Submitted by Amused

QueenElizabethIn circa AD100, the Roman poet Juvenal in his Satires bemoaned the descent into dictatorship of Rome and explained how the dictators operated to gain political power with the phrase, “Give them bread and circuses.” And we know what happened to the Roman Empire as a result. Yet, a little less than two millennia later, Bajans are falling for the same thing. It is not that we haven’t seen the tactic before, it IS that, apparently, we as a nation choose to don blinkers and ignore it – after all, “That couldn’t happen in Barbados, we are too bright – the best in the world.”

Why should we not celebrate our independence? After all, the Americans do. The French have Bastille Day to celebrate theirs etc.

The Americans fought a war of independence and the French had their revolution. Barbados got its independence simply because it (and other colonies) instead of enriching the motherland, had become a drain on its resources and the motherland was ecstatic to let us go. Our only struggle lay in the terms on which independence would be agreed and in this we had the advantage of a team of intelligent, experienced and INTERNATIONAL Bajan minds, under the leadership and direction of the Rt Excellent Errol Barrow, negotiating. It is THEY we should be celebrating – all of them of whatever colour or creed or sexual preference. We should not, at this time, be fooled into celebrating how far we have come/descended as a country. Rather, we should be ashamed of ourselves over the brass bowls we have elected to rule us once they ad gone. And using this time to promote giving these idiots even more power is suicidal. So, what we got was not a celebration, but the precursor to a wake.

Realising that an independent Barbados, absent the reassurance of British support would not be viable in an international sense, Mr Barrow implemented a number of measures, the most visible of which was recourse at the highest appeal level to Her Majesty in council (the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council).

So Britain got its wish to cut back on its outgoings and Barbados got its wish to be autonomous, but under leaders of truly global stature. Unfortunately, these leaders were, over time, replaced by yard fowls aka Brass Bowls, whose means of survival was and continues to be reducing everything to the level of their own incompetence and in doing so, reducing Bajans to a state where they can only exist in Barbados, unless they get the hell out and embrace internationalism. But of course once they do that, most do not return and those that do find that a prophet is of no merit in his own country.

Take education as an example. Back in the day, pre and immediately post independence, all exams and exam papers for schools were directed from the UK. This meant that Bajans had the same qualifications as anyone in the UK and these qualifications were accepted almost worldwide. Now, in most professions, if a Bajan leaves Barbados, they have to re-sit exams before they can practice in their chosen profession.

We have eschewed the Privy Council as our final court of appeal, in favour of the CCJ which, with an alarming record of questionable judgements, is becoming the laughing stock of the international judicial world, resulting in the disappearance of our foreign investments, a situation enabled by the idiot we have as chief justice and a Bar Association that is a standing joke, except to Bajans who file complaints about specific attorneys and have to wait for 10 years and more and attend hearings of the “disciplinary” committee that are adjourned because of a lack of a quorum, which is not a joke. On that alone, one incident springs to mind.

During the tenure of David Simmons, the disciplinary committee found against a now-deceased attorney and referred the matter to the Court of Appeal where Simmons advised the complainant and the lawyer to SETTLE. This was not a litigation, but a disciplinary matter seeking the disbarment of the attorney for the embezzlement of client funds. Counsel for the Complainant, two eminent queens counsel, had taken the case pro bono and were disgusted when the chief justice offered to pay their costs out of legal aid, in other words, out of the public purse and they are on record as having indignantly refused. They did not expect to and were not paid ANYTHING AT ALL!! They saw (and wee) it as their duty as members of the Inner Bar. And to this day, 6 years later, the matter remains unresolved and likely unresolvable as the attorney is now deceased and likely his estate settled and disbursed. But why did Chief Justice Simmons do as he did? I do not accuse, but merely reflect that the attorney in question was one of his most ardent supporters and campaigners when he (Simmons) ran for office in St Thomas. In other words, a friend – a close friend. Which, in a PROPER and FUNCTIONAL justice system, would have been grounds for the CJ to recuse himself. It ought to have also elicited a payment of some sort to the complainant from the BA’s Compensation Fund that has never made any payments to any aggrieved party, despite the millions of dollars in the fund. One has to wonder of the Fund will be tapped to pay the likely awards and costs to Mr Vernon Smith QC and Mr Michael Springer QC in their actions against the BA. We shall see – and we shall also see what Government does should such a misappropriation of statutory funds occur.

