Submitted by Douglas
Dr. Maria Agard, expelled from the BLP in the Ch Ch West constituency

As Barbados approaches its 50th anniversary of Independence and the attendant, we are aware that the development of Barbados, like many of its neighbours, depended on firm and determined leadership.

[…]

“God don’t like ugly”, is a typical Bajan saying and at this critical juncture in our history our nation is asked to look and reflect upon all those things that are ugly which we don’t want to take going forward as we climb our next hill.  We have seen some ugly traits emerging in modern Barbados which we want to leave behind, for example; bullying, entitlement, despotism and disrespect.

Bullying is a special form of aggressive behaviour. The world’s leading authority on bullying, Dan Olweus, who designed the Norwegian intervention program, defines it this way: “A person is being bullied when he or she is exposed, repeatedly and over time, to negative actions on the part of one or more other persons” (Olweus, 1991, 1993).

Bullying is a major cause of stress and can leave anyone feeling hurt, angry, frightened, and even depressed. In our society today too many kids and adults alike are the subjects of a bully. We must ensure that our leaders are not bullies
The notion of entitlement has become a disease. The concept speaks to an unrealistic, unmerited or inappropriate expectation of favorable living conditions and favorable treatment. It is within this context we seek to unravel what has gone so wrong, that elements with this small society could behave themselves in a manner that seeks to separate them from the people they seek to lead. Can we have a secure future where leaders in this society by their actions turn people off because of their “divine entitlement to …things” We must ensure our leaders don’t display characteristics of divine entitlement.

Our nation is often described by institutions as having a stable political climate. We have never had a despot where a ruler holds absolute power in a cruel or aggressive manner. Leaders of the past in Barbados were never described as despots and so we had the benefit of a continuing enabling environment that allowed for the quality of life for all to be secured.

The Barbadian ethos dictates that we are led by one person but that one person governs on our behalf within a collective grouping. Our small nation cannot afford to have future leaders who would be described as despots ascend to any high office. This is certainly an ugly trait which we would want to leave behind. We must ensure our Barbados is not victim to despotism.

Disrespect speaks to a manner that is generally discourteous. Within our society this ugly trait has become such a buzz word, that authorities are now faced with designing a response to the growing subculture of such. Children disrespect their parents, parent disrespect children, students disrespect teachers, teachers disrespect students and citizen disrespect the law. We are even witnessing leaders, who in defiance of request from their former boss’ desire not to use their name in public, being disrespectful and proceeding to place that name within the public domain. If someone asks you not to use their name in public for an eminent group of persons then you don’t. We must ensure that the idea of disrespect does not become the norm of future leaders.

Our Barbados must ensure that the ugly traits of the past and present do not occupy a space in the future. Barbados must continue to resist and denounce any element in our society that seeks to portray characteristics of bullying, entitlement, despotism and disrespect and by their actions live by such.

50 responses to “What We Don’t Need”

1. The current members and yardfowls of DLP can really shut to hell up.

I would like to know where you all were when Clyde Mascoll was bullied and forced out as the Leader of the Opposition?

Mr Mascoll as he then was sure could have used your statement

…………..”Bullying is a major cause of stress and can leave anyone feeling hurt, angry, frightened, and even depressed. In our society today too many kids and adults alike are the subjects of a bully. We must ensure that our leaders are not bullies
    The notion of entitlement has become a disease. The concept speaks to an unrealistic, unmerited or inappropriate expectation of favorable living conditions and favorable treatment”……………………………….. to help him in his quest to hold on to his position. You dont think that Clyde Mascoll could have felt the same way.

The problem with you dems is that to dems politics is a blood sport. They conveniently forget the venom, nastiness, downright warfare among members during David Thompson’s time in the DLP. Does any dem remember the war that took place between Thompson and Kellman?

