Walid Juffali
Walid Juffali with former wife Christine Estrada

Freedom of expression is often taken for granted by the many who comment on Barbados Underground blog. One does not have to agree with views expressed by others, however in a democratic society, we should always be willing to defend the right of others to disagree. Usually when alternative ideas contend the big winner is the opportunity to learn.

Last week David of BU posted a few comments on the subject of the granting of diplomatic status to Walid Juffali, a Saudi billionaire by the St. Lucia government on a Facebook Group  Saint Lucians Aiming for Progress (SLAP). In our view our comments were strong but not abusive.  To the surprise of the BU household the administrators – Cynthia Joseph and Shelton Daniel blocked David from membership of the Group.

Here is the discussion that led to David’s (BU) expulsion from the Facebook Page for the BU family to judge for themselves. The BU household is always willing to learn if mistakes were made.

Augustin Charles

December 27, 2015 at 11:41pm

I AM PREPARED TO FIGHT FOR MY COUNTRY . . . ARE YOU?

I saw the Juffali story being used again by the international press and its agents in St. Lucia to sully my country’s good name!

I saw the highly conjectural Tabloid piece by Harriet Alexander and I immediately threw away my “festive coat” to come to the defense of my country. I have said ad nauseam that it does not matter which party forms the government, the bottom line is my country comes first!

In my quest to defend my country’s good name, I started with a Google search on the writer “Harriet Alexander” who penned the story and I was better able to put the story in perspective. However, I have reserved some of my core views pending further due diligence and research.

I will say this though: I don’t believe that the British government has contemplated an intervention – far less having “intervened” to the extent that the writer alleged. The British is one of the best practitioners and exemplars of international diplomacy. However, if what the writer alleged were the case, then it would be a serious encroachment on our sovereignty and the British Government would be setting a very dangerous, unparalleled and historical precedent tantamount to an act of recolonization!

Let us juxtapose the Juffali matter to the Assange matter: why have the British have not gone into the Ecuadorian Embassy to arrest JULIAN ASSANGE and why would they want to intervene into St. Lucia’s diplomatic business?

It is on the bases outline above (and more to come) that the Harriet Alexander story cannot be tenable.

Nonetheless, let’s do a quick logical dissection of it. For argument’s sake, let us agree that it is built on “two essential threads of truth”

The first thread is the first paragraph, to wit: “Britain has intervened in the battle to strip a Saudi Arabian billionaire of his diplomatic immunity, following claims that he was using his position to protect his fortune from his ex-wife.”

The second thread is the sixth paragraph: “Now the Foreign Office has intervened, The Telegraph understands, writing to ask St Lucia to waive Mr Juffali’s diplomatic immunity for the purpose of the legal proceedings.”

The first thread is largely axiomatic but the second is purely conjectural! When we juxtapose the two, the second thread totally destroys the first thread by way of contradiction; and hence, that juxtaposition crudely exposes the intellectual dishonesty, the disingenuity of the writer. Overall, because of the lack of proper substantiation and preponderance of both explicit and explicit conjecture, I would therefore treat it as a beautiful piece of tabloid propaganda.

Amidst all that is going on, there are clear signs of collusion between elements of the opposition and elements of the press to sully our character and reputation in the international press. It is also noteworthy how the story is grounded in the “hate and mischief” politics of the opposition which are designed to bring our small country down.

Thirty six years after independence/freedom from Great Britain, it is sad that Kenny may have to fight the same battle which Sir John fought against the international press – the very Sir John who formed the UWP which is in the vanguard to dirty our good name overseas!

I am prepared to fight for my country! Are you?

MORE TO COME!

Britain intervenes to strip Saudi billionaire of diplomatic immunity ahead of divorce case

Walid Juffali, a Saudi billionaire in the midst of a £4 billion divorce battle from a former Pirelli calendar model, faces losing his diplomatic immunity following…

TELEGRAPH.CO.UK

LikeShare

30 people like this.

