Felicia Browne, Human Rights Advocate

Diplomatic immunity involves exemption from the enforcement of one or more laws of a host country granted to resident foreign diplomats. Its purpose is to ensure that the official duties of foreign […]ambassadors

are not impeded.

Some of the most important protections granted under diplomatic immunity include the inviolability of one’s person and premises, exemption from taxation and freedom from civil and criminal law enforcement/prosecution by local authorities. Although the rationale for diplomatic immunity has merit, its application as a means to undermine the International human rights of individuals or groups constitutes an abuse of power.

Human and gender rights advocate Felicia Browne claims that the government’s decision to uphold a diplomatic envoy’s immunity in a civil matter represents such an abuse and is a clear violation of Christina Estrada‘s human rights. She notes a major omission in the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations agreement in that it was not designed to protect the rights of victims who may be affected by diplomatic immunity. Such victims typically belong to the most vulnerable groups, i.e., women and children, many of whom have little or no access to legal representation or redress. Browne adds that there are known instances where many victims are left without compensation or retribution for the harms done against them, like in cases of human trafficking and migrant domestic workers. Browne adds that although the State has the right to engage foreign nationals to assist in government work, with its engagement in a purely civil matter involving Dr. Walid Juffali, it should be acting to ensure that both parties receive the justice that they deserve without any form of prejudice or bias. Browne reminds us that, “Women have universal rights which include access to legal representation; regardless of their economic status or nationality. There are some countries which may not promote these rights, so it is our responsibility as a progressive society to demand that they uphold these rights, especially when our policy makers fail to do so. We must make it absolutely clear that any form of gender discrimination is unacceptable. Although diplomatic immunity is recognized under International law, we must speak out when its application constitutes an abuse of power and undermines the rights of victims who do not enjoy diplomatic privileges. If we uphold and promote these rights for women and girls in such matters of International human rights, it can only help to move our communities and nation forward in becoming a truly just and humane society.

68 responses to “Diplomatic Immunity and Human Rights”

1. @Bush Tea, Sir

Does it make a difference that St.Lucia is selling a passport and Barbados is selling real estate and share ownership? What is common to both you may ask?

2. The mention of St. Kitts, Antigua and St. Lucia reminded me of something I heard relative to Antigua.

Has anyone heard (as was told to me by an Antiguan friend of mine) that PM Gaston Browne is soliciting the USA government to relocate the US embassy from Barbados to Antigua, because it is too expensive for Antiguans to travel here to apply for US visas?

I was also told Browne was also looking at asking the UWI hierarchy to relocate the Cave Hill Campus to Antigua because Antiguan students were being mistreated. They cited an incident where there was a function at UWI and “someone threw bleach on the Antiguans’ food.”

However, when I investigated that matter, apparently the Antiguans’ food was not kept in sanitary conditions and as a result, health inspectors, as is customary even with Barbadians, threw bleach on the food to prevent any further serving, since people may not comply with instructions to dump the food.

3. @ David
    Does it make a difference that St.Lucia is selling a passport and Barbados is selling real estate and share ownership?
    OF COURSE IT DOES!!
    While we are selling our fields and hills (and banks and utilities and stores…) all St Lucia is selling is a piece of paper that allows these rich crooks to piss off the UK, Canada and USA.

Chalk and cheese… Boss
    It is like comparing the Castries chicken providing eggs, and the brass bowl bajan pig providing bacon for breakfast… 🙂

@ Simple
    Don’t mind you….
    you are just sorry that he is not one of your Ex….

4. @Artaxerxes December 27, 2015 at 12:38 PM “Has anyone heard (as was told to me by an Antiguan friend of mine) that PM Gaston Browne is soliciting the USA government to relocate the US embassy from Barbados to Antigua, because it is too expensive for Antiguans to travel here to apply for US visas?”

Artaxerxes man: Urban myth.

It is not going to happen. Building a new embassy is quite an expensive undertaking. So if the Embassy was in Antigua would it not be expensive to Bajans to travel there?

Artaxerxes man: Urban myth.

@Artaxerxes December 27, 2015 at 12:38 PM “I was also told Browne was also looking at asking the UWI hierarchy to relocate the Cave Hill Campus to Antigua because Antiguan students were being mistreated.

Urban myth again.

@Artaxerxes December 27, 2015 at 12:38 PM “They cited an incident where there was a function at UWI and “someone threw bleach on the Antiguans’ food.” However, when I investigated that matter, apparently the Antiguans’ food was not kept in sanitary conditions and as a result, health inspectors, as is customary even with Barbadians, threw bleach on the food to prevent any further serving, since people may not comply with instructions to dump the food.”

True.

If you are serving food to hundreds of people it is dangerous not to follow proper public health protocols. If Barbados’ health inspectors had permitted the Antiguan students to serve the food and if hundreds of students had ended up being sick them we would have all sorts of bellyaching (literally and metaphorically) from those who would feel that Barbados authoritieeipermitted the food poisoning of their nationals. And think of the stress of the polyclinics and the QEH if hundreds of students show up with the “belly.”