All the talk of 50 years of Independence and all the hype you dems will try to push to make Bajans forget how incompetent you all are, it does not take away the mountain of problems this country is facing:

……….Nearly 25% unemployment

……….Lack of jobs for the youth

………Rising crime daily

………Stagnant economy

……….Mountains of garbage

……….Scarce foreign exchange

……….Lack of for schools and the UWI

……….A decaying QEH with scare or no supplies

……….Bad bus service

……….A bad government

You really have to never to say that……………”We have never had a despot where a ruler holds absolute power in a cruel or aggressive manner”. You forget EWB and David Thompson, the crook?

2. You really have the nerve to say that……………”We have never had a despot where a ruler holds absolute power in a cruel or aggressive manner”.

You forget EWB and David Thompson, the crook?

3. @ Prodigal

yuh going kill ee? 🙂

4. The DLP political strategists should stfu and let the BLP self flagellate.

5. How about…What We Need!

grow our own food and raising own meats… stop importing crap to make overseas distributors and manufacturers rich.

You know where those imported nuggets and fish are processed ()even if marked ‘Made In…’? Go check. Cheapest of the cheap.

use our own Caribbean banks. Keep profits in Caribbean.
    drink our own beer. If our ‘brand’ is sold, hopefully someone will begin brewing our own beer.
    improve our water system and drainage, securing our future.
    solar energy for all households and government buildings by 2030. Stop relying on imported fossil fuels or overseas owned corporations to sell us what is free (sunlight).
    tenders for government contracts to be properly ventilated and contract agreements in the open.
    affordable housing, done by having audits on the cost of building, private or public and regulated profit margins on sales of residential accommodation.

finally, to summarise it, stop the CRAP!

6. LOL Prodigal that laundry list not going to help Mia she goose done cook

7. Most of all, do not let the vultures put concrete on our good fertile land.

The MOST important resource ANYWHERE is fertile land and water.

And the more fertile land is concreted, the greater slaves to industrialization we become.

8. ac

That is the difference between Bees and dems.

Bees are for country, dems are only about party, party, party and ghetto behaviour!

9. At last ,Douglas now can see, not only the face of the PM and the Ministers, but the things they did to Barbados in 6+ years, and declared ” GOD DON’T LIKE UGLY”

10. Douglas,

Take a look in the mirror, you ugly SOB!

11. CLAUDIUS MAXIMUS. Avatar
    CLAUDIUS MAXIMUS.

Prodigirl you real acid man, this Agard issue got you seething you must be loss real weight, you check out the refocusing Barbados feed,lord have mercy if you watch that you must be gine dead.

12. We need to hear of the secrets deals you morons are committing our children to ………this Maria Agard distraction would not take away your incompetence.

Tell us the truth about Cahil.

Tell us the truth about Coverley.

Tell us the truth about what’s happening at Bay Street.

Tell us the truth about Deltro Electric Inc.

Tell us the truth about Sam Lord’s

Tell us why the DLP habours a crook and would not allow him to be prosecuted

These are what we need to know!

13. Now that the DLP ministers and cohorts appear to be in fine voice we look forward to hearing from them on the more relevant issues like governance and transparency, for a start.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75188/us-usd100m-diaspora

The Bajans living abroad who send over $1 billion a year to help the island are the 8nes least appreciated, not feted, not listened to, mistreated when they return to the island to live, a la Michael Carrington thiefing the disabled man’s money, but Fruendel have the gonads to ask them/us to send more money.

Fruendel…..start showing your own people appreciation by throwing fetes for them at Llaro Court too, that would be an encouragement to give more and return to the island more often.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Should read…..1 billion since the turn of the 21st century = 100 million a year.

17. David December 4, 2015 at 2:40 AM #

“Now that the DLP ministers and cohorts appear to be in fine voice we look forward to hearing from them on the more relevant issues like governance and transparency, for a start.”

A very interesting and thought provoking comment from the blog-master.

Douglas, in his usual politically biased style, seems to be focusing on leadership. Okay, I can agree that Mottley’s leadership of the BLP has been abysmal so far and she may receive the award of being the worst Opposition Leader Barbados has ever had.
    However, Douglas should also look at Fruendel Stuart’s style of leadership as well, which may earn him the award of being the worst Prime Minister this island has ever had as well.

