Submitted by Heather Cole
Heather Cole

To date, the Haitian Revolution from 1791-1804, has been the only revolution in the Caribbean. What started as a slave rebellion in 1791 became a revolution because the former slaves of the French colony of Saint-Domingue; under the leadership of Toussaint L’Ouverture and ‎Jean-Jacques Dessalines were successful in ending slavery and winning their independence from France under the banner of liberty, equality and fraternity.

On April 14, 1816 a slave revolt started in Barbados. It was led by a slave named Bussa. History records it only as a rebellion because three day later the revolt was crushed by the British Militia and Bussa and his rebels were killed. It has been widely accepted that the revolt occurred because the slaves believed that the Imperial Registry Bill of 1815 was intended to grant them freedom which the local Legislature did not give. There are no written records what was Bussa’s plan, but we know it was a quest for freedom. History does not record that this rebellion failed because of the lack of detailed planning as was done for the Haitian Revolution or because there was a British Militia in Barbados.

My hypothesis is that revolt failed because of an epidemic in Barbados. The symptoms were evident 200 years ago and the disease is still full blown today. It is simply known as “waiting to see.” The Bussa Rebellion was localized and was only in the southern and Eastern part of the island. Accounts vary on the number of rebels that took part in the rebellion. One historian stated that there were only 400 rebels, another 800 and yet another 20,000. However, Bussa led the rebels in an attack against the establishment. The slaves from the other parishes did not join the rebellion because they were waiting to see what the outcome would be yet their wait determined the outcome. The rebel contingent was no match for the British Militia and so the rebellion was crushed and with it the spirit to fight in the psyche of the Barbadian people, they became a docile lot, lacking in taking initiatives, ruled by fear and unable to stand up for their rights. ‘Waiting to see’ played a significant role in Barbadian history. For all we know it may have changed the course of our history.

The year 2016 marks two hundred years after the Bussa Rebellion. The political climate that was ripe for change in 1816 is upon the island again. In 1816 the slaves believed that the Barbados Legislature was withholding their freedom. At 2015 comes to an end, the burden of 35 new taxes from Parliament, increase in VAT to 22% on cellphone usage, the rise in dictatorial practices by the government, a decline in the provision of social services, increase in unemployment, increase in poverty, increase in vagrancy, the virtual death of the Barbadian middle class, high inflation, unfulfilled manifesto promises, the Cahill Conspiracy, loss of their businesses, homes, pensions, non- receipt of their income taxes and NIS benefits and other austerity measures, paints a clear picture is of the Government withholding the people’s social, economic and political freedom.

My new year’s resolution is for a new year’s revolution not only under a banner of liberty, equality and fraternity but on a banner that includes:

1. constitutional changes to the electoral process including the right of the people to recall a government;

2. that elected governments will honour the promises made in their manifestoes; that the focus of labour parties should be pro-labour not anti-labour;

3. that information on the contents of the public purse is not only available but is also reliable;

4. that the requirement to pay finders fees is forever removed from the statutes;

5. that Trade Unions would not bend over to appease governments;

6. that the people exercise their constitutional rights to lobby against any government that goes outside or against the mandate given by the people;

7. that the economic policies of the government are not self- serving but to create economic opportunities for the people that all in Barbados will thrive and flourish not just a select few;

8. that as guardians of our heritage our focus will be on renewable and sustainable development that does not damage our fragile environment, not building incinerators that grass must be grown to feed;

9. that the delivery of social services will again rise to surpass the levels that were previously achieved;

10. that tertiary education is reclaimed again as ‘free” and the gateway to the middle class for the poor of this country;

11. that the hands of the acting Commissioner of Police become untied to carry out his duties reclaiming one Barbados and not two where not only the poor but the wealthy are prosecuted for they crimes they do;

12. That running water, the source that sustains human life is available in abundance not only to tourists but to people in every parish on the island and;

13. That Government does not stockpile empty houses when there is a demand for housing;

14. That the masses will never again be deceived into selling the franchise;

15. That the masses elect persons to hold political office who are not only qualified but have the ability to understand how a government must function and the functions of the roles they will hold.

