Sandals Butch Stewart

It has been brought to the attention of BU that Sandals Barbados has been training prospective employees for 10 weeks, 8 hours per day, 5 days a week WITHOUT paying them a stipend to pay bus fare or buy a sweet drink. BU understand they do get a free lunch! To rub salt in the wound there is no guarantee the prospective employees will be recruited when the training is completed.

The big question for the BU intelligentsia is whether this is legal under the laws of Barbados.

Sandals management personnel have been featured in the media this week preaching the successes of Sandals Barbados since the launch. Why must Barbadians always be made to lay prostrate before foreigners and taken advantage of.

177 responses to “Sandals Barbados Withhold Stipend”

1. were you one of the people on the course

2. No truer words were ever spoken by ac “I am confused”.

3. Wait i was of the understanding as stated in the article that the trainees were treated unfairly because Sandals fore go paying them after ten hours on a forty week schedule
    Also wait a minute what probation ?

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

The issues are for the last time – YOU ARE NOT TOLD UPFRONT THAT YOU WILL BE
    TRAINING.

Then what are the prospects told UPFRONT ?

4. OK GAZER You got pot shots use them wisely if not they might come back to bite you in the fat a,,sss,,now don,t be confused

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Retarded AC…..I rad I once and fully understood, are you trying to have it branded into you hard head…you wil suffer for enabling exploitatio of your own, remember, “unto the 3rd and 4th generation.”…ya’ll are evil.

6. So my head hard so what does that make yours …mushy ? Nincoompoop

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

January 31, 2016 – Annual model UN assembly begins Annual model UN assembly beginsThe … +++ January 30, 2016 – Not pointing any fingers, says AG Not pointing any fingers, says AGAt … +++ January 30, 2016 – Call for changes at Bridgetown Port Call for changes at Bridgetown Port … +++ January 30, 2016 – UPDATE – Elderly man identified UPDATE – Elderly man identifi … +++ January 30, 2016 – Employees given dream vacation in Barbados Employees given dream vacation in B … +++ January 30, 2016 – Elderly man found wandering Elderly man found wanderingPolice a … +++ January 30, 2016 – Debris washes ashore Bathsheba Debris washes ashore BathshebaThe m … +++ January 30, 2016 – Barcelona go top of La Liga Barcelona go top of La LigaLionel M … +++ January 30, 2016 – Sammy backs Windies to win T20 title Sammy backs Windies to win T20 titl … +++ webdesign
    Thorne says case against client prejudiced
    Added by Barbados Today on January 31, 2016.
    Saved under Region

Attorney Ralph Thorne QC has said he will make an application to the court for a mistrial in the case of the former premier of Turks and Caicos Islands, Michael Misick, following the publication of statements from the prosecution as well as a statement from Sandals Resorts International over the weekend.

According to Sandals Resort International, prosecutor Andrew Mitchell QC said in his opening statement on Tuesday, that payments were made to Misick by one or more Sandals-related companies.

Sandals has admitted that the payments were in fact made.

The company said the matter was discovered during an investigation by the US Department of Justice, and the company retained retired Federal judge, and partner in the Florida law firm Cole, Scott & Kissane Tom Scott to assist with the probe. A Washington DC forensic accounting firm was also engaged to conduct an in-depth accounting investigation into the matter.

“The results of the investigation and the forensic audit revealed that some US$1,650,000 had been paid to Prestigious Properties Limited, a real estate company in which Michael Misick, Phillip Misick and Washington Misick were the shareholders, and Chalmers Misick & Co., a firm of lawyers in the TCI. All those payments were made without the knowledge or consent of the principals of Sandals,” the statement said.

According to Sandals, the unauthorised payments were made by a senior executive and then Treasurer of Sandals who was subsequently dismissed from the company. Sandals also filed a lawsuit against him in the Bahamas to recover the funds.

“The damage done to the company by his actions was substantial. Not only had he betrayed the trust which the chairman and other directors had reposed in him but based on the level of his authority, the company was legally bound by his actions and this culminated in the company having to absorb a fine of US $12m imposed by the Turks & Caicos authorities.”

The international hotel chain maintains that the illicit payments might not have come to light were it not for the Auld inquiry which followed Misick’s removal from office, and the investigations by the Department of Justice.

MichaelXMisick
    Former TCI premier Michael Misick is on trial for corruption.

However in response to Sandals Thorne said he believes the statement “has been a consequence of the practice of the prosecution of issuing daily releases of its unproved opening statement through a website created by the prosecution itself”, a practice which he said he has expressed to the court was “improper and undue”.

He noted that it is clear that the publication of the prosecution’s opening statement to the Judge and its style, “have excited feelings of hostility and antipathy” towards his client.

“…On Thursday January 28, 2016 … Mr Misick was accosted with threats by an individual while he was leaving the court. Together with the prosecutor, we brought this incident to the attention of the Judge on the following morning.

“In addition, we now have a large corporate entity feeling obliged to issue a statement in relation to issues that pertain to contested evidence in the case,” Thorne stated, adding that it is a matter for the Judge if (he) will consider at the next sitting whether the issuance of this statement is contemptuous of the court and whether it is calculated to influence the proceedings.

Thorne said he is concerned that the statement from Sandals is “so highly prejudicial to his rights and to his presumption of innocence, that it defeats this opportunity for a fair trial”.

“It is my view that the prosecution’s daily publication of its highly charged opening statement and this statement have had the cumulative effect of scandalising my client, portraying him contemptuously and ultimately depriving him of the right to a fair trial that is guaranteed by the Constitution and by the Human Rights conventions.

