It’s now over five years since we organised and held the last re-DISCOVER the Caribbean Show and wonder if the timing is now right to resurrect the event again, especially as there are positive signs being shown by LIAT […]

to offer more affordable fares.

[…]

The recently announced additional flights to/from Port of Spain are an example, with a lead-in cost of US$183.10 for Trinidad to Barbados and US$196.36 return in the opposite direction, including all taxes and add-ons.

Sadly our national marketing agency at that time lost interest in what was in fact a unique gathering within the region of over 20 participating Caribbean territories with a common objective. Apart from the obvious increase in hotel occupancy and associated spending the scores of exhibitors generated, we had started witnessing secondary benefits, way beyond that of growing intra-Caribbean travel.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines especially, saw the value of participation, by encouraging their smaller manufacturers and suppliers to display and promote their products. The last delegation from SVG alone comprised of over 30 persons.

We worked very closely with the now Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre (LESC) to make exhibiting affordable for all, with corporate Barbados willingly sponsoring individual destination shared Small Hotel stands enabling even the tiniest accommodation providers across the region to be part of a much bigger awareness picture for a nominal $50 registration fee per property.

Caribbean people travel year round and just a ten per cent increase per year in arrival numbers from this market could make a massive difference to the bottom line of many tourism partners. And before detractors point out the limited air capacity availability, even if LIAT is averaging 80 per cent load factors during the summer, that still means hundreds of unsold seats are available to fill each day. Just as an empty hotel bed cannot be sold twice the next night, airlines have almost identical challenges with unoccupied seats.

We willingly gave our time and resources to mount and promote the show entirely free of any charges for eight years as we felt then and still feel now that there remains a huge untapped market within the Caribbean.

The idea was that the event would be built into a showcase for the region, partially reversing the millions over the years that have been spent by our tourism planners to travel to London and Berlin for the annual World Travel Market and ITB shows. What better way to promote our tourism offerings than to bring overseas travel agents and tour operators in greater numbers to sample product in person.

Hopefully now under a restructured Barbados tourism national marketing agency and new enlightened thinking, our policymakers will re-consider supporting the re-DISCOVER the Caribbean show.

Barbados still remains the only Caribbean nation who successfully put together a truly dedicated intra-regional consumer and travel trade event, which captured the interest and participation of more than twenty tourism driven countries. Plus with the new direct twice weekly flight from Bogota in Colombia, there is a wealth of opportunity to include destinations along the southern Caribbean coast.

91 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Opportunities Abound”

1. i am quite familiar with bay street only lived a stone throw away from the beach many of my freinds lived in some of those houses before they were derelicts, the fact is that the ownership does not see a need to repair but use the property as a landmark rather than letting bush accumulate and having to pay for the up kept
    some of them are occupied even as the landlords keep collecting rent but govt cannot locate these slum lords as they lived overseas and it would cost govt and taxpayers sums of money to locate them and legal hurdles prevent govt from demolishing them
    In the meanwhile they remain eyesores and govt gets blame.

2. Barbados will continue to be a force to be reckoned “with” in tourism the awards will keep pouring in Not only has govt helped in giving necessary support to the industry but Rhianna last visit during crop over gave an overwhelmingly amount of exposure to the island worldwide ,Her name has now become synonymous with barbados tourism helping to give the additional accolades and respect due

3. my buddy used to win all the home builders awards till he stopped paying the entry fee AC get a grip

4. @lawson

Correct, many of these awards require an application to be considered.

5. The grip should be held by the naysayers and haters of this lovely islands .Even an award that would help to garnish publicity for the island the haters take offense .What a God dam shame and pity , What about the free publicity Rhianna gives to this country ,leave it up to the likes of a Lawson a gag order would be place in effect to ensure that she never speaks the name of barbados ever again

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 3, 2015 at 8:49 PM

With all of these successes in tourism why are they not being reflected in the foreign reserves or the multiplier effect being felt in other sectors of the economy to reduce unemployment especially among the youth who are the most socially explosive segment of the society?

7. @Miller

The tourism minister from Singapore said the KPIs for tourism is number of arrivals and average SPEND. Our locals like to boast about numbers. We need the holistic approach.

