Submitted by King Ja Ja

bimBut if Barbados was a Bajan, it would explain a lot about the state of our national psyche. When approaching 50 years, a Bajan man or woman might reflect on his or her life […]

and think about how little time is left to make his or her mark.

If Barbados was a Bajan, she might recall how meek and naïve that first 10 years of her life was by 1976. Running and playing, her colonial-born parents lovingly shielded her from worry while trying to establish a legacy. When she stumbled, someone picked her up and dusted her off, but her scraped knees betrayed her adventurousness. She was unconsciously being nurtured to take the biggest exam of her life, the 11+. In fact, it might have seemed like the most important thing that she would ever do and when she was kicked up the ladder to secondary school, life would just be made easier because the hardest transition was finally over.

She was still unaware of the futility of the exercise and that her changing body would create the most difficult transition in life – looking in the mirror and daily transforming the image staring back at her into a picture of beauty and confidence – of acceptance and resilience (Am I too black? Am I too white? Am I beautiful? Is my hair too kinky? Is it too straight?). The already set exam in the midst of oil crises which would be one of the first global tests of Barbados’ economic resilience showing her vulnerability, but resilience. She added. Subtracted. Wrote a little something. She did not have to analyse, plan or problem solve for the future. But she triumphed (well in the eyes of her colonial parents) – maybe was even in the top 10 (no one can remember now – it was so long ago).

Everyone put her on a pedestal and believed she could succeed. She believed it herself, and a consciousness started to develop. She eventually grew out of her awkwardness and started to explore her identity in new ways and make the most of her education. Maybe she could become anything…

If Barbados was a Bajan at twenty, you could say he was bold – maybe even a bit cocky. But maybe even a heady mix between idealistic and confused. There was a lot of wealth around him – but he resisted trying to ‘roll’ with others who had come up with obvious advantages because of who they were and what they had. The advantaged ones. They stood tall – their shadows cast far behind them stretching deep into the past – so far and so long you could not even tell where their heads separated from their bodies. It was hard to excel in their shadows. They had cars, grand properties, business interests. He had none. He went off to university to get that paper – to do what his parents said he should do, maybe not quite what he wanted to do – but at this point who knew what that was? It had been drilled in him to succeed – to become something…

By the late 1990s, he was something – he had cars, grand properties and business interests. He had secured his own advantages for his children and pretty, intelligent wife – who had reconciled some sort of hybridized balance between acceptance and confidence but who was so exhausted striving to be everything…

He wanted more. Those with inherited advantages just kept moving beyond him. He was already leveraged to the hilt. That last overseas degree was expensive. The way too big house on the hill was expensive. The Mercedes put him in the hole. But still more was desired, but how? How could he get there? How could he finally get power over the advantaged ones? It was settled. He could run for power.

The next 10 years was spent accumulating – revolving credit – not only of his household, but the country’s economy. He was getting there. But where was ‘there’? Would he know it when he reached? Probably not. He didn’t care. The advantaged ones sought the trail of his desperation and the power he thought he had was just reversed. He soon was following their trail as they threw him crumbs, instead of helping eachother to read the map. He got to the top, and there was another mountain to go – and not only one mountain, but several – the IMF, World Bank, United Nations, the US, CARICOM, IDB – and #omg China was the mammoth on the horizon.

Beleaguered, he retreated to the comfort of his home on the hill he could not afford, with teenagers siphoning his pocket and draining his energy with their constant complaints and castigations of perceived deprivation. Exhaustion had overwhelmed his pretty wife in her high-powered job trying to keep up with the excesses of children, life and work. She was not happy with anything.

But where else could he escape to? Remember — Behind the hills were mountains. But then he thought, maybe he could dig a small cave in the foothills of those mountains – maybe even in a den called Miami. No one would know. He could fly there and stash away a little happiness for himself and if there was some left over after the flashy SUV rentals, condos and stripbars, he might consider leaving it for his ungrateful children – but probably not his wife.

By 2010, the mountains eroded, greed was excavated and exposed, unpaid bills were landfilled there. Concrete edifices littered the landscape. The sewage sloshed beneath them. The advantaged ones did not care. They could import water for themselves and their foreign guests while everyone else pumped out and consumed their own impurity. The debt mounted. The cave just kept receding into nothingness. He would just get lost trying to find his way out.