16. That the masses will present the manifesto of their needs to political parties and;

17. Finally that the people organize and hold this DLP government accountable for the failure of the last seven years and call for them to step down or force them to go.

With a backdrop of the success of the Haitian Revolution, the hope of the Bussa Rebellion and the pleas of Bob Marley for change as he sang:

Get up stand up, stand up for your rights!

Get up stand up, don’t give up the fight!

One hopes that in the year 2016 the spirits of our ancestors will arise to empower us to fight to build a secure foundation for our children’s children. Will it be written in the annals of our history that in the year 2016 there was a revolution in Barbados? Or will history just note that it was just another year in the long tradition of waiting to see?

44 responses to “A New Year’s Revolution”

1. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

Unfortunately, the disease of waiting to see is alive and well, the leaders and their followers have a terminal case trying to cause a repeat of the Bussa failure, since they would be the direct descendants of their ancestors too docile to stand up or fight for their rights, however, they are not too docile to crush, denigrate or sell out others who have the energy to fight for , insist on and demand positive change.

These leaders and their followers would do anything to appease their modern day masters, the bizzys, cows, bjerkhamns, harris, parris, naime, haloute, abed, etc, just to keep their own people in line, subservient, dependent and subhuman, though their modern day masters are the true criminals on the island and are the minority population…….the AC’s and Alvins come to mind.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Madame? Heather Cole,

You are not a David Come Sing A Song or a Grenville Phillips the Third nor that mad Adamson fellow BUT, in your few cogent lines, you have spoken more eloquently than all of these pretenders to be king.

Clear unminced words that put you, Caswell Franklyn, Jeff Cumberbatch, Walter Blackman, Artaxerxes and Bush Tea well on the way on forming a third party.

You is another on who got “balls” forgive my French and have the gumption to come here and speak to what MUST BE DONE.

Our resolution must be REVOLUTION of the type you speak of here and not the AK 47 type.

You do know that the Embassy of the United States of America has now opened a file for you as a sithering female jihadist in the making.

Balls and coherence, well spoken now what do we do next..??

3. @apieceof the rock, please read 11 again. No jihadist would want the Acting Commissioner of Police to exercise his duties fairly. I am not a jihadist neither will my message be for AK-47’s.

4. Dear Mrs Cole,

Your Claims are sincere indeed. Political participation cannot end in a vote twice a decade.

However, restitution of good old Barbados before 2008 will be very difficult. Here are my points:

Strong currency: Since the BBD is bound to USD, holiday in Barbados became unaffordable for citizens of Brazil, Europe and most other countries during the last 12 months. In other words the composition of tourists is still focused on UK, USA and CAN. How do we source more high-income tourists?
    Negative foreign currency flow: How do we get more high-income foreigners to live in Barbados to contribute to the surplus in foreign currency? Or should the taxes on cars and consumer good even higher to lower outflow?
    High debts: Too much taxpayer´s money goes into debt-service. Do we need a hair-cut? Who will pay for it? Foreign investors (unlikely to return then) or citizens by asset tax on bank accounts and waiver of debt by NIS? I would also like to note that the high public debt kill private investments.
    High costs of living: Going to a supermarket in Bim is shocking. The average prices are definitly higher than Norway, Switzerland and Australia. How do we lower the costs of daily food in a MIDDLE-income nation?
    Disparity between productivity and wages: In the past the wages increased by far faster than economic growth. In other words Barbados lost every year some degree of competitiveness against other countries in the Caribbean with more moderate wages and weaker currency. On the other hand inflation was higher than increase of productivity. Should policy and unions aim at inflation or productivity to set the level of salaries?

5. Was reading your New Years “revolutions” and I thought how appropriate. Reminiscent of Martin Luther nailing his theses to the door or of the church.

