Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC
BU shares the Jeff Cumberbatch Barbados Advocate column – Senior Lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies since 1983, a Columnist with the Barbados Advocate

MUSINGS: On nearing fifty… (i)

10/18/2015
By Jeff Cumberbatch

[…]

As Barbados readies itself to celebrate the 49th anniversary, and thereby to enter its fiftieth year, of sovereign statehood at the end of next month, it is appropriate for us to conduct a self-assessment of its journey in all respects so far and to prepare for the next fifty years; despite the fatalistic certainty of those few who proclaim the imminent end-of-days and despite the fact that we are not a people ordinarily given to planning anything beyond a five-year period at most.

In the circumstances, this essay commences a non-sequential series of critical observations on Barbados as it is now and of those reforms that might be contemplated adequately to confront the challenges that lie ahead of us. Of course, given the nature of my alleged expertise, this examination will focus mainly on those legal issues encompassing governance, social relations and the resolution of disputes.

Concerning this last, a decision delivered last Thursday by our apical court, the Caribbean Court of Justice, that treated an assortment of matters touching our judicial system provides as good a starting point for this analysis as any other.

While the decision provides a useful forensic examination of technical legal issues such as the doctrine of proprietary estoppel, rights of pre-emption, the enforceability of contracts, unjust enrichment and the award of costs, thus providing ample material for the undergraduate syllabus in Law, their Lordships also took some time out to comment on less arcane and, perhaps, more populist matters such as the inordinate delays in the judicial resolution of disputes locally and the requirement of judicial self-recusal on the basis of apparent bias.

While the latter consideration is not an immediate national concern and more likely to be of immediate interest to the prurient, the text of the judgment does reveal, as it was termed by Saunders J, “a sorry affair” in this regard.

The matter of delay is much more integral to national development, especially if we are seeking to project and maintain our reputation as the ideal jurisdiction in which to effect commercial investment. The dilatory resolution of disputes scarcely comports with such a proud boast.

What makes last Thursday’s strictures even more chastening is that this is not the first, nor the second nor, indeed, the third occasion on which our highest court has had to make such an observation. As noted in the leading judgment of President Byron, this dispute had commenced some 17 years earlier, winding its way through the court of first instance and the Court of Appeal for seven years in each instance, including a five year delay in the delivery of judgment by the trial judge and a more than six year period between the filing of the appeal and the hearing in the court above.

Byron P was not sparing in his comments – “This type of delay imposes hardship on the litigants. This is a case where the hardship is obvious. The delay also reflects adversely on the reputation and credibility of the civil justice system as a whole, and reinforces the negative images which the public can have of the way judges and lawyers perform their roles…The unfortunate frequency of our lament suggests that the problem is systemic…”

And at paragraph 69 of the judgment he delineated the various occasions on which the court had earlier commented adversely on local delay in the administration of justice. One example should suffice. As many as ten years ago, de la Bastide P (as he then was) wrote, “We would be failing in our duty if we did not express our strong disapproval of judicial delays of this order. They deny parties the access to justice to which they are entitled and undermine public confidence in the administration of justice…”

As the learned former President notes, and as borne out by the epigraph to today’s column, the civic entitlement of the litigant to a speedy resolution of a legal dispute is of hoary vintage. Indeed, it is even a constitutionally guaranteed right of the citizen. According to section 18(8) of our supreme law, where relevant, “… where proceedings for such a determination [of the existence of any civil right or obligation] are instituted by any person before such court…the case shall be given a fair hearing within a reasonable time…”

Even a member of the local judiciary has had cause to highlight the phenomenon. In July 2014, then Justice of Appeal Peter Williams, commenting on the scenario of an accused that had served seven years in prison without ever having his appeal against sentence determined, observed that the law “does not countenance the lack of resources, systematic delays or existing court backlogs as exculpating the State from its constitutional and human rights obligations. The executive authority of Barbados therefore has an inescapable duty to organise and supervise its judicial system so that the fundamental constitutional right of the individual to a hearing within a reasonable time is not infringed…”