90 comments

2 shares

Comments

T. Nigel Toussaint

T. Nigel Toussaint Augustine Charles, I have an even simpler way to answer the question. Just ask the PM or the Minister of foreign affairs if they have received such a request. All this conjecture, verbiage, is not necessary, is it? Don’t u think the PM would give you a straight answer?

Like · 5 · December 28, 2015 at 12:14am

Augustin Charles

Augustin Charles You’re missing the broader point T. Nigel Toussaint. It’s simpler than your rhetorical questions.

Like · 7 · December 28, 2015 at 12:18am

Linus St Clair

Linus St Clair My question would be what does Chastnet and his blind supporters expect to gain if a diplomatic war ensues between us and the British; All becuz of an American woman’s rapacious disposition???

Like · 5 · December 28, 2015 at 4:03pm · Edited

Stephen James

Stephen James Augustin Charles, I’m curious. What precisely is the “broader point” that T. Nigel Toussaint is missing. Please spell it out in some details, at least, for my benefit; I also may have missed it. Still, in the meantime, you could seek a confirmation or …See More

Like · 4 · December 28, 2015 at 12:36am

T. Nigel Toussaint

T. Nigel Toussaint The broader picture: the writer is not credible so it’s likely that the British government did not make a request of St Lucia and it’s thus propaganda- that bigger Augustin Charles?

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 12:37am

David King

David King Then it is up to the St.Lucia government to issue a statement and remove the speculation from public space.

Like · 11 · December 28, 2015 at 12:45am

Julian Williams

Julian Williams Here is the most important part of the story which came at the end! “”More than 20,000 people are entitled to diplomatic immunity in the UK. Earlier this year it …See More

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 12:50am · Edited

Bernard Haynes

Bernard Haynes These people will stop at nothing, will drag themselves in the gutter, to think that they will ascend to the high office of the land. They are banking on this one irrelevant story which they are themselves in cohort with the writers to produce. All of a sudden there’s a lot of interesting information in the English tabloids that their paid journalist are now finding.

Like · 3 · December 28, 2015 at 12:51am

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir The question i wish to ask here is this: When our national sovereignty appears to be threatened or insulted ,why are we selective about our reaction in such instances? Is it that we consider this particular matter to be of fa more serious degree to …See More

Like · December 28, 2015 at 12:58am

Augustin Charles

Augustin Charles Stephen James . . . I’m surprised that you missed the broader point. I will give you sometime to figure it out.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 12:58am

Augustus Vitalien

Augustus Vitalien theres something about that story that just doesnt add up i have heard from ernest and huntley that the diplomatic immunity doesnt aply in the case the ex wife wants to take to court so no i want to no who am i to belive english tabioids or the two gentle

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 1:01am

Linus St Clair

Linus St Clair Check the facts! The Geneva Convention…

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:54am · Edited

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir That’s where i get confused.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 1:06am

View more replies

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir If any party ,at any given time,recent past or present is willing to sell its country,followed by its supporters, for a few pieces of silver ,in the name political expediency ,then we are heading to hell,possibly to oblivion!!!

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 1:03am

Stephen James

Stephen James Augustin Charles, as stated in an earlier post, I miss the “broader point”; I have already given your OP some thought as I read it thoroughly. I’m depending on you to help me recognize it. Additionally, I still believe that it would be useful and valu…See More

Like · 3 · December 28, 2015 at 1:10am · Edited

Julian Williams

Julian Williams Here is the most important part of the story which came at the end! “”More than 20,000 people are entitled to diplomatic immunity in the UK. Earlier this year it was revealed that Scotland Yard’s diplomatic protection group had flagged up 14 ‘serious a…See More

Like · December 28, 2015 at 1:16am · Edited

Stephen James

Stephen James Julian Williams, Please note the following statements from the referenced article:
“But now, the British Government has taken the highly unusual step of intervening on her behalf….See More

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 2:12am · Edited

View more replies

Augustin Charles

Augustin Charles Stephen . . . I love my country.

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 1:16am

Stephen James

Stephen James Meaning?

Like · December 28, 2015 at 1:17am

T. Nigel Toussaint

T. Nigel Toussaint Love is the broader point?

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 1:40am

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir Convenient love?

