Submitted by William Skinner

Those who are not blinded by party loyalty to either the Democratic Labour Party or the Barbados Labour Party would have noticed some rather fancy political foot work, […]

over the last couple of weeks.

It seems that our struggling Minister of Finance, Mr. Chris Sinckler, is finding more common ground with our former Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Mr. Owen Arthur.

These two gentlemen have similar problems. Sinckler’s legacy will be that he failed on any and every occasion to get the economy moving in a positive direction. And we are slowly discovering that Athur’s much praised stewardship of the economy, during his three terms, is now almost demolished, by the revelations that many of the problems we have, were left unsolved. Both of them are being considered as outstanding failures.

Mr. David Commissiong, who was once in Mr. Arthur’s choir, has now determined that Arthur is a spent force; a colossal nuisance, who did little or nothing substantial, during his reign. What the erudite Commisiong failed to say is that Mia Mottley, the prime minister in waiting, has done considerably less and has far less to offer our country than Arthur. But I leave that there “fuh now” and will certainly return to it in another time and place.

We note that Sinckler is now openly embracing Arthur as a possible advisor to the DLP on economic matters. He has also associated himself with Arthur’s stand on the Dr. Maria Agard affair. Sinckler also told the students of the Parkinson Memorial School, that rougher times are ahead and Bajans need to stop complaining so much. We recall his newly found buddy Arthur saying that everybody wants to go to heaven but no one wants to die. Arthur also said that Bajans were becoming a nation of whiners. The messages are very similar: mush up de place and then blame de people.

But only those who are in deep slumber would be surprised by these developments. After all, Dr. Clyde Mascoll, who was once the major critic of Arthur’s economic policies, ended up in his cabinet!

We have a one party state peoples!

133 responses to “One Party State”

1. @Bush Tea December 11, 2015 at 10:52 AM #

Chuckle……up to now you have not connected the dots…..whether we agree with it or not we in this neck of the woods practice our own form of Westminister politics,so if you want to enter the arena learn the rules of may the best candidate win by whatever means.

Other than that you have to bring forward a new form of governance and I would not suggest Maurice’s brand as that failed.

2. In most developed countries, political leaders are hired for their looks and presentation skills. Think Justin Trudeau. They are often lawyers with some negotiating experience, but they are not expected to develop the ideas or programs needed for economic growth, other than perhaps a tax plan or a trade proposal.
    Barbados should look to its intelligentsia for substantive ideas. Not to elected politicians. What are those lazy professors at Cave Hill doing?

3. @ Chad
    What are those lazy professors at Cave Hill doing?
    Wait!! …. did you not say we should look to our ‘intelligentsia’ for substantive ideas?
    …so how does Cave Hill get in..?

You listened to George Belle recently?
    You see any innovative ideas coming from any “Cave Hill Chaired’ Boards such as NIS, Fear Trading, The various Frank Alleyne Boards, Sir Cave Hilary boards, the Productivity Council (What a BIG joke), …or from Cave Hill itself…?

Wuh without the idiotic government policy of paying blindly for the hoards of clerical quality jokers being processed through Cave Hill the place would be broke long ago….or taken over by some little white old woman from Canada…

Tek care we don’t take off a few of those ‘9’s from behind your name yuh… 🙂

4. or get the minister of fine ants to put a decimal point somewhere in between de 9s

5. Yardfowlism

“Dr Duguid is a good man, but on the other hand, Dr Maria Agard did not offer me any assistance.

I had to go and look for work from the other political party.

I would welcome him back because when he was the parliamentary representative for Christ Church West he gave me work on a house he was building and three apartments,” said a young building contractor in Clapham.

6. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

visited the Diaspora Corner recently?

7. As Skins said so eloquently, NO ONE ELSE in local history has had more opportunities to demonstrate leadership, patriotism, commitment and love for country. However in EVERY area she has held so far, Mia has left a trail of petty, divisive, SELFISH legacies… often mixing her personal business with state business as the ultimate form of insider trading via:
    -Jose & jose
    -Arch Cot property
    -Legal services to Four Seasons
    -Unknown connections to the Dodds Contractors, The Oil Terminal people…
    -the whole Prison burning episode
    -Crab Hill police station
    -questions about the finances of the BLP being misused..
    -The whole multi-million dollar school computerisation scam -edutech
    -ICC world cup fiasco
    -Illegal bugging of Bajan’s phones with secret world cup equipment (including owing’s)
    -biting associates in unfortunate circumstances
    -threats to close down the blogs…
    …and now this seeming petty and personal vendetta against