And how does all this tie into the author’s views, with which I completely agree? If we become a republic, apart from the extraordinary expense already highlighted by the author, the already parlous state of our country will diminish even further into dictatorship. We will become a pariah state like Venezuela or even like North Korea with its “beloved leader” or Feuhrer (ring any bells?). We are already in crisis state, but what the hell – let us embrace the idiocy of people like @ac, as long as the dictators give us bread and circuses whenever they are touting for votes and support. And I also agree that one party is as bad as the other.

88 responses to “Another Perspective on Barbados Becoming a Republic”

1. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes;

Perhaps you could post the URL on BU and some benefactor could get it from behind the pay wall and post the important extracts from it?

2. are-we-there-yet January 11, 2016 at 8:59 AM #

The URL will have my personal information at the top of the page, since I have registered with Moody’s to receive certain articles and economic data. However, anyone could visit Moody’s website to seek the necessary information accordingly.

3. @Artaxerxes, my understanding is that Moody’s gave a credit opinion but has not taken a rating action. The thrust of the credit outlook is that the economy continues to underperform, which is why I regard with some scepticism the proclamations that we are on the path to growth. Increased tourist arrivals do not a recovery make. I too would be interested in seeing the full Moody’s credit opinion report and also look forward to the upcoming CBB’s review of the Barbados economy for 2015.

4. @ caribbeantradelaw

Yes, the Moody’s opinion is not a credit rating and I too share your concern that an increase in tourist arrivals could be used as a basis to determine signs of economic growth. If we want to use this factor, since tourism is seasonal, then the growth supposedly measured will be short- term.

The following excerpts were taken from January 7, 2016 edition of Caribbean 360:

“………. debt in the Caribbean countries has generally trended upward over the past half-decade and now averages about 80 per cent of GDP, with Jamaica having the largest public debt at 131 per cent of GDP and Barbados the SECOND HIGHEST at 111 per cent; the AVERAGE FISCAL BALANCE DETERIORATED, estimated at -3.0 per cent of GDP for 2015, with the primary balance put at 0.3 per cent of GDP.”

“Eight of the 13 countries in the region improved or saw little change during 2015, with the FISCAL BALANCE WORSENING in five, among them BARBADOS, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago. Conditions on the financial markets are expected to toughen with reduced global liquidity and a gradual rise in the cost of raising funds on the international markets.”

Under these prevailing circumstances and given the above information, we are more caught up discussing Barbados becoming a “republic” and the yearlong 50th anniversary of independence celebrations, when the performance of the economy is much more important.

It also begs the question if the economy is under performing, how does this affect the sustainability of these ventures?

5. Barbados foreign reserves fall…….Caribbean economic report newsletter

http://goo.gl/iTrEMw

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes January 11, 2016 at 1:58 PM

Barbadians should thank St. Matthew the patron saint of traders for the massive fall in oil prices during 2015.
    If not for free falling oil prices the spectre of devaluation would have been staring Barbados in its face with foreign reserves probably below the $200 million mark even with the help of the sale of the remaining NIS shares in the BL&P.

Mighty King Oil is in need of a major war in the ME to put him back on the commodities market throne.

7. We all love our country so we have to be thankful that oil prices are so low (though we cannot see the benefits of it)………..otherwise Barbados would be in perpetual trouble.

Thank God!

The country is in trouble and one would think that any sensible responsible government would try to contain expenditure but no, no, no……….instead they embark on a year long spending spree to fete the starving masses!

How sensible is that!

8. Miller yes barbadains are thankful unlike you and the other fourheaded blp beast who have been praying for a colassal devaluation of the barbados dollar. The next two years going to be better putting more heat and pressure on the blp who have yet to formulate any worthy solutions for the economy
    The masquerading of political antics as solution is not going to help the blp going into the next election.good luck bro the blp goose is overcooked

9. @millertheanunnaki January 11, 2016 at 2:34 PM #

Chuckle…..Yes the Gods are smiling on this Govt.