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:31am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Make no mistake about it,the Story has been Sourced by the Daily Mail. It may have been written in the TORYGRAPH as a follow up but, Lord Rothermere and his Editor, Paul Dacre are the TRUE Source of the Story. They have GOOD Reasons for the Story. N…See More

Like · 5 · December 28, 2015 at 6:24am · Edited

David King

David King The point of the story we should be focused on is why has the government given diplomatic status to the Saudi who has NOT attended one meeting in the capacity to date.Leave the rhetoric at the door!

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:23am

Julian Williams

Julian Williams There are many meetings by that IMO and meetings are not attended by every member. There are technical meetings for technical experts, there are policy meetings and there also specific meetings of member states and also meetings of the various committe…See More

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 6:36am

David King

David King To repeat, the report in the UK press stated not one meeting was attended by the Saudi. Clarification is required and NOT generalizations.

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 6:39am

View more replies

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee you obviously seem to know the Daily Mail more than me and millions of others shouting from your Sedentary position since, you call it Rhetoric. I suppose, your take is GOSPEL or GODSPELL

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 6:52am · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee he obviously does, since he thinks that the Daily Mail is the biggest selling Newspaper in the UK. Obviously, his flight landed late from Mars lol

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 7:45am

Bernard Haynes

Bernard Haynes Well Allen Allan Amedee just wanted to be sure you know what you know and I didn’t just believe what you said I had to confirm with my aunt who is one of the most avid book worm and newspaper reader I have ever come across in England and she has just confirmed with me that the sun newspaper is the most credible and the biggest paper in circulation .

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 2:00pm

View more replies

David King

David King There is a bigger point to ponder as well. Under the Revised Treaty of Chagaramus Caricom citizens benefit from certain treaty obligations. What are the implications given the citizen for investment and other schemes where citizenship is being awarded for economic considerations by some Caricom countries..

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 6:30am

David King

David King Allan Amedee you need to read with comprehension, regards.

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 6:32am

Titus Francis

Titus Francis If this story is to be taken seriously London should recall its ambassador. I believe hell might freeze over before this happens.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:48am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Tell that to the Brits, Americans, Canadians, Australians, other European Countries and the other Caribbean Countries listed in last weeks Feature in WSJ – Wall Street Journal – and countless countries around the globe

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 6:34am

Frank Charles

Frank Charles Bolo always spot on. However this story continue as what it is celebrity gossip.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:35am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee David king, don’t worry, i didn’t go to school on Sundays and Bank holidays. Cheeky Bugger

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:55am · Edited

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir Gentlemen,no need to get personal ,stay on course,please.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:36am

David King

David King To clarify, the point about leaving the rhetoric at the door was directed to those commenting on the topic.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:38am · Edited

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir My question is why the deep interest in that particular matter when there were/are others where our national dignity was /is involved?

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 6:39am

David King

David King Cant we talk and chew gum at the same time? There is a lot at stake here given the deep pockets of those involved. The government of St. Lucia needs to clarify the matter and remove the speculation. Until they do people every where will comment based on the info available in the public space.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:42am

Augustus Vitalien

Augustus Vitalien Can someone tell me in how many papers this story appeared in England and how many newspapers are there in England please I need to no if you have the info please share it

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:39am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee David King, maybe, you should stop making political points without the slightest clue of what you’re talking about. just plain Partisan Politics

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:39am

David King

David King Sir I am blogmaster for a Barbados based blog. My interest is based on following regional and world affairs. Hope this clarifies it for you. The matter is gaining currency in the UK and it is in the interest of your government to issue a statement. What I have found is that Caribbean governments do not do “transparency” well.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:47am · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Which uk is it gaining currency. Please educate me. I’m involved in UK Politics and i’ll consider myself more in the know than you are from your lofty position. Please tell me more. I’m interested

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:05am

View more replies

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir The other matter is why is there such a high degree of ignorance on such an important matter?

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:40am

Frank Charles

Frank Charles Augustus Vitalien I have said this is just celebrity gossip

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:41am

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir Lord help us with our educated elite!!!!

