I am always extremely reticent to stray away from the intended objective and topic of this column, there comes a point when every concerned resident has to speak up to help […]
protect an industry that many of us consider precious.

For almost five decades since my first visit I have thankfully enjoyed a special relationship with Canada where my brother has practiced as a rural doctor for over 40 years. I graphically recall many years ago while walking along the shores of Lake Winnipeg, the male member of a family in front of us threw am empty packet of cigarettes on the ground. Without hesitation, my long standing and now sadly deceased friend, tapped the man on the shoulder and said simply ’we don’t do that in Canada’. Despite the intimidating size of the culprit, he said nothing but stooped down and picked up the offending packet.

Then as now, I frequently ponder on what shapes a society to have common values like this? And that brings me back to my adopted country of 27 years, Barbados. There cannot be many repeat visitors that have failed to notice since the imposition of the now abandoned municipal solid waste tax and the equally ill thought-out tipping fees that have directly impacted on the increased level of indiscriminate dumping of all types of garbage. Not only have they noticed it, but it has become a regularly discussed topic of nearly every section of the various social media forums.

After witnessing the hard earned increases in long stay arrivals, surely we are not going to jeopardise the beneficial effects of this achievement by turning the island into a mountain of garbage? And if anyone thinks that this does not influence destination choice, then think long and hard again. As a business, we do not receive a single ‘free’ state collection of waste. We separate all that is feasible for us which includes newspaper, cardboard, glass, plastic and metals and the wonderful B’s Recycling people collect it without charge on a regular weekly basis.

Our garden waste is placed in a skip and we pay another company to provide the container and collect it for disposal on a regular basis. I have to admit that since the dumping fee was imposed, because of all the other operational cost increases we have been forced to try and absorb, we now extend the duration of the collection to help keep the charges down.

So what is the solution?

I have yet to speak to a single person here who agrees with the construction and operation of the proposed waste to energy plant. If this is not already overwhelming apparent to our political rulers, it will become increasingly clear of the galvanised opposition to the concept, as we creep closer to the next general election. But ultimately, we the people have to do a great deal more ourselves.

On a regular morning walk in our area, it’s apparent that residents generally have no idea which day their garbage will be collected, so they leave plastic bags out, often for days to the mercy of stray dogs, chickens, swarms of breeding flies and dare I say, rats. Among this visually offensive disarray of waste, there are bottles, cans and plastic containers that could and should be separated for profitable disposal.

We may have every justification for blaming the political directorate for many things, but in this case at the end of the day, it is largely down to us.

34 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Garbage and Tourism”

1. Your letter is well written, but it contains one flaw. Many people would like to separate the waste. i would like to do so, but was told by B’s recycling that they no longer collect such items. Seeing that I don’t have a car I have no alternative but to put the bottles into the regular collection. I detest seeing people just dropping their litter wherever they deem fit, and anyone whom I see so doing I speak to them about it. It is not only the young people who do this.

2. A country like Canada has been on the front line for many years in the education pf their populace on environmental issue , THe example in the article is clear proof that the society has listened and act accordingly
    Barbados issue with garbage can be easily pinpointed to a lack of basic education through out the years concerning the environment
    Therefore and unfortunately the country would reap the negative fall out from the citizenry where as lack of knoweldge is attributed in respect of how they treat the environment
    Hopefully as the citizens become fully aware through the educational process the mindset of a don.t care attitude about all things environmental would take root with a replacement of the evolving of cleaner cities and fresher air

3. Then as now, I frequently ponder on what shapes a society to have common values like this?
    This is the CRITICAL point.
    The answer is visionary leadership that creates a POSITIVE culture of cleanliness and self-respect among the citizens.
    Unfortunately, this is ONLY possible where the leaders HAVE self-respect ..and clean hands.

