BU shares the Caswell Franklyn Nation newspaper column – he is the General Secretary of Unity Workers Union and BU Contributor.
Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

Recent developments in this country have convinced me beyond a shadow of a doubt […]

that the two major political parties have outlived their usefulness.

It would appear that the current incarnation of leaders of both organizations have somehow forgotten the reason for their formation and continued existence.

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was formed in 1938 with its stated mission of improving the social and economic conditions of the working class. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) emerged in 1955 as a breakaway group from the BLP, led by the Right Excellent Errol Barrow. His pretext was that the BLP was not moving fast enough to address the plight of the working poor. In essence, both labour parties had one goal, and that was, as former Prime Minister Owen Arthur later summed it up: to stop poor people from being poor.

When both parties gained power, they set about putting legislation in place to improve the conditions of the working class. One such piece of legislation, the Shops Act, that was designed to protect the most exploited sector of the workforce, is now being repealed and replaced by a monied class friendly piece of legislation. It now appears that Government has succumbed to the pressure from the Chamber of Commerce and Industry and others, thereby betraying shop assistants in the process.

In order to make the betrayal of workers palatable, Government has clothed their rhetoric in high-sounding nonsense about moving the country into the 21st century, and creating a 24/7 type society. After reading the 2015 Shops Bill and the reports from the House of Assembly, I am shocked that the Government could be so brazen as to pass legislation that would seriously disadvantage the working class and then try to make it appear beneficial to them. These workers earn, for the most part, $250 per week. This legislation would make it difficult for them to earn a little overtime pay.

Another troubling aspect is that shop assistants are mostly young women of childbearing age. Who will take care of their children when the mothers are working at nights? We know for sure that the owners of these businesses would be at home helping their children with SBAs. As far as government is concerned poor people don’t need to spend quality time with their families.

The Minister who piloted the bill cited examples where the legislation would improve the condition under which workers are employed. Amazingly, all the reported examples of “improved” conditions already exist in the old Shops Act. For example, he claimed that the new legislation would protect workers who are not of the Christian faith. That provision is found at section 6 (6) of the 1985 act. Below are other examples of “improved” conditions, cited by the Minister, and the sections of the old act where the identical provisions can be found:

· Provision of stools for workers – section 8 (1)

· One hour lunch breaks – section 6 (2)

· Provision of adequate water supply and first aid kits – section 10 (2)

The 2015 Shops Bill has put provisions in place to make the monied class richer while it seeks to disadvantage the poor shop assistants. That bill was debated when the Opposition was all embroiled in the Maria Agard saga which ensured that it got little scrutiny and judging from the reports, the Opposition was pitiful.

This brings me to the point where I believe that the Barbados Labour Party can shut shop. Last week the country witnessed the sorry spectacle of the expulsion of Dr. Maria Agard from that party. This was done amid claims that she was denied natural justice.

One of the basic tenets of natural justice is that an accused person is entitled to a fair hearing before an unbiased adjudicator. Bias does not have to be actual, the appearance of bias is sufficient to disqualify an adjudicator from hearing the case. No one in their right mind can tell me that there was no bias or no apparent bias among several of the persons hearing that case.

By denying natural justice to Dr. Agard, the BLP has given an insight into what a future BLP led administration would be capable of doing. It has shown in no uncertain terms that it is prepared to ignore the law to achieve its goals.

I have heard it said that a country deserves the government it gets. If that is so, I am left to wonder what the people of Barbados have done so wrong to deserve this Government and worse yet the government in waiting. Right now a third political party seems like the only option barring divine intervention.

85 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Why Political Parties Exist”

1. @ Hamilton A Hill,
    Thanks. You will note that nobody is too keen of addressing the real issues. We prefer to spend time defending Dr. Mascoll , apolitical coward of the highest order, Maria Agard, who in all fairness failed to effectively cement herself within the constituency, Mia Mottley who is riding on some “legacy” of a former Mayor. A legacy that most progressives would want to ignore or forget; PM Stuart, who has been at the crease for years and dont even know which guard (stump) he is batting on; Chris Sinkler, who will scarcely be mentioned as a Minister of Finance in any serious crowd; Owen Arthur, who rose to prominence by watching cricket “bare foot” at Cable and Wireless. We have a sorry assortment of clowns being elevated . Nobody wants to discuss, not even the energetic Caswell, why black Barbadian shop assistants are earning 125 USD per week. Its a shame and a social and economic pollutant that while we talk about 24/7 this and that, that we still have people working for starvation wages. How on this planet can anybody exist on less than 500 BDS per week. And even that is difficult.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

William

You are being a bit unfair to me. I have raised the matter of shop assistants earning $250 per week on many occasions but twice in the last two weeks and nobody seems interested.