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:42am

Augustus Vitalien

Augustus Vitalien I understand what you saying but to does who are pushing it forward let us know in how many papers this story appeared in

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:43am

Augustus Vitalien

Augustus Vitalien To me if this is such a high profile case it should be appearing in more than one newspaper

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:44am

David King

David King What you need to ask is if there is credence to the story. In other words, is there truth!

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:46am

Augustus Vitalien

Augustus Vitalien Well if you have any info about if there’s any truth to the the story please share with us

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:49am

View more replies

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Augustus Vitalien, In the British Press, the Story can be printed in a Provincial and through network, depending on what ANGLE or AGENDA is being pursued, then followed up in the Tabloid or Broadsheets. So it either here nor there. However, the Origin of this Story and it’s Angle and Agenda has much to be desired. SLU is the least of the coniderations of the Story

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 6:48am · Edited

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir Ignorance on the part of the English gvt,our diplomats,our gvt.,and the wife’s lawyer. Where/when will this crap end?

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 6:45am

Linus St Clair

Linus St Clair Sylvester it will not end until people like you call on Allen to put love for Saint Lucia in action…!!!

Like · 4 · December 28, 2015 at 6:49am · Edited

Sylvester Desir

Sylvester Desir St. Clair,such issues are more complex than,either Allen or Antony. Its about patriotism and nationalism. Political convenience must be thrown out of the window!!! I do not like my country being insulted. Its time this matter is legally clarified once and for all!!!!

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:04am

Stephen James

Stephen James Sylvester Desir, be more specific. Who are the people insulting our country or causing insults to it/ And what is the nature of that insult?

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:44am

View more replies

Frank Charles

Frank Charles Linus St Clair de man is a smart man he don’t follow fool

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:52am

Ananias Verneuil

Ananias Verneuil remember a picture of Chastnet taken with a group of white,right wing conservatives, this could be the scratch back.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 10:09am · Edited

David King

David King If anyone here has facs they want to send to me anonymously please do. https://barbadosunderground.net/feedback/

Send Confidential Message

We appreciate your feedback, feel free to submit it here. If there is anyone out there who has a story to publish…

BARBADOSUNDERGROUND.WORDPRESS.COM

Like · December 28, 2015 at 6:53am

Julian Williams

Julian Williams David King, PM Owen Arthur would have told you to suck your rasssole! God blind yuh. Cant you understand what the meaning of a Maritime organization and what it does? You johhhni! lol Cant you understand although nations can become a member of the IMO…See More

Like · December 28, 2015 at 4:15pm

Augustin Charles

Augustin Charles Suppose the story by Harriet Alexander is true (and I’m arguing that it is false) and that the British has in fact encroached on our sovereignty asking us to strip Mr Juffali of his ambassadorial status (a position which Earl Huntley explained is not n…See More

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 4:17pm · Edited

David King

David King This has nothing to do with being patriotic Sir, this is a simple case of the government addressing the issue squarely in the public space. Let me be honest and say I cannot fathom why the government of St. Lucia would confer such status on a stranger on the basis of economic considerations. There is something distasteful about it.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:19am

Joy Francis

Joy Francis Yes… but the flat out exchanging of our passports for favours/money from rich foreigners who have no/little actual interest in SLU does not “encroach on our sovereignty.” OK

Like · December 28, 2015 at 8:04am

View more replies

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Oh dear, i’ve had the biggest laugh that i’ve had for a long time and maybe the best B4 year end. Amazing when some people think that they’re in the know and knows NOWT. Seperate issue, never mind lol

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:33am · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee LOL. It must be said. This guy is coming on here with all his Bluster giving Credence to a story emanating from the bowels of the Daily Mail from Lord Rothermere and his Editor Paul Dacre for reasons that i’m only too aware of. And to add insult to inj…See More

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 8:04am · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee SLU just happens to be the punch bag in this scenario, it could have been any country, even the Mighty US of A. What must be explained is, the Relationship between the Divorcee, her Lawyer and Daily Mail’s Editor Paul Dacre. Moreover, their relationsh…See More

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 8:54am · Edited

Nadia Cazaubon

Nadia Cazaubon The Government of Saint Lucia MUST NEVER RESPOND TO A TABLOID. That should be left up to patriotic Saint Lucian journalists to do research and publish in established newspapers or rival tabloids.