4. What I have seen in my near 40 years of coming to Barbados is balance. I see two types of bajans ,one respectful ,smart, proud the other loud lazy and rude. At this moment in time you have an equal amount of both, which is causing your garbage and tourism problem. The caring people cannot keep up with the messy people because of shear numbers. Canada has had an advantage over the years because we don’t like to shit where we eat like the side streets in Bridgetown. But there is hope just around the corner…your own personal gasification plant, that can be bought on line from the channel islands in four equal payments

5. The problem with the Cahill project is two-fold: one is the secrecy around the deal. The second which is related, it is over priced and not well thought out.
    To my knowledge Cahill does not have a Plasma Gasification partner.
    As well, all Barbados need is a 400 tonne per day plant. Plasma Gasification is the way to go, it is Environmentally friendly and cost effective. This technology is the fast growing technology in the world to manage waste. What Barbados needs is open and honest communication, with the Government and a tender process to show transparency.
    I have done a feasibility study for another similar geographical area, the cost should be $150 Million USD.

6. See page 3 of today’s Nation newspaper, 3 weeks since garbage pickup from two apartments. Lowe needs to be fired.

7. Hants the shoreline cleanup makes it look like Canadians dropped the garabage not from the japanese tsunami , but you are right garbage is everywhere we should be bringing in 25000 Egyptian Christians they are world class recyclers I have not seen as much styrafoam used anywhere else as I see in Barbados does that stuff even degrade?

8. We have the ridiculous situation in North of no water again. When BU raised it with Lucy’s son he responded that in large countries he visited recently he had to brush his teeth with a bottle of water. Note the community tank at Trents is empty as well. What is this place coming to!

9. @ David who wrote, ” in large countries he visited recently he had to brush his teeth with a bottle of water.”

Why doesn’t he deliver 48 bottles of water per day to each household affected ?

10. @ David, just my layman’s opinion but if they monitored the levels in the reservoirs they could have introduced “rationing” instead of waiting for an “emergency”.

“due to exceedingly low water levels at its Half Acre reservoir in the north, there will be an emergency shutdown”

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75316/emergency-water-shutdown-north#sthash.Y6LaiHv7.dpuf

11. @Hants

Why are the community water tanks not being serviced by the BWA.

12. @ David,

It can only be ” wutlessness”.

13. ” CARACAS (Reuters) – Venezuela’s opposition vowed on Monday to revive the OPEC nation’s troubled economy and free jailed political activists after winning control of the legislature for the first time in 16 years of Socialist rule.”

This could be good for Barbados.

14. David December 7, 2015 at 6:00 PM #

Why are the community water tanks not being serviced by the BWA
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Why are the Transport Board’s buses not properly serviced by the Transport Board?
    Why are the SSA Trucks ,and the picking up of garbage ,not serviced by the SSA?
    Why are the ambulances not serviced by the Ministry of Health?
    Why are the pot holes in the road not serviced by the Ministry of Transport.?
    Why is the street lighting on the ABC Highway not serviced by the Government Electrical Department.
    Why is the tall bush overhanging most of our rural roads not serviced by MTW/ drainage?
    And the list goes on

M-A-I-N-T-E-N-A-N-C-E of any kind, is a ‘forner’ in BARBADOS.

15. @ Colonel Buggy
    The grass on the ABC highway now seems to be always cut… where once Neblett and his hoards of NCC workers failed miserably…
    Perhaps Maloney will come up with a multi-million dollar ‘maintenance contract’ to fix buses, refuse trucks, ambulances, pot holes, and street lights….

That way the current party-yardfowl- managers can continue to draw big salaries (like Neblett,) as is their right…. while the new plantation style bosses get a few ‘strong boys’ to push off the wuk…. and laugh all the way to the banks…

…and stinkliar tax the shiite outta the rest uh wee…..

16. And one other thing.
    Why can’t the SSA fix its Caterpillar down at the Mangrove landfill, after it had broken down two years ago, but are able to pay $5000 every month for the rental of a privately owned Caterpillar.

17. @ David, they are waiting until election campaigning start. Then the garbage will disappear.

18. @Hants

We spend millions marketing the island yet do nothing to make sure it is clean.

