Submitted by Anthony Davis
Clare Cowan
Clare Cowan

The Government of Barbados through the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) are proposing to develop the Mangrove Pond Green Energy Complex and Beautification Program.

[…]

In support of this proposed development, R. J. Burnside International Limited (Burnside) has prepared an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA), Outline Review. – Barbados Underground

Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy, must have heard about what went on with the plant in Ottawa, yet she came to the Caribbean with the sole idea of making money, and the members of our illustrious Government fell for her tale hook, line and sinker, because Barbados is no further advanced than the other Caribbean nations in its way of doing business. Barbados has been chided for not being very user-friendly when it comes to doing business here.

She just took the sweetest deal she was offered, because the Minister of Finance uses our taxes as if they were his – that’s why he can give away 27 acres of land and free water for 30 years, while the taps here are running dry. He must learn that the enormous amount of taxes which we pay is not part of his personal piggy bank!

It is now clear to me why this Government was in such a hurry to expand the facilities at the port. It is not because we will be having so many tourist liners or freight ships juggling for space, but because the freighter which is to bring the parts for the waste-to-energy plant more than likely needs more space than the other freighters.

I think that it was Dale Marshall who brought up the subject:

How will the truck carrying the parts get to Vaucluse?

Will they have to remove telephone/power poles?

Do we have trucks which can carry such loads, or will one or two be brought in for that purpose?

The Burnside report states that, depending on the size of the plant, the stack would have to be so high that it would have to have lights at the top to warn off aircraft. When a stack is so high its main purpose is to spew the pollutants so high into the atmosphere that they are absorbed up there without falling to the ground, but they will be blown elsewhere.

The Burnside Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) states:”Although facility set-ups may differ in the specific technology used, the sequence of events in the process generally involves (4)  ” Air pollution system”. If we are not dealing with air pollution as the Government would have us believe, why is an air pollution system needed?

This is no solution for us as we are a small island and those pollutants will certainly include carbon dioxide and nitrogen. There will almost certainly be particulates being also spewed into the environment. Particulates are particles that are so small that they go directly to the lungs and, like coal particulates, cling to them and cause cancer like the coal ones did/still do with the miners.

It also states that Barbados will likely have to import waste, such as tyres.

What does this Government expect those persons who put their money into renewable energy businesses to do?

What about the state-of -the -art Andrews sugar factory that is being built?

Why build that if Government has to hand over all of the bagasse to Cahill Energy?

Is it true that work on the said Andrews sugar factory has stopped?

It is incomprehensible that this Government would do this knowing full well that it wanted to use the bagasse to produce fuel!

That is the epitome of ineptitude!

It is a crass dereliction of duty!

It places a millstone around the necks of our scions, and our scions’ scions for years to come.

How do we know if nuclear waste won’t be imported?

Will we end up like Haiti – having one of those nuclear waste freighters dump tons of waste on one of our beaches?

It is reported that when the freighter was told to move on the captain dumped the remainder into the ocean.

We have to be very wary of such happenings taking place here.

I have heard of the magnificent seven, and the three musketeers, but now we have the magnificent sixteen.

However, the magnificent seven and the three musketeers fought for justice for the poor. the needy, and the vulnerable in their relative societies.

The source of  “Plasma gasification”, and “Gasification” is Wikipedia.

62 responses to “Cahill Plasma Gasification Project NOT Forgotten”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin is just regurgitating what his masters want him to say, he is a parrot, he researches nothing, analyzes nothing, he just sings for his supper. A useless specimen.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Nostradamus December 3, 2015 at 7:14 AM
    “If he had read and understood the “Cow-an’s/Cahill’s agreement”, the Burnside Waste Characterization Report or done some basic research he would have known that the plant needs combustible material and as much non-combustible material as possible needs to be sorted out of the waste stream before reaching the WTE.”

Not under Alvin’s proposed WTE operations. The abandoned vehicles will be packed with explosives and petrol to make them combustible-ready. To achieve greater efficiency he can arrange with the various funeral homes to send the dead bodies of the poor to act as organic compact material for the vehicles. “Cremation at no cost” can be the advertising slogan for Alvin’s WTE plant.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..

4. “Uruguay makes dramatic shift to nearly 95% electricity from clean energy
    In less than 10 years the country has slashed its carbon footprint and lowered electricity costs, without government subsidies. Delegates at the Paris summit can learn much from its success ”

This is a positive article and confirms what is achievable when a government prioritises the needs of her people above the needs of special interest groups (foreign and domestic neo-liberal parasites).

http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/dec/03/uruguay-makes-dramatic-shift-to-nearly-95-clean-energy

5. @Exclaimer

This is fantastic!

A lot of learning to be had for the Caribbean.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The simplest solution is always the best, but too many governments like to overthink everything making things complicated.