5. @David December 27, 2015 at 12:20…wait…piece a land and piece a citizenship paper does both give a slice of a country but beyond that fah real Bushie is absolutely right. Surely you must agree, “While we are selling our fields and hills… all St Lucia is selling is a piece of paper …Chalk and cheese”

Remember David these fields and hills are still limited to 166 squares. St. Lucia could issue WELL beyond 200K pieces of paper and feel no immediate pain..we can’t do that wid de land.

Completely agree, entire divorce episode is much ado about nothing important to anyone outside the marriage.

The spotlight on this citizenship for sale problem is another matter altogether and just as the Europeans are feeling the wrath of the US re their ‘lax’ immigration policies so too will St.Lucia and others similarly situated like them with ‘pay to live’ financial plans.

6. Don’t agree Dee Word, the sale of citizenship which equates to selling a birthright or navel string requires the same flawed decision making process.

7. @ David
    Citizenship?
    What the hell is that?
    lotta shiite…!!

Who could want more ‘birthright or navel string’ than those rich people who now come down here and decide ‘who can do what, when, where, and how’ … at FLOW /MASSY/ EMERA/ REPUBLIC/ SANDALS/…etc etc

Give it up boss… the OECS countries are MILES behind of us …when it comes to selling our asses to albinos….

8. @Bush Tea

All it will take at some point in the future is the enactment of alien land/property legislation and the dog dead.

9. LOL
    Depends on which dog…
    …any bets it will be a black dog?

Who do you think is pulling the legislative strings round here boss? albino shadows..
    …Caswell got it right….
    Same way they are now making the ‘Labour’ laws into ‘Business’ laws, you may well find that the various land taxes, shiite taxes, levees and environmental charges will result in a future much like our past…

10. @Bush Tea

We know that Doville is mixed up with the private sector crowd Rotary et al and Sinckler is not far behind willing to prostitute his tail for 30 pieces of silver. Note the items he gave away at a recent constituency party.

11. Bushie,

The black dog is already on his death bed.

12. True about this divorce issue being a non- issue. The man rented her for a time and she should be satisfied with her exorbitant rental fee. The only issue here is the strange actions of the St. Lucian government. Quite frankly though, I am more concerned with the strange actions of my own government.

13. Simple,

An alternate thinker would be one who thinks every other time. That would mean in this instance that we should treat every other of your posts as having been made without thinking.

14. Those claiming that Earl Huntley has impeccable credentials should do some research into the Helenites affair in which a St. Lucia owned building was sold without the knowledge of the Government .Similarly his involvement in selling St. Lucia’s seabed to Jack Grynberg without the consent of the Governor General and then keeping the deal secret for nine years. It would also be worth noting that the Juffali appointment was kept secret from everyone in St. Lucia including the Government ‘s own Maritime department, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Ministers of Government . It must also be noted that the treasury has not received any monies for the awarding of this Diplomatic Passport. If monies were paid… They definitely did not go into the country’s coffers.The only pertinent question is why was Juffali given this passport at such a convenient time for him?

15. @Karen

Tell us more or more importantly feel free to put a few lines together and email us.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Has anyone pause to think about the serious implications of if, and I repeat if, a spouse seeking release as I needed from Lilith Number 2 and 3 were to be afforded the option of diplomatic immunity of government X?..

So wunna know dat if I is Sheik Abdula bin Labia Pudendah al Sahib de Third (like Grenville is de third) and I so rich dat my garage is de size uh Barbados, wunna dun know dat, in order not to pay any spousal support to either uh dem Liliths dat all I got to do is pay a minister uh one uh dese banana republics a few dollars, or jes meet Chris Stinkliar, Maxine McCLean and Humpty Dumpty Greenidge late a night at Champers, and whaplax I is an ambassador fuh $10 million and ent got to pay out $200 million to my Bedouin ex wife???

Whu it even bettah dan dat cause if I only invite Stinkliar to the dinner and he representing all uh dem, all I gots to do is move de decimal point fuh dat Garrison scholar and I may only got to pay $10,000!!! Instead uh $10 million!!

Dis cud become a new Forex earner fuh Barbados’ ailing economy…Maxine you always looking to improve you wardrobe fuh you trips dem, see if you cud set up some rich menses fuh dese services…no to mek dem get divorce…but when dem is getting divorce to mek dem ambassadors doah now to tink bout it as a one stop stop you cud hire sum uh dem bank girls who does look in you accounts and set up menses causing dem know how much money in de Lotharios accounts…de possibilities is endless

17. @ David,

Hammond criticises judge for stripping diplomatic immunity from Saudi billionaire

http://www.theguardian.com/law/2016/mar/22/hammond-criticises-judge-for-stripping-diplomatic-immunity-from-saudi-billionaire

18. @Exclaimer

They can criticize all they want.