If Barbados was a Bajan at 49, he would remember a life of promise – of hard work spent taking exams – of being tested. He would ask himself, is this what a mid-life crisis is? He already had the women and the cars. He would reflect on the fact that nothing in this land is actually his. It belongs to banks, Trinidad and the advantaged ones.

His big empty obzocky house on the hill looks unfinished with the cracks in the foundation starting to show. His wife has a perpetual smile for everyone else outside, but a turned down frown for him inside. The children don’t complain anymore. They don’t speak. They like silence. They spend their days plugging into social media when someone should just take the plug out. They are studying away. They will probably live there. They have graduated to sending their expenses by Whatsapp and he opens the mobile banking app to transfer money from his soaring credit line to them. He doesn’t even tell them that he did. He does not expect a thank you.

At forty-nine years, Barbados is at a crossroads – can it emerge from this mountain of debt while trying to salvage its future? If Barbados was a Bajan, he can’t remember making his contributions to the NIS. He can’t remember all of the concessions that he gave away or how much they amounted to. Was that even investment? Or was it a clever robbery? He can’t remember. What is he going to do? Is there a future to invest in now? Who will take care of him when he starts to leak everywhere – when he forgets his name – when he can no longer find his home?

These are the questions we have to face as we approach the beginning of 50 years of Independence next year. If Barbados was a Bajan like you, what would you want for your future and how could you build on your achievements while translating the hard lessons of the past into prosperity not only for yourself, but also for all of Barbados in the future. But, on the other hand, you might also ask yourself, will I just stand still and continue to do nothing?…

70 responses to “If Barbados was a Bajan – Part II”

1. balance
    You and David saying the same thing…
    It ALREADY balanced skippa
    Cool it.

2. balance December 10, 2015 at 7:57 AM #

“It is instructive that except for Mr St Clair Leacock in Central who increased his vote significantly; Mr Eustace votes decreased significantly In the West and the votes of Mr Cummings in the East decreased as well albeit slightly.”

Your above comments are true, but what is interesting is the fact that both parties have been able to maintain the same level of support for three consecutive elections and winning the same seats as they did in the 2010 elections.

3. Sorry but the expected St. Vincent results that the blp had hope as a definite clearance to boast on the predicated policies of Doom and gloom securing a safety net and life line for a victory in the next election ( for themselves) has fizzled.
    The next question along with all the in house bittering in the blp that must be address is a reformation of good leadership borne out of Respect which will become principled and a main focus going into the next election
    The “economy stupid” which was the mantra and directive for economies have been replaced with a dignified policies as exemplified by Obama victories and now Gonzalves.
    The truth of the matter maybe that old wheel of indifference has been removed and in its place a policy which merits the need of the populace to have a country that represents themselves with a noticeable merit of statemanship and diplomacy

4. @Bush Tea

Balance has clothes hanging and we know it.

@Artax

How can Wickham be give credit for calling the election that has an unprecedented close finish? Unless you have been misunderstood.

5. David December 10, 2015 at 10:29 AM #

“@Artax: How can Wickham be give credit for calling the election that has an unprecedented close finish? Unless you have been misunderstood.”

Perhaps you may have misunderstood my comments.

First, we must take into consideration that the ULP commissioned CADRES to conduct an opinion poll, which, according to the ULP general secretary, Julian Francis: “the ULP has been in “constant polling”, adding that CADRES conducts all of the party’s polls.”

In an article in the October 22, 2015 edition of the “I-Witness News (iWN), Peter Wickham said the elections will be tight because the government is seeking a fourth consecutive term.

Wickham admitted that his client did not want the results of the poll released to the public and Francis told IWN that the poll was for “internal consumption.”

Against this background, Wickham would have to phrase his answers to journalists in a manner so as not to breach the confidentiality of his client, but “camouflage” his responses to imply which party he think would win.

Examine Wickham’s responses as follows:

“You are looking at a government that is now facing a fourth term. The other reality is you have an opposition that has been fighting to win government for three terms, and essentially, you are looking at an opposition leader (where) this will be his fourth try at becoming prime minister.”

“I can tell you the popularity of the current prime minister exceeds the popularity of the current leader of the opposition, which is a common feature of polls in St. Vincent & the Grenadines.”

Wickham admitted that there was definitely a “mood for change” in St. Vincent, but questioned if it was something people were going to vote for. Based on his experience in the region, he suggested that people may not vote for change because they like the government more, or they may not vote for change because they like the opposition less.