Like · 5 · December 28, 2015 at 9:34am

Deborah Coster Emmanuel

Deborah Coster Emmanuel Yes, his ex is well connected and using every means she can to get this diplomatic wall removed….give her the money…you were dumb enough or in love enough not to do a prenup..pay up

Like · December 28, 2015 at 9:39am

David King

David King There will be speculation until the facts are revealed by an authoritative source. So far there has been no comment by those who profess to know about the non attendance to the IMO Assembly sessions of the Saudi who was gifted a St. Lucia passport.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 10:41am · Edited

Julian Williams

Julian Williams and thats all King is interested in from that story! As a Bajan journalist, you can go to their offices in London and inquire about his non-attendance and get first hand info from them. Why should the SLU government stoop low to appease a bajan writing in some petty blog with info!

Like · 3 · December 28, 2015 at 11:12pm · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee The King is lost uo his own Gullet. He has the Audacity to tell me of All people that the Daily Mail is the Biggest Circulating Newspaper in Brutain. In the Interest of Public Decency, I better put Bones in my Tongue, just this once

Like · December 28, 2015 at 12:27pm

Marlyn Francis

Marlyn Francis There is no evidence that Mr Juffali is trying to dodge paying his second wife any divorce settlement… Someone came up with this story and passed it to the press. The St Lucian Gov’t asked Mr Juffali to represent the island because of his “well-estab…See More

Like · 4 · December 28, 2015 at 2:03pm

1 Reply

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Thank You Marilyn. Hope you had a good Xmas and All the best for 2016. One Love

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 2:14pm

Marlyn Francis

Marlyn Francis Nice to see you back Alllan.. I wish you and your family a Happy New Year. smile emoticon

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 2:17pm

Aagee Simpson

Aagee Simpson Hey,,36 years after independence,,the queen is still our head of state,,everything is still royal,,the governor represents the queen,,her face is on our money,,the privy council is still our highest court and so on and so on..Britiania still on high.

Like · December 28, 2015 at 4:45pm

Marlyn Francis

Marlyn Francis STATEMENT FROM THE SLU GOV’T>>>The current issue centres around a divorce case involving Dr. Juffali and his former wife. The parties were formally divorced in Saudi Arabia but the former wife decided to launch civil proceedings against her former husb…See More

Like · December 28, 2015 at 5:22pm

Bernard Haynes

Bernard Haynes Marlyn Francis don’t you think that they know that. They are just being deliberate and mischievous. Grasping at straws. People are in a festive mood and so they think everyone is drunk. So time to send the mud it will stick.

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 5:31pm

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee I’m happy to Expose that Vacuous News Outlet wit just 2 Phone calls to the FCO and the HO tomorrow. It will nonetheless be wasted because ir’s such a NON Story

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 5:43pm · Edited

Marlyn Francis

Marlyn Francis I believe so Bernard.. Some not so clever people or UWP supporters will read this BS and believe it, they need to be educated on this matter.

Like · 2 · December 28, 2015 at 5:34pm

Afrosaxonheat Ash

Afrosaxonheat Ash Why would you even dignify the drivel coming out of this right wing paper with any comment? The hothead hack who wrote this had nothing to write on the day and simply lifted this piece of rhetoric from another right wing paper namely the Mail. This is not original nor is it exclusive. It’s regurgitated stuff.

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 5:42pm

Maron Samuel

Maron Samuel Just yesterday I commented on another article with reference to this….”The Government seek to have immunity waived in serious criminal cases where a sentence of more than 12 months would apply if a conviction was secured.” There is no criminal activity in a divorce case where a party is seeking compensation, therefore this article is just “rubbish”.