Leadership involves developing and establishing objectives (e.g. a mission statement) and providing knowledge and information to achieve those objectives.

For example, in their 2008 election manifesto, the DLP shared their vision on “Good Governance” and outlined information on how they planned to achieve this objective. On page 47 of the manifesto, under the caption “22: Good Governance,” the DEMS wrote:

“REPORTS from the AUDITOR GENERAL are DISREGARDED.”

In today’s edition of the Weekend Nation, the Auditor General, Leigh Trotman, was quoted as having said “the financial statements presented over the last few years DO NOT FAIRLY REPRESENT the FINANCIAL POSITION of government.”

“Unfortunately, there have been a number of issues which have prevented the office from verifying some of the information provided and there has been SOME DEPARTURE from ACCOUNTING STANDARDS, resulting in my conclusion.”

In other words, Stuart and his DLP administration have been “knowingly” presenting to the public, FALSE and MISLEADING information relative to the financial affairs of Barbados.

Can Barbadians trust Stuart as “leader” of Barbados and head of the Civil Service, when he is guilty of upholding this practice, which, if perpetrated in the private sector, would have incurred him being held personally liable for any untrue statement of material fact or material omission?

Consequently, in the year 2015, 7 years later, “REPORTS from the AUDITOR GENERAL are (STILL BEING) DISREGARDED.”

Trotman’s comments are an indictment on Stuart’s leadership of this island, especially after his DLP promised in 2008 to take Audit General reports and the relevancy of that department SERIOUSLY.

The ONLY PROMISE the DLP has fulfilled from their 2008 manifesto was the “establishment of state-funded Constituency Councils.” [Page 48]

18. Cuddear, let’s all give Prodigal a hug, (( Prodigal ))

19. Stuart and his band can’t be trusted, neither can Mia and hers. So what’s to be done: continue rotating them hoping that someday they will break character or that the judiciary and other institutions held together with patronage and skeletons in closets will suddenly start to function and prosecute them? Of what use is another ‘switch’? “The Barbadian ethos dictates that we are led…” Does it? This is exactly the problem. Trying to solve the inherent problems of a failing “ethos” with mechanisms dictated to the people by it. This person is trying to tell me what my ethos is, but dem real far off the mark. Nothing dictates anything anywhere, especially not in a TRUE democracy. Voting is not democracy. Democracy is representative implementation of the will of the people. Thinly disguised totalitarianism on the other hand…

P.s. the banks brand was licensed from Guyana, ship and all. They still brew it too. People here produce it, and buy it, but who owns it…?

20. Around here it seems people memory real short or them too party-blind, but I remember the prison, highway, and other debacles as well as the fire sale (instead of long term lease like smarter neighbours) of the land on this dot to foreigners, ne’er to return, pushing the price of what remains so high that future (current) generations won’t be able to afford any. Put them back in to do what? If I playing a game against the same people who keep changing the rules so I never win, I would ‘done’.

21. I see several issues posted h on BU. Issues which it is incumbent upon the government or someone in authority to refute or deny vigorously. Instead, tossed into the discussion are a number of red herrings, a comparison with other countries, or deafening silence.

As a gazer and not an old geezer a la mode of another contributor, I want to see issues taken seriously; I want to see charges that are lobbied like a grenade being jumped upon and defused. I want to see two antagonists locked in combat, a battle of ideas, not a running fight with one of the antagonist refusing to join the fray, but running down the road and spewing nonsense; making noises like a set of yard fowls who were thrown scratch grain. This is not two villagers fighting, but instead it is a battle for the future of the country.

At some stage, this lunacy becomes real for others. Their reality is a decline in health services, weakening of the educational system, less garbage pick-up, and water shortages. These are signs of national decay. The national economy cannot withstand unbridled corruption.

22. @thejustician
    I concur with your sentiments.
    The fact that a billionaire from anywhere in the world can buy a bit of Barbados is perhaps the greatest bit of idiocy in the history of mankind. Limited land and unlimited dollars is an ignorant mix.

