Submitted by Kammie Holder, Advocacy Director, Future Centre Trust
Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy

Tuesday October 27th 2015 will forever be etched in my memory for two reasons. One, it was the day members of the DLP who gained the government on a ticket of transparency and integrity squandered the mandate earned.

[…]

The second, was the failure of the prime minister as head of cabinet and leader of country to invite alternatives to Cahill Plasma Gasification in treating to waste reduction.

I am extremely shocked that my friend Mr James Paul is quoted as saying “Bajans must welcome new technology.” Never knew Bajans feared technology, perhaps Mr Paul never took time to read the Cahill MOU, Implementation Agreement or Power Purchase Agreement or for that matter researched Plasma Gasification. Let me state for the record, environmental justice does not exist in Barbados if we consider Pegwell Boggs and the dust complaints of Checker Hall residents are considered.

I will take the time to present some pros and cons for the benefit of members of parliament who have followed four blind men to wreak havoc on Barbados financially, environmentally and socially.

• Cahill Energy Barbados seems to be a pot of gold despite no plant exist of the proposed 1000 tons daily for this new technology.
  • Why all the operational Plasma Gasification Plants which are in operation are but demonstration plants?
  • Why if this technology is so great and is a Harvard invention why no commercial plasma gasification plants exist.
  • Mr Chris Sinckler is true that Cahill will be guaranteed $120M per year as free cash flow thanks to deleveraging for the first 5 years despite capital expenditure of $180M yearly, thus can you explain the maths?
  • Donville Inniss  as Minister of Commerce, are you aware From May 15th, 2014 – the start of “Power Purchase Agreement”, price charged to consumers for electricity will increase every 3 years to reflect the increasing operational cost?
  • Why would Cahill burn GOB waste for $30 when hazardous watch can fetch $250 per ton?
  • Who monitors air quality and who will in the future?
  • What are the specific protocols for monitoring nanoparticles and PM2.5?
  • Is it true the PM2.5 and nanoparticles cannot be filtered by lungs are linked to blood cancer and scarring of lungs.
  • How will the 9 tons of Caustic Soda be treated to eliminate contamination of ground water and marine life?
  • Will the residents of Sandy Lane serviced by the Molyneaux Aquifer experience greater water outage due to Cahill Water wells?
  • Who builds a factory upwind of residents that will have to flare at times?
  • Dioxins, Carbon Monoxide, NOx, acids, chlorides, fluorides, sulphates, phosphates, sodium and calcium?
  • Which GOB department possess the protocols to benchmark Cahill?
  • Name a plasma gasification plant that has met stipulated emission control limits?
  • Can the Minister of Finance tell Barbadians if it’s true no commercial Plasma Gasification Plants exist in the US due to stringent environmental requirements?
  • Can any person involve in the Cahill negotiations tell Barbadians if finder’s fees will be paid and to whom?
  • Are there any laws that require all ministers to conduct government business using only assigned work emails?
  • Can the Cahill Plasma Gasification, Dodd’s Prison, Hardwood, Pierhead Project and 3S stand up to international scrutiny of good governance?
  • Where will the bottom ash be landfilled and who will monitor chemical composition?
  • Will Cahill Energy Barbados provide cheaper electricity that the current provider BL&P?
  • Who will maintain baseload during the Cahill 35 days off grid maintenance period?
  • Can the Minister of Energy or Commerce tell Barbadians if Cahill will be regulated by the FCT in lieu of its guaranteed 2.5%
  • Dr Denis Lowe, can you tell Barbadians if the waste falls below (12- 14MJ/kg) who will pay the 5 to 14% increased processing fees.
  • Is it true if the GOB is unable to supply waste and biomass in accordance to the contract, it has to compensate CEB for its losses, including losses in revenue as per the “Power Purchase Agreement?
  • Will the facility be a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP)?
  • Does the Implementation Agreement include the process for adopting a new waste separation plan with public participation?
  • What are allowable excess emissions from malfunctions?
  • Is not Barbados part of international treaties which prohibit transportation of port waste outside ports?
  • Can the self appointed Czar of  Ship Waste Hon Denis Kellman who will monitor the ships lining up to provide Cahill with garbage?

Sad that the proponents of a questionable $700M Plasma Gasification Plant believe the garbage they spoke in parliament.

171 responses to “Questions for Clair Cowan of Cahill Energy and Government of Barbados”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Hants

Woe is me, then I guess I should be taken to court then. Would, crook, thief, liar, hypocrite, deceitful, conniving, two face or plain old stinking crab be better alternatives? If a thief like Leroy Parris could walk around free for stealing and be praised, you mean you gine lock up the SSS for calling a person by their rightful name?

@ the seemingly intelligent AC who stated as quoted

”Again I must remind you and all blp operatives that to strategize using the character of DT was a failed strategy and one which the citizens of Barbados rejected at the voting booth as sufficient not to re elect the Freundel Stuart administration.”