I think that you should be aware that they only get $250 if they work forty hours. They only get more if they work overtime or on public holidays if the shop is allowed to be opened. Imagine a minister of government publicly stating that overtime should be eliminated. It is for that reason that public holidays are now normal working days.

It would seem that this Government is all for those who can take care of themselves while they fool people about helping the poor.

3. @ Caswell,
    My apologies. However, if you raised it twice and ‘nobody” seems interested that is scarcely a reason to hold off. Your union should not follow the window dressing exercises of your more established colleagues. Matters such as the rampant exploitation of essentially black Barbadians should be constantly put before the public , so that they do not die. The problem is that we all seem to be on the sound bite approach to solving the myriad problems that we are facing today, our 49th year of Independence. There are many citizens who really don’t know that their fellowmen and women are still working for less than 300BDS per week. Beating up the thirty one traitors , we have in the House of Iniquity would not help OUR cause of ridding our country of the many wrongs. Everybody marches and then hope it helps their party to win the next election. I am saying it is shame on all of us that we seem afraid to call it as it is .These are the facts that we do not want to face:
    There was not one white , Indian or any ethnicity on the front pages of the nation being sent packing by the BLPDLP;
    Black small business people have to fail because the financial institutions only lend us money to buy cars;
    Whenever we talk about workers being exploited, we are talking about BLACK people;

To put it bluntly ; It is black bajans who suffering.

4. I Just saw Prime Minister Stuart on CNN at the Climate Talks a few minutes ago. YAPEE!

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

William

Nobody cares about people that are less well off than themselves. That is the reality of Barbados. Every day of my life, I am fighting for the disadvantaged in our society and you know what, not even the disadvantaged seem to care. It only matters when the problem affects them directly. There are people who tell me that they won’t join a union because whatever the other unionised workers get they will get the same also. Then they only come to me when they are about to get fired.

Then there is a set of workers who would have nothing to do with a union when their party is in power, and that is a sizeable number. Unfortunately, because workers would not come together they are made to suffer unduly, while employers take advantage of that apathy.

Then we have the employers who bribe the politicians and the unions to get whatever they want. Take for example the opening of shops that are attached to gas stations. The law did not allow it so the politicians changed the law to accommodate the practice, just like jam busting. But you know who owns the gas stations.

Also, one of the worst employers in Barbados is Chefette, but do you hear a peep out of the unions. They have in excess of 600 workers, thirty-five of whom are permanent, all the others are part time workers receiving less than forty hours per week. BWU does not complain because whenever the union has a function, they can call up Chefette for free food. The workers are sold out for food.

Then at Christmas Chefette plays Santa Clause by distributing leg hams and turkeys to the union officials and to strategic government officials. As a result, they can do what ever they like.

Workers just sit idly by and take it like domesticated slaves.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s a huge problem in Barbados and the current downfall of the country. Everything is measured by how much money (paper) you have accumulated. People have been brainwashed into thinking you should have nothing and get nothing unless you have first accumulated a lot of money, if you don’t, according to them, then you deserve nothing, small wonder the minorities on the island are known to have done every criminal act imaginable to accumulate millions and maintain the facade of having everything, while the majority blacks got poorer and poorer and are seen as outcasts by their greedy DBLP governments, the role of the poor is seen by them as just to vote and put these 2 parties in place to carry on the tradition, since the minorities, though wealthy, cannot make up those numbers, not enough of them of them on the island.

It’s a very sick and destructive philosophy. The concept of humanity has been removed from everything else on the island, except having lots of money, the moneyed people are left alone to do whatever they please. This is partly answering David’s question of yesterday, once the politicians can overcome their greed and identify with those whom they help oppress, that would be a first step out of that hole.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes Caswell, like I heard one dude say loudly recently, black leaders from every level of the society still sell their people out for rice and peas, cars, and every other temporary man-made material available in these times, it’s just a step up from selling each other out for glass and beads while all the gold, diamonds, rubies and oil, the real wealth is in their possession, a la Africa. They are and have always been traitors to their own people.

