Afra Raymond

In this provocative talk, Afra Raymond takes a deeper look at race and racism. He successfully uses the talk to place a new perspective on how we think about race […]

and its role in corruption.

Sobering commentary on the sad reality of how things happen or don’t happen in our society. The comparison with India and Nigeria make it all the more haunting. We have failed and we have to do better – Chip Sa Gomes

380 responses to “Is it Only White People Who Can be Racist?”

1. on the racism scale blacks are their own worst enemies and enablers of whites racist attitudes and bigoted stigmas against themselves
    The fact being that blacks are the worlds largest consumers and never stop to think or realize how much of their spending power if with held from white business can do immeasurable devastation to the whites financial power
    No! in the meantime blacks bitch and belly ache about how much wealth and power the whites have but refuse to admit or even understand that the wealth of whites are attributed from the (blacks) source of spending power
    Even having one day of blacks economic boycott of white business would be sufficient to send a “red” line message to white business that blacks have enough or equally financial power in the form of spending as whites have in controlling and with holding the wealth against blacks

2. balance December 14, 2015 at 5:31 AM #

“What is wrong with that? The other ethnicities or colours do it too. Chinese, Indians- It is called preservation of my own kind. I believe my colour has the capacity to do the same. But no we spend our time fighting to get in the Harbour lights or perceived disbarment from the communities or social gatherings of the others; spending huge sums on wigs to look like them or on their fashion wear………..”

EXCELLENT POINT, Balance.

Rather than help each other similarly to how the other races do, we spend time trying to get into their social circle, while fighting against each other.

Look at how many of us flock to support “high end” white dominated sports such as motor racing, polo and badminton. They attend these sporting activities to “rub shoulders” with the whites and give themselves a “false sense of superiority” over those of us who may prefer to attend road tennis.

3. Obviously the way Blacks behave as described by you Artax is a symptom of how we have been socialize. We can simplify the issue by saying why don’t we behave like x but is a little more complicated isn’t it.

4. ac December 14, 2015 at 6:36 AM #

“on the racism scale blacks are their own worst enemies and enablers of whites racist attitudes and bigoted stigmas against themselves….”

Waaaait, dis is a new AC?, Wuh dis one mekking nuff mo sense dan de ones dat does write shiite to defend de DLP.

Seriously, I have to agree with your comments 100%.

5. To piggy back on what Art says . However in reality some blacks see their interaction with whites as a leverage to getting a “foot” in the door of the white man worlds being blinded and guided by their own racist attitudes against their own race ,and
    their is where the false sense of superiority raises its ugly head.
    Which brings me to causes and effects, or subliminal racist behaviour which becomes more strengthened and openly demonstrated as blacks intermingled with whites taking on the same authoritarian and rejection of blacks similar to their whites counterparts

6. @David December 14, 2015 at 7:06 AM #

We will continue to get tie up if we keep refering to people by their pigment.

People are people irrespective of pigment with likes and dislikes and no two being the same.

Irrespective of pigment some peeps enjoy driving fast,riding fast,surfing fast…….the adrenalin rush found in competive sports…….your ability to finance your interest will decide at which level you compete.

In the early 70’s,as a member of the BRC I did some drag racing at Paragon with an MGB GT,just before the fuel crisis that shut down motor sports in Bim for a while and never felt the urge to go back after it restarted.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ac December 14, 2015 at 6:36 AM #
    on the racism scale blacks are their own worst enemies and enablers of whites racist attitudes and bigoted stigmas against themselves

Jeez…AC…whatever you drank this morning, keep drinking…lol that is what most of us been trying to tell you on here and got cussed for for our troubles……AKA…stop enabling Cow, Bizzy et al, stop kissing their asses, stop making them feel they are gods and saviors, no matter how many jobs they produce, now if the other 3 idiots could understand that, we won the battle, they are not gods, even dimwitted Zoe admitted that blacks are quite capable of being wealthy and self-reliant on their own, without any assistance from either cow or bizzy and despite the practice of discrimination and racism…you go girl.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art…the hypothetical and the rhetorical gets you nowhere, price gouging does not help the customer, particularly when it’s done because of one’s skin color, if you see nothing wrong with that…fine

Balance…you do have a balanced point.

9. ac December 14, 2015 at 7:18 AM #

“Which brings me to causes and effects, or subliminal racist behaviour which becomes more strengthened and openly demonstrated as blacks intermingled with whites taking on the same authoritarian and rejection of blacks similar to their white counterparts….”

EXACTLY, AC, a very good point!!

Why is it when a black person responds to a white person, they do so in an American accent?

Why is it when a white person walks into any business establishment and find black people there waiting before him, the black attendants always move to serve him first?