Having recognised that there is a seemingly intractable problem in satisfying this guarantee, at least currently, the logical next step should be intelligently to seek to identify the source (s) of the difficulty and to take effective measures to eliminate it (them). A most enlightening discussion recently with a member of the Utter Bar (Queen’s Counsel) persuades me that the matter is a rather complex one that will necessitate an elemental adjustment of mind-sets and a sea-change in functional relations between the Bench, Bar and the Registry. He argues quite cogently that the current state of affairs is owed principally to a sorry cocktail of the partisan politicisation of the system on more occasions than one; an enervating lack of trust between the major players; and the prevailing economic crunch that prevents adequate financial investment by the state in the justice system.

Given the fundamental nature of the matters he identifies as causative, it must be accepted that the description of the issue as probably “systemic” by Byron P may not be too far off the mark. It should be a urgent concern of the state that the matter is receiving such uninspiring notices so frequently from its highest court, apart from causing it to be in contravention of its constitutional undertaking as argued above by Peter Williams JA.

After all, potential investors are legally advised as a matter of course and I suspect that few would be willing to close their eyes and ears to the probability that a legal dispute involving substantial sums in a contemplated jurisdiction might not be too speedily resolved.

To be continued…

250 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty… (i)”

1. |”You EVER heard of Blacks?
    “You ever heard of the slave trade? ….400 years of it…? …and STILL ongoing…”

“Jews shiite!!”

The Hebrews were enslaved by the Egyptians for 400 years! They were exiled by the Babylonians and Assyrians, from their ancient homeland; and finally the Roman Emperor destroyed their Temple in AD 70, and they were dispersed throughout the world, UNTIL, the miracle of their regathering AFTER TWO THOUSAND years of dispersion ended. As Almighty God SAID He would do!

Facts BUSH TEA, FACTS of historical veracity!

This not to in anyway minimize the horror of the transatlantic slave trade; no way, but they are two entirely different issues!

But then again, lest BU forget, BUSH TEA, declared that, “I WILL BE GOD…” so any distortion of FACTS, is entirely consistent with such a ‘Deceived’ one as Bush Tea!

2. Zoe October 19, 2015 at 8:33 AM #

“Jerusalem is mentioned over 600 times in the Bible; it is NOT mentioned once in the Koran!”

Not ALL Palestinians are Muslims, so what is your point?

3. @ Zoe

“No other Nation, or ethnic group of people, has experienced more hatred, and vehement LIES against their ancient homeland “Israel” like the Jews have……..”

Jews are among the most racist people in the world and they are not very fond of Negroes either. But I guess you would say that they have the right to hate me because it is God’s plan. But you would want to encourage me to love and accept them.

As Bushie mentioned, Negroes have experienced the most inhumane treatment ever meted out to any race, and that is SLAVERY. Interestingly, it is only the Arab region that is in constant conflict with Israel and not the entire world.

On the other hand Negroes are hated worldwide. To this day, whites, Chinese, Arabs, Indians (from India, Trinidad and Guyana), Jews, etc, DO NOT LIKE Black people and still THINK WE ARE INFERIOR. They don’t want their children to play, communicate or marry our children.

Perhaps you will quote some Bible verse to justify why Blacks are hated by everyone.

You love to quote the work of other people to justify your cause. I likewise will ask you to read the following excerpt, from “Anti-African Racism in Israel” which was written by David Sheen:

“I have been carefully chronicling the racist attacks against non-Jewish African asylum-seekers in Israel for several years. In January 2012, an organization in Israel that aids African asylum-seekers, the African Refugee Development Center, asked me to author on their behalf a report to the United Nations Committee for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD). After receiving the report in text and video form, the UN committee urged the Israeli government to prevent racist attacks against Africans in Israel. The Israeli government ignored the UN’s call, and the following month, Israelis firebombed a kindergarten for African children in Tel Aviv, igniting a wave of violence against non-Jewish African people in Israel that is still ongoing. Below are links to my UN report, published articles about the persecution of Africans in Israel, footage from five years of anti-African rallies, and extended one-on-one interviews with key players in the unfolding drama.”