AC, the outcome of the elections was decided by who was wielding the most money. There were claims that vote buying had several witnesses. I would think that since the victory was so close for the DLP that they were the ones with the most money to buy a lot more votes. This is evident by the fact that several of their campaign donors must be given all lucrative projects on the island in order for them to remain happy and be call upon in the time of need. That need could bare true in the form of Speaker of the house, Michael Carrington, who came up with over 100 grand plus interest or more, when it took him several years and a number of excuses to keep a poor old man fooled, because he took up what he knew he could not put back.

So AC, the people did decide but they had a little incentive to swing in favour of the D or B base on the biggest payout.

2. Well said, miller! On point!

3. @Georgie Porgie, thank you. FCT is coordinating a stakeholders meeting next week. 600 Chinese workers should be of concern to Unions.

Higher electricity bills will push up prices thus BARP has an interest as Cahill is projecting revenue $180M revenue yearly for first 3 years or $15M monthly.

Cahill is not going away anytime soon and those who break the law must be reminded 2018 is around the corner.

@AC, For the first time in our history a possibility exist that the DLP or BLP may not be the government in 2018.

4. For the first time in our history a possibility exist that the DLP or BLP may not be the government in 2018.

INTERESTING1
    THERE SHOULD BE MANY WORTHY FOLK IN BARP ALONE, WITH TALENT AND EXPERTISE WHO COULD START A WORTHY PARTY

5. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine,

I was just showing how funked Barbados truly is.

A man get charged with calling a senator a dog but pullin gun or cussin wid words like muddacunt is ok.

Barbados has a back log of cases, giving murderers bail to go and kill again as happened recently but the police and the courts busy with a man calling a senator a dog.

I need to chill. I might say something that may cause me to get ban from BU and extradited so I gine shut to funk up.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Kammie……..that recording should be released before harm comes to you or anyone, particularly to the international agencies. It is time to say enough is enough and prompt a new era of governance where local politicians learn first hand that they cannot do to the taxpayers whatever they feel like

7. Mr .Holder please fore bear my indulgence but i do believe that there are two wheels turned (here) both to discredit Mrs. Cowan
    One on a premise that Mrs Cowan financial stability is questionable
    Two her other projects flunked
    Now bearing those two discredits in mind
    My question to all ..How does both discredits applied to Mrs.Cowan changes or alter the technological value of gasification to WTE projects?
    For surely it bbecomes wishful thinking to propagate that one individual short comings would be a good argument as a presentation against the WTE project
    If when stands alone is tested and reliable to be safe

8. Back in time of the EWB and Sandiford led DLP, the few yardfowls were strong supporters but had a mind of their own, now since 2008 what ever was mix with the feed for these yardfowls they are compels to disseminate the DLP sick government

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Cowan should be discredited, she is setting out to poison an island filled with people with the help of the politicians. Dioxins are a combination of many poisons, they are manmade poisons found in waste incineration, did that old cow spit in ya’ll mouth AC.

As a matter of fact, I vaguely recall that there are international environmental protection agencies in existence, just for these types of crimes and they should be contacted by the citizens of Barbados, if this plant ever gets the money to get off the ground. Hopefully the first waste to be gassified would be Alvin, AC, all the politicians and Cowan. This is a disgrace..

10. PODRYR

re yours @ October 31, 2015 at 10:28 AM

Thanks for your comments, but DD is no high tech sleuth. Just another ole guy who stumbled on the Mr. Integrity in Paradise video while Googling something else – Barbados offshore or something like that.

The updated video you posted is a big improvement. You and de granson are a dynamic duo (and quick too) – a wise ole man and a tech savvy youngster.

While we are on the subject of Mr. Integrity, I should point out a story in the October 30 edition of Barbados Today at:

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/10/30/enough-4/

Which includes the following:

“Again, in order to minimize any fallout, we have had to divert our already limited resources from use for developmental purpose to deal with this unnecessary new distraction,” Stuart said, calling on the Global Forum to join the fight in addressing the issue.

“The recent publishing of a list by the European Union deeming 30 countries, including Barbados and others in the region as ‘non-cooperative’ and ‘tax havens’, once again highlights the concerns of the region regarding blacklisting by international organizations,” Stuart told the opening of the two-day meeting.

“This type of action can have a devastating impact on the reputation of our countries. It increases our risk profiles and affects our ability to retain or attract new investment and also has the potential to jeopardize the ease with which investors can access funding,” highlighted Stuart.