Why is it when you go into any business establishment and say “good morning,” no one replies, but when a white man comes in and says “good morning” (which is rare), all the black people respond with a loud “GOOD MORNING!!!”?

Yes, white people are racist, but we as black people exhibit much more racism amongst ourselves than the other races. Racism among us exists in simple things, such as the guy attending HC or Combermere thinking he is more superior than the guy who attended St. Leonard’s or the girl who attended Springer Memorial. I know a guy who attended Combermere and was so upset that his supervisor attended a “lesser” school than him, to the extent he created difficulties in the office.

Racism raises its ugly head among blacks when the type job one has, house one lives in, car one drives are taken into consideration as a sign of superiority. What could be more racism than someone who may have a fair complexion laughing at someone who is of a darker complexion and calling them “dark man” or “dark woman,” or saying I have curly hair and your hair knotty? And referring to fair skinned blacks as people with pretty skin.

10. Well Well & Consequences December 14, 2015 at 7:48 AM #

Art…the hypothetical and the rhetorical gets you nowhere, price gouging does not help the customer, particularly when it’s done because of one’s skin color, if you see nothing wrong with that…fine..”

Are you some kind of idiot????

Where did I mention in my contribution that I do not have a problem with price gouging or someone pricing according to the colour of their customer’s skin?

Your comprehension skills are lacking.

11. blacks are the worlds biggest consumers……and you let her away with that without even a blink of the eye. It feeds right in to your racist beliefs so it must be true right.

12. This question is for all you contributors who are going on and on about white racists.

What would you do if your daughter or son brought home someone with a darker complexion, a Rasta, labourer, van driver, Home Helper, maid, gardener, messenger, or an employee of the NCC, SSA, or Drainage Unit; or they come from the Orleans, Pine, Silver Hill, Gall Hill, Haynesville, Suttle Street, Deacons Farm, Black Rock or Greenfields in the city, and introduced them as the one they intend to marry?

13. @ Artax
    Boss …man tek it easy…. Everything cool…
    Wuh you very worked up bout this thing yuh….

The racism word is over-rated. Most of the examples you gave are about petty jealousy, classism, and brass bowlery.

Racism is about classifying a whole RACE (well actually a particular group of the human race distinguished by specific characteristics) as being inferior /superior in some way, AND THEN using power to disadvantage (or advantage) that particular group as a result of such belief.

You will find that what you are getting all worked up about is not racism, but simple brass bowlery..
    Even the VERY special Barbadian talent that allows us to see these albinos as somehow of a higher class of citizen is not really ‘racism’, but a very special strain of super brass bowlery bred by 400 years of brain washing and yardfowl development.

LOL…
    Now according to the above definition, Bushie is probably a damn racist, …cause the Bushman happens to KNOW that the ORIGINAL BLACK man, created by BBE, in his OWN image, IS THE REAL deal….and that everything else is nothing but the result of faulty genes…..

…add to that, the power of the big-ass whacker that the bushman has been provided, and um look like Bushie meets the definition yuh… ha ha ha

Besides Artax….what EXACTLY is wrong with a fellow from Cawmere feeling that he is better than one from wherever? …. (with HC ..we can all understand what wrong wid dat….) 🙂

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….I find your question strange, so correct me if I am wrong. I love my black sons-in-law in law, though I often feel like slapping the Jamaican, lol…my black daughters-in-law, my white/mixed /Asian/whatever grand children. Is that not how it’s supposed to be, how do we go about choosing our children’s partners, have we not noticed for centuries how much damage to the family structure that bigotry and idiocy have done, are we still not mature enough to handle relationships that cross bloodlines.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….I refuse to address the part where you mentioned job descriptions because……are they not jobs?

16. Well Well & Consequences December 14, 2015 at 8:34 AM #

“Art….I find your question strange, so correct me if I am wrong……. Is that not how it’s supposed to be, how do we go about choosing our children’s partners, have we not noticed for centuries how much damage to the family structure that bigotry and idiocy have done, are we still not mature enough to handle relationships that cross bloodlines.”

Once again you are missing the point.

Where in my contribution did I mention about “how do we go about choosing our children’s partners?”

I know for a fact that black people are very prejudice and even more so than the whites we gripe about. They are many black Barbadians who, because they may have what we term as a “good job,” would not want their children to marry someone who they think is inferior. This is a fact.

They would, for example, enroll their daughter at an elite nursery school, send her to swimming, ballet and piano lessons, take her to and from school, only because the white people engage in these activities and it’s the bourgeois thing to do…… status symbols. How do you think they would feel if that daughter begins to date a Nyabingy Rastaman?