8. Miller why don/t u take a peep at Mia’s numbers and she how much traction she has picked up over the past three weeks and leave the job of tourism numbers to the govt who have done a splendid job in attracting tourist to barbados
    When they were little tourist wunna scream and shout like gully boars. Now the tourist are coming wunna say that is not enough

9. nobody hates the island just what you and your cronies have done or let happen, but quit mixing topics by mentioning Rihanna I have gone from homo sapiens to homo erectus

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 4, 2015 at 7:10 PM
    “leave the job of tourism numbers to the govt who have done a splendid job in attracting tourist to Barbados..”

Keep fooling yourself.
    Is the Barbados government also responsible for attracting increasing numbers of tourists to Cuba, Jamaica, St. Barts and the other East Caribbean islands?
    Do the tourists who arrive to join cruise ships just sail 20 miles off Barbados and return for the flight back home?
    You better thank Allah for the situation in North Africa and parts of Sub-Sahara Africa.
    Just hope that the UK experiences a beastly cold winter.

11. LOL lawson so you trying to censor my freedom of speech ///what/s up with you blp bunch and censoring. btw u big up yuh old cheap buddy and ac said nothing or even attack

Miller simply say the tourist are coming

12. Just cutting and pasting.

” five US$25 million luxury villas in Holetown, St James”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75014/british-firm-batty-about-barbados#sthash.y3nY5yKc.dpuf

25 houses at Battaleys Mews, Mullins, where each three-bedroom house has been comprehensively renovated and relaunched,”

13. The biggest contribution the government can make to improve tourism is to

CLEAN DE STINKING PLACE

and get the police to deal with the criminals.

14. cleaning up a place provides jobs….. forcing the owners to paint or the govt will do it and charge them legalize marijuana and have govt sell it, force ac to wear a burka you know things most people are for

15. ABOUT FIFTY STUDENTS from the Parkinson Memorial Secondary School and the Christ Church Foundation School joined the team from the Caribbean Policy Development Centre and the Caribbean Youth Environment Network (CYEN) to clean up Long Beach, Christ Church this morning.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75219/students-help-clean-beach#sthash.yUXpYLtk.dpuf

AWESOME START !!!!!!

16. maybe Lawson you can send them a Memo requesting their benevolence towards a Canada cleanup Day in the parks and poor neighborhoods

17. Here is the difference between us Canadians and you,one of my tenants called me that the sewer line was blocked… this morning three of us dug down 9ft and repaired it we had a laugh 3 well off guys working in a ditch repairing a sewer line. That’s what it is like up here we don’t mind getting our hands dirty But if rich guys can do it so can poor ones. So maybe its time to get some people off there assess to clean the island who find it easier to hold their hand out for alms or a gun in it to rob ya.

18. Lawson if life is so great in the freezer why do you Bother to come to this Stinky island

19. ac December 5, 2015 at 7:04 PM #
    Lawson if life is so great in the freezer why do you Bother to come to this Stinky island
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Even the Queen has to leave her parlour to spend a penny

20. AC you are still behind the curve, just rented a condo in mt tremblant for Christmas/newyears the freezer is fun in the winter but lucky you… I will be seeing you in feb and crop-over you should try coming north maybe get a selfie with trudeau. See we have 600000 west Indians or decent in Canada and trudeau is going to let you smoke all the dope you want

21. @ lawson sounds great to me ….meaning dope

22. Colonel i don/t think the queen would leave Buckingham place to spend a penny in garbage

23. But what are we doing about another nuisance which is guaranteed to drive visitors away ? Barbadians have become deaf, and even dumb to it. EXCESSIVE NOISES from ear splitting scrambler bikes , and other types, as well as wannabe racing cars, all hours of the day and night.
    Barbados must be rated high as a very noisy destination,and not a fella doing anything about it, in spite of having adequate legislation in place.

And we wonder why this country is on the brink of anarchy?

24. Colonel

But what are we doing about another nuisance which is guaranteed to drive visitors away ? . EXCESSIVE NOISES from ear splitting scrambler bikes , and other types, as well as wannabe racing cars, all hours of the day and night.

