Dr. Maria Agard, expelled from the BLP in the Ch Ch West constituency

The following was extracted  from the Facebook page of Christ Church West (BLP), posted by Lynette Eastmond, one of the lawyers representing Maria Agard in the unprecedented matter of a sitting MP expelled […]from a political party.

WHICH ONE OF YOU DOES NOT WISH TO BE TREATED FAIRLY?

Every individual sojourning in this fair land of ours has the right to be treated fairly. This is a right born out of our natural sense of what is right and wrong and has been set down through case law. Natural Justice is a part of the Common Law inherited from the British. When you become an employee of a company or if you become a member of an unincorporated association the cloak of Natural Justice remains your right. You continue to be clothed by it. There is no carve out for associations or their leadership even in circumstances where they consider themselves special or above the law.

There are a number of principles which would seem obvious to individuals whether they are lawyers or not. We have heard it said time and time again that you can not be a judge in your own cause and this is one of the basic tenets of natural justice. Let us take a hypothetical case. A membership organisation appoints an Executive Committee to lead the organisation. The Executive Committee decides that it might wish to discipline a member. It sends one of its members out to investigate and lay the charges. The Executive Committee endorses these charges and then invites the member to a meeting to be heard or to be disciplined. This would seem to me to be in breach of the rules of natural justice where you can sit as prosecutor, judge and jury. The disciplinary panel must appear to be biased. And yet another point. Individuals who have a pecuniary or non-pecuniary interest in the outcome should not sit on a disciplinary panel. For example if the person who chairs the disciplinary panel can determine the professional future of even one of those comprising the panel, then certainly there is a possibility that that panel will be biased. And that is all the law requires, a possibility of bias.

THE ONLY THING NECESSARY FOR THE TRIUMPH OF EVIL IS FOR GOOD MEN TO DO NOTHING.

413 responses to “Maria Agard Denied the Right to Natural Justice”

1. In another Wickum poll,respondents were asked to name the most effective leader among a slate of four,namely Mottley,Stuart,Thompson and Arthur.The poll suggested Arthur was far ahead with 51%,followed by Thompson 29%,Stuart 9%,Mottley 7%.Its so ironic that the latter two are still in the boondocks in respect of leadership.Neither can tell the other come back .Bim badly off the mark fuh trute.

2. Mottley Neemakaram , she neemakaram – is Owen tell me so !

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife December 2, 2015 at 6:39 PM

Why don’t you prove yourself to be the joker and a fool by advising Stuart to call elections next year?
    Then you would be surely using the acid test on Mia.

Mirror, mirror on the wall who is more popular: Mia? Maria? Owen?or Fumble???
    Here is a suggestion you can pass on to Dame Marie to test her support in the Ch Ch West constituency.
    Why not get her (backed by her most loyal branch executive) to organize a march by the residents of the Ch Ch West riding to the Garrison in true Duchess of Despotism style to demonstrate support for their well-loved representative all dressed in blue yellow and black.

Why not let her collect the signatures of all her electoral supporters in the form of a petition calling for her reinstatement to the BLP to be the duly chosen candidate for the next general elections

Now that kind of grass roots action would jumpstart the BLP leadership into a sense of fearful reality.

As EWB advised: If you want justice you should stay away from the law courts of Barbados. A piece of advice soundly supported by the CCJ.

4. What about the political side .This is a no win for Mia the cookie was left in the oven too long and now its has become blackened and burnt to a crisp

5. @ Artaxerxes December 2, 2015 at 4:21 PM #

“As the resident yard donkey the DLP assigned to infiltrate BU to spew DLP propaganda, perhaps you can tell us if Thompson and Mascoll “were able to settle their difference maybe even forgiving and forgetting and not allowing bitterness or hatred to consumed their inner beings,” especially after Thompson, Jones, Sealy and Michael Lashley ousted Mascoll as Opposition Leader?