6. @ AC

Once again, I shall warn you about commenting on issue you do not have any knowledge of. You are basing your comments on the Vincentian election results through “DLP eyes.”

Firstly, the politics practiced in St. Vincent and Barbados is different. Secondly, you cannot seriously compare the leadership styles of Ralph Gonsalves with that of Fruendel Stuart.

Gonsalves is seen as a “people’s man.” He is always finds the time to be among Vincentians and addresses the nation on various issues. Ralph takes the initiative, has been at the forefront of intervening on many issues affecting the Caribbean, even those that do not affect St. Vincent, whether it is cricket, regional integration, LIAT or immigration issues.

Stuart, on the other hand, always confines himself among the party faithful where he feels more comfortable. He does not see it fit to address all Barbadians, but prefers to speak or comment on issues within the confines of a “DLP environment”, such constituency branch meetings, DLP annual conferences and DLP organizations within the Diaspora.

Perhaps you could enlighten me as to what have Stuart been able to achieve as head of CARICOM, other than his belated response to Dominica after the hurricane and against the background that leaders of the other Caribbean islands responded almost immediately?

7. Artexeres keep burying your head. The end result is that people are looking for leadership that have a similarity that projects and protects the nation interest not selfinterest and not the politics of yardfowlism
    Your intent to get ac /s to remain quiet has fallen on deaf ears.try if u must it would never work against the backdrop of freedom of speech
    Bro ac is all prepared to meet you toe to toe until the next election

8. “David December 10, 2015 at 10:29 AM # @Bush Tea

Balance has clothes hanging and we know it.”
    Wishing you and family a wonderful Xmas season and the best of health in the New Year.You can join me on xmas morning between the hours of 7am and 2pm in the little area leading on to Kirpalani Store next to the BTI building opposite St Mary’s church for an annual Xmas morning celebration of food, drink and music where wwe usually meet after mass.
    Once again seasons greetings to you and family.

9. @Artax

Understood!

10. @David December 10, 2015 at 1:00 PM #

I was wondering if you had clothes hanging out as well,prior to this understanding.

11. Your bravery far exceeds your good sense, ac.

As Malik would sing:

Ronald Jones, we education minister, he does talk fuh cup;
    L’il Caesar, Steve Blackett and Michael Lashely …. all ah dem fuh cup.
    Clare Cowan and CAHILL… two uh DEM fuh cup,
    Sinckler, Denis Lowe, Kelly, Darcy Boyce gine got Barbados fuh cup,
    And even we prime minister, Fruendel Stuart, I sure everybody gine agree,
    We aint got nuhbody in Bubaydus that more fuh cup than he.

Uh want a ball.

Esther Byer, Irene, Patrick Todd and George Hudson….. all uh dem GET fuh cup.
    Wuh Carrington do to he client Griffiths, dat did really fuh cup,
    How Leroy scam the CLICO policiy holders, dat did fuh cup,
    Mia Mottley and Jerome Walcott.… two uh dem fuh cup,
    We dun know wuh happen and we know it is true,
    Wuh de BLP do to Maria Agard, dat did also fuh cup, too.

Uh want ah ball.

12. Just after midday, the sources pointed out, there was already a massive crowd of NDP supporters clad in yellow shirts blocking the Sion Hill road overlooking the Arnos Vale Airport and an even larger frenzied gathering around the Layou Police Station in Central Leeward, where the recount was expected to occur”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75425/eustace-claims-election-victory#sthash.p6Oit7Ob.dpuf

13. @ Artaxerxes,

Your lyrics fuh cup. Ask Gabby or RPB fuh help. lol

14. Hants December 10, 2015 at 2:22 PM #
    HOW YOU DESCRIBE DAT CRICKET AFTER LUNCH LAST NITE?

15. Do not worry abiut my bravery bravery is what it takes to lead and win battles . many sensible people are known to be cowards.
    You decided which of the two sides you rather be placed

16. @Vincent

As you know there is a little art attached to debating, some people take it way too personal.In a largely anonymous forum all the more ridiculous.

On 10 December 2015 at 19:59, Barbados Underground wrote:

17. @ Hants

Dem fellas is professionals, not me.

18. BLACK LIVES MATTER

“The road drop and now my home falling back; I don’t feel safe in there anymore. The water pipes bursting and the electric wires stretching. I want help!” she said

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75453/slipping-away#sthash.DCO4qWMO.dpuf

19. Has anyone noticed the BWA has has to did up Roebuck Street again to fix pipes covered earlier?