6. Interesting article but sorry to say the Haitian Revolution was ultimately a failure like Bussa’s rebellion.They were insurrectionist but not transformative.Another story for another day.The core of dismantling this system is by non-participation.If there are no alternatives, no independents,then simply dont vote.That will send the message of being unable to sway a segment of the population and would cause concern for the political directorate though even having a Government from a low voter turnout.Its a matter of having foresight and the leverage of power.The political class do not want a large non-participatory segment walking around this island.Having the pendulum swung to another established camp proposing ideals is a waste of time.We have tried that before because thats how we got here.I urge Barbadians likewise not to wait and see, but wait and do what is necessary to ultimately dismantle this wicked system without a shot being fired.

7. @Suckababy
    Interesting point, but I do not agree.
    In fact, let me go to the extreme of stating that non-participation is the worst advice that could be given. A part of your assumption, is that those who would seek to lead are men of principle and conscience. The evidence is to the contrary.

Non-participation would allow and active minority to control the future of a vast inactive majority. The political class want a’ large non-participatory segment walking around this island’ and are hoping that they are yardfowls for their party.

8. and active= an active

9. Suckababy=Suckabubby

10. TheGazer December 29, 2015 at 1:26 PM #

Your points are well taken but the basis of my argument is this.The problem from where I sit is that under our current system of elective politics, the status quo is deeply entrenched.So much so that there is a snide arrogance from the political class epitomized by the current Prime Minister.There is no credible challenge to the status quo whether from saint or sinner.I am in no way suggesting we withhold our voting waiting for a political Messiah but I do advocate the people must be sensitized and re-socialized to the fact that alternatives do exist and in lieu of not having such, that the status quo be put on notice.I have seen it for myself, no politician in Barbados likes to be “chased-way” from people’s doorstep in disgust and snubbed.

11. @David Weekes and Observator
    ‘THERE WILL BE A FILE FOR YOU’

I took that for granted that there is an active file for some contributors.

If ‘you all’ believe that the Monroe doctrine is dead, then you are living in the land of make believe. More likely, the doctrine has been expanded to include the threat from the East, political powers of Asia. You can be wooed and courted by the Chinese, but if things get out of control, the US will step in (under some pretext.

Meanwhile, files indicating all ‘players’ (useful and threats) have been created. Don’t underestimate your significance.

12. I wonder which story of the 1816 happenings is correct and if it was the one the oldsters in the country side used to regale us with,it had all to do with mullato Franklyn regaining his inheritance from his “white” siblings and then conquering Bim and establishing himself as Emperor of Bim.

We as a society need to fully understand our history and conflicting views should be aired.

To the above list,I would add

….New land policy,that land can only to be sold to localls and leases of upto 99 years to others.

….An Agricultural policy that includes the implementation of the 50 odd year old idea of making the Scotland District the bread basket of the country.

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Anyhow. I’d like to associate myself with PUDRYR’s comments above.

I think the time is right for a revolt in the polls against the current Government and, perhaps even the current opposition, as I don’t think either of the two have served the people well in their respective roles over the past 8 years. But the Government’s actions and results have far dwarfed the Opposition’s apparent inertia in demonstrating the need for a change in how Government’s business must be conducted in Barbados

The Government’s predeliction for making self serving and patently wrong headed decisions in terms of the people’s interests and in respect of the traditions of good governance which Barbados has enjoyed from Independence to 2007, screams that there is a necessity for a quick and drastic course correction at this time otherwise the country will go deeper and deeper into a mire that will defy any kind of correction in the near future.

But what is the nature of a correction that will be effective, quickly implementable, will not consign Barbados to further years or decades of negative growth and will look after the interests of the majority of its citizens and residents, young and old, rich and poor, sick and well, worker and management, etc. etc?

Would a correction based on AK 47’s be viable and lead to anything but chaos in the short and long term? I think not.