His research between 2006 and 2012 indicates that the Israelis you love so much, have been killing African refugees.

And you are on BU writing Shiite on behalf of these people?

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Could it be that the blacks are the true Jews?

5. Yes blacks are the true Jews one does not have to search far or wide for confirmation . A Truth that bible scholars and teachers of the Christian Faith refuse to acknowledge

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

Not only killing us niggers but building Hitlerian Refugee/Concentration Camps for our containment.

It must give these “literalists” who believe in the Israelis being the chosen people of the Lord a serious challenge reconciling the Israel of the Bible with the hate mongering Philistines of these “latter days”

How we niggers gine be in the New physically restricted Jerusalem when we lock up in concentration camps?

Sorry de Rapture going tek care of some of the 144,000 of us that are among the saints!!

7. @ Jeff

“Could it be that the blacks are the true Jews?”

Interesting point, Jeff. Blacks were taken from their homeland and are living all over the world. Perhaps this talk of repatriation is descriptive of us returning, en masse, to Africa.

After all, scientist said they have evidence which suggest Africa was the “birth place” of life.

8. @ PUDRYR

Take a look at this video

It would be interesting to see Zoe’s comments.

9. LOL

THE BRIMBLING BAJAN BIBLE ILLITERATES OUT IN FORCE THIS MORNING

NOW THEY ARE EXPERTS IN ESCHATOLOGY

BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP

WHAT I LIKE ABOUT THE BRIMBLING BAJAN BIBLE ILLITERATES IS THAT THY CAN NEVER BRING A SINGLE TEXT, RIGHTLY DIVIDED IN ITS CONTEXT TO THE “DEBATE”
    THE BRIMBLING BAJAN BIBLE ILLITERATES

THE BRIMBLING BAJAN BIBLE ILLITERATES are always good for a real old time BAJAN BELLY LAFF

NOW JEWS ARE THE REAL BLACK PEOPLE

10. Jeff
    I have held that view for many years.You can’t help but see the bona fide African, in living colour The jew is not the same.Actually a jew is of mixed ethnicity.They try to foist themselves upon the world as an ethnic group when they are a religion based group of fanatics.

11. BRIMBLING WE GO ALONG LIF’ES WAY
    MOCKING AND SCOFFING AND TALK IN SHITE
    BRIMBLING WE GO ALONG LIF’ES WAY
    WE ARE THE BRIMBLING BAJAN BIBLE ILLITERATES

IN A LITTLE WHILE LOL

SORRY IN THE NEXT 50 YEARS LOL MURDAH

12. THE BRIMBLING BAJAN BIBLE ILLITERATES ARE NOT ONLY ESCHATOLOGISTS THEY AR EXPERTS IN ETHNOLOGY TOO AH LIE?
    AND ANTHROPOLOGY TOO ah lie

ZOE WHY DONT YOU STOP THROWING PEARLS BEFORE THESE SWINE?

13. @ Jeff Cumberbatch
    Could it be that the blacks are the true Jews?
    If only you knew HOW true you are….

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dar she blows.

De udder part of the send Dynamic Duo

In the Red Corner the Antichrist and Donkey and it the blue corned The CAPITAList and The End of Days Prophet.

