mariaThe government and DLP supporters are pleased for the distraction the Maria Agard disagreement with her political party offers. […]While there is possibly a majority view by Barbadians everywhere that the mauling of the affairs of the country is the worse we have experienced in the post Independence history by a government,

a politically fatigued citizenry appears eager to be distracted by the political class yet again. Political conflict is nothing new in our system of government and in the same way the DLP, on the surface it seems, appears to have recovered from the Thompson vs Mascoll episode so too will the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

Of greater concern to the citizenry should be a governance system that is failing. The current state sees an inability of the citizenry to hold elected politicians accountable, demand transparency read Cahill deal, facilitate policy direction to stoke innovation and creativity,  increase national productivity, insightful use of physical resources, align the private and public sectors to breed global competitiveness…  Law and order  have been enduring characteristics of our small island and have defined our way of life as Bajans – now gone like the wind.

Mia Mottley should recall the period when the gang of 5 deselected her as Opposition leader. She struck a tone that endeared her to Barbadians everywhere. She was particularly strong on the need for governance strengthening.  We should be concerned that Maria Agard is being railroaded out of her safe seat because she dares to veer from the party line. It is not the first time members of a political party have expressed differences with the party line. In the USA the party Whips have their hands full to build consensus on many issues to support party positions. The fact that we have political parties demanding sheepish adherence to party positions and allow for zero space to entertain different positions  – shaped by conscience for example  – is where national debate should be the focus. If change is required to how political organizations are structured and ‘new blood’ is encourage to infuse the political parties with ideas why should the establishment not disengage from predictable behaviour and resist gang banging members who hold different positions.

The BU household has observed the interventions from the traditional players concerning Agard and her altercation with the BLP. Whether it is Wickham, George Bell, traditional media it all appears to be so orchestrated and disingenuous to those who are close to the issues. Take David Ellis and his position on air yesterday. How does one place so much faith in the workings of the executive of a constituency in Barbados? If Agard is prepared to challenge the influence less than a 1000 partisans bring to the table in order to defend principle issues why should the political party – represented by Mottley who was a proponent for change of the BLP constitution not so long ago – not discomfort itself to accommodate those who canvass for said change?

It is obvious to ALL there is conflict between Agard and Mottley. Those who follow local politics are aware of the dissent which has been fermenting from the time Agard by dint of hard work won the nomination from Bishop. Herbie and his establishment gang have never forgotten Agard the upstart. Didn’t the great Arthur have to ask Herbie to backoff in 2011 when she kicked Bishop’s ass? It appears Mia does not have the same long coat tail of Arthur to command order in that constituency and his heavily dependant on Jerome Walcott.  It is payback time. It is clear Agard is seen as a trouble tree whose political head should be lopped of. And the BLP machinery is well on course to achieving that objective. It is the nature of politics, Machiavellian politics. Barbadians should not be so blind to not probe more deeply what is at play here. What has Agard done to deserve political assassination you ask? From where BU sits we see a young, bright female who is prepared to defend her positions even if it means butting heads with colleagues and or sacrificing her political career. How many sitting MPs are prepared to do the same? Mia Mottley as leader should be able to meet with Agard and negotiate a compromise position with the disaffected parties. The idea of killing an ant with a hammer, encouraging the infighting by siding with factions within the party is immature and gives insight to Mottely’s unwillingness to depart from the old way of practicing party politics in Barbados. Imagine Agard sitting in a Cabinet and or Parliamentary Group meeting giving her willingness to veer from the party line. How refreshing that would be to force decisions closer to the interest of the people!

BU will deal with Peter Wickham on another occasion. He has used his several platforms to spew perspectives on the Agard issue which are nothing more than he being disingenuous.

It is time Barbadians, educated Bajans, speak out about the injustice being meted out to the few who dare to challenge the establishment. To those who are lobbying for Agard cross the floor, where is the precedent that it will act as a catalyst for change? Have we seen it with Symmonds, Mascoll, Lashley, Prescod et al? Those who are members of the BLP need to step up and support the good lady. Even if she suffered a few indiscretions – as accused by the party  – the point is she appears to be a committed a BLP supporter.

A good place to begin for Mottley is to recollect her position of a few years ago when she called for a overhaul of the BLP Constitution and was ignored. Agard and Mottley are probably not that far apart on the issues IF Mottley was genuine in her earlier positions.

496 responses to “The BLP Purge: Maria Agard Appears to be Undaunted”

1. @Miller

And suppose she sees herself as a change agent?