The “bitterness” and “hatred” Thompson had for Mascoll manifested itself in the constant attacks on Mascoll’s character, even the call for a forensic audit into the operations of Hardwood Housing Inc. Ironically, another forensic audit revealed many things about Thompson’s character.

Were Denis Kellman and Thompson “able to settle their difference maybe even forgiving and forgetting and not allowing bitterness or hatred to consume their inner beings?”

Apparently, it seems as though Stuart has NOT forgotten the “eager 11” nor has he forgiven Ronald Jones for his participation in the group’s “attempted coup d’état.”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….

Artaxerxes,

Well said…………

It is shameful and typical hypocrisy from dems who know that they live in glass houses as regards to political infighting and downright political war which has been the hallmark of the DLP from the days of Sandi……..dont talk about the days the dead king. The ac’s have short memories…………remember when the dems voted with the BLP to bring down Sandi?

Why is it that as you go around talking, many people to whom you speak who had contact with Maria Agard tell you the same thing……….she is a difficult person to work with. Maria’s problem is that she overplayed her hand, listened to the wrong people who used her as a pawn in their political schemes and it backfired on her.

Now after all the grave damage she has done to the party, she still wants to be re-instated? Is she for real?

She told David Ellis on Brasstacks that she had no problem with her leader……now today still following the people who are leading her astray…………..she has now echoed their voices…………the leader is a tyrant.

Maria, the BLP is better seeing the back of you…..you have now learnt that the party is bigger than you. Hope the door did not hit you when you stormed out!

6. Prodigal back again talking horse shit,it is people like you who have made Mia to look like a weak leader and when time comes to making hard decisions she only does so when severe pressure is applied by the BLP yardfowls and inner circle in her party
    Yardfowl politics is what got Mia all tangled up .Until she can decipher/practice Diplomacy from yadfowlism,Her days are doomed as a leader of a political party or country.You can go to the bank on that

7. Yard fowl politics is an art practiced by ALL POLITICIANS.

From time to time politicians may offer a response to a particular scenario but when he/she is confronted by a similar issue occurring under similar circumstances, they gave a completely different response, knowing their gullible supporters will purposely forget the original response.

For example, in May 2003 when asked if there was any truth in the rumour that Clyde Mascoll was to be offered a ministry in the then BLP administration, Owen Arthur responded by asking what would he do with Mascoll in his cabinet. By January 2006 Mascoll was a member of Arthur’s cabinet.

After the 2008 general elections and until a few months ago Stuart and Sinckler did not have anything good to say about Owen Arthur. A few weeks ago, these same gentlemen were suggesting Arthur be appointed chairman of the government’s economic advisory committee.

George Orwell wrote a very fitting description in his essay: “Politics and the English Language:”

“POLITICAL LANGUAGE……… and with variations this is true of all political parties, from Conservatives to Anarchists……. is DESIGNED to MAKE LIES SOUND TRUTHFUL and MURDER RESPECTABLE, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.”

8. Sir this is an era of enlightment those things practiced in an era by gone are no longer accepted as exemplified by Agard
    Makes no sense in harping back to the days of possibilities and probabilities .the eyes are ears of the people are alert and fully tuned

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

From 4.36 to 7.26 p.m.

That is three hours woman, it tek you 3 hours before you get permission to speak on this matter? Doan leh it happen again hear!! I miss you

Whu de ole man wud figure dat dem wud have whatsapp you your script at least an hour afterwards!!

You was in Cabinet today?? Somebody heah tell me that you is Irene Sandiford Garner, you is a nex real beautiful woman doah, why it does be dat some uh wunna beauties does be so fixed pun ingrunce doah? like de DLP?

de same thing is going on with Verla DePeiza, a next beauty, jes misguided to the DLP.

Stop drinking de water at de DLP auditorium at George street heah, it got to be de water dat got in Macumba (I learn dat word from Hants and de Blogmaster in de Diaspora corner where dem invite de ole man tuh see an article bout a brazillian contest fuh…..well de ole man is not going to say whu de contest is about causing de female bloggers heah does tek me tuh PIECES, when i comments pun some tings, no pun intended

I notice dat Baffy doan me no anti-feminist comments heah no mo doah? Some body like dem do some macumba pun he!!

