Submitted by Anthony Davis
David Estwick, Minister of Water Resources

THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS is fully aware of the water woes and is focussing on solutions. So says Minister of Industry Donville Inniss, who assured Barbadians that help was on the way, but warned against ‘dangerous thoughts’ of causing social unrest over the current  water woes. SATURDAY SUN dated January 2, 2016

Pray tell me, Mr. Inniss, are we still living in Barbados, or in North Korea, China, Russia, Saudi Arabia, etc.?

As far as I can recall Barbados is still a democratic country with the right to protest being enshrined in our Constitution. So what codswallop are you spewing just because some people are saying that those who have been living without water for a considerable time want to “loot and riot, or otherwise create panic” if they protest?

What is your agenda, Mr. Minister?

There was protest action in St. Joseph today, 02 January, 2016.  Was there “looting” or “rioting”, or did anyone create panic, Mr. Minister? The last time there was rioting in this country was 1937 – almost eight decades ago. As for the rigmarole of the populace using 95% of the water in the system, I call that nothing but a reason for hiking water rates again.

May I ask from where have you taken your facts?

In “Barbados – experience the Caribbean” published in 2007 there were 14 guest houses and 78 hotels listed. These include the whole gamut of hotels and guest houses. If we fast forward to 2015, some of the hotels would have ceased operation due to the so-called economic situation, but bigger so-called luxury hotels came on stream. Add to these hotels mentioned, the number of condominiums which have been allowed to be built, although they don’t hire many people and the much needed foreign exchange goes out of the island in most cases, and we get an idea of how much water the tourism industry uses.

How many millions of gallons of water would a hotel which has three golf courses, and a tennis court use per year, Mr. Minister, taking into into account also the number of rooms it has, the number of swimming pools it has, the number of bars it has, the number of restaurants it has, the number of Jacuzzis, etc. it has?

There are many hotels which have two or three swimming pools, the same number of bars, and the same number of restaurants – which, I suppose, need water morning, noon and night.

How about the number of rooms and the number of showers each hotel has?

Can one tell a tourist how long to stay under the shower, and how often he/she should take a shower?

Some will go swimming in the morning and take a shower after, and repeat this in the afternoon and the evening. They have paid for that up front, so not all of them will think of water conservation.

How much water do the gardeners use?

How much water does the private sector use?

How much water does Government use?

Minister Kellman is the first person who came up with such a ludicrous suggestion.

I didn’t go to UWI, but commonsense tells me that that could never be true – not for the numerous hotels, guest houses, condominiums etc. there are in Barbados.

Also, one must factor in the amount of water planes and ships take on when they visit Barbados – especially cruise ships which carry 3000 passengers and 1000 crew. Some hotels even have golf courses and tennis courts which must be watered. We must include stand-alone restaurants and bars, and Oistins Beer Gardens and St. Lawrence Gap – the place one says never sleeps.

You do the Math, and come and tell us the same cock and bull story after, and maybe, just maybe we will believe you!

Then again we won’t, because a cock and bull story remains just that, and we are not as dumb as you seem to think!

When I think of the amount of water wastage in the hotel industry, I would say that you mean that they are the ones which use the 95% of water.

Tourists even generate more waste than the populace of this country.

According to the Burnside Mangrove Pond Green Energy Complex & Beautification Programme Environmental Impact Assessment Outline review:

Waste generation is closely linked to population, though for Barbados tourism contributes a disproportionate amount of waste.A rule-of-thumb is that each tourist generates roughly three times the waste of a local person in the same period of time.

I assume that you have seen that EIA, seeing that you voted unanimously for the Cahill Energy project!

How much of our scarce water will Cahill Energy be using for free, only to pollute our country with its toxic fumes which it will be spewing out of its stack?

How much water will the solar plant to be built by the Del Mastro cousins use, Mr. Minister?

You say that that they are not excuses, but I see them as nothing else but!

Digging for facts is better mental exercise than jumping to conclusions“, Mr. Minister!

114 responses to “Water Woes Trending”

1. The Doc has another Johnny to look out for that will give him trouble. Johnny Ma Boy.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna….that’s the extent of the problem, politicians made a choice to be that way, how could you need the majority on the island so you can elevate yourself to a certain status and when you have achieved that goal, start acting as though it’s only a few got you there, so you will now only look out for 5% of the population, while totally ignoring that it’s 100% of the taxpayers, the same majority, who pay your salary, it’s elementary and simple commonsense.