Where are living under a pebble international visitors live in noisy environments with the twenty hour noises from police sirens ambulances and those every day occurrence sounds coming from the loud outburst of car alarms in the dead of night……. which reminds me that you are a knee jerk alarmist

25. @ ac

You wrote that “international visitors live in noisy environments with the twenty hour noises from police sirens ambulances and those every day occurrence sounds coming from the loud outburst of car alarms in the dead of night……” What does this nonsense has to do with people visiting Barbados?

Colonel Buggy is correct by mentioning the excessive noises that abounds Barbados, especially from those motor cycle wheeling idiots, who terrorize motorists and pedestrians on a daily basis. The Ministry of Tourism markets Barbados as a tourist destination. Tourists visit a destination to get away from the hustle and bustle of their environment, to relax in peace and comfort as well as to enjoy the destination’s culture and activities. If you were to visit Trip Advisor and read the comments visitors make about noises, for example, from garbage and skip trucks that awaken them in the wee hours of the morning.

Supposed Colonel Buggy had written about the nuisance of providers of goods and services over-charging tourists, beggars, drug sellers, paros, which are also guaranteed to drive visitors away, your response would probably be the international visitors live in that environment at home. What a nitwit you are.

26. Question how long does a tourist stay on the island a couple of days the annual visitor for the best part does not dwell in the city and most likely the noises like police sirens and ambulances would only effect their night rest or daytime activities periodically
    The noise of music might be the only such association within limited spaces close to hotels or residences only on the weekend which is far and few in between but overall the loud noises of which you speak would not have a major effect on the vast majority of tourist or visitors entering the island
    Again i reiterate that most tourist hearing any loud noises have lived in such an environment for numerous years
    AS usual the BLP watch dogs are always running like a pack of wolves in search of blood

27. Always such an authority on all issues. When commonsense dictates we should be sensitive to noise pollution and seek to address it not only because it degrades the environment for tourists but locals as well, instead we have the naked yardfowlism being espoused. If a good point is made by a commenter good sense says to acknowledge t and move on.

Your hignorance knoweth no bounds.

On 6 December 2015 at 21:56, Barbados Underground wrote:

28. Always the expert on the interpretation of what a persons input indicates
    The retort given was to defuse the Blp blood thirsty hounds dogs argument based on political propaganda
    the read of most visitors opinion to this island does not prop up the notion bandied about here on Bu that noise is their greatest concern
    If one wants to be fair and use a plausible argument against loud music and car horns etc one should speak about the effect of those noises on the barbadian public in general
    Not solely resorting to political hogwash to spike an argument which is laced and peppered in political mouthings and rinsed with perceptions and non supportive facts about noise pollution and the effect on tourist
    If the individual wants to tabled those concerns they should bring the statistical facts to prove their mutterings instead of becoming statistical engineers of propaganda

29. the above retort was for YOU speckled fowl (DAVID) you can do with it whatever you like ,,,like stick it up yuh rear end for all i care
    Every time an individual differs in opinion you quick to stick yuh nose,,,, so bloody annoying
    And you always preaching about transparency it is transparent that only those views you agree are acceptable those that you disagree gets a tongue lashing Jas

30. The hat of a DLP yardfowl rest comfortably on your head.

Look the scratch grain…chick chick chick!

cock

31. LOL and right next to the yardfowl is the speckled fowl but being the exemplary disciple for all things transparent you conveniently edited the photo

32. The REAL joke is in how similar AC sounds to those other idiots running the country….
    …and how similarly unaware she seem of how stupid they sound…
    Shiite man!!!

Only sack cloth and ashes can save our asses now…..

33. ac December 6, 2015 at 3:49 PM
    Stayed at a hotel in Rio de Janiero a few few feet away from the popular Copa Cabana beach with a busy highway between. Not a bit of noise .
    Stayed at Hotel in Tel Aviv, another in Copenhagen etc etc……………………blah blah
    Yes , beside being a knee Jerk alarmist, I am also a seasoned traveler.

34. Hymie Weiss December 6, 2015 at 4:58 PM #

“If you were to visit Trip Advisor and read the comments visitors make about noises, for example, from garbage and skip trucks that awaken them in the wee hours of the morning.”

