!”
    Don’t get hot and sweaty muh love and lose your cool even 5the road to hell is paved with good intentions. I do enjoy reading your comments.

16. wait ac did not know that boasting was an illegal turn that warranted a verbal citation..sorry dunderhead but i missed your memo

17. You mean to say this topic was closed because of nonsense and you all have returned to the childish bickering? Why not be happy there is a forum for Barbadians and others to air their views about issues of the day? Why should posters on a blog who are largely anonymous get caught up with this BS? Some times the BU household questions why we bother to waste time to keep this forum going.Ungrateful JAs.

18. David, this forum is essential! Sometimes people will challenge and if one stands up to them eventually we reach a more mature level of mutual respect.

19. Thanks for your support MoneyBrain

It gets so frustrating sometimes given the time we (BU household) have to put in to maintain the blog and then we have those who trivialize the whole affair. It is analogous to how Bajans have disengaged from the system of democracy we practice. If some knew the time we spent fighting with lawyers et al, answering TOC breaches from WordPress who want to close the blog or force censorship.

20. All residents of St Joseph,St Andrew and the other northern parishes who have been ‘dissed” over the current water problems , are invited to a meeting, being addressed by the Prime Minister , to air their concerns.

VENUE OF MEETING. New York, New York, US of A

I tell ya!!

21. David February 7, 2016 at 10:44 AM #

I too echo the sentiments of MB

Colonel Buggy February 7, 2016 at 1:17 PM #

You are so correct,inorder to have an audience with the PM one has to travel to wherever he is speaking….I cannot recall the last time(if ever) he had a Q&A session in BIM where he outlined the path he is charting for the country and wanted feedback……so simple but so difficult for him to do.

22. @Vincent

You don’t agree Stuart’s style is appropriate for the times then?

23. David February 7, 2016 at 1:39 PM #

I agree with Wickham,he has won against the odds so his style must be appropiate for the times.

David…if you asked for credit card info to access BU, the bickering will stop…lol

25. @ David,
    Is it not true that Stuart is the only PM who actually allows his ministers to get in and out of hot water on their own? We have become so accustomed to the “maximum leader” approach, that we may be underestimating Stuart’s leadership style. If we examine all the issues with which this current cabinet has been involved, we note that Stuart does not ever play to the tune of the Nation newspaper or VOB. This in my humble estimation frustrates them to no end. Perhaps we are yearning for another Barrow, Adams(Tom) or Arthur, who greeted us on the front pages every morning as if the ministers could not speak for themselves.

26. @William

There is enough evidence of ineptitude whether Cahill or AX to merit the intervention of the office of PM but the reality is Stuart does not have the political stock to act.

27. “David February 8, 2016 at 4:52 AM #

@William

There is enough evidence of ineptitude whether Cahill or AX to merit the intervention of the office of PM but the reality is Stuart does not have the political stock to act”

But can Mr Stuart be trusted to do anything that would inspire confidence in respect of Cahill when published on BU was a document pertaining to Cahill with his signature attached when all along he was giving the impression that he was in the dark and nothing could be done without his knowledge

28. @balance

Cahill is not good example you are right.

29. David February 8, 2016 at 4:52 AM #

We like it so…….he has been reelected and more than likely for a 3rd term as well.

30. The Hon. Freundel Stuart, Prime Minister of Barbados addresses the Barbadian in New York.

Linda Watson-Lorde's photo.

31. David

I tried to paste a picture of him addressing the gathering in the above but it did not work.

32. @Vincent

Fixed it for you.

33. David February 8, 2016 at 9:11 AM #

Thanks……you will note from the post I shared that he has a following in NYC.

34. @Vincent

Both major political parties feed active associations in New York. Note that Barbadians who emigrated did so with their inbreed yardfowlism. To

35. David wrote “Barbadians who emigrated did so with their inbred yardfowlism.”

Not all David.

36. “Vincent Haynes February 8, 2016 at 8:34 AM #

David February 8, 2016 at 4:52 AM #

We like it so…….he has been reelected and more than likely for a 3rd term as well.”

More than likely aided and abetted by a sleeping opposition. The Jamaican Winnie of down to brasstacks fame makes more noise on their behalf than all of them combined.

37. Who pays for this trip? The taxpayers , or another non – leper.

38. Vincent Haynes February 8, 2016 at 8:34 AM #

We like it so…….he has been reelected and more than likely for a 3rd term as well.

…………………………………………………………………….
    In the land of the blind……etc etc.

39. David

Could you do a link to page 17 of “Barbados Today” entitled “Feb 16,Republic day,yes” by Michael Rudder as it encapsulates the title of this blog.

40. Minister Ronald Jones is proposing to plant 40 acres of Breadfruit trees somewhere in the parish of St Lucy.
    Like Captain Bligh who was commissioned to bring breadfruit tree plants from the South Pacific as a ready meal for the slave population in the West Indies, are these northern breadfruit trees intended to feed the explosion of ‘get more children” of which Mr Jones has advised Barbadian women ?
    Now you can understand where the 40 Acres and a Mule expression came from.

41. According to information received, another lawyer who should be featured in “Lawyers in the News” is Michael Lashley. I was reliably informed that a few years ago a man who worked in Africa a number of years for the United Nations accumulated approximately $300,000 in savings and sent it to Lashley. He said one of the reasons he saved money was to pay for his children’s university education.

Unfortunately, Lashley spent the man’s money, which resulted in a civil suit being filed against him. Lashley told the court he was broke and could only afford to pay the man $100 per month. It is my understanding that Lashley has about 13 other cases in court for misappropriation of clients’ funds.

A check of the court records should verify if what the man told me was true.

It is also alledged that one of Lashley’s niece won $50,000 from the “double draw” and gave it to him when he was Minister of Housing and Lands to secure a house for her. She said her uncle kept the money and “up till now” she aint get nuh house.

42. These problems with Lawyers and money are easy to solve:

1 Escrow Accounts must be instituted.

2 Legal fraternity must have insurance Compensatory Plan. Insurer will set conditions because they will not be eager to payout frequently.

3 Lawyers transgressing will be going to Dodds quickly and for long periods!

43. An ineffective political class?

Not so.

Stop complaining.

To feel better, watch this.

“We are as good as any people in any part of the world”

44. Interesting comment from PM Dr Harris of St.Kitts below…..in essence Bim is no longer a role model……this as we brag about 50 years of Independence and the PM of Bim above in NYC seeking diaspora investment….sad,sad,state of affairs.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77716/barbados-model