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 23, 2015 at 2:40 PM

Change agents not only talk they also act upon their words. EWB did it!
    Let Maria prove herself in that regard and stop griping behind an organization that has “lost its soul”.
    But she also needs the moral authority to bring about that change you allude to. That authority can only come from the electorate in Ch Ch West either under her own flag of electoral independence or under the banner of the ruling DLP.
    Let her act now!

3. @ Chaucer

Thanks. Interesting… 6+7= 13.

4. Miller
    As you know you can count on my support when it comes to doing right for the country and by the country.Cast your mind back a bit.Do you recall the LOO marching to Bay St and demanding to see the PM only to be sent packing by a gate keeper?I am sure if it was JMGM as the PM he would have accommodated the lady in white and while the cameras were rolling,put so many licks in her that she would never attempt that again.On the other hand do you see OSA marching to Bay St and demanding to see the PM.I have my doubts if he would go down to that level to try to score political points.
    Miller,Stuart doesn’t have a point to prove.Methinks MAM does.I would say the real politician like GHA,EWB,JMGM,David Simmons,Don Blackman and Fly would have all the available constituents marching down Roebuck Street yesterday like a Jesus being led to the court of Pontius Pilate.It would have had the effect of death by heart attack by all the Sanhedrin in there,the wicked effers.One thing is certain,Jerome is not the man to step forward.All like now the cock crow thrice for he and Darcy de Quisling.

5. @Miller

It appears you have great faith in the electorate.

Leaders lead.

6. S. 74(2) those members who do not support the government. The number is 14, therefore 8 required to elect a new Leader of Opposition.

7. The big question is how will the parliamentary group respond. Will they toe the line. Can less than 8 make life uncomfortable for the LOO. Time will tell.

8. @ Chaucer
    LOL. One more Independent MP, intruiging. The power of Independent MP’s in Barbados. Who would ‘ve thought!!

9. Miller
    You know full well FS cannot strike while the iron is hot, strike at all or be involved with anything associated with iron, unless its steering him in the face, lol.

10. One of the three:

Bostic
    Sunderland
    Bradshaw

One from three will give eight

11. @ Chaucer

Or someone from the DLP can decide to sit as an independent.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel November 23, 2015 at 2:56 PM
    “On the other hand do you see OSA marching to Bay St and demanding to see the PM.I have my doubts if he would go down to that level to try to score political points.”

OSA would worse than that to stop MAM from ever becoming PM.
    Can’t you see how he is allowing himself to be the laughing stock of the DLP with the offer of chief economic advisor to the government? Imagine a pope being advised by a rookie bell-ringer on matters of canon law!

I guess you too have forgotten the 2013 anti-OSA campaign portraying him as a wanted outlaw for practising paro economics of selling the country’s family silver for a fix of forex.
    The 2008 campaign insults of mismanagement and misrule and accusations of blatant corruption and graft could be overlooked but certainly not the 2013.

13. Sutherland is running with the hounds for his supper, Bradshaw sits on her left, this leaves Bostic.

14. David,
    This requires simple mathematics. In 2013 the BLP won 14 seats but subsequently lost OSA to the independent benches, 14 less 1 = 13. In 2015 the BLP kicked Maria Agard out of the party, 13 less 1 = 12.

In 2013 when the BLP Parliamentary Party decided on who to elect as LOO, Ms Mottley won by 8 to 5 as OSA absented himself. Maria Agard was one of the 5 who voted against Ms. Mottley but now she is no more.

The anti-Mia faction is now down to 4 members, Payne, Toppin, Symmonds and Sutherland. No ever Gline Clarke will follow Payne, Toppin, Symmonds and Sutherland in their foolish efforts to bring back OSA.

15. If Dwight Sutherland was smart, he would throw himself lock, stock and barrel behind Mia and live to fight another day. He may not be able to do so given that his bread is buttered by Maloney and Rock Hard Cement, both of whom favour a return of OSA as he has always been good to the Bjerkhamn Group.

If my memory serves me correct, Dwight Surtherland still has to face a nomination in St.George South.

16. @ Willie’s

You forgot the man from St Joseph.

17. Pure entertainment.

“Shocking and absolutely callous!”

“In an unprecedented move, Dr Agard, who was elected in the last election as the BLP’s representative for Christ Church West, has become the first sitting member of the Barbados Parliament to be expelled from a party.”