8. @ Caswell
    Boss … William finally got you to bare your soul….

So, like Jonah, you are saying that the people are ‘brass bowls’ who are beyond help….even when you try to do all that you can to assist them…
    …they prefer to stick with their B/DLP political exploiters….even while being returned systematically to slavery….. They will even stab YOU in the back – just to impress a puppet-politician who is really selling their ass to Jerkham et al ….

Bushie knows EXACTLY what you are talking about… but while Bushie is mandated to carry a big-ass whacker, YOU have been commissioned to save these brass bowls from THEMSELVES…. it is your calling boss… 🙂

Just look at your life experiences (education) so far…. It is what you have been PREPARED to do…..
    …so no point in running off in any little boat called “Unity” to excuse yourself from your fate… you will only end up in some whale’s belly and get yourself puked right back into BUP. …. where you belong….

@ William
    Excellent analysis of the state of the huge majority of blacks in Barbados. Comparatively, (miraculously) almost NO persons of other ethnic groups fall within that slave-wage range.

BUT…have you ever tried SERIOUSLY getting these same disadvantaged blacks to work TOGETHER in their own interests?
    Do you know that they will ALWAYS go against another black… in favour of ANY other race (or political puppet) in the race?
    Just look at most organisations bout here and you will see that the leadership positions usually go to the most ‘non-black’ persons eligible (or a political pimp who represents them) …who then pull all stops to support their own…

Blacks are the most INDIVIDUALISTIC, self-deprecating, and non-cohesive race on earth…..and as a result, we will ALWAYS find ourselves at the bottom of any materialistic heap…. brass…!!

9. @ Caswell,

Thanks for your response. I can attest to the outlook pervading not only those workers at the bottom, but also those who are considered middle class. I was a chief steward and very active member of the Barbados Union of Teachers in the 70s. We struggled to get a quorum at most meetings outside of those relating to salary increases. However under the brilliant leadership of Comrade John Cumberbatch and other dedicated members, we were able to fight both the BLP and DLP rather successfully. I believe that you are having and will reap some success , I can only suggest you do not give up.

You stated: “Also, one of the worst employers in Barbados is Chefette, but do you hear a peep out of the unions. They have in excess of 600 workers, thirty-five of whom are permanent, all the others are part time workers receiving less than forty hours per week………” This means that Chefette is copiously following the anti-worker policies of overseas Fast Food operations such as McDonalds etc. These matters need to be drilled into the public’s psyche. They get away with it because , as you stated, they, the Chefette’s and others always have extra hamburgers for those who are willing to protect them.
    @ Bush Tea
    Thanks for your response . You asked : “BUT…have you ever tried SERIOUSLY getting these same disadvantaged blacks to work TOGETHER in their own interests?” They will work together if they are comfortable with the leadership. My experience showed me that those who seek to lead or change must not see themselves as doing a favor to those we seek to lead. Our history shows that the working class has been led by labour leaders such as Sir. Frank Walcott and Sir Granley Adams, Clement Payne and others. There were also some leaders that never made it to the public’s eye but there were legendary organisers on the ground.

10. @ William
    They will work together if they are comfortable with the leadership.
    Clearly you are no ordinary Bajan bowl. But you must know that it is much more complex than that.
    In our present state, we will not even RECOGNISE good leadership. We have been conditioned over the past 60 years of political idiocy, into thinking that ‘good leadership’ is about giving things to poor people and rewarding political yardfowlism…..which (as you know) is GUARANTEED to keep them poor and dependent.

Do you REALLY think that Bajans will readily embrace a leader that champions meritocracy as a general principle for example?
    Do you think we will vote for someone who preaches that we must WORK for what we want?
    …that productivity should drive reward…?

….or will we go for someone who hands out laptops on election day …and free house keys to people who just lime on the block?

Making that transition will call for revolutionary fervour Bill…..

11. I get cuss on blogs and “in person” for saying that I spend more on food when I am in Barbados on business or vacation than shop assistants earn.

Note that my “food” was 1 pep bottle of coconut water daily, light sweet bread,cheese,coffee,fish cutters,rotis and supermarket deli food.

The point that needs to be stressed is that US$125 a week is paid to full time workers not students or people looking to make “extra cash”.

The cost of living in Barbados puts these workers under the real poverty level.