23. @David

When are we getting back to the analysis of

……water availability,auditors report,tourist spend,highways,debushing(not BT),agriculture,forex,debt burden,CLICO,transport board,infelicities,etc,etc…..

Being sidetracked by politicians and how gods formed us is not really addressing our concerns.

24. This so true…..we have bigger concerns.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/04/this-is-not-about-maria-agard/

25. @Vincent

I agree there are huge issues which need to be directly addressed, and given the failure of past and present administrations to address them, maybe the whole structure needs to change. We have tried one side, the other side, what next? Starting by doing what you have always done cannot bring a new experience. Maybe non-participation (no side) deserves a chance… Either way voting, blaming ‘the other side’ for everything and “when we win the next (s)election we gonna change things” CLEARLY ain’t cleaning the air or water, or growing any food or saving our youth or helping your children’s children to thrive. Life is not a game, and while for yardfowls ‘to the victors go the spoils’ may suffice for now, all of us will eventually face the repercussions of the greed. Your limitations are ALL self-imposed. Unplug nuh… why underground still lookin’ just like the surface?

26. @thejustician December 4, 2015 at 3:16 PM #

The time has come to understand the difference between governance and politics.

Governance is serious business and politics is an age old game with the victor taking the spoils.

Should the masses wish governance from the politicians they will have to form pressure groups to ensure that they listen.

27. Just think for a moment folks, if the Jamaican hotelier was so easily able to take advantage of this set of bumbling nincompoops what will happen when they have to negotiate with the Chinese for a loan in order to win the next election. They are so damned slow that they would sell the country to the highest bidder in order to win another term. Dimwit, nit wick and crew would not have enough sense to realize that they (we) no longer own this land so they have nothing to govern (as if they are governing now)

On another matter, does anyone know how Mr Mascoll feels about Osama bin Arthur after having lured him into crossing the floor only to find bin now on the other side. Oh, what a tangled web we weave.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ FearPlay December 4, 2015 at 6:37 PM
    “On another matter, does anyone know how Mr Mascoll feels about Osama bin Arthur after having lured him into crossing the floor only to find bin now on the other side. Oh, what a tangled web we weave.”

Sweet, sweet, too sweet!
    A fearless player beyond compare. What magnificent insight behind the man of treacherous disloyalty. An abuser of political simpletons and the disabled. Mascoll now Maria.

At least George Payne is paddling his own canoe and Freundel never swallowed the bait of the dishonest angler of a horse trader.
    Politics of inclusion has now become politics of delusion.

29. As always under the cover of the din created by the politicos, it continues.

Messy and painful

30. Fools dismiss Owen Arthur at their peril.This man is still in demand in the regional and international domain.Btw what ever became of the issue with Peter Weekes who accused some person or persons of hijacking his App.That person’s modus operandi is now laid bare again,as though we didn’t know her nasty capabilities.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel December 5, 2015 at 8:14 AM
    “Fools dismiss Owen Arthur at their peril. This man is still in demand in the regional and international domain..”

Are you calling the electorate “fools”? The man has had his time at local level on the political scene. Time for him to move on to bigger things; just like Jimmy Carter, just like Bill Clinton or Tony Blair or even Nelson Mandela.

32. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

” Time for Arthur to move on to bigger things;just like Jimmy Carter,just like Bill Clinton or Tony Blair or even Nelson Mandela.” Ya see dat dey? Dat sound to me just like a discussion between Jason Holder and Phil Simmonds bout de West Indies chances in the upcoming series. Seems to me that Mia’s staunches supporter having recognized the daunting task ahead, is now praying for a miracle. Good luck wid dat. The Imp is driven to expose the political Chameleon. Lord de Lord….dis thing too sweet doa….Prodigal about to bust a vein, even though he doan belong to no party……..man kiss ma neck do!