10. Source: Broad Street Journal, January 8, 2016:

The Caribbean Economic Report newsletter, published by RBC and compiled by RBC’s Group Economist Marla Dukharan, notes that Barbados’ reserves fell by 9.1% y/y to US$457 million – the lowest level in two years – which is estimated to be around 13 weeks of imports.

According to the Caribbean Economic Report, the recent Central Bank (CBB) release has highlighted “the ineffectiveness of fiscal spending in generating sustainable growth, and the urgent need for public sector reform, shortly after Moody’s affirmed the B3 (NEG) rating in mi-December.”

The Moody’s report on Barbados noted that “the consultative process surrounding Barbados’ consensus-based policymaking framework has made implementation of re-forms more challenging.” Moody’s added that “budget flexibility is constrained by entitlements and transfers to loss-making state-owned enterprises, as well as high and increasing debt service costs.”

Moody’s added that although the government committed itself to fiscal consolidation, “we think their efforts will continue to be constrained by weak economic growth, difficulties in implementing further cuts to socially-sensitive spending, and a high interest burden.” As a result, Moody’s said its projection of the fiscal deficit was higher than the government’s, at between 5% and 6% of GDP in 2015/16. This, it said, would contribute to “the continued buildup of government debt, which we project will surpass 100% of GDP in 2015.”

To the AC yard-fowls

“The next two years (is NOT) going to be better putting more heat and pressure on the DLP who have yet to formulate any WORTHY SOLUTIONS for the ECONOMY,” as is evidenced by the successive credit rating downgrades and the recent Moody’s report.

“The masquerading of political antics as solutions (e.g. the yearlong 50th anniversary of independence celebrations) is not going to help the DLP going into the next election. Good luck bro the DLP goose is overcooked.”

11. @Artaxerxes January 11, 2016 at 4:44 PM #

“The next two years (is NOT) going to be better putting more heat and pressure on the DLP who have yet to formulate any WORTHY SOLUTIONS for the ECONOMY,” as is evidenced by the successive credit rating downgrades and the recent Moody’s report.

“The masquerading of political antics as solutions (e.g. the yearlong 50th anniversary of independence celebrations) is not going to help the DLP going into the next election. Good luck bro the DLP goose is overcooked.”
    ……………………………….

Artaxerxes

I really admire you greatly. You can really take the ac’s apart using their own words!

The DLP has been the government since 2008. They have completely wrecked the economy and eight years later they are still blaming the BLP yet they want the man they blame to come and help them. These morons are delusional.

The foreign reserves have plummeted to $457 million. Not a word about this but they are talking foolishness that the BLP have not yet formulated any worthy solutions for the economy.

Hey, morons, in case you did not notice, you are the government, not the BLP. Remember you told the BLP to keep any ideas “wunnah” got to “wunnah” selves.The BLP has Dr Clyde Mascoll and Ryan Straughn working hard and they will be the ones to painstakingly try to put this economy back together for the people of Barbados.

ac’s, why not be honest for once and concede that you dems do not know what the hell you are doing…………..nothing you have tried has worked, we are at a standstill.

Professor Michael Howard’s comments this weekend should wake you morons up that you are out of your depths!

12. One of the things that most concerns me is how on earth have our reserves continued to fall in the face of low oil/commodities prices and record tourist arrivals. It also concerns me that after years of usually getting my foreign exchange two-three weeks before I travel, the last two times I travelled (last month and in November), the banks I went to told me I had to wait until the week I was travelling before I could get USD, which I must say isn’t always convenient. I think there is a lot we the public are not being told and it is sad that too many Barbadians are allowing themselves to be distracted by the Republic proposals (which the Government has backtracked from) and the year-long 50th anniversary independence celebrations (another waste of taxpayers money) when we really do not know the true state of the economy.

13. @Alicia

The banks have been placing those wanting to buy foreign currency on a list for some time now. Things are not as rosy as the PR machinery makes out.

14. @ David

It’s interesting you and caribbeantradelaw mentioned the banks, David, and you writing: “Things are not as rosy as the PR machinery makes out.”