Hymie, (or should I write Henry Earl J. Wojciechowski) you made a very interesting point.

The legion’s comments are based mainly on trying to respond from a biased and partisan position. In other words, they see your comments as anti-DLP and choose to respond accordingly, rather than based on the context of your contribution and that of Colonel Buggy.

The demons are NOT familiar with the tourist industry and have commented based on what they THINK…. not what they KNOW. They are suggesting tourists stay in Barbados a maximum of a few days and the noise is heard ONLY on weekends or CONFINED within the city limits. RUBBISH!!!!!

ACs, why do you choose to comment on EVERY topic presented to BU for comment, when in many cases you do not have any knowlegde or training in the subject matter?

35. So Artaxerxes You Know For A Fact that the Noise affect the Tourist All AC/s is asking of you is to Bring all the Facts and proof to support the allegations
    When the BLPmouthpieces open the mouth they speak with the same role call of allegations but like there leader they change the script in haste and end up standing on a pile of rubbish looking like jerks
    Now i say to All of You who wants to shares lashes with Ac to bring the Facts instead of littering the BU hallways with garbage and political propaganda

36. Oh Artaxerxes i noticed you made a jab at ac taking ac to task on grounds against the Constitutional right of the freedom of expression i.e on speaking on many topics
    What you need to do is stay the course to avoid controversy as you may indeed end up looking like a fool by walking the same path of collusive arrogance in haste by way of drumming scurrilous and frivolous charges to curtail an individual FOS Exhibit A Mia Mottley
    BTW i also have the statistical evidence to show where your unguarded mouthings might lead you EXHIBT B Maria Agard

37. To Mr Hymsie i took a small peek at trip advisor on my way to BU and sometime back in 2008 there was one letter which detailed noise in the hasting area coming from cars
    Cars are a necessary evil of life and if a building is situated close to a high way any where in the world unless the owner is willing to spend mega bucks and sound proof the building the sounds of moving vehicles or any object would be heard
    BTW the letter indicated that they were 20 year vistors to this island an

38. Hahahaha….. Likewise, I also have the statistical evidence to show where your unguarded mouthings might lead you EXHIBT B Maria Agard…”

Sometimes it would you good NOT to respond to EVERYTHING…. you could read it and move on, rather than display your ignorance.

Unlike you, I choose topics with which I have knowledge and always include information to substantiate my contributions on that subject matter. You on the other hand continually display your ignorance by commenting on every shiite, with generalized statements and rhetorical political diatribe, in your efforts to spread DLP propaganda.

I have been consistent in revealing the flaws and nonsense you spew in your contributions. Surely by now you should have realized that, with the exception of Dompey, Alvin and Fractured BLP, no other contributor to BU takes you SERIOUSLY.

Only an IDIOT would say the only perfect individual to walk this earth was Jesus, but would want to convince people everything DLP parliamentarians say or do is perfect.

You are just another DLP yard fowl assigned to infiltrate BU to promote DLP propaganda, and you have been doing a lousy job thus far.

I’m not going to engage with you in your favourite past time on BU, which is trading insults. However, I will continue to expose the shiite you write for the shiite it is.

39. Artexeres. have u become Bu despost?shades of Mia are been exercised ,your our arrogance is being explicitlydemonstrated by your on going tirade to curtail one freedom of speech.it would therefore do you well to exercise tolerance of those with whom you disagree

40. I would opt to “explicitly demonstrate” ARROGANCE, rather than, as is always the case with you, “explicitly demonstrate” IGNORANCE.

Case in point, what the hell is a “DESPOST?”

How could you write about “on going tirade to curtail one freedom of speech,” and then write “it would THEREFORE do you well to exercise tolerance of those with whom you disagree?”

Both statements are “MUTUALLY EXCLUSIVE,” since the event of trying “to curtail one freedom of speech” does not cause or influence the event of “exercising tolerance of those with whom (a person) disagrees.”

See wuh I tell yuh? Once again, you have “explicitly demonstrated” that thine IGNORANCE knoweth no boundaries.

41. Whatever