LETTER TO THE BLOGMASTER

Dear BlogMaster

I write to you to say that there is great discrimation going on here on BU

Dere is a corner for Dishonest Lawyers where there deeds are published for all to see (Doan mind dem doan stay dere)

Dere is a corner for Dishonest Politicians where they are publicized here on BU for all to see (doan mind dat dem is be trying to get WordPress close down BU every day)

Dere is even a corner dedicated to Energy Matters i.e. Clare Cowan and the WTF sorry WTE Assification plant

But dere is no corner fuh de Christians and de Holier than thou end of time crew derefore we gine tek ovah all de udder corners cause we got LICENSE “TO GO YE OUT INTO THE HIGHWAYS AND HEDGES (AND DE CYBERSPACE HIGHWAYS) AND PREACH DE GOSPEL

Look how we come heah to dis blog bout Nearing 50 and tek it ovah!!!

And de peeples dem get sidetrack bout de Systemic Problems dat Jeff talking bout while we ranting bout de Bible and End TImes!!

Wunna dun see why de Peeple hate to hear anything bout Christianity Doah CAUSING IT CHAMPIONED BY SCVUNTS AND SO CALLED GREEK SCHOLARS WHO JES DOAN KNOW TUH SPEAK WHERE DE BIBLE SPEAKETH & IS APPLICABLE AND TO REMAIN SILENT WHERE IT JES AINT APPLICABLE

BEAR SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP NOT BARE BECAUSING I READ DAT DE BEAR OR DE RUSSIAN EMBLEM IS GINE FEATURE IN DE END TIMES AND PUTIN FEATURING IN DESE TIMES SO DERE, WHICH ALS RHYME WITH BEAR AND BARE AND SINCE DIS IS A RUM SHOP, I TINK I GINE HAVE A BEER (IF DEM DOES STILL SELL BANKS HERE, CAUSE I HEAR DAT SLU BUY OVAH BHL, CUH DEAR….

15. ding dong mellily on high
    on earth the Banks is talking
    ding dong mellily the sky
    the bible illitrati are brimbling

BEER mock sport in de rum shop

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…….check out the tales from the court link for some info.

Hey GP….good to see you.

17. thanks well well

18. it is true fuh trute blacks are the true Jews
    i just check ancestry.com and find out dat my real name is IBRAHIM ISHMAEL BAR BUP
    I AM A DESCENDENT OF THE ANCIENT BUPPITES

19. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Bare sport in de Diaspora Corner too. lol….an on YouTube.

20. HANTS
    THE FISH NOT BITING TODAY!? LOL

21. All ‘o these fellows quoting from a book that designed to brainwash unintelligent people and true to form if you looking for somebody to defend a white man,don’t ask,a black man will rise to the occasion and wax warm in defence of the overlord and abuser.Yes sir,no sir,three bags full sir.

22. @GP,

VOTING TODAY. FISHING TOMORROW. TEMPERATURE WILL BE 18c

23. Blacks are the true Jews, by one simple fact.The true Jews do not know they are Jews.Source, the bible, specifically, Book of Revelation.

24. Minister Farrakhan got it right

25. @Bush Tea @11:25 am

I know!

26. @ SuckaBubby
    …actually there are multiple ‘simple facts’….

But here is a little riddle…
    For every ‘simple true fact’ that is in place to lead us to the truth of many of these critical issues, there is ALWAYS a ‘simple false piece uh shiite’ to confuse the gullible.

For example…
    The Simple fact of God as a “boundless and growing family”, is confused with the lotta generally accepted shiite about a closed-shop ‘trinity’

The basic idea of a ‘church’ of those specially anointed with the spirit of God …is confused with the shiite Lodges of Satan… or the same Trinity pushing joke ‘churces’

The Basic idea of the “people chosen by God” to be used as guinea pigs in demonstrating his ways on Earth ..has been usurped by a pack of white, racists, war-mongers, ..who have been moved into Palestine, and armed and protected, by the white powers of this world.

…and the developmental opportunity to exercise freedom of choice between doing RIGHTEOUSLY or doing shiite, have been superseded by the selfish expectation that we can do whatever the hell we like ..and there be no consequences …. (like having it published in the Nation)

But those with eyes to see will see….