How do either of you view the recent statements made by the managing director and chief executive officer of Republic Bank, Ian De Souza, relative to this island’s economic recovery and growth.

While speaking to guest at reception at his Royal Westmoreland villa last week, De Souza predicted that “Barbados is on the road to recovery and should reach it “towards the end” of this year.” Ironically he was predicting economic recovery as far back as 2014.

Is De Souza relying on the increased business his bank has received as it relates to the disbursement of loans and issuing of credit cards as a basis to determine economic growth?

Yes, it means that people are spending in the economy, but this economic activity of relying on households to use loans and credit cards to spur economic growth results in high debt percentages to national income, and according to the IMF, it “would put the gradual recovery of the past five years in jeopardy.”

15. @Artax

De Souza is the recipient of easy deals from government.

16. @Artax

By the way, do you know o what basis is Donville Inniss forecasting 2% growth?

17. @ David

I now understand why you mentioned: “Things are not as rosy as the PR machinery makes out.”

18. @ David

I assumed Inniss’ prediction was based on a number of projects (which were listed in yesterday’s Sunday Sun) that are supposed to be undertaken, to resume this year, on hold, pending and out to tender. Listed among those projects are:

….. Sandals Barbados, phase 2
    ….. Beachlands
    ….. Luxury residences at the site of the Former Kings Beach Hotel
    ….. Hyatt Hotel
    ….. Waves Villa in St. James
    ….. Condominiums and villas at The Crane
    ….. Sandy Cove, phase 2
    ….. Regent villa and spa
    ….. Port Ferdinand
    ….. Le Meridien (Starwood) at the Pierhead

Four Seasons Clearwater Bay is one of those projects listed “to start.” But judging from the track record of anything bearing the name “Four Season,” I’ll have to wait until it actually starts.

Government projects listed as “pending” include the construction of a number of NHC starter homes and a NEW hospital.

However, this is what Inniss had to say as reported in the January 7, 2016 edition of Barbados Today.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/01/07/inniss-predicts-better-days-in-2016/

19. @caribbeantradelaw

I do not wonder about the degrading FX reserves. There are two reasons in my opinion:

1) The structural deficit in Bim caused by the public sector. They do not contribute to FX, but spend most of it.

Read this = http://biba.bb/dont-bank-on-government-jobs/ Worrell copied my past contributions to BU!
    “Increasing the number of jobs in the public sector is more harmful than helpful to growing the Barbados economy. This was the position of the Central Bank Governor, Dr. Delisle Worrell, in a December 31st commentary on ‘The Future of the Barbadian economy’. Calling inefficiency in the public sector “the largest blot on the country’s competitiveness corecard”, Dr. Worrell said that “obstacles to growth” must be removed.
    “There will be dislocations in the transition to a higher growth path, which must be managed in a sympathetic way.” He said it is a “fallacy” that Government can grow the economy by expanding the public sector and creating more jobs. “Government employment does not generate any foreign currency,” he maintained. “The Barbados dollars the newly-hired workers earn go towards increasing total spending in the economy, which means that supermarkets must import more food, dealers must import more LPG, hairdressers must import more supplies and more people will be flying to New York to pack their Christmas barrels.” But this increased spending eats up the country’s foreign exchange reserves, says Dr. Worrell.

2) Bim finances its long-term obligations by short-term loans (eg from NIS, Credit Suisse). Lots of banks crashed in 2007/08 due to this strategy.

If the FX reserves vanish as in 2013 there will be no other Credit Suisse to bail us out. Only Poseidon can help then.

20. The region’s New Year Resolution should be to make integration of the Caribbean a reality – to let the strength of solidarity of one people conquer the weakness of separateness. It can never be too late to do what is right.”

I wish the same.

21. “Mia Mottley, now the leader of the opposition, has not commented on the prime minister’s proposal,[however, the Barbados Labour Party has advocated the adoption of a republican system in the past when it was in power.”

“Mia Mottley, who was Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados, said: “we feel that it is the right thing to do to have a Barbadian head of state. We accept that there was a concern that the Government alone should not make that decision in this day and age and we are therefore committed to expressing our views to the public and having them pass judgement on it.”