All I ask is if she is the only politician in Barbados that is guilty of sins of commission and omission. If you all continue with this anti-mottley tirade then surely Mr Stuart and Mr Sinckler will be re-elected which leaves me to wonder whether this all of a sudden anti-political party rhetoric by those who were once in the bosom of the DLP is only a facade intended to keep criticism of the DLP to manageable proportions. In addition; a lot of the above is speculative. You talking like she caused the deaths of the people at Arch Cot by selling unsuitable land or she burn down the prison for her own ends. Bushie i am surprised that you falling for this shite. Ms Mottley does not have the future of Barbados in her hands. Children of poor Barbadians have not been made to pay for their tertiary education under her watch nor has she been publicly humiliated through the display of cheque and publicly accused of diverting monies meant for party coffers to her personal bank; nor was she cited in a forensic report for receiving millions of dollars in dubious circumstances. Mr Barrow presided over scandals of monumental proportions such as seafoods; carsicott; caricargo;the harp gun; Mark Stokes;Carmen Bailey deportation; Mr Tudor was a life long homosexual; Mr Tom Adams was labelled a woman beater and all of theses honourable gentlemen were regarded as fit for high office. Why not Ms Mottley?

8. @ balance
    Mr Tudor was never considered fit for the premiership. He was always regarded as a placeholder who could not threaten the Leader because of his idiosyncracies, much like Kamalludin Mohammed in Trinidad, who was also disqualified from the top job because he was a Muslim and not very bright.
    No responsible, serious-minded Bajan should even consider this woman for PM. Embarrassing and disgusting.

9. BU is fully aware the DLP will launch an uncompromising attack on Mia next general elections. It will be nasty. Be prepared. More of the same corn beef and biscuit politics.

10. “For years now they have gotten by solely because of that money aided by 95% of a black population of slaves.”

And what have we done about it? continue to finance the operations of the white speculators under the guise that black businesses do not deliver efficient service

11. “chad99999 December 11, 2015 at 11:19 PM #

@ balance
    Mr Tudor was never considered fit for the premiership”
    If you read my post carefully Mr Chad you will observe I used the words ‘fit for high office’ and Mr Tudor was Deputy Prime Minister; Minister of Education; Minister of Foreign affairs;Minister of Caribbean and Latin American affairs; Ambassador to the OAS and Ambassador to the Court of St James.

12. Wickham concedes that the 2018 election would be about leadership .However he did not explain what he meant or how and what the electorate would define the leader .
    There is no doubt that Gonsalves is a charismatic leader and one who has the quality to garner automatic support support .
    Most would agree that PM Stuart does not exude charisma on that same level enough to get that kind of automatic support
    Then the question is how and what would be the defining factors in the minds of the electorate for PM Stuart leadership going into the next election ,i believes his appeal has already been set and sealed in the minds of electorate by his self confidence and his determination which he has revealed in those moments of confrontation to out wit and confound his detractors in times of chaos

13. @ balance
    So if you are smart enough to see that Ms Mottley provides possibly THE ONLY ticket through which Froon and Stinkliar can be re-elected …yuh mean you ain’t smart enough to work out that the damn party NEEDS to bring someone who at least cannot be classified as “even worse than Froon”….
    …or are you saying that she MUST remain ..even if it means that the BLP loses again? wuh you was the person that allegedly had the gun last time they were voting for a leader…? 🙂

Should it not be Barbados First, Party second and Mottley last…?

14. Politics first!

15. @balance December 11, 2015 at 11:07 PM #

Well stated.

@Bush Tea December 12, 2015 at 7:28 AM #

Chuckle….you and your rubbish again,the lady leads all others in the polls,it is only you and the old boys club a minority I may add that does not want her to become the next PM.

@David December 12, 2015 at 7:30 AM #

Yup…..the next election will be interesting as it pits two of best politicians Bim has ever seen against each other……both have survived against the odds.

16. Vincent
    You can be such a jackass …and with such ease… 🙂

-Who does she lead in the polls?
    -Who took the poll?
    -Did anyone amplify her many ‘indiscretions’ prior to the ‘poll’ …as will be the case prior to elections?
    -Do you think that you should be elected PM if Petra took a ‘poll’ which showed you to be a more popular leader than Dompey?
    -What do you think will be the result of a poll now that ask “who do you prefer as PM, Froon or %%%%%”? (insert any shiite there)

Shiite man…. these politicians DEPEND on people like you….