27. WHEN my cousin chcked that nigger found that his real name was Amos Micah Ben-Yehudah Bar Bup

Imagine all this time we didnt know that we were Jews Wuh loss

We have decided to buy some big black bras and adapt them as skull caps and then we will set up a wailing wall down behind the Drill Hall.

28. Minister Farrakhan is the Only black Minister that have stood up to the Jewish establishment and spoke the Truth about their History and the black man History
    However since blacks have been labelled liars and thieves among their own his voice has rung hallowed while many blacks sit in sunday pews listening to the white mans version of biblical history and being lied to.
    Today many of the churches although having blacks as minister and priest still owes a debt of gratitude to major financial jewish owned institution and rather than risk ruination and calamity keeps the truth hidden safely inside a cloak of tall tales and deceit away from those who have itching ears,

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC……did I not hear you say on here that you were about to go to church sometime recently…lol

Most everyone is aware that the ones in Israel calling themseves jews are frauds, it’s an old story, all of them would have come off the black race that created a different bloodline, my brother by another mother, but the Ethiopian jews are the originals, of course it would take a while for Caribbean people to catch up seeing that they were never to find out out all of this to begin with.

30. @ WW&C so what is your point ? and what does my going to church have to do with seeking the TRUTH through other medians,
    There is none so blind than those who would not see or seek or pursue the path that leads to truth and righteousness
    Because a person goes to church does not mean that their should have limited knowledge incapacitated by one doctrine and oblivious to other avenues of understanding
    For indeed one of the greatest philosophers and teachers of our time profoundly instructed ALL to seek and all will find .
    Knock and the door to truth and knoweldge and understanding will be opened
    Many churches today are doing the bidding of Satan. and have become whore mongers liars and assassins against the truth with a focus on their (GOD) the Almight dollar
    Am i then supposed to accept their every word of gospel
    For verily HE said unto to the churches for many shall be called but few would be chosen.

31. AC
    I now finding out that besides the BAR BUPS i got some more Jew family in China– these arE THE WING PING DINGS AND THE WONG PONG DONGS

i HAVE TO RELURN MY THEOLOGY
    THIS TIME I WILL USE SEEK ASK AND KNOCK PARADIGMS
    MOCKING IN DE RUM SHOP IS BARE SPORT

32. Dont worry GP You have accepted and resigned yourself to a doctrine steeped in prophesy far from it for me to change your mind, as a matter of fact PEACE and more power to You .
    No arguments here!
    However ac on the other hand was given Choice to decipher and discern ,I have chosen to use that Choice to SEEK Knock and FIND and in the process to reflect on what i have been taught using bought avenues as vesicles guiding me to truth,
    GP you see now there you have it I have no envy or hatred about what you believe , However i refused to be stymied or shortchanged to assessing knowledge by whatever means necessary.

33. Bush Tea October 19, 2015 at 4:23 PM #

I hear you.

The problem with alot of church dogma is that it refuses to acknowledge that church history dismisses the fact that the people in the bible have a specific living breathing identity concurrent to the history of black people.They run off from the basics to conjure up stuff to satisfy the negligence of historical facts in making amends for their own omission (Catholics etc) from the essence of what the bible speaks of.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…….wait until AC finds out that there is only one race on earth, the black race and all other groups are the bloodlines extended from the black race, then she will really be pissed off that she wasted so much time back in 2013-2014 kissing C.Fred’s ass…lol

35. SuckaBubby

Had there not been the genocidal colonialization of the African people, we probably wouldn’t have to Africanize everything we do and say as a people.

36. There’s only one race……the human race,originating in Africa.

37. HOW COME? DONT THY HAVE AT LAST SEVEN RACES AT THE GARRISON PUN A SATDEE? MURDAH

38. Dompey October 19, 2015 at 7:21 PM #

You does talk bare shite.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ GabrielOctober 19, 2015 at 7:49 PM#
    “There’s only one race……the human race,originating in Africa.