22. but I think it is remotely possible that he could burnish his absymal prime ministerial performance by wheeling and dealing support for his republican dreams from former “enemies” like OSA.

Mr Stuart made it quite clear that politicians from both parties are not enemies because they belong to the political class. Cussing each other is all part and parcel of the political game.

23. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

Dumbville Inniss is a jackass, who would trust what he thinks he knows since he did not even know that the hoverboard that he was gliding around on last week, showing off his skills could literally blow up beneath his feet, it was reported worldwide since October or before, the defect in the hoverboard is deadly and there he is unaware and advertising..who would trust someone like that with their future, just to see it blow up under their feet…steupse.

24. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

Cariblaw….if you want to know what’s going on and what happened to the foreign exchange in the Central Bank just ask Bjorn Bjerkham, one of DBLP placed him there as a Director to do only they know what, as per usual am sure that too has returned and is biting them in the ass but they are too ashamed to say and are afraid the secrets get out to the public.

25. “The masquerading of political antics as solutions (e.g. the yearlong 50th anniversary of independence celebrations) is not going to help the DLP going into the next election. Good luck bro the DLP goose is overcooked.”

Must admit that despite the downgrades and gloomy forecasts for over seven years; the economy has not collapsed and the reality of the situation up to now does not lend credence to that prediction but rather that things would continue to go merrily along as AC has been arguing.

26. The Banks have reason to smile because Bajans have been taking advantage of the “low” interest rates and taking out loans like hot cakes. Since the Banks no longer have to follow a CBB mandated minimum interest rate for savings deposit, they can afford to offer lower interest rates for loans for mostly consumption purposes. In regards to the stated projects, many of those had been in the pipeline for years. Until those projects start, I see no reason to celebrate. We’ll get some money trickling in from purchasers who buy off-plan but even so, the same happened with Four Seasons and look how that turned out….

27. @ balance
    Skippa, we fell off the cliff a while ago. the fact that things “would continue to go merrily along as AC has been arguing” just says that AC is a mindless yardfowl….

You know the story of the fellow who fell off the roof …and was heard to say – while passing the 20th floor …. “so far so good…”

AC’s big brother…. 🙂

28. There is the saying you never let a crisis go to waste. What structural changes have we made to the economy and OUR individual behaviours to learn from historical.

29. The more things change the more they remain the same.Mencea Cox is on record in 1937 lamenting the state of water delivery to Bajans living in the “country”.Grantley Adams called a select few who broke away to form the DLP a ‘pack ‘o wild boys’.
    Eric St John passed on and we hearing the voice of one braddie criticiising OSA when the same braddie ran off to Antigua when a crucial vote was before the House and the said OSA tried to reason with the loutish man to no avail….braddie,where is your integrity?

30. balance January 12, 2016 at 6:13 AM #

“Must admit that despite the downgrades and gloomy forecasts for over seven years; the economy has not collapsed and the reality of the situation up to now does not lend credence to that prediction but rather that things would continue to go merrily along as AC has been arguing.”

Perhaps you can inform me where in my contributions or the contributions of anyone who commented on the state of the economy, wrote anything to SUGGEST or PREDICT the ECONOMY will COLLAPSE.

My friend, the ACs’ comments on the economy are not based on an understanding of economics, but are driven by their desire to defend the DLP’s economic policies, which is usually emphasized by political rhetoric.

There are stark differences between an economy going through a recession and an economy collapsing. An economic collapse may occur in situations where an economy is experiencing a severe economic recession, which could prevail for a number of years. It can be caused by “crashes” in the financial market, stagnation or hyperinflation and may be accompanied by high increases in the level of poverty, civil unrest and severe economic depression. The “Great Depression” is a perfect example of an economic collapse.

Under the prevailing economic environment, the Barbados economy is still experiencing the effects of the 2007 global recession. You must also take the economic cycle into consideration, which clearly illustrates an economy experiences fluctuations between periods of expansion and contraction.

31. @balance,

The dems should thank the good Lord for the continuing fall in the price of oil. This is what saved the morons.

Had the price of oil not fallen significantly, Barbados’ economy would have collapsed. With reduced revenue and high oil prices and with the morons continually spending more money that it receives, what do you think would be the state of this country’s economy?