Would a correction that leaves the current Government in office, unpunished for its patent anti-people actions and likely bouts of practices that appear to be tainted with more than a slight whiff of corruption be anything but an invitation for them to continue in the path they have trod for these past seven years? I think not.

Would any of the new names being offered on BU as possible saviours, be likely to turn matters around within the current political system? I think not.

So what kind of viable solution is possible at this time?

I think that Ms Heather Cole’s new year’s resolutions above gives an admirable overview of what the tenets of the new situation must be for Barbados to move out of our current depths. Her resolution does not however give us a road map of possibilities of how we can get and stay there.

Will people throw out the current lot and vote for a new lot that merely promises to fulfill her resolutions? What recourse will there be to get rid of them summarily if they falter? How can we ensure that the new lot keep their promises? How will we ensure that Civil society will keep the new politician’s noses to the wheel?

I think this is an excellent topic that Ms. Cole proposed but I think that the BU family needs to flesh out the strategies that have to be followed to get the resolutions into an operational mode.

14. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

First…the corruption must be reduced, kick out one lot of DBLP, put the other lot of DBLP in place, same corrupt players not only waiting, but more than likely funded both DBLP campaigns, no changes, just more of the same.

15. @ Heather
    Very interesting and meaningful.
    Here is a genuine question for you to contemplate….
    What is there about Barbados and Barbadians that leads you to believe that we DESERVE the kind of vision that you have articulated for us after 200 years of the Bussa revolution..?

Bushie can tell you that a people ALWAYS gets exactly what they deserve….. so why do we deserve those 17 blessing that you have articulated?

16. Over the Christmas period,and up to now, the people of St Joseph have gone without an adequate supply of water. As one resident put it, they feel like animals staked out waiting on someone to fetch them some water.
    We have always taken Government departments to task for their almost middle finger approach to Preventive Maintenance, of any sort. But the Water Works Department (WWD) and moreso its successor BWA must take the cake for this blatant disregard of basic preventive maintenance that has left a whole parish, except for some privilege ones, living in a state akin to a rural district in Haiti.
    From the attached Barbados Advocate Photo of July 10. 1952 we learn that :
    Castle Grant reservoir was put into operation in the year 1919
    Its first clean out of its holding tank too place 40 years later in 1952.
    In the accompanying photo we see some large stalactites removed from the tank.
    63 year later in 2015, Could the BWA tell us when last Castle Grant holding tank was cleaned out? And this question also apply to the many reservoirs around the island.
    http://i.imgur.com/8TACJTX.jpg?1

17. Colonel Buggy December 29, 2015 at 3:52 PM #

Mr Buggy Sir, I really enjoy your photos and your sense of our PRACTICAL history……..but for us to ever get back to what certainly worked in the past in 2016 will truly be a NEW YEAR’S REVOLUTION

18. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

http://nakeddeparture.com/2015/12/29/barbadians-your-name-is-flagged-at-the-pharmacy/

They better make protecting themselves and their families their top priority and new year resolution for 2016. There is a major problem somewhere when there are 40 strokes and nearly 12 heart attacks per day reported at QEH.

19. Thant is a serious charge being leveled at Harris Well Well.

20. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

I too am shocked David, I know beating up on the dude is my favorite past time, but this takes the game to a whole new level. Let’s hope Mr. Harris knows what he is doing.

21. Well Well
    the man is probably just doing what he saw as he grew up

in 1980 was the inception of the national drug service

in those days MSD’S methyldopa callEd ALDOMET controlled hyprtion in most of the populace (many men didnt take it as it was associatd with Custer’s last stand or no stand) but this was before ACE inhibitors and the big guns used for hypertension today

with the advent of the drug service Carlisle had their methyldopa callEd carlMET on th formularly and control of hypertension plummeted bcause the drug passed out unchangd in the faeces

22. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

I dont know GP…it seems there is a lot more going on here, but time will tell…however Bajans must be vigilant with their health.

23. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

I flew in from Canada a couple years ago and there were many warnings by professionals to certain individuals about this dude Peter Harris and his mission to monopolize and privatize healthcare on the island, there were many concerns voiced back then about the corruption factor and the threat to the supreme court, which has come to fruition.

Suffice it to say, under these particular circumstances, an investigation into such allegations are the correct approach, but given that it is known that every area of the agencies who should be strong enough to carry out investigations have been compromised, who is left.

24. Resolution ? Revolution ? In Barbados ? We can’t even be compared to Rip Van Winkle ! We only wake up for Crop over ! Change what !

25. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

They only wake up to wuk up…lol

They better get with the program real fast or it will morph into a pogrom. The greedy are extremely serious about making lots of paper and are willing to go to very great lengths.

26. Not all of St Joseph people are affected by this chronic water shortage . I have yet to see a BWA water tanker in Cattlewash, with the local gentry lugging buckets, pails and poes to collect water, or filling up from one of those plastic stand tanks..
    This diagram is my interpretation as to why Cattlewash has been spared the indignity of going back to the stand pipe.
    http://i.imgur.com/nQyS0Y2.png?1

27. VERY GOOD BUGGY
    GO TO THE HEAD OF THE CLASS! AND STAY THERE!

28. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

This issue with water woes has been highlighted in the newspapers for weeks, why are there no demonstrations, this is not a joke. GP…….correct me if am wrong, but one week without drinking water and people actually die…..the politicians may want to hold off on their bribe taking for at least 30 days to deal with this situation, it seems to be escalating.

When the government allowed a Canadian company to enter Barbados and set up a pharmaceutical company that eventually distributed fake drugs across Europe and North America, KILLING PEOPLE and causing major misery and distress to many elderly people etc…..records disappeared from corporate affairs and all those who took bribes on the island to facilitate those crimes went into hiding, including the Canadians.

DBLP pretended they were clueless. To unravel the mess and name Barbados as one of the culprits, international authorities had to go about it a round about way. Eventually arrests warrants were issued, apparently investigations are still ongoing in that scam.

Now the year is ending, there are allegations of fake drugs being circulated by no less than Peter Harris who is known to have no boundaries or fear of being arrested etc for anything he does on the island. Who is going to investigate these allegations to protect the people on the island. I understand that certain people have contacted certain agencies, international, about Harris’ insurance scams, but fake drugs are a whole aother animal with a thorough investigation very necessary.

Politicians need to forget bribes just long enough to put protective measures in place for the people.

29. Re #13 above – this is only a temporary problem and will be solved pre-election 2018. NHS is stockpiling houses now for the great release when the country’s economy again flourishes (just before elections and just after 50 Years of Independence celebrations).

30. well well
    re his is not a joke. GP…….correct me if am wrong, but one week without drinking water and people actually die…

LET ME CHECK WICKIPEDIA AND GET BACK TO YOU lol
    perhaps you should ask the man that says I gt my medicine from wickipedia

TELL ME THOUGH IS CARLISLE LABORATORIES STILL AROUND BRINGING IN GENERIC DRUGS FOR REPACKAGING AND CLAIMING TO BE MANUFACTURERS OF DRUGS?

31. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

GP….I have no clue re Carlisle Labs, there may be new players around although Carlisle was around for a long time. They are all frightening and the island vulnerable because there is no one to keep anything in check.

All this time on BU and you are not used to that rough crowd yet..lol

32. Now a community in St. Phillip threatens not to vote unless their road is fixed.Good for them.I doubt they will follow through but as sure night follows day somebody will.

33. RE GP….I have no clue re Carlisle Labs, there may be new players around although Carlisle was around for a long time.