17. Well Well & Consequences December 14, 2015 at 8:39 AM #

“Art….I refuse to address the part where you mentioned job descriptions because……are they not jobs?”

??????????????

I am inclined to think that COMPREHENSION was not your strong point in school. You have a way of deliberately refusing to understand the CONTEXT in which a contribution was written and prefer to focus on irrelevant issues to satisfy your agenda.

Shiite, even Dompey would have understood what I meant.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art…they will have to accept it and welcome the grands, if they are smart. It’s only some on here don’t think that blacks are capable of racial or any other kind of prejudice against their own, they conveniently wear blinkers, because it’s easier to deal with in their little world and it allows them not to have to confront the real issues and deal with reality.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….you are going to give yourself a heart attack, we already got De Word on here sitting in a corner pouting at me. What you have dropped in very late to talk about on the blog is what I been ranting about here for 3 days, ask AC…lol

20. @ Well Well & Consequences

Ranting??? No. I see it as you exercising your freedom to express yourself.

21. Vincent Haynes December 13, 2015 at 8:33 PM #
    @Bush Tea December 13, 2015 at 7:10 PM #

“Chuckle…..bozie,ah never see so much drivle from an alumnus…….tell mah who teach you dis rubbish……we were taught to reason and be logical and eschew assumptions……but you all over de place verbalising excreta……wuhloss.”

VH, Man, this is the WHACKER, full of verbalizing excreta…NUFF of it too…after all, the Whacker is just like he fadder, who WAS a LIAR from the beginning, and IS* the fadder of ALL LIES!!

Wuhloss, this Bush-Shiite Whacker, after all, he said, “I WILL BE GOD” You could want to hear more Shiite dan dat!!!

22. Lawson suggests “keeeping it in their pants”
    Are u looking for a Revolution or what?
    Propagation of the species has always been a very high order activity in Bim.

I believe my own grandfather, who died in 1922, and his brothers were Certified Village Rams or more delicately Liberal Propagatory Inseminators.

Bim has been exporting people globally for couple hundred years. we have exported semen in Touristes for the last 50 yrs or so.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….MoneyB, what do you think about Barbados’ pending Republic status?

Did you notice Ted Cruz’s strategy is working, conservatives are backing off your trumpie, trumpie is pouting and trumpie’s sheeple are saying Cruz was born in Canada to a Commie father from Cuba..lol……it’s going to be a nasty catfight soon, for sure.. unless, because there are over 12 GOP candidates, a brokered coonvention is instituted to choose a candidate, but that has not been done since 1952. At least trumpie has toned down the racist rhetoric, he’s now busy tying to stay relevant.

24. De ole man notice dat while all uh we ranting bout niggas and hunkies, coolies and pakis dat de very man who elicit de comment dem (which up to now de ole man cant get play pun my cuntputer) he get force tuh resign?

“…The Sunday Guardian also learned that the JCC violated its own constitution and bypassed Raymond on the attendance list for council meetings.

As the immediate past president, Raymond is automatically a council member but the Sunday Guardian has learned that the former president Winston Riley has refused to give way and acknowledge Raymond as the new immediate past president on the JCC executive…”

Well dat also sound like a National Executive Council matter tuh me similar to the Troika dat dismiss Dr Agard but since it far awy from de substantive topic, I guess I should not have mentioned it…

25. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right

Thanks, it is a chronic problem many suffer.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…I was waitig to hear xactly what happened, but am sure Afra will not be shy to tell us everything.

27. WW
    Been watching events unfold, not surprised, like I said Trump is going much too far with his talk. If I was managing him he would have to tone it down. However, he sure is the centre of attention, has received at least $1bn worth of free exposure. Some people must be dreaming his name at 3am.(or having nightmares) Trump could be an Action oriented President that could solve many problems with his negotiating and Management skills BUT he is coming across far too strong, which the media secretly love as then he becomes cannon fodder.

The GOP should be chopping some of the bystander candidates, anyone still under like 7% should be retired. 5-7 people are plenty.

Cruz handled Trump perfectly with the Maniac song.

28. This old Zulu method is what is required to bring these discussions to a head.

http://qz.com/572623/this-simple-negotiation-tactic-brought-195-countries-to-consensus-in-the-paris-climate-talks/

29. Better the old English method the …maxim gun …., the matabele tended to agree after they saw it

30. “Rather than help each other similarly to how the other races do, we spend time trying to get into their social circle, while fighting against each other.

Look at how many of us flock to support “high end” white dominated sports such as motor racing, polo and badminton. They attend these sporting activities to “rub shoulders” with the whites and give themselves a “false sense of superiority” over those of us who may prefer to attend road tennis.”

You brighter than I Think Arta. You have hit the nail right on its head. We Black people are own worst enemies.