Maybe that is why DBLP can’t see it….idiots.

3. Bush Tea January 14, 2016 at 8:03 AM #

IT IS WHY WE VOTED THEIR ASSES OUT OF OFFICE ..DESPITE THE FACT THAT THE ALTERNATIVES WERE KNOWN BRASS BOWL JACKASSES.

/……………………………………………………………………………………………………….//////////////////////////////////

Professor Brass Bowl who are the WE,, you never even bothered to vote the last election and now talking about “WE” you just like Mottley one big clump of brass bowlery talking shite about “we” fuh sure does not include you but for the Record WE had to response to that sleazy propaganda machine that the Blp machinery lead by Mia tried kicking up and down the street
    Heard Mia today sounding off about what the govt ought to do, fourteen years after the fact and when she is no longer office What a goof ball fuh real

4. Donna@4.42p
    Lovely spot ‘o humour in your observation.

5. The Watcher January 13, 2016 at 5:45 PM #

Stated:

“………. The disparity in this country that still allows specific social and ethnic groups to enjoy the spoils of the “fated” calf which by the way, THEY DID NOT WORK FOR OR EARN, will come to an end and sooner than we think.
    I do not believe that the BWA in its infinite wisdom thought this sort of backlash would ensue when they conjured up this stupid plan to disadvantage poorer folks to their own enrichment.
    The world and by extension, Barbados is changing.

Take heed!”

I have argued over a long period that irrespective of which party governs Barbados the results remain the same: they are, profoundly, anti-negro. And have a particular loathing at those citizens who can be found at the lower end of the social scale.

I am interested in seeing how this contrived water crisis develops.

This government has shown her true worth by exposing her hands in her crude attempt to deny access to potable water to her negro masses. There is no way that this government could control those negro masses should they rebel.

This government will fall if the masses arrives at the conclusion that their government is anti-democratic and colludes with a number of players in order to marginalise and suppress them.

God help Barbados when her people awakes from their slumber!

6. Gabriel,

If yuh doan laugh yuh would cry.

7. If the human body is some 65 to 70% water, then from the looks of the Minister , he is fast becoming a real water resource.

8. The Desalination plant, the BWA’s General Manager tells us, will be able to produce a by-product, salt. This should come in handy for rubbing in the wounds of the St Joseph people and others.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy January 16, 2016 at 12:04 PM
    “The Desalination plant, the BWA’s General Manager tells us, will be able to produce a by-product, salt…”

So why should you believe that quack for a doctor?
    Does the existing Desalination plant produce salt and if so what is done with it? Does Barbados still import salt?

Is the goodly quack referring to the proposed two desalination plants which presumably will be using real salty sea water? Now what would Barbados do with all that by-product called salt@ Colonel Buggy January 16, 2016 at 12:04 PM
    “The Desalination plant, the BWA’s General Manager tells us, will be able to produce a by-product, salt…”

So why should you believe that quack for a doctor?
    Does the existing Desalination plant produce salt and if so what is done with it? Does Barbados still import salt?
    Is the goodly quack referring to the proposed two desalination plants which presumably will be using real salty sea water? Now what would Barbados do with all that by-product called salt? Use it to preserve the meat of the millions of monkeys overrunning the abandoned sugarcane fields for export to West Africa as “foreign” bush meat reared in the pristine reserves of Barbados.
    Now that is what one would call Niche Marketing in reverse where the Diaspora of former slaves is exporting to real the mother country.

10. I propose another idea.Let us export sea salt,the preferred alternative and supposed to be safe for human consumption.Isnt it ironic?From exporting sugar to exporting salt,thanks to a native born African!

11. @David, are you listening to the water discussion on Brasstack Sundays?

12. *Brasstacks Sunday

13. Thanks Alicia for the reminder.

14. The sad fact is that the plutocrats and the technocrats are playing games to our disadvantage,the more we hear of unions not accepting outside agencies doing their work,pipes that could have saved this crisis allowed to lie down for 9 years,spending money on a building in a downturn,recomendations out of studies(some by Mwansa)allowed to lie without implementation,etc,etc,etc…..