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 23, 2015 at 2:57 PM #
    “It appears you have great faith in the electorate.
    Leaders lead.”

You are right, leaders do lead! But in a democracy with free and fair elections only with the support of the electorate; tacit or otherwise. If that is not the case to be always striving for, you could as well close down the schools and stop boasting about a well-educated population aka an enlightened electorate with a Pol Pot type of leader.

19. @Miller

Do we teach civics in our schools?

20. Independent
    You are right, add Marshall from St.Joseph and Mia enjoys a 7 to 5 majority. Pre-expulsion, the OSA loyal faction was a total of 6, a bit too close for Mia’s comfort.

21. @ Willie’s

I also think you’re wrong about Gline Clarke, very wrong. So, how’s it stacking up now? Simple maths you said. LOL Power to the independents!

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 23, 2015 at 3:23 PM #
    “Sutherland is running with the hounds for his supper, Bradshaw sits on her left, this leaves Bostic.”

It seems you do not know who Jeffrey Bostic really is.; from which family cloth he is cut.

You just stated an undeniable fact about leaders must lead.
    Now do you really feel the BLP is electable without MAM at this stage of the political game?
    Who would take over the position of LOO? Unless MAM is unable to ‘serve’ as the LOO I cannot see how the BLP would attract national appeal sufficient to remove the DLP in the next election cycle.

For sure much of her admiration and support from the general electorate would simply dissipate or express its disgust by way of a protest vote.

23. Wendell Callender makes the interesting point the BLP won all five Ch Ch seats in 1994, and four in 2003. We have a situation where the BLP won one in 2013 and now have none in 2015 as a result of an expulsion…😀

24. It is time to launch an official investigation into vote buying allegations.

25. @Miller

You are being blinded by your rabid defense of your party. You need to factor machinations in the BLP simmering for a long time. Mia has to show she can deal with the heat, this Agard matter is part of it. The DLP has not even started to throw the lesbian thing at Mia yet. A lot of heat to come her way still.

26. @ David

Mia is the DLP’s biggest asset.

27. Bradshaw desires to be Leader of Opposition
    Sutherland is indebted to George Griffith
    Bostic business is in the deep red

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Willie’s November 23, 2015 at 3:41 PM

Explain something to me Willie.
    Let us assume that MAM is removed (by whatever method or reason) as the LOO.
    Who then would become the LOO?
    For sure OSA would have to give up any thoughts or consideration of becoming the DLP administration’s Chief Advisor on Economic & Financial matters.

How would he look opposing the government who is implementing his well-thought-out and advised policies?
    Same thing goes for any person so appointed as LOO who appears to be backing OSA against MAM.

“ If, in the judgment of the Governor-General, the Leader
    of the Opposition no longer is able to command the support of
    a majority of those members of the House of Assembly who do
    not support the Government, or, as the case may be, the
    support of the largest single group of such members who are
    prepared to support one leader, the Governor-General may
    revoke the appointment of the Leader of the Opposition.”

29. David November 23, 2015 at 12:10 PM #

“We can’t encourage ordinary Bajans to join parties and then crucify them when they promote an agenda for change….”

David I seem to be ignorant of this entire situation, especially since you introduce “promoting an agenda for change.” I thought the fall out between Agard and the BLP came as a result of her refusing to work with the elected branch executive………….. and not advocating for a revolution of the political system.

I’m sorry, but perhaps someone can explain to me what has Agard done to be characterized as an “agent of change.”

30. What I find interesting is the guy Peter Wickham “issue” a press release and BU ignoring him completely.
    David Ellis today was under some intense pressure from the Trini baje who is a diehard Dem.Ellis was cornered trying to defend Mia by posturing that Trini don’t know the whole story.Then Tall Boy call to support Trini and chastise Ellis for defending Mia and won’t allow Trini to speak.My take on it is both Trini and Tall boy got points.Since Ellis was dismissive of Trini not being seised of the facts,I would have thought Ellis would have enlightened her.No such thing.Ellis getting to be what Joe Tudor would call a poppet.
    Let it be made clear.Tall boy is not the only stinging bee that fleeing the hive.The present hive en got no stingers.Its bumbling bees in dey so.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Blogmaster

You certainly are on the right track with that simple matter you submittted.

One Million $$ to the victim of the bitten Pokey, or a verifiable source of said story, followed by a video exposee on Vimeo or YouTube of the excised parts, and the “dog dead”

Some uh de fellas gine gots to come a tek a few lessons at de school of Electorate Disruption and Public Perception.