You would notice that they do not talk about blaming OSA now or “we inherited a mess”, they cannot play those cards any longer……………they have made such a mess that they have to take some responsibility for their mess.

The governor was saying over the Christmas celebrations that Barbadians are better off today than in 2008………..yea, governor…………things are much, much better off for the likes of you , your driver, Froon, Stinkliar, Michael Lashley, Michael Carrington, Dennis Lowe, Steve Blackett, Stephen Lashley, Donville Inniss, Adriel Brathwaite, Darcy Boyce, Ronald Jones, Esther Byer Suckoo, Mara Thompson, Physical Deficit Ince, Todd, Harry Husbands, Maxine McClean, Irene Sandiford-Garner…………..the Sandals group, Mark Maloney, the Jada group Innotech group and all the dlp yardfowls who cater and get all the rest of the contracts …………….but not for the rest of us!

32. Thanks very much Arta for your enlightened response at 9.44 am ; so am I understand from your response then that our current state of affairs has nothing to do with mismanagement of the economy or bad governance but with the recession. Just want to be clear.

33. …………….”but not for the rest of us!”

I do not agree with the Governor that things are better off now than in 2008 at least for me for I have been made to pay much more for goods and services with no concomitant increases in pension and though there has been no devaluation of the dollar in form there has been in substance since my dollar is worth much less than in 2008. Maybe I am naïve Mr Prodigal but like you I expected the economy to collapse based on the revelations of those who should know like for example Wild coot , Ryan Straughan, Dr David Estwick, Owen Arthur and the desperation measures employed by the Government which mostly affected those at the lower end of the social strata in more ways than one but honestly rather than the untold suffering I was expecting all I see is people feting more and more whether it is for free or payment.

34. Hmmmmm

How can DESCRIBING the difference between an economic collapse and a recession be INTERPRETED as “…….so am I understand from your response then that our current state of affairs has nothing to do with mismanagement of the economy or bad governance but with the recession?”

Sheesh, COMPREHENSION is a bitch.

35. “Sheesh, COMPREHENSION is a bitch.”

It is, you know Arta, it is and I must admit it was not one of my strong points so I suppose that is why it is difficult for me to get you to comprehend that I am not questioning your erudite explanation of the difference between economic collapse and recession but is merely asking if in your view charges of mismanagement of the economy are no longer valid but rather the recession to blame. That is all. I respect your views because they are usually well researched and free of speculation.

36. Sir i am not an economist ! Neither I am not a Pessimist! my views are drawn from experiences of life entrenched with a philosophy ” no matter how high the tide one must keep swimming there is always a shore line on the other side “

37. I respect your views as well, since your comments are always, as your name suggests, balanced.

No, I have not changed my views that this DLP administration’s economic policies are responsible for “our current state of affairs.”

The government’s response to and their macroeconomic policies during the global economic crisis, made effects of the recession. Their “home grown” IMF policies were highly pro-cyclical and included measures such as tax increases and large cuts in public expenditure. With the economy remaining weak, such fiscal reduction could affect any prospect for economic recovery as well exacerbating the problem of public debt.

The DLP’s own Dr. David Estwick publically admitted this fact and offered alternative solutions. His solutions were rejected by his own party, which is unfortunate, since the DEMS are always saying rather than being critical, we should “bring solutions.”

Surely you have noticed a trend with this administration, especially when matters of the economy come to the fore. They distract many of us by holding some sort of celebration or highlighting issues such as Barbados becoming a republic.

Could you imagine, Moody’s Investor Services gave an opinion about Barbados’ economy, which has not been made public as yet, we have learnt from other sources that our foreign reserves have declined, and we don’t find this much more important than discussing the republic nonsense. Okay, Barbados becomes a republic, buy the economy is in shambles, would the island be “better off?”

38. ac January 13, 2016 at 6:16 AM # Sir i am not an economist ! Neither I am not a Pessimist! my views are drawn from experiences of life entrenched with a philosophy ” no matter how high the tide one must keep swimming there is always a shore line on the other side “

Wish you were fair enough to employ that philosophical approach when the BLP was in power. Your comments would carry more weight.