Keep fighting Caswell.

12. Someone remarked regarding the fact that change must be effectuated by those charged with the executing the people’s mandate, which in my view is partly true, but real change emanates with the Barbadian people, who are obviously unaware of their potential to light it ablaze.

Yes, our elected officials are the ones charged with effectuating the much needed and necessary change in the current state of affairs, but if such change isn’t being implemented exponentially, then it is up to the masses to demand that change through the pathway of Social-Protect. Social-Protest has been an important as well as an enduring element in effectuating real change in the American political context.
    Now when we examine the history of American politics, we see clear and convincing evidence of change effectuated through the pathway of Social-Protect from as far back as the War of Independent with the Boston Tea Party, the Abolitionist-Movement, the Women Suffrage Movement, the Civil Rights Movement, and the Woman Liberation Movement of the 1970s.

Moreover, political change in the American context has been achieved through the pathway of Social-Protest, and important element lacking in the history of politics in Barbados, but such change isn’t unrealizable in the Barbadian context. What is needed I am afraid to say is that one important person or persons who are capable of arousing the collective awareness of the masses, as has been the case in the American context, and inspiring the masses in the direction of the needed change.

13. @ Hants
    I agree with you that Caswell must keep fighting -nothing comes easy when you are trying to change the mind set . You will note that the traditional “journalists” were crticising BU but once somebody of the calibre of Jeff Cumberbatch supports BU’s effort, the established journalists have to also recognise that the constituency they are accustomed catering to is shrinking, while BU’s constituency, is growing. And so it is with the struggle for the working class. I can bet a million dollars, that when bajans read that Cheffette has 600 workers and only 35 permanent, they will start seeing things differently. When they learn that their neighbour only works for 250BDS per week, they will understand the struggle better. The race is not always for the swift but for he that endureth to the end. Comrade Caswell, will get his rightful place when the true history of Barbados is written. Venceremos !

@Bush Tea

I learned to pay more attention to Rosa Parks than those who thought they will never ride at the front of the bus.

14. @William

Thanks for your perspective. BU extracted the Chefette piece and blasted it on Facebook a moment ago, let us continue to educate the ignorant.

15. Just on a point of clarity let me say that it is not only fast food restaurants that engage in the practice of split shifts that never amount to a full work week. COSTCO does it. WALMART does it. It’s am American thing, but so is HALLOWEEN.So too is THANKSGIVING. Both are recent bajan adoptions. Get my drift? Caswell and William may try till the cows come home, fact is we like it so! We are indeed a strange people. ….fa real.

16. @ Hamilton Hill,
    The entire Caribbean is now under severe cultural penetration. We have retrogressed tremendously since the 60s. You are absolutely correct that the big box companies like COSTCO and WALMART engage in the same policies like McDonalds.
    @ David,
    Bad things happen when good people do nothing. The struggle continues. Keep up the good work.
    I knew that we were in serious trouble when school children were using Pinocchio as a mascot, for their reading program ! Imagine that with the blessings of predominantly black teachers………..there is much work to do. A lot more than we imagined 50 years ago. We are simply not there yet but we must continue to be engaged.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea and Jeff Cumberbatch

De two uh wunna is to blame for this.

The other day you Bush Tea compliment Domps for mekking two sensible statements in a week an jes so de man get “emboldened” and have return.

You boy Domps come back with a vengence!!

Just like a one horse town, de one word dat donkey come here using is “effectuated” effectuating” “effectuates” effectually and all de rest uh permutations!!

I appears that he was led by the learned Mr. Cumberbatch wid your etymological mastery and had taken to the Thesaurus while he “evacuating his bowels”

Rumour has it that Domps, during a particular moment of enterological challenge was on the page with “e” words straining, both in comprehending the words as well as evacuating, when his eyes fixed on this word… “effectuate” effectively etching and engraving this exclusive expression in his empty Cranium” ergo the submission at 1.25 p.m.

De ole man din find nuh words fuh head beginning wid and “e”

De Madam ent heah tuh cook fuh muh so i gine and boil some mo soft eggs and eat dem wid bread…

18. @ Bush Tea November 30, 2015 at 11:46 AM,

I agree with your comments. Last week, I read a story which stated that a female police officer in Barbados was not allowed to maintain her dreadlocks if she wanted to remain in the police force. Yet at the same time you can see some Muslim women in Barbados scurrying around in their black “tents” looking like black crows without a word from the authorities.

