by AfraRaymond
Noel Garcia, UDeCOTT chairman. Photo courtesy Trinidad Guardian

On 5 January 2016 the Business page of the Trinidad Express newspaper carried an article titled ‘Millions to be saved from rent’ in which the UDeCOTT Chairman, Noel Garcia, advised on the progress in completing the State-owned offices in Port of Spain. That was also the topic of last week’s Property Matters column, so this week I will be trying to reconcile the two sets of information and make some further points.

Read more of this post

31 responses to “Property Matters – State Offices – part 2”

1. Well Well & Consequences2I Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2I

Accountability. ..everybody doing dey own ting.

2. The fact that this kind of submission does not attract wide interest by the BU chatetri exposes a hypocrisy on our part.

3. Well Well & Consequences2I Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2I

What someone said to me is that numbness has set in. Bajans get a daily dose and steady diet of lack of responsibility, accountability and in your face corruption, because there are no systems in place to lock them up or authorities with the balls to take a stand and start an investigation…….maybe they commenters are really too numb to respond when it’s a sister Caricom country like Trinidad who has intergrity legislation in place and actually use it to penalize politicians who display unapologetic criminal intent.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/nyc-crime/businesswoman-pleads-guilty-1-3m-corruption-case-article-1.2497721

Infamy, when Caribbean politicians take their corrupt behavior everywhere.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

No david. What is exposes is as WW&C calls it a numbness, Each day, stories across the globe detail bribery and corruption at the highest levels of government and business. Nobody seems immune, and we are existing in a moral and ethical vacuum.
    Why get upset, everybody is experiencing it. The only idiots are those of us who live in a world where we think is wrong. Whether it is via awarding themselves huge stock options, or accepting monies from others to influence decisions beyond the normal criteria, face it, this is the norm. Few get arrested, even fewer go to trial, and fewer still get convicted.
    If you cannot make the money in business, go into politics. You may have a shorter career span, so make hay while the sun shines, but you still get a tidy pension. We already know from certain commissions of inquiry, the rot extends in most countries well beyond the leaders, through the entire organization, public or private.
    We like to point at the known culprits like russia, or china; but we in the west are not much better. We just do it differently, under the mistaken belief we are better,
    I have no idea how one changes the operating methods which have become norms. It takes a very strong and brave person.

6. @NorthernObserver

Maybe you are onto something. However those of us who are enlightened cannot surrender.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I think what really get people stunned is that these same corrupt politicians all jump on their soap opera boxes with microphone in hand on national television and with a straight face, still manage convince fools that they are the best thing that happened to any country and that the electorate will all die without their existence….and fools actually believe that nonsense, that is what stuns people.

Northern….it’s unfortunate that politicians do not go to prison in Barbados.

8. We,the collective have the power to change things,yet we allow ourselves to be lied too and robbed on a regular basis.We cannot blame the “them”,it is us who are fault.

How we change it,no one knows as we go around in crcles spinning top in mud.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now Beckles is cooking with gas…21st century needs 21st century methods instead of looking for billion dollar payouts for the slave trade.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/01/15/no-diaspora/

Maybe we should also be looking at corrupt politicians from a 21st century point of view, in trying to stop their determination to continue their destructive ways unabated.

10. @Well Well & Consequences January 15, 2016 at 9:20 AM #

More foolishness…..we are people of the Caribbean……we need to carve out a place for ourselves in this world with our own common agenda.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…ya can’t have it both ways, ya can’t be complaining

“Vincent Haynes January 15, 2016 at 9:08 AM #
    We,the collective have the power to change things,yet we allow ourselves to be lied too and robbed on a regular basis.We cannot blame the “them”,it is us who are fault.

How we change it,no one knows as we go around in crcles spinning top in mud.”

And then when others present a way forward, which by the way, you have not done, just saying “we need to carve out a place for ourselves in this world with our own common agenda” does not give any idea of a way forward….what are you carving and what’s your agenda.

Large countries need other large countries to lean on and help them with a way forward all the time. Small islands cannot do anything alone…so what are you proposing Vincent, give us your idea. And when you do, remember no man is an island. Trying to divorce yourself from Africa is not a plan.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

Enlightenment is but a mutual admiration society.
    http://www.queensjournal.ca/story/2016-01-11/news/former-premier-mcguinty-talks-about-political-change/
    Here is the former premier of Ontario, who after relocating construction to try and gain advantage during an election, resigned. The relocation cost taxpayers in excess of $1 billion. Nobody can find any wrongdoing, because all the relevant communication (e-mails) were destroyed. The potential blame has now been placed on his aides for destroying evidence. The day after he was cleared (others charged), he joined the Board of a large Quebec based General Contractor who is making advances in the Ontario market, Pomerleau. Prior to that he had a ‘part time’ job with PWC.
    Now he is writing a book, the prelude to his Speakers tour. And being glorified by one of Canada’s prime Universities by an invitation. Why not, he has done nothing wrong?
    His famous quote of the day
    “Reputation is just who you think I am. Character is who I really am … leaders put their character ahead their reputation,” McGuinty said.
    You need balls of steel, and he obviously has them.

