Submitted by William Skinner
Independence, 1966

I am among those who have long given up on the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party. I have concluded that they have done equally badly and equally well. Try as I may, it is almost impossible to discern any significant difference between the two. A classic case of the pot and kettle- six and half dozen.

Regardless of how critical we are of them, we must honestly ask ourselves if we have made maximum use of the good they have done. I think the sophisticated calls it intellectual honesty. Others will say give Jack his shirt jack!

Both parties have given the bulk of the national pie to education. There are not many countries in the world where public schooling is better than private. For example, there are no private high schools in Barbados that can match Harrison College, Queens College. The few private schools that are superior to either of them in terms of physical structure are no match academically. The question we must ask is whether those who have benefited from such excellent public schooling have any real commitment to their country.

This question can therefore be easily extended to include the University of the West Indies, where until quite recently education was free. How dedicated or nationalistic are those graduates who have been educated at the public expense and bluntly refuse to repay government student loans? Many of them have settled into comfortable lifestyles. However they bluntly refuse to honour their student debts.

We can now turn to our garbage problem. For decades we have thrown our derelict cars and appliances into gullies and have callously dumped and littered our country. We acted as if we were entitled to destroy the environment. Although neither party has been successful in effectively managing the process of garbage collection, the question remains: Have we not been our greatest enemy in this regard?

Finally, I comment on public housing. Over the years, governments have constructed housing for citizens. In many cases the rent agreed to was about sixty dollars monthly. That is about $30 USD. Some tenants never paid the rent although they were employed and had many of the finer consumer products in their homes. Eventually the bottom fell out of the bucket and successive governments tried vainly to collect back rent. Are we to assume that those tenants did not realize their responsibility to pay rent?

I have highlighted these areas, where the citizens have abused the good intentions of successive governments. Are we honest enough to suggest that we have all in some measure contributed to the decline of the country? While it cannot be denied that governments have blundered and floundered, we still must admit that in some cases the citizens have contributed to the predicament in which we now find ourselves.

14 responses to “Citizens Accused of Aiding and Abetting”

1. The saying goes; to whom much is given, much is required; or something similar.
    High levels of taxation breeds expectations of high levels of service and representation from those that inflict said taxes. Failing to fulfill these expectations gives birth to frustration, resentment and disillusionment.

Dem ain’t care so I ain’t care neither.
    You robbing me blind and still expect me to pay back money that I gave you to keep. I can’t get um understand.
    Now you really feel that I get this lil squeeze-up apartment because I want tuh pay rent? Wuh effing I cudda pay rent, I wudda find someweh propa tuh rent. Wuh you really tink um is doh?

2. Now while I agree that there is no difference between these two sets of parasitic entities; I cannot in good conscience state that they have performed equally over the years. In fact I emphatically say that the performance of the DLP since 2008, is the worst this country have ever seen, and furthermore, there is no chance, in fact it is impossible for any other party now or in the future; even one led by the lady in white, to do any worse. This therefore renders the equally well and equally bad statement suspect. Obfuscation perhaps?

3. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Houses , Rents? No one will ever pay a government that does not pay ,Government to a trespass, Government can not yet show a deed for the land of the NHC nor UDC and here comes Habitat 3 , another way for them to buy votes living free then over taxing with VAT,TAX and DUTY to pay for it ,

4. It is very difficult to disagree with the argument made by Mr Skinner. Where the school loans are concerned that was the factor driving my argument that UWI graduates could be made to pay. The way it was implemented though, did bring a sense of pause. So often we saw where a shingle was hung,and top dollar was charged without regard to the fact that the ride to the top was sponsored by John Public. The same thought process can be applied where the private sector is concerned. The value added tax is not the only one that wends its way into personal bank accounts. A major problem that confronts admiinistration in Barbados is the practice of indifference rooted in culture that says”it ain’t what you know. ..it’s who you know. “

5. We all saw changes coming at the Cave Hill institution if we recall the constant ‘picking at’ by the Sinckler and the government in the lead in.

6. The article is on point.
    However it should be no surprise that ‘poor incompetent governments’ derive from a poor, low-minded, brass bowl population.
    Practically all the so-called ‘successes’ arising from the highly financed education system have either relocated overseas to aid in the development of white economies; stayed here as parasitic lawyers and doctors to suck from the society that paid for their education; or worked as accountants and clerks to keep books for foreigners…..
    Most are mendicants looking for handouts.
    SURELY THIS IS AN IDIOTIC ARRANGEMENT.

Any society that does not seek to harness the RARE and special skills of it’s VERY limited elite citizens cannot expect any other kind of results beside mediocrity and brass bowlery…

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/73862/-pay

And while all of that is going on, the same government make sure their owners disenfranchise and don’t pay any compensation to people who are injured, the same very voters and taxpayers.

So typical of CGI insurance.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/73883/accident-claims-life-motorcyclist

Is this not the same Indian dude the police gave special treatment to after they caught him with marijuana and a gun in his car and he ran away, then decided tp present himself to the police a whole week later, what was he doing on bail, I did not know bail was given for gun possession.. hmmmm….

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/10/29/smoking-discovery/

This scam has been known to be going on for decades, it’s well known that the Indian Community has been heavily involved, this has been spoken about for many years, it’s a cigarette scam that has been very lucrative for those involved.

That’s where the aiding and abetting by citizens come in…lol

10. @Well Well & Consequences October 29, 2015 at 7:33 AM “Since bail is given to people accused of murder and rape there is no reason why bail should not be given to those accused of gun possession.”

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple….you see first hand what is happening to those who are given bail for gun possession, murder and rape, it is playing out as we type and has been playing out for quite a very long time in Barbados.

I too can sympathize with the Smith family for their current distress in the loss of a senior citizen but we can hope that this changes the perspectives of the DPP and the police in the way they hand out preferential treatment to certain accused as well as to their victims, it has been a problem in Barbados for decades…..Simple, I know you wanted me to say that…lol

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I really don’t know what to say about the young Indian dude from Belleville, now deceased, some would say his time was up, being a big city gal, I would say that had he not get bail, he would be alive and in jail, some families would prefer that scenario.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I really don’t know what to say about the young Indian dude from Belleville, now deceased, some would say his time was up, being a big city gal, I would say that had he not get bail, he would be alive and in jail, some families would prefer that scenario. Though that is now small comfort to his family, to whom I can also sympathize

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sorry David, that got posted twice, there is a time delay.