“I acknowledge that a proper balance between fair trial and press freedom must be maintained and I offer no condemnation of the media that seek to inform the public.

“However, parties to a trial must not exploit the media to seek resolution or ventilate on matters that are properly only within the purview of the court at this time,” Thorne said.

According to him, the statements from the prosecution and Sandals are “capable of undermining the independence of the judiciary and the dignity and the process of trial”, and warned that the process should not be allowed to degenerate into the nature and spectacle of an inquisition.”

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lots of CYA…..but that too comes with a price….lol

9. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Ac so stupid it’s laughable!

10. Retribution-things that make me go hum! January 31, 2016 at 9:34 PM #

“Ac so stupid it’s laughable!”

More stupid than anyone could imagine. Those idiots presented a ruling made in a USA Supreme Court as evidence to support Sandals’ “apprenticeship system.”

Rather than trying to give uninformed opinions on EVERY article presented to BU for “discussion” and demonstrating how ignorant they are, perhaps they should take a break from this forum.

11. what a jack a,,ss response bro all u have to do is prove sandals is breaking law which you can/t all evidence supported bodes well to what sandals is doing is not against labour laws any where in the world
    acka.ss keep braying you got a multitude of herd following you in the same direction

as for you retribution if you are a trainee and does not like the terms and agreements which you signed go find another jpb …..doubt very much you would miss such a golden opportunity illiterate clown now see who is laughing

12. The BLP clowns are always talking shite bout privatization but can/t live with the rules and guidelines afforded to these companies ,,,,, NEXT

13. Where in any of my contributions did I mention Sandals was breaking any law? And are you suggesting that, in your opinion, although the hotel’s management may not be “breaking any laws” makes what they are doing RIGHT thing to do?

All I am saying is that you cannot apply USA labour laws to any labour situation in Barbados. Essentially, you are implying that if an employee had reason to believe his/her employer has violated their rights based on a USA labour laws and takes the employer to court, all they have to do is ignore Barbados’s labour laws and quote the section of the USA labour laws they believe was violated and they would win the case.

You are a jackass of multiple proportions and thine ignorance hath no boundaries.

ARE YOU NOT TIRED OF ME HIGHLIGHTING HOW STUPID YOU ARE?

Your only reason for defending this issue is because you also seek to defend the generous concessions given to Sandals.

Speaking of “clowns:”

If BU was a circus, the ACs would be known as the consortium of clowns;

If BU was parliament, they would be “clown prince” Dennis Kellman, John Boyce, David Estwick, Michael Lashley, Fruendel Stuart, Mara Thompson, James Paul, Stephen Lashley, Steve Blackett, Denis Lowe and Chris Sinckler.

If BU was the senate, the AC clown act would be up of “Jester” Ince, Patrick Todd, Maxine, Irene, Esther, Harry Husbands and Reggie Hunte.

Although BU is a serious forum, the AC’s constantly demonstrate to us the CLOWNS they truly are.

14. back to u retribution you probably never had a decent job in your life now the only decent one you got you want to knock the stuffing out before licking a friggin stick as for ac i can buy you hands down now cah you far frighten a,ss and pick some one yuh own size jack ass

15. @ Artaxerxes stuepse keep taking little stick to knock down big tree a hole just admit you are WRONG WRONG WRONG

16. Why do you bother with the back and forth with ac? She is clueless about this matter. BU did a Google of Patrick Lynch the Sandals Exec mentioned in the Turks case -is he the same Patrick Lynch who was a senior bank executive with the Bank of Credit and Commerce? If he is this is not good.

https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1291&dat=19881023&id=mUpUAAAAIBAJ&sjid=do0DAAAAIBAJ&pg=6861,6625448&hl=en

17. David you are hallucinating

18. “DURING THE INTERVIEW YOU ARE TOLD YOU ARE HIRED, WHEN YOU ARE IN -THE SITUATION CHANGES TO TRAINEE PAY/STIPEND OR IN SANDALS CASE NOTHING. YOU ARE NOT ISSUED WITH A CONTRACT –”

Ac sometimes I wonder if you have a penchant for opposing – what retribution is saying is true.

19. Bal….. What i am opposing is the contention that a hired trainee is expecting a stipend which is not a requirement by law

20. Also balance if you can bring facts or evidence that says differently i would retract my comments

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…I never thought it possible for anyone to look more stupid…take a break, ya giving DBLP and Barbados an even worse name…lol

22. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

@ac, where did you get in my comments that I am/was a trainee? Does your little pee brain know how small Barbados is? I said, and I quote, “that I have a friend” that was hired at another hotel under the same “SCAM”.

Unlike you and most Bajans, I am too intelligent to let anyone unfair me!!

I am of the opinion that you are lazy – you hate to READ, you hate to LISTEN and you hate to REASON!!

23. “spent three weeks working in various areas of hotel and restaurant operations”

That is am internship.

10 weeks , 8 hours a day is work.

24. Just like ac pee brain suspect that the so called friend is You

25. “PEE brain” LOL

26. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

“Do not give dogs what is holy, and do not throw your pearls before pigs, lest they trample them underfoot and turn to attack you. “People are so utterly hard and cynical that they will only trample your gospel words under their feet.”

27. You are not throwing pearls you are throwing slime. Most of what you post can be classified as hearsay. It is also interesting to note that your comments were influenced by second hand information which in virtue can be slanted to give a certain connotation .All in all what you have done is to give expressions based on ones person opinion and nothing of substantial proof to support anything you said ..highly emotive and predictable