If Mr Caswell is genuinely serious about creating better conditions for his union membership he needs to find out why we as a people seem willing to submit ourselves to this regular ritual of social, economic and political abuse.

Generally, as a people we remain devoted to activities such as fetting, liming and carnival. Yet when our civil rights are being abused on a daily basis we remain mute.

@ Mr Caswell, Sir – good luck.

@ William Skinner,

I remember having several exchanges with you in the past. Whatever optimism you had then seems to have disappeared. The politics of Barbados has de-sensitised you. You just need to convert that other blogger called Dee Word – good luck!

19. @Hamilton and William, I would agree that Walmart is an atrocious employer towards its staff and only now since much pressure will they be increasing wages for hourly workers to minimum levels around $9 with an intent to get to $10 next year.

There have been instances where long standing employees at this massively successful company had to seek welfare assistance from the company to support their families.

But you do Costco a disservice to compare Costco and Walmart re employees rights/conditions.

Over the years they have been a much more employee friendly company than Walmart and their wage structure has tended to be significantly more amenable to supporting a family for those at the lowest end of the pay scale.

But absolutely retail/ fast food industries in general are brutal in terms of pay and hours for shop assistants and it is a continuous fight to improve conditions.

In Walmart’s case this fight has been ongoing for generations and even now as the CEO made these decisions the blow-back from the investment community who make their money on Walmart stock fluctuation and related financial actions were equally brutal in their condemnation. When a company that generates over $450B in revenue is being barracked for giving low-level employees a livable wage we must realize that our SOCIETY thinking is really screwed-up.

The financial folks are p’ed off about the several million $$ increase in wages expense and possible impact on profits rather than how staff can actually sustain life and liberty and be productive partners for their employer.

In that same vein the financial folks have been less than happy with the Costco CEO over the years because he has been ‘TOO’ generous re staff wages and benefits. Yet that company continues year after year being a top five US retailer and being extremely profitable. On the employee front they can be seen as a star not a laggard.

Of course we all know that WalMart is so anti union that they shut down a Canadian store rather than give in to unionism.

20. @ de Ingrunt word,
    Thanks for your response. Your point about COSTCO being a superior employer to WALMART is taken. However, there is still some element of using temporary employees to maximise profits, which is how the retail industry functions in the USA. From what Caswell has divulged about Cheffette, it appears that their model is following the very worst anti-labour policies of the retail industry. What is very troubling, is the fact that Cheffette has been allowed to engage in such anti-labour practises, without the slightest reprimand. A point that Caswell made.
    @ Exclaimer,
    Thanks. You stated: “I remember having several exchanges with you in the past. Whatever optimism you had then seems to have disappeared. The politics of Barbados has de-sensitise you……..”
    I assure you that quite the opposite is true. I remain committed to the same principles and causes, I have been engaged in since my high school years. Quite frankly, I am more optimistic and fortified now than I have ever been.

21. @ William Skinner,
    It is good to hear that you remain “optimistic and fortified”. I do not.

Anyway, I wish you a pleasant day.

22. “@Bush Tea

I learned to pay more attention to Rosa Parks than those who thought they will never ride at the front of the bus.”

She is the true quiet and dignified heroine of the civil rights movement but we adulate others with passing thought of her all important contribution from time to time.. Nowhere have I seen a statue of her erected of this face of the civil rights struggle.

23. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@William, most definitely there is a large element of using temp workers to maximize profits. What Mr Franklyn has divulged about Chefette is indeed troubling for the pro-corporate bribery and corruption. That too is taken from the Walmart playbook based on their escapades in Mexico and India.

When you speak of “slightest reprimand” and “what is very troubling” that fuels anger and deepens distrust with the entire landscape.

Clearly Chefette’s alleged 5% full time employee complement does not make any reasonable sense for a company of its size and success.

And according to Caswell, Chefette pays the Union with regular deliveries of prepared platters for meetings and unprepared hams and the like for union officials to maintain that non-sense.

Chefette in Barbados is as much a success story in its own small way as Walmart is a roaring success in the US and both also depict a clear public apathy; reinforcing the point that we are often only concerned about ourselves.

As long as we can get some ‘inexpensive’ food we are really not deeply concerned that the server providing the items is scrunting terribly everyday to maintain that pleasant smile and appearance.