13. VOB 6.30 am news today reported the minister of transport and works touting concrete roads and no doubt planning to tap on hard rock cement to do the work. Mark Smart picked up the same vibe and David Ellis provided the backing for the possible sleight of hand move to put 2018 funding in the kitty.Why else was not Freddie BroomeWebster’s idea accepted back in the 90’s when he tried to find usage for Arawak’s over supply.It seems as though the idea will be rammed down our throats.I thought hard rock which local mason’s complain takes a year and a day to harden,had an over inventory problem based on what is seen at the Port,hence the rescue plan.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Northern…I am sure he will screw up going forward, they always do…arrogance.

15. Where is the cost benefit to using hard rock cement? There people are taking us for fools.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/X7JXD

McGinty left a bigger mess than construction, there are still repercussions from the green energy scam.

It’s a worlwide epidemic of ginormous proportions, taxpayets are fedup. Of course they will now tell you local politicians have a free pass, since everyone is doing it.

17. @Hants

69 cents to the dollar?

Really!

18. @Well Well & Consequences January 15, 2016 at 2:45 PM #

When will you learn that change comes from a vision and as one aspires to that goal,ideas as to how to reach it will evolve.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sure Vincent… you are sitting there waiting for someone to have that vision so it can evolve, is that what you are telling yourself and trying to sell me. If your ancestors had done that, where would you be. Is that a wèst inďian thing, never heard of it. I know they got up and madè that change. You can continue sitting there wàiting for someone to have a vision…. Do you have à timèline on when your savior will get this vision. No wonder the politicians roll over ya’ll.
    .lol

20. @ David some analysts are predicting a 59 cent dollar. We have to hope that the Americans increase their spending on Canadian manufactured goods.

21. @ David, here in Toronto breadfruit and sweet potato now cheaper than broccoli and cauliflower.

Fruit and vegetables are very expensive because of the sinking Canadian dollar.

22. @Well Well & Consequences January 15, 2016 at 5:08 PM #

Chuckle….you really do lack the ability to comprehend what is written…..the vision has been set out by me ad nauseam…….its allright leave it alone.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent….so why is no one following your vision….I hope it’s only one beer you had…lol

Hants…I am not liking that one little bit. 59 cent loonie is pushing the envelope,. The only people will benefit are the ones with US bank accounts. Time to dial up the manufacturing. Importing is a bust. Exporting…way to go.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

There is nothing wrong with concrete roads, they exist all over the world. In cold climates because of expansion-contraction and the excessive salts placed in winter which can corrode the underlying steel rebar, they are more of a challenge. The USA is full of them.
    Yet with oil falling, asphalt should be competitive?
    Once the mixers can produce a consistent PSI concrete, with adequate slump and set time for the prevailing weather, it can work very well.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NorthernObserver January 15, 2016 at 8:16 PM
    “Once the mixers can produce a consistent PSI concrete, with adequate slump and set time for the prevailing weather, it can work very well.”

But what about the utilities whose mains and supply cables are underground and in the middle of the road? Unless these are placed at the sides of the road concrete would be a rather costly undertaking where maintenance is concerned. In addition the concrete roads would require improved drainage systems to ensure water is properly ‘directed’ to minimize flooding.
    Would you agree?

26. @Well Well & Consequences January 15, 2016 at 7:13 PM #

Comprehension again……wuhloss….because I have a vision,does not mean that anybody has to follow it………chuckle…….do not sprain your brain matter,its allright.

27. There must be a way to profit from a declining loonie.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@miller
    the machine for laying concrete roads has an adjustable camber setting, to ensure drainage vs slope/gradient.
    Now I’m LOL….cause I know bajans have frequently place underground utilities in the middle of the road. Do you know why? I don’t,
    Anyways, you dig up a road, it has to be repaired, regardless of the surface material. The sub grade will still be marl etc. On inclines, you need to slot the surface for grip, but this is a simple procedure.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent….you have this workable vision and keeping it all to yourself, knowing that some kinda something is needed in Barbados, because you are after all one of the people who recognizes this and is actually voicing that fact, now is the time to share that vision, or cease complaining….have you been mixing drinks, lol. I am sure you slept it off by now.

30. I am no engineer but common sense, which GP disputes as invalid in his book,common sense would dictate that the wheels of vehicles are spread,so that wear and tear and therefore damage to inventory is less likely if placed in the middle of the road.

31. @The Gazer
    There must be a way to profit from a declining loonie
    Let me know when you find out I’m all ears. I am a simple man but my diet is about to undergo a sea change, went to the Supermarket last week and had to do a double take when I saw the price of tomatoes and other fruits and vegetables, Almonds from COSTCO have doubled in price and the beat goes on…… but manufacturers are happy as they can now export more to the USA (see who is making a profit?).

I booked a trip a few months ago and got a good deal, but since my destination is the USA I have to spend some greenbacks there but I have adopted that Bajan philosophy (yuh can’t eat de money) 🙂