10. Maria Agard said it well ….’The curreny leader of the BLP may not be there tomorrow, next week or next month’

Mia your days are numbered……haha!

Looka what Miller & Prodigirl do to Mia! !!!

11. For an educated woman, Maria Agard is very naive.

She did not realise that she was being used hence her statement.

She was being used to bring about what she said but look how it backfired.

Now she is a woman at sea without a party………………she really think she can bring down Mia?

Joker!

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Prodigal Son

Dr. Agard has brought Mia Mottley to a crossroads which if she takes the red pill will redeem her and if she takes the blue pill will leave her to use you words “a woman at sea without a party”

Leh de ole man explain causing when de Madam walk through dem doors all de man I is heah pun dis blog, dun for.

Dun tell wunna dat it did gine court and dat Agard gine win de court case so lef um deah and fast forward to outcomes and effects.

One. Agard get reinstate and tings get re laid gainst she and she get expell but Mia get seen as real bully and vindictive woman causing de dem gine all guns gainst each udder in and out of court.

Two a. Agard get reinstate and a rapprochement is ostensibly entertained and Agard get dump at de end of period or b. prove sheself to be a winning horse for she seat and is left to contest.

Option 2. b while an option CANNOT BE ENTERTAINED cause dat specific seat get promise way to Jerome since it is rightfully perceived dat he cannot win any udder seat in de cuntstituencies.

Now here is a big foot move dat will show Mia to be a true leader.

Befo’ any case commence, Mia tek to de airways and tell de peeple’s dem dat de NKVD troika sorry the NCD have erred and it have retract all dat it did saying bout Dr. Agard, befor de seven days out.

In fak, de ole man was did tinking dat 2 days after de stink, she and Wickham wudda did do dis big foot move but still implement 2.a under a Limited Scope Rapprochment where dem say to Agard, “de Party are is running a strategy called “Parallel Candidacy” or Parallel Understudy Program”

PC or PUP tek you pick.

“Under PC, not Broomes, nor Dottin, or PUP, we are seeking to ensure (a) an alternative (in case you should die) or (b) if the people should waver in their support of you..dat de party daon get pup pun…

Now I wudda advance dis shy.te talk at one uh de council meeting long ago, befo all dis commess, and get all dem sycophants to buy into it, including de udder four trouble makers dat my NKVD troika, sorry NCD, sorry, dat I really trying to get rid of…you know Payne in my butt, Oblong Head and de nex two..

Why dat would do is keep me friends close, but me enemies, Agard closer, so dat de DLP wud not be able tuh seduce she.

De ole man gots a nex idea fuh de DLP too but like i did say ealier, dem gots tuh go so I ent saying nuffin les dem heam me and whaplax dem do um and den get annuder 5 years to grease we sorry wunna pouches mo’ cause de ole man in de departure lounge

Anyway it is nearly 11 o’clock and de ole man need to get me 3 hours uh sleep so dat i kin get up and watch fuh de harbinger. Me madam wud nevah forgive me if, de night befo she get back, I leh he tek me.

I cud see she now Prodigal etching de words pun de ole mand tombstone, Rest in Peace, til I come…you has youself a good night heahhhh….oh lawsie dat are plagiarism

13. I found Owen Arthur’s revelations quite telling – Mottley is crucifying Maria Agard when Owen SPECIFICALLY outlined a pattern of actions by Mottley which are far worse than the kangaroo court charges brought against Maria .( speaking to the Nation and VOB).

Not only does it show what a blatant, arrogant hypocrite Mottley is , it clearly shows that this is more about Mottey trying to ensure that she keeps the BLP MP mathematics in her own selfish interest so she is prepared to jettison loyal BLP members if they are not prepared to bow down to the despot.

Maria Agard has more testicles than the BLP apologists on this blog – that is why Mottley tried to get rid of her.