Nor does it appear that we care that our labor unions have allegedly conspired to under-represent worker concerns.

24. @ de ingrunt word. …It was not my intent to do any disservice to COSTCO nor was I making the comparison between the two. All I am saying is that the copycat syndrome that is so much a part of Barbados today continues to take us down the wrong road. The only part of our DNA we guard with gusto is our passivity. That’s why companies like LIME and those of Mrs Merchandani were able to survive so long, while offering sub-standard service, where LIME is concerned and blatant exploitation on the part of the other. Don’t tell me about no political connection cause there are some things that work through people power.

25. I honestly think we are all on the same page. The problem is that many of us are afraid of the corporate/political complex that is firmly in ruthless control of our island state. I am certain that once factual information is brought before the public, our collective message, including differences, would be heard. I have already received about 30/35 emails from people saying they did not know that Cheffette was operating in the way Caswell said. It reminds me of when it was pointed out that it was Barbados Shipping and Trading (BST Blood Sweat and Tears) that single handedly destroyed the agriculture industry. At one time BST controlled almost all the plantations in our island.
    Another little unknown fact is that when the private sector was given big concessions and tax breaks by Richie Haynes and the DLP in 1986, they bought race horses and built one car park in Bridgetown. They never ploughed those tax breaks back into the economy. In no time PM Sandiford was forced to find the IMF. That was the famous “Back raise” budget. There is a reason why they allowed Bridgetown to become run down. They were given the blueprint for Warrens by Tom Adams when he “conceptualised” the ABC Highway. These are facts that many Barbadians are completely unaware of. More to come in the fullness of time.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Collusion breeds continuity, in the case of Barbados, it’s negative. That damage can only be reversed if DBLP wants to be reponsible for and remembered as the politicians to do so, if not, dog eat ya dinner, or in this case, all the minorities.

27. Since wunna now find out about how Cheffete operates, wunna musse ent noh dat hundreds (thousands?) of young women duz be breaking down dem doors looking for work every year. Also while wunna talking bout Cheffete, ask Caswell about the “permanent temporary” positions that another large employer offer shop assistants.

28. Should it not be, why do political parties still exist?

29. Caswell articles/postings always provide food for thought.

Barbados as an English speaking country is closer to the US and Canada than either the Philippines or India. If folks in Barbados are working for BDS $250.00 per week, surely there is some way that we with our highly educated population can attract some of those jobs that are being exported to the Far East.

What are we doing wrong???
    What does Barbados need to do????
    What’s failing?
    Is our educational system producing the wrong type of worker?

30. @The Observer
    Barbados as an English speaking country is closer to the US and Canada than either the Philippines or India. If folks in Barbados are working for BDS $250.00 per week, surely there is some way that we with our highly educated population can attract some of those jobs that are being exported to the Far East.
    Simply put Bajans will not stand for the exploitation that is visited upon people in the Philippines and India by the companies that export these jobs.

Let me tell you how it works:

Company A in North America teams up with Company B domiciled in India/Philippines who will be the de facto employer of the workers performing the jobs in those countries.
    Company B’s workers will earn a fraction of what the staff in North America makes; those workers will have no benefits i.e. nada – not even maternity leave. Depending on the industry they will have shifts covering 24 hours and there is no provision for shift benefit or holiday pay. Objectors to any company policy are quickly shown the door and when you live in a country with massive unemployment and poverty there will be someone there to replace you. Needless to say Unions are verboten, meanwhile Company A’s bottom line improves because Employee cost in North America is reduced, profit and share price increases – the Investors are happy and the Executives get big bonuses.

Barbados proximity to the US and Canada is a two-way street we know each other well so they know that we are not that desperate yet and they know that we have laws on the books that in the main still protect workers’ rights (Caswell may disagree) and that is why those jobs won’t come here.

A good example of companies washing their hands of “third world” workers completing tasks on their behalf is what happened in the aftermath of the building collapse in Bangladesh that killed people making clothing for some reputable North American companies.

31. What are we doing wrong?.…..

The body is willing but the head is not able. Body = People . Head = Leaders.