SAME PEOPLE…………COLLINS
    Carlisle Labs is a subsidiary that claims to make drugs in Bim- but they only repackage

some reputable firms with the economies of scale and the technology can make cheap and good generics after the original makers have lost the patent with a high level of purity

however, even aspirin is difficult to purify, and so without the economies of scale and the technology you can be facing trouble

biochemie from canada and another italian firm used to unload lots of rubbish in bim

a lot of carlisle preparations used to go bad before the expiration date…….some used to pass unchanged in the faeces

with the advent of the national formulary, I found it very difficult to write prescriptions as a matter of conscience

34. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Not good GP……now the doctors are wondering in the nation newspaper why there are 40 strokes and nearly 12 heart attacks per day at QEH, someone is playing god and no one seems overly concerned, but was bound to reach to this stage after years of abuse. I had to warn some people in Barbados who take daily medication, to be very careful.

Apparently the idiocy has steadly progressed since you left.

35. There is no proof that Harris has done anything wrong. Innocent until proven guilty…….. BUT…. I live in Canada so …..

http://www.thestar.com/business/2015/08/11/canadian-company-charged-with-selling-78m-in-fake-drugs.html

36. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Lol…..Hants, just try not to get sick when you visit Barbados, you don’t know what you will get..

37. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

As a matter of fact, ask Alvin, someone said he has first hand experience, having got sick on one of his visits to Barbados some time back.

38. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

What a wonderful read…

FIFA official — who is also a judge in Guatemala — arraigned in Brooklyn on charges of accepting bribes

BY JOHN MARZULLI NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Wednesday, December 30, 2015, 6:12 PM A A A

FIFA president Sepp Blatter (pictured) has been suspected and dozens of other officials at the organization have been busted in the corruption scandal, including Hector Trujillo, a judge from Guatemala.

A Guatemalan judge arrested on a cruise ship earlier this month shortly after federal prosecutors unsealed an indictment charging him in the FIFA corruption scandal was arraigned Wednesday in Brooklyn Federal Court.

Hector Trujillo, 62, who is the secretary general of the Guatemalan soccer federation while also serving as a judge of the country’s Constitutional Court, entered a not guilty plea through his lawyer to wire fraud and money laundering charges contained in the superseding indictment.

Assistant Brooklyn U.S. Attorney Paul Tuchman told the judge that Trujillo received bribes through his position on the soccer federation.

FIFA ETHICS COURT BANS BLATTER, PLATINI FOR 8 YEARS

Trujillo, wearing a navy blue prison outfit , blew kisses to family members sitting in the courtroom and they returned the love. He will make a pitch to be released on bail at a hearing on Jan. 7.

Federal agents boarded a cruise ship in Port Canaveral, Fla., on Dec. 4 and arrested Trujillo who was on vacation.

“The defendant Hector Trujillo currently serves as a judge … purportedly dispensing justice by day while allegedly soliciting bribes and selling his influence within FIFA.” U.S. Attorney General Loretta Lynch said when she announced the charges.

FIFA president Sepp Blatter has been suspended and dozens of other officials of soccer’s world governing body and executives have been busted in a global corruption and kickback scheme

39. WW Happy Hogmanay now you can put that coal you got for Christmas to good use.. Health..wealth.. and happiness in the new year

40. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Same to you Lawson…

41. “One hopes that in the year 2016 the spirits of our ancestors will arise to empower us to fight to build a secure foundation for our children’s children.”

#ProtectTheChildren

42. Focusbarbados

We haven’t a clue as to who we are as a black people transplanted on a piece of land in the waters of the Caribbean, and you’re talking about our ancestors who we know little of but by the books which were and are written by the same Europeans who enslaved our ancestors.

43. Focusbarbados

Contrary to what the white man’s history books tells us, or history as a black people on the island of Barbados begun way before the introduction of cotton and sugar cane brother.
    Is started many centuries upon the African continent, but our leading academics have failed to provide us with the knowledge which would have enable us to better understand ourselves as a black people.

44. Ready to join your movement for change anytime. At least you are more forthright in your comments unlike some of those mentioned by piece.