17. @Vincent

What is frustrating and disappointing is the ease with which Barbadians – the intelligent and the dullard – become sucked in to the political theater and rhetoric.

18. @Bush Tea December 12, 2015 at 7:54 AM #

Chuckle…….Bushy this is not a world made to suit you it is one where the majority will have their say.
    With Wickhams vincy poll validated,you can now stop trying to discredit him.

19. “So if you are smart enough to see that Ms Mottley provides possibly THE ONLY ticket through which Froon and Stinkliar can be re-elected …yuh mean you ain’t smart enough to work out that the damn party NEEDS to bring someone who at least cannot be classified as “even worse than Froon”….
    …or are you saying that she MUST remain ..even if it means that the BLP loses again? wuh you was the person that allegedly had the gun last time they were voting for a leader…? ”

You seem to know more about Ms Mottley’s wickednesses which in your view exceeds the wickednesses of all other politricians of this current or past era than I or her constituents do, but after Ms Mottley out of that that motley band in the entire Parliament but who?

Pick someone who has no mote in their eyes and I will bow to you.

20. There is No way Mia Mottley can be PM of barbados Her chances has been diminished because of her grandstanding style of change and her non persuasive performance as leader of the BLP . Whatever charisma a she had held is mostly due to her parents political influence and now has been squander in those fleeting moments of disrespect depletion all or most of the Respect she once enoyed and which had armored her footsteps towards first class leadership
    The Mottley brand is now seen as a blimp on the political landscape and the task for retrieving is all but a lost cause

21. “David December 12, 2015 at 7:56 AM #

@Vincent

What is frustrating and disappointing is the ease with which Barbadians – the intelligent and the dullard – become sucked in to the politic theatre and rhetoric. ”

And permit me to respectfully ask under which grouping do you fall my esteemed friend?

22. AM #

“Vincent
    You can be such a jackass …and with such ease… 🙂

-Who does she lead in the polls?
    -Who took the poll?
    -Did anyone amplify her many ‘indiscretions’ prior to the ‘poll’ …as will be the case prior to elections?
    -Do you think that you should be elected PM if Petra took a ‘poll’ which showed you to be a more popular leader than Dompey?
    -What do you think will be the result of a poll now that ask “who do you prefer as PM, Froon or %%%%%”? (insert any shiite there)

Shiite man…. these politicians DEPEND on people like you…”

Shite man you all over the place like you choking or something.

23. Bushie you really think the comments we make on this blog influence public opinion. The views on the blog has its own constituents and are but a mere microcosm of what is reflected in the wider society. That is why answers to thought provoking commentary published on BU is not even seriously pursued by the commentators and dies a natural death. I am willing to bet that a national poll if held now. would unanimously pick Ms Mottley to be the preferred leader out of all others despite the shortcomings highlighted by you and others.

24. @balance December 12, 2015 at 8:25 AM #

No two ways about it I love politics albeit as an armchair fan and I pride myself on being objective and logical in my approach.The rethoric does not sway me nor will I be inclined to join a party,presently I am impressed with the LoO.

@balance December 12, 2015 at 8:27 AM #

Chuckle….once you understand that Bushy is a homophobic,male chauvanist bushwacking son of the BBE….nothing he says or does should surprise you…..I wonder where and from whom he learnt it from.

25. David

Have you heard anything about a serious cuss out between the MoF and the MoA over the lack of funding for the sugar industry?

26. HURRY UP AND FIX IT !!!!!!!!!

27. Tree falls on power lines but in an area where difficult terrain is an issue.

24 hour response plan.

Mobilize the DEM. Send the BDF and BL&P EMERA personnel.

28. @Vincent;
    Didn’t Chomsky write a book about Corporate Welfare Bums? Any of them in Barbados?
    @Bushie. Still a few things to be added to your list. Think about it. Didn’t Rev. Matthews warn of the impending prison riot a long time and was not only ignored but was laughed at. It came o pass. Who was the minister responsible for Insurance affairs when the minister was warned by the inspector of insurances that the insurance companies were not maintaining the required balances. Ergo, CLICO

29. @Alvin Cummins December 15, 2015 at 6:55 PM #

I wonder if you and WW&Q are related ,possibly twins as you both can make sense but proceed to produce non sense at times e.g. two wrongs make a right