………………:

Mr. Integrity sure does have a way with words; but he may have been more correct if he said:

As word of the The Cahill WtE deal spreads beyond Barbados’ shores the effect have a far more devastating impact on the reputation of Barbados than the EU country blacklisting. It will increase Barbados’ political risk profile and affect Barbados’ ability to retain existing or attract new investment and also has the potential to jeopardize the ease with which investors (including potential CEB investors) can access funding,”

11. Mr Integrity’s address to Global Forum

12. Barbados hosts 8th meeting of the OECD’s Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes
    by caribbeantradelaw

This week October 29-30th, Barbados hosted the 8th meeting of the OECD’s Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes. Present at the meeting were 250 delegates from 88 jurisdictions and 11 international organisations and regional groups. Barbados is the second Caribbean country (after Bermuda) to have hosted a meeting of the Global Forum and […]

Read more of this post

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I too would be hesitant to invest or encourage anyone to invest in an island where the leaders, I use that word very loosely, are willing to jump into bed and do business with any and every criminal that crawls out of Europe or North America, they fail to realize that their actions impact heavily on the decisions to provide funding to small island states when their behavior is atrocious.

The politicians fail to realize or acknowledge that the leaders in Europe and North America are aware that their own people are criminals with very little or no conscience when it comes to acquiring millions, that’s why they are hunted and imprisoned. Small island leaders are not helping these countries when they join these criminals and enable them, they are in effect making investigations into these crooks more difficult, there is a penalty to pay for this stupidity, it does not go unpunished. It’s even worse when these scams are directed at the very people who the politicians are supposed to protect.

14. I shudder to believe that one individual faults or failures are reasonable enough to implement policies that are beneficial
    The fact being that gasification is widely used and accepted source of transforming waste into energy and has passed environmental recommendations
    Facts and truths that no one wants to talk about

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Why don’t you AC’s simply tender the necessary proofs to show these working gasification plants that are benefitting many countries today that are like the one Cahill Cowan is planning to propose for Barbados. You just do not get it, where these plants are working, you fail to mention all the other things that are making the operating countries rethink or even put the yes to their closure in loud shouts. In fact, the proposed plant for Barbados and all the information that is not known about the project makes you believe that the projections electricity output and the advantages claimed that this plant will provide sounds like mere guesses or conjuring up of a set of facts to make it appear and sound technically beneficial.

16. ac October 31, 2015 at 7:51 PM # The fact being that gasification is widely used and accepted source of transforming waste into energy and has passed environmental recommendations Facts and truths that no one wants to talk about”

Great, now we are getting somewhere re ‘facts and truth’ can the public be enlightened on:

who are the principals of Cahill Barbados-Guerney-whatever, not just those noted on the / articles of incorporation, trustees whatever
    can the project be shown the due diligence study on Cahill-whatever , based on its officers, employees (it does have those , yes?) experience and expertise and its financial soundness?
    can the public be shown the environmental impact study that was performed before the project came to be approved by the said Ministers (there was one performed, yes?)
    can the public be shown the energy expert papers that confirmed that plasma gasification is a mature and viable energy source for a small island nation. I expect that UN has advisors with the expertise to give assistance in this aspect, where they consulted?
    can the public be shown where the alternate tenders were rejected, after comparison to this tender?
    can the public be shown the financial analysis of the project, the impact to the taxpayers over the length of the project, fifty years, whatever?

That is it for now, thank you for helping with the ‘facts and truth’.

Have a great day.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…..I will simplify it for you as you are always at the head of the line complaining about whites taking advantage of and controlling the economy in Barbados, soooo, don’t you think that one Cow is more than enough for a small island such as Barbados, why are you so desperate for this Cow woman to gassify and destroy the air quality of the island, just so she can enrich herself.

10 more people on the island with your short term memory and we all see why the majority population have become numb and believe things to be hopeless.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC….must I simplify everything for you, have you no vision, the faults and failures to which you allude are those of the politicians to implement due diligence in investigating the criminals who arrive on the island before signing contracts and making agreements to sell the island and endanger the people. The faults and failures are those of the politicians for refusing to show transparency and let the taxpayers know every move they make that is, in this case is not, in the citizens’ best interest.

Those faults and failures by the politicians are a huge no, no in the international community. If the politicians continue to be stubborn about this, it will be glaringly clear that they don’t care and whose fault and failure will that be at that time, AC, I have very little patience and am now exhausted from spoon feeding both you and Alvin, both of you have a lot of talk and no useful brains.

19. Crusoe let me start off on a lighter note , I take kindly to your spirited Version of “governance ” along those lines may i say that the captain of the ship must be given leverage and full control to navigate if not the ship faces the possibility of ship wreck and eventual doom,
    There is directive call Process in governance a procedure that is necessary to verify and validate
    Hope my response is enough to give pause to your questioning,

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And am telling both you and Alvin along with the 4 ministers who are supposed to be pushing this for the Cow, there are those on the island whom I care about, if, a big if, the Cow manages to fool some investor and the plant gets up and running, you do not know what rage is until I get going, let anyone I care about have their life, health or wellbeing threatened by a bunch of corrupt no good beasts and see how far i can reach. Better get it right the first time.

The ministers, if they are any, who disagree with this scam should be speaking up against it, it’s not like Fruendel can fire any of them, he is barely holding on to the government as it is

21. “@AC, For the first time in our history a possibility exist that the DLP or BLP may not be the government in 2018.”

Stupse, wunna mekkin sport at people yuh!!