A lot uh peeple tinks dat MAM does confuse the Rules of Engagement wid de Laws of War. Wunna know dat dere is a law about shooting people parachuting out of an airplane in distress? Well when wunna dun read up pun dat tek into consideration whu Maria Agard have fine out yesterday by sheself whu rules de Leader uh De Opposition will employ when she want a ting!!

Wid de prize of Prime Minister in her dreams when de night come whu Agard did expecting?

De Governor General Elliott Belgrave, GCMG, CHB, QC is not have de testicular fortitude to do what my friend the Sage Anunnaki is suggesting.

De udders are also in for a rude awakening given the precedence that this strategic purging of Agard represents so Jeffrey, Gline, Ronald Dale, Kerrie and even de hat man now gine realise that them antics is not impervious to Purging by the LoO

However there is still our man Owen, who, so long as breath in he body, ent gone let dat happen doah … fuh reasons dat only known to heself and a few udders…

32. @Artax

Are you sure she wasn’t able to work with her Executive? Let us start with Roosevelt. Let us discuss Herbie who Arthur had to speak to give his long coat tail. Let us discuss for 10 points.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 23, 2015 at 3:51 PM #
    “You are being blinded by your rabid defense of your party. You need to factor machinations in the BLP simmering for a long time.”

LOL!!!
    David you mean “rabid defense” of MAM the duly appointed LOO and ‘elected’ BLP leader?
    As I have stated before the current BLP is and will not be as popular among the electorate as the DLP as long as Mia is not the leader, pure and simple.

The 2013 elections where Froon put a whopping in OSA behind is clear evidence of that. Maybe in the future when the present crop of leaders leave the political scene.
    So how can I be blinded by party and can still see this “fact” or political reality?

34. Too much emotion.

35. @enuff

Do you agree with the decision to expel Agard?

36. It is what I expected especially when Hal Gollop became involved.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 23, 2015 at 3:51 PM
    “The DLP has not even started to throw the lesbian thing at Mia yet.”

Being one for equal opportunity what about the bulling thing at her opposite number?
    What jackass for a man would wear a wedding ring without a wife unless he has something to hide in the closet?

What is wrong with a lesbian being PM? Do you think it would be setting a regional, far less worldwide, precedent?
    Hasn’t Barbados signed on to the UN charter of human rights which prohibits discrimination against people based on gender or sexual orientation?

Cammie Tudor the architect of Barbados’s Independence , if he were alive, would be most upset with such aspersions ( or as Jepter “Physical Deficit” Ince would say ‘aspirations’) being cast about Mia’s private life.

38. @Miller

Relax, the simple point is that the DLP hatchet people will unleash this attack in waiting on Mia (PM in waiting) as soon as it looks like she has overcome all challengers. The time will come then for you to throw your lot into the debate.

39. Bearing in mind the people-oriented, rather than MP-centric, brand of politics champoned here on BU, I would have thought the executive branch (volunteerism?) would have garnered more support from the same resident “change agents”. We are forever vacillating!!

40. @enuff

Please!

You know the Executive in that constituency has never given the lady a break.

41. @ David
    You sure that Enuff ain’t in the running for that seat now…?
    Enuff is a man of few words…
    but he smart as shiite yuh.. 🙂

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 23, 2015 at 5:54 PM

All the more reason why she should have distanced herself from the BLP at the onset of the controversy and run as an Independent or under the team-playing DLP banner if she really wants to be that change agent for a better Barbados.

43. Miller why u keep interjecting the PM name into the BLP fights he does not have time to be a referee in this nasty fight As he probably would say to You he does not have nor own a dog in this fight
    Btw the last time the PM Stuart was asked or encouraged to take one of the Blp ministers off the hands of OSA he declined ,Don.t you remember, and that minister was Mia,
    Now the fowls have come home to roost after six years, Deal with them

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 23, 2015 at 6:46 PM

You were backing Maria during the whole fiasco and egging her on to do bad and kick Mia’s ass. Now that she has foolishly followed your advice you are about to drop her like a hot potato. Is she now seen as damaged goods not to be touched with a barge pole painted yellow and blue?

The fight is over and even Hal Gollop knows that. Why not welcome the political refugee into the DLP rainbow camp of peace and love.

Poor Maria she has been used, abused and now refused.

45. Continue posting HERE.

Older Comments
1 8 9 10