Like · 3 · December 28, 2015 at 5:56pm

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee What gets me is, some of these “So Called” Intelligent Commentators conveniently Wrap themselves in the Flag and Call themselves PATRIOTS. We should have our Version of the Tower of London is SLU, what a potent remedy

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 6:28pm

Ca Cha

Ca Cha No need to fight when a freelance journalist rights these things when article 31 of the Geneva convention states
. Article 31 1.A diplomatic agent shall enjoy immunity from the criminal jurisdiction of the receiving State. He shall als…See More

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:12pm

3 Replies

Augustus Vitalien

Augustus Vitalien The more I watch the local news is the more am convinced there’s a conspiracy against the government how can you say gow chasss is in hospital according to online reports and don’t say the same thing for the Dr juffali news item did anyone contacted the government here or in England to confirm the story so if all u didn’t confirm the story it should be online report smh

Like · December 28, 2015 at 7:41pm

Elizabeth Charles

Elizabeth Charles These UWP’S drowning men are catching at straws.The whole Dr.Juffali affair has been discussed on several shows but no conveniently they will not stop.They see this as political ammunition. As for that Barbadian David King fix up your own problems in your country and leave ours .We are quite capable to handle our affairs. January 8th the deadline given is not far let’s see what will they do next.

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 7:58pm

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee That King is a Jackass. The man elected ti boast to me that he’s an ACE Blogger on Regional and International Affaiirs and then proceeded to tell me of ALL people that The Daily Mail “Daily Who” is the Biggest Circulating Newspaper in Britain. He’s obv…See More

Like · 1 · December 28, 2015 at 8:22pm · Edited

3 Replies

Bernard Haynes

Bernard Haynes OK again I just got off the phone with my aunt from England and this is how she explained the newspapers to me. Intelligent people who are aware of their intellect will read the Independent or the Guardian newspaper if you want to read a tabloid while…See More

Like · 4 · December 28, 2015 at 8:49pm

Douglas Trotman

Douglas Trotman Had a read of the article and the comments made. I find this interesting… My red herring!
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/…/MPs-expenses-Tory-MP…

MPs’ expenses: Tory MP Andrew Rosindell has childhood home as main address

TELEGRAPH.CO.UK|BY BY JON SWAINE AND CAROLINE GAMMELL

Like · December 28, 2015 at 11:37pm

Virnet Fontenelle

Virnet Fontenelle The assumption is simple, Harriet things we eat from troughs down here

Like · December 29, 2015 at 12:52am

David King

David King Here is the story carried in the UK Telegraph on the 26 December 15, Bernard Haynes are you reading?
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/…/Britain-intervenes-to…

Britain intervenes to strip Saudi billionaire of diplomatic immunity ahead of divorce…

TELEGRAPH.CO.UK

Like · December 29, 2015 at 4:34am

David King

David King Circulation of UK newspapers by reach, and this is important if the St. Lucia brand is being discussed.
https://en.wikipedia.org/…/List_of_newspapers_in_the…

List of newspapers in the United Kingdom by circulation – Wikipedia, the free…

EN.WIKIPEDIA.ORG

Like · December 29, 2015 at 4:42am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Oh dear, you said that you’re in the Information Business and you’re using Wikipedia as an authentic Guide. Give me a Break. That self editing Junk. You do need a Saniity and Reality check

Like · 1 · December 29, 2015 at 5:46am · Edited

2 Replies

David King

David King If you had read the link you would have noted it cites the authoritative source the Audit Bureau of Circulations (UK).

Like · December 29, 2015 at 4:50am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee You can’t tell me nothing about the UK FACT. Especially, from your Sedentary position. Tell your half baked nonsense to some other Pleb

Like · December 29, 2015 at 4:55am · Edited

David King

David King Typical response when confronted with a fact. Bottomline the two UK newspapers which carried this story have the highest circulation in the UK. FACT! Later Sir.