32. In our post-colonial context political parties exist for the same reasons unions do- to maintain the status quo i.e. ensure both the enfranchised and the unenfranchised groups remain so, and to derive personal benefit for so doing. If the masses were subject to a minority elite in governance as well who were openly exploiting them (as the DBLP does) they would be moved to establish their own government and direct their own affairs, taking the power or some extent of it from those masters; these two parties playing musical chairs fixes that problem in that the people believe they have power and select the government from among themselves, but it should be obvious that both parties pander to the same people. The masses are Bs and Ds. Bizzy say he is a PIG- the Party In Govt. Whichever party gets in, you will be told you gave them permission to be there and to make the decisions they do. You gave them a mandate with your vote. The only way they can NOT claim express permission is if no one votes… Amazing that people could think an election will change something after seeing the D-B switch of the 90s and especially the B-D switch of 7 yrs ago… which occurred how again, if under the Bs it’s all milk an’ honey? It also puzzles me how unions intend to move an entire nation forward by charging the workers money for protection, and how people trust that someone has their best interests at heart while they protect only who pays, and hobnob with the same ones they need protection from. If solidarity and a collective consciousness could be inspired among the people there would be no need for unions. Or political parties. Sites like BU can play a major role in building these.

33. Bro Cas in one of your earlier posts you attributed the formation of the DLP to Mr Barrow; I too held that view until I came across this statement in the autobiography of former Deputy Premier Wynter Crawford in the Barrow administration and I quote.

“Contrary to general belief, Errol Barrow did not start the Democratic Labour Party. When the DLP started he was in the Barbados Labour party. The DLP was started in 1955 by Owen. T. Allder and L. B. Brathwaithe and one or two others who were disaffected with Adams. They started meeting at Tudor’s house, ‘Lemon Grove’. After Cameron Tudor and Barrow broke with Adams, they went along with the little group. They met at Tudor’s house because they had nowhere else to meet.’
    However in Professor Woodville Marshall’s critique to the contents of the autobiography, he noted thus-
    “the official history of the DLP indicates that two ‘tributaries’ of protest met to form the party. One tributary, the older, was led by Allder and Brathwaithe, while the newer one was led by parliamentarians, disaffected members of the Barbados labour party- Errol barrow, A.E.S Lewis, F.G Smith, and Cameron Tudor. Discussions between the two groups from February to April 1955 ended in agreement to launch a political party which would be both democratic and socialist

34. More excerpts from Mr winter Crawford’s autobiography which can challenge certain myths surrounding the existence of political parties and I quote-
    ” After Barrow and Tudor left Adams, they came over to the Opposition and used to vote in the House of assembly with Brancker, Talma, Homie Corbin and myself. That made six of us. So Barrow did not join us as a leader at all.

35. Mr Michael Rudder made a very important contributionto public debate in an article in the nation yesterday pertaining to the internal squabbles within political parties and the impact they could have on the outcome of the elections for the affected party if internal disputes are not kept in-house or settled sensibly . Again i offer excerpts from Mr Wynter Crawford’s autobiography which generally support the view of my former er English master and i quote-
    “The only paragraphs in the manifesto i did not write myself were the paragraphs on education and a small paragraph on constitutional reform. It was circulated and everyone said it played a great part in helping us to win the election.. It was agreed that, if we won, Brancker would be Premier.
    During the campaign, it is true, Brancker did not play the part that Barrow did. He used to confine himself mostly to his constituency whereas Barrow went with us all over the island. But, for all that, Barrow had not emerged to the point wher the public of necessity regarded him as leader. He had only been back in the House of Assembly for approximately two years and, when he asked me to join the party, he had offered me the leadership.
    During the campaign, a meeting was held in Church Village and a man called Grandison or Granville, who worked with the st Michael Highway Commissioner, got up and said that, if the DLP won, they would make Barrow Premier, which was not true. The next morning Brancker rang me about 6 a.m.He said, ‘you heard what happened? What are you going to do about it?’ I replied, ‘Man, i have been studying this very carefully. It appears to me we are going to win, and one of the reasons why we have been doing so well is the fact that there is a lot of squabbling for leadership on the other side.-Miller, Cox, Mapp-nobody wants this one or that one. It is easy for me to hold a meeting tomorrow night and for me to say we have decided to make you Premier.But if i do that we will lose the election because people will say, ‘Both parties are squabbling over the leadership. We had better put back the party that we know.’ He said, ‘That is a point of view i can’t ignore but i will never work under Barrow. If you go along with it, i wil be Speaker of the House.’