7. @Well Well & Exclaimer,
    The web link provided by Exclaimer is instructive; especiaLLY THE LAST LINE…”Let’s stop argue and do it”.
    Notice the mix of technologies, and the investment, as well as the cooperation between Private and Public sector. Notice the length of time of the agreements for investor funding (20 years or more). Barbados is also embarking on a mix of technologies; including Plasma gasification. Uruguay is larger (more land space) has a population of 3.4 million, as opposed to 270 thousand for Barbados, and a large amount of their energy comes from biomass.
    The difference is that the people of Uruguay are willing to cooperate and give the government a chance to experiment and diversify, instead of constantly being negative.
    With time we will reach that level of maturity.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Alvin…..and if you would do some research you will learn that clean energy and green energy cannot and should not be classified or mentioned in the same sentence as gassification. That was the first thing that stood out to smart people who actually did research. Show us the sentence that says Uraguay uses gassification in their renewable energy program..

Keep trying to sell out your people with wicked alliances and believe that it is a sign of maturity Alvin. That is your swan song, but you will not see it come to fruition in it’s present form.

9. @ Alvin Cummins

You is really an ingrunt ole man (82) and mekking bad fuh me (84) and Rolf Harris (85) a dirty ole man doah my friend Simpleton Simon have accuse me of being one uh dem too and Legion/AC have wished dat I was a dead one

You ingrunt self said “The difference is that the people of Uruguay are willing to cooperate and give the government a chance to experiment and diversify, instead of constantly being negative. With time we will reach that level of maturity…”

Gross domestic product of Uruguay 55.71 billion USD ‎(2013)

Gross domestic product of Venezuela 14,414.75 USD ‎(2013)

Gross domestic product of Argentina 14,715.18 USD ‎(2013)

Gross domestic product of Peru 6,661.59 USD ‎(2013)

The GDP per Capita, in Barbados, when adjusted by Purchasing Power Parity is equivalent to 72 percent of the world’s average. GDP Per Capita Ppp in Barbados averaged 14070.54 USD from 1990 until 2014.

Venezuela got oil whu Barbados got? Why you doan go and do like me and watch replays of Eddie Murphy and Lee Marvin when de night come?

You know Lee Marvin did born in 1923? I watch “de Dirty Dozen” jes last Sundey, dat is a war picture not a porn wunna hear!!

I now apologise to the other readers on BU fuh Alvin scvunt and rephrase his statement at 9.40 p.m. as follows

“The reality is that the people of Uruguay have the resources to diversify in this manner while the people of Barbados are correct not to cooperate and give the government any opportunity to experiment with its limited resources and risk killing off the environment and we encourage Bajans to intensify in their effort to fight against DownLowe and Me Clare. It is my sincerest hope that none of you Bajans will ever be afflicted as I am and reach my level of senility…”

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Senility can be the only explanation for Alvin’s behavior.

11. “These same tactics were used in 1971 General Election. Bernard St. John was leading the Barbados Labour Party and they were in the business of trying to give the impression that everybody in Barbados was supporting them, and nobody was supporting the Democratic Labour Party under Errol Barrow.

“We allowed them to continue with that impression while we met people quietly in school rooms and that kind of thing. When the Election came, we got 18 seats and they got six and Tom Adams memorably commented that ‘the people followed us in their thousands, but they voted for us in their hundreds’,” he informed.

The Prime Minister made it clear that his party was not into any “gimmicks”. He suggested that transportation was provided, and people were commanded to get on board, to be transported to the event, “just tcreate the impression that you have a lot of national support”.
    He said, in that case, what happened at East Coast road was expected.

“Eating, and drinking, and jollification,” he said.

SORRY PM but MIA is not Bernard St. John and the Barbados Labour Party of 2018 is not the one of 1971. BARBADIANS are not dumb and fully understand the importance of this election. They have seen what has happened in the past ten years. They have felt the pain of your DAMMED LYING PARTY and are quietly waiting to be rid of you and your party. They will not be fooled by the moral pretense of your party PM. Last I checked morally included not telling lies, not deceiving, not being corrupt, and sexual morality included not being adulterous, not being a fornicator etc. Bajans will remember the 23 downgrades, the sending home of public servants after saying before elections it will not happen. Bajans would remember how an eighteen month tax increase (VAT) turned long term. They would have driven on the bad roads and seen the poor garbage collections. Your propaganda and fear tactics used in classrooms and other places will surely come to naught. .

12. Sorry but gassificatiin relies on moisture content of 20% or less, no steel or glass and less than 10% organics or 10% inerts ( soil etc)
    Gassificatiin only works within a system like Germany where everything is sorted and shredded etc.
    This is now a known con from large waste to energy suppliers getting IMF funding for massive plants that fail inside a year.
    Check your sister islands tiny 10 million gassificatiin system at St Lucia…20 plants and only one is still in commission.
    Plus India is littered with failed plants.