Like · December 29, 2015 at 4:56am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Keep on Gassing empty head. i will not entertain a Fool who thinks that he knows so much yet, elects to tell me of ALL people that the Mail is the Biggest Circulating British Daily. Something that every British Primary school Kid knows is patently False. And i’ll tell you that for NOWT, don’t need a Postman. Jellied Eel, Yellow Belly Invertebrate

Like · 1 · December 29, 2015 at 5:47am · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Now since you’re so intelligent and knowledgeable about the British Newspaper Scene then you would have heard of the “PAGE 7 Article”.It’s the sort of story that so much importance is attached to it that it’s relegated and/or hidden to little column i…See More

Like · December 29, 2015 at 6:07am · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee For a man who, only yesterday boasted or attempted to, as a Information Purveyor of note and significant repute on International Affairs , amongst other discipline. I find you terribly lacking and your knowledge on your professed Discipline, WANTING. Your self deluding Significance and Self Importance is only surpassed by your very own Insignificance

Like · December 29, 2015 at 6:47am · Edited

Amatus Edwards

Amatus Edwards I await the official responses.

Like · December 29, 2015 at 6:23am

Augustin Charles

Augustin Charles My bro Amatus Edwards. . . Seasons greetings! Shouldn’t your response have been the official response of our news media or at least shouldn’t they have concluding caveat in that regard while they pursue their own independent verification and research? …See More

Like · 1 · December 29, 2015 at 6:40am

Douglas Trotman

Douglas Trotman David I can’t help but notice that you have two fans… Julian Williams and Allan Amedee.

Like · 1 · December 29, 2015 at 6:56am

1 Reply

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee That IDIOT should have not Rattled my Cage. I elected to put bones in my tongue yesterday but, when foreign ingrates and imbeciles choose to denegrate my Homeland and using the type of Foreign Tabloid Trash as justification. I don’t need an invitation to that challenge and a fight that I welcome

Like · 2 · December 29, 2015 at 6:59am · Edited

Amatus Edwards

Amatus Edwards Comrade Augustin Charles all those ‘should’ and ‘shouldn’t’s is getting me ‘bahzoodee’. People do things the way that they want to suit their purposes. If this was about the UWP, I bet your responses here would be different.

Like · December 29, 2015 at 7:01am

Tenny Andrew

Tenny Andrew When these two were having their sex where were the tabloids?

Like · 1 · December 29, 2015 at 7:04am

Augustus Vitalien

Augustus Vitalien Mr Edwards wen slp post something in here they does always provide u will the evidence of prove to back it so if uwp did the same there wouldn’t have had that back and forth with this story

Like · 1 · December 29, 2015 at 7:05am

Tenny Andrew

Tenny Andrew Everything that has to be said about this has already been said. These people should just be ignored. Let them talk to themselves. Cause surely this story is on life support and the Allen faction is there to ensure that the flat line is delayed.

Tenny Andrew's photo.

Like · 1 · December 29, 2015 at 7:10am · Edited

Augustin Charles

Augustin Charles Brother Amatus Edwards . . . AA! I was giving you a much-deserved plug and just so you allowed yourself to be drawn into the wormhole of party politics. I thought you were better at reading the lines, what’s between them, the higher stakes involved and naturally the broader picture . . . but I’ll leave it at that!

Like · December 29, 2015 at 7:12am

David King

David King @Bernard Haynes. The matter of who reads what in the UK newspapers is a matter, largely, of personal taste combined with political viewpoints. Also, some newspapers provide specific topics of interest to specific readers. Your aunt is obviously a suppo…See More

Like · December 29, 2015 at 8:46am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee That’s how much you kmow. The mail is a Gossip Rag, more commonly known amongst us Brits for Weather stories and is in desperate need of a subject matter since the death of Princess Diana because One of every other front Page was dominated by a D…See More

Like · December 29, 2015 at 9:31am · Edited

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee Newspaper reading in the UK, maybe Political – that’s only or mainly amongst Broadsheet readers and more than Political, it’s Social and Educational demography – But, in general, Tabloid readers tends more of a Enviromental and Social Demography. For …See More

Like · December 29, 2015 at 9:58am · Edited

Bernard Haynes

Bernard Haynes Papa David King I don’t live in England and I know nothing about English newspapers, and I will dare not argue with a German educator which is the best paper in Germany nor with a Spaniard which is the best paper in Spain, especially if they have been …See More

Like · 2 · December 29, 2015 at 10:00am

Allan Amedee

Allan Amedee that boy is a Jackass. Saying Plenty and meaning NOWT. The fool is so wrong about Britain, he doesn’t merit a response. And he claims to be in the Information/News Business. There’s NEWS and BASEMENT NEwS. It appropriately describes and ascribes to t…See More

Like · 2 · December 29, 2015 at 10:28am · Edited

Atcha Banton

Atcha Banton Important baytease!!!!!