19. Tourism energy heats up workers to get 8 percent wage hike . 7percent tourism growth With all this good news barbados is destined to become the new Riviera of the carribbean,eat your hearts out Doom and gloomers
    The Tourist have ignored the dooms day forecast predicted by the prophets and relied on the govt good news forecast
    This is a plus , plus for the govt going into the next election as the opposition has been splintered and torn to sunder by their own devastation of Doom and Gloom
    Barbados will be and always be the place to (be) the positive effects from the tourist arrivals will be enormous some of which have possibilities that can go far and wide as visitor tell of the wonderful island allure and encourages other to make this beautiful island a vacation home
    Thanks to the hard work of govt and its financial support to the industry barbados has been placed as one of the highest ranks of vacation sites in the world taking a seat amongst some of the worlds best /leading international countries

20. Notice how the blp foot soldiers avoid tourism discussions like the bubonic plague.It was only a couple years ago when any or every article on tourism was like a gourmet delight to their palate
    Now the tables have been turned leaving them with no other choice than to wade through garbage looking for clues

21. Just watched this on CBC TV Canada. Not the kind of news the Caribbean needs.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/new-brunswick/linnea-veinotte-grenada-1.3360477

22. Nothing but Good News …..Glad to hear that the hoteliers are using the govt funding to refurbish their hotels , One can remember that the issue of funding was a bone of contention when the old guard and bosses of the hotel industry wanted to conduct business as usual with their old methods of accessing funding and not being held for the accountability as to how and where the monies would be utilized
    Apparently this govt did not waiver or give into their demands and the end result is one of progress and praise for the hoteliers who should be proud of their achievements and now readily able to reap some of the financial benefits from the tourism boom on the island

23. One of the best restaurants in the Carribbean Lobster Alive

http://caribjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/lobster1.jpg

Also another well know Barbados Restaurant The cliff

http://caribjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/cliff.jpg

Along with Champers

http://caribjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/champers.jpg

24. i thing Bu had mentioned but can help but mention again

Barbados awarded Caribbean destination of the Year 2015

http://caribjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/barbados4.jpg

It’s been a banner year for the island of Barbados, which has reported the region’s fastest-growing tourism arrivals in large part due to a creative, digital-friendly push in the US market and the results of a restructured tourism marketing entity. Barbados has seen a 14.5 percent improvement in tourist arrivals so far this year, buoyed by a whopping 27.9 percent improvement in arrivals from the US. That success, coupled with a wave of new hotel development that includes recently-opened Sandals Barbados and a major new Wyndham project, puts the island at the forefront of the region’s tourism sector. We’re proud to name Barbados the Caribbean Destination of the Year for 2015.

25. Would have thought Barbados would have notched a higher number on the list, #9

We are now officially at the start of the busy tourist season in the Caribbean and the majority of visitors will arrive via the major airlines. For ultra high net worth individuals, it will be via private jets. Here we list the top 10 popular Caribbean destinations for those flying via private jet. ‪#‎CaribbeanTravel‬

Top 10 Popular Caribbean Destinations via Private Jet – Caribbean & Co.

26. One would notice that the countries placed in the high category are closer to america which might be cost saving to the individual/s
    While the island that are further away trail
    The fact that barbados is no.9 in high end charter flights is not a devaluation of barbados being a popular tourist destination
    It might simply entails a cost saving strategy and easy accesibilty to those countries in the high ranking

27. This is a service used by the super rich, the article hints why the rich might prefer this service:

Plus according to XOJET, “while commercial airlines continue to add significant growth/service into the Caribbean, there will always be those exclusive islands that can only accommodate smaller – and more efficient – aircraft. Secondly, on-demand services has made private jet flying much significantly easier, led by XOJET’s fly-on-your-own terms type of model.” – See more at: http://www.caribbeanandco.com/top-10-popular-caribbean-destinations-via-private-jet/#.dpuf

28. Understand the many reasons why the rich would prefer charter flights but what i do not understand is the reason for the insinuation and it/s application to where Barbados is ranked