33. @David, have you seen this? Very troubling. “Government’s true financial position remains unclear, Auditor General Leigh Trotman has said while raising concerns about the credibility of financial statements produced by the Treasury in recent years.”http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/05/missing-data/

34. @Alicia

We have posted several blogs about an effective Auditor General under both political parties. A governance framework that sees many if not all government agencies lagging in the preparation/audited financials reflects a lack of discipline which permeates the country.

35. @ Douglas

“God don’t like ugly…..”

Are you saying God don’t like Ronald Jones, Michael Lashley, Denis Kellman or Denis Lowe?

Those dudes have faces only a mother would love.

36. Douglas is uh Dee
    Beresford is uh Bee
    All uh dem is Pee
    So dem doan cay bout none o we.
    Awrite…. blow!

© Gryner

37. @Raw Bake

Sweet, a next nudduh verse nuh.

Blow!

38. Who is we?
    I ent noh nutton bout wunna, so doan include me in wunna we talk. I did dun wid wunna since October 2008 and effing de rest did duh like me, wunna wudda still be picking pond grass up Kendal.

Be that as it may, leh me gih wunna a hand:

What we don’t need is forward UWI students to remember that we promised that education would remain free up to university level.

What we don’t need is for former public workers to remember our promise not to send home anyone.

What we definitely don’t need, is for Bajans to remember that back in 2008, Cost Of Living, Cost of living and cost of living were the top three priorities of the newly elected and elated DLP.

If wunna waan more help, just gih me a shout. I gine and bring in de rabbits.

39. @David

You ent see dat Coscap carry court Bryan fuh violating de copyright act.
    I waiting tuh see if Gryner gine call me back.
    I tell he and Gabby dat I waan do a remix fuh the Big Gala next November but dum ent respond yet.

40. Presod was a Dee
    Kerrie was a Dee
    Now Dem is Bees
    And de Pees still laffing at we.

Mascoll was a Dee
    Maria was a Bee
    Mascoll join de Bees
    So Maria cud join de Dees

Arthur was a Bee
    He cud be a Dee
    All o dem is Pees
    So we haf ta wait and see.

Ah lie?
    Ah rite?
    Then blow!

© Gryner & Gabby

41. @Raw Bake.

Thanks for making me listen to Stinging Bees on You Tube.

While I was there I also listened to a few from Gabby.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes (and all uh wunna who feel de Blogmaster is to have only one article pun he blog!!)

You does drink soup everyday?

@ TheGazer

Doan mind de accompanying comedy, nor de Bajan, I am as serious as death when I have needed, and need to be, and while you are in the star boy-who-going-dead-in-this-movie by “jumping pun grenades,” I dun see dem movies and Dem fellers doan live through the experience nor get many roles in future action movies.

Pulling de pin while making sure to hold the clip, right through the arc, until release, and sending it into the gunner’s nest, is so much better that all the incessant long talk.

Dis ole geezer cud show you a ting dat wud dun off dis see saw foolishness dat we doing now…

Dat is why you does put on you socks first before you put on your pants and a nex fellow does differently…

43. @Hants
    Enjoy them while they last.
    Calypsoes back then told a story and painted a picture of life back then.
    Those songs bring back memories of a Barbados long gone and sadly never to return.

44. Not one of my favourites from Gabby. Too regional for my taste.

45. Now this one I love.
    Still relevant today, how sad is that?

46. If you are moving but only going backwards, that is not progress.

47. A rose by any other name is still a rose.
    The more things change the more they remain the same.

48. In short we don’t need the DLP to tell we that we don’t need the BLP. We know that already We also know that we don’t need the DLP and never did.

In fact we have come to the realisation that you are birds of a feather… I mean peas in a pod…. ahmm ahmm… I really don’t, but we can no longer tell six from half dozen so someboy better get their act together soon. What we do need is a third party or some viable and credible alternative.

No… I am not drunk, well I don’t think so; at least not passing drunk.

49. I am an amateur music ” critic ” and I can play guitar fairly well.

I think Bajan musicians from as early as the 60s are very talented and continue to

produce great music.