Like · December 30, 2015 at 10:03am

65 responses to “St. Lucia Facebook Page Censors Alternative View on Walid Juffali”

1. This divorce case is going to be interesting especially when the British govt takes an unusual position asking for diplomatic waivers on behalf of a spouse in an ensuing divorce case, How is that possible ?
    This also smacks of “abuse of privilege ” with an unprecedented connotations whereby the privilege class can (for lack of a better term) be rude ! unmannerly calculating and overly zealous having no respect for society in general while fighting their battles in the glare of public view and expecting public outcry to be favorable to one side or another ,
    In the up and down side the British govt would have a lot of explaining to do as it seems to be championing an objective tied to a domestic affair while granting favoritism to closely connected family ties

2. It seems as if the islands are marching in lockstep together…
    Those who see their party as doing now wrong and can justify any course of action.
    Corruption abounds; water shortages; electric supply problems, sell out to foreigners….
    The list goes on ….

3. Shelton Daniel runs radio St. Lucia and is a well known own apologist for the Kenny Anthony administration. The Facebook page in question is a subject of amusement for many St. Lucians and a place of congregation for rabidly overzealous party hacks. The Juffali affair is scandalous and shameful and please rest assured that intelligent St. Lucians have read beneath the lines. The Government now organises it’s team of propagandists to try any media outlet or commentator that attempts to impartially discuss the issue. St .Lucia is truly becoming a banana Republic.

4. @Karen

It is scary that a person who manages a radio station would be tempted to block freedom of expression at a whim.

5. This is intimidation and scare tactics at the lowest level rather than do the responsible and transparent remedy by responding with a factual statement. St. Lucians are victimized and insultingly attacked in their personal lives by labour hacks.
    The so called man on the street is actively questioning “was there some kind of exchange?

6. This story is becoming more interesting.In the space of two weeks the Government of St.Lucia has been written a stern warning by the US Ambassador in Bridgetown. It then had to face a EU delegation headed by the British High Commissioner, the EU Rep for the region and the French Ambassador which also gave it a stern warning and an April deadline.Today the Telegraph and The Mail are saying that the St.Lucian Government is thumbing it’s nose at the British:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/centralamericaandthecaribbean/saintlucia/12104369/St-Lucia-snubs-Britain-by-refusing-to-waive-immunity-for-Saudi-billionaire.html

7. A little 2×3 island will not be allowed to snub the international corp and not feel the knuckles rapped.

8. Cry baby!

9. PM Anthony needs to explain why this man was given the post in the first place.

“To accede to the request would have set a dangerous precedent."

PM Anthony gives goverment’s position on Juffali affair

10. Thanks Magaret,St. Lucia will be made to pay in some form or fashion for refusing to waive immunity for this Saudi pariah. Here is the paragraph that given insight how our banana republic islands are seen.

Corrupt and morally-bankrupt regimes will become a magnet for wealthy people simply looking for protection from the law. Indeed elite law firms are already rumoured to have been approached by super-rich individuals wanting to “do a Juffali” and obtain similar diplomatic privileges as a direct result of this case. Is the international community really prepared to accept the prospect of wealthy fraudsters and crooks – perhaps the next Bernie Madoff, criminals like drug kingpin El Chapo or even sponsors of terrorism – skirting around legitimate justice systems simply because they hold a diplomatic passport from an impoverished nation?

11. @Exclaimer

Thanks, not in anyway surprised at how this matter is going. St. Lucia will have to pay a price.

Here is the quote to take note of:

“A judge ruled that Walid Juffali, who divorced Ms Estrada in 2014, had sought to defeat her action by asserting a “spurious” legal immunity based on his appointment as a Caribbean diplomat in London. ”