I am prepared to argue that your assertion is false. Are you saying the Garden of Eden (Gobekli Tepe) story of Adam & Eve is just a Judeo-Christian myth believed only by the likes of Zoe (PhD) and Dr. GP?

Isn’t it a bit oxymoronic to refer to only one participant in a “race”? Unless you are comparing humanoids against other members of the primate ‘family’.
    Surely you have to consider a species ,the bonobo chimpanzee, with which (or whom) we share over 97 (or 98) % DNA commonality? After all they (the bonobos) ‘ESAF’ just like humans, don’t they?
    The only difference between the two specie(s) is ‘ART’ (not the ARK). I am sure our BU in-house zoologist Vincent Haynes will agree.

40. St George's Dragon Avatar

More evidence that we are all one big family:
    “The first ancient human genome from Africa to be sequenced has revealed that a wave of migration back into Africa from Western Eurasia around 3,000 years ago…….. affected the genetic make-up of populations across the entire African continent.
    By comparing the ancient genome to DNA from modern Africans, the team have been able to show that not only do East African populations today have as much as 25% Eurasian ancestry from this event, but that African populations in all corners of the continent – from the far West to the South – have at least 5% of their genome traceable to the Eurasian migration.”
    http://phys.org/news/2015-10-ancient-genome-africa-sequenced.html

41. FROM DE TIME I WAS A LIKKLE BOY I KNOW ABOUT 7 RACES
    MY MOTHeR USD TO TAKE US TO DE GARSUN PUN SATADES AND THEY NUSED TO GOT 7 RACES ah lie?

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just make sure when you guys are approaching the Caucasian bloodline with these truthful facts that none of them is holding a rope, better yet just let them know you know through the blogs, you can even give a little smirk when you see them, they will think it’s a smile….lol

43. GP,

Your attempts at humour are really not funny.

44. Pieces,

We’re not all that nauseatingly stupid.

45. Artaxerxes,

Thanks for the video.

46. Where we are at this stage of approaching fifty is obviously a long, long way from where we should be. We still take the white man’s word for everything. We still have not stopped hating ourselves and revering the white man. We still do not see our true value. We still fight over the crumbs that drop from the white man’s table. We are still limited by straining to peer at the world from a white man’s perspective. Boy, have they done a good job on us!

But still I live on in hope!

47. As I’ve stated on BU many times, I do NOT represent Colour, i do NOT argue for the White man, the Black man, the Brown man, or any other Colour in between.

SIN has NO COLOUR, neither does TRUTH, or Ideology.

For, “ALL have SINNED, and come short of the Glory of God.” ( Rom. 3:23)

“For the WAGES (results) of SIN is DEATH; but the Gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” ( Rom. 6:23)

However, Adam, the first man created, was certainly some kind of Colour; and how the various shades of complexion came about, can be explained by science based on research in this area our ‘genes’ gives some evidence to consider.

WHAT COLOR WAS ADAM?

in
    Frequently Asked Questions About Creationism | Short Answers to Big Questions
    In western countries, nearly every imaginative painting of Adam and Eve depict two adult Caucasians with fair skin and blue eyes. These images, even used as Bible illustrations, tend to shape the reader’s mental image of the first man and woman. The Sunday-school origin of the dark races is often that they were descendants of Adam and Eve who had migrated to a hot climate where the suntan eventually became an inherited characteristic. These images and explanations discredit Christianity.

The true explanation began to be resolved in 1913 when it was shown that human beings carry two genes for color and that each gene consists of “black” or “white” alleles. One allele was received from the mother and the other from the father. The allele is part of the gene, and the gene is part of the DNA – while the DNA resides in the nucleus of every cell in our body. Our skin color is caused by the pigment melanin, and this is controlled by two pairs of genes that geneticists refer to using the letter designations Aa and Bb, where the capital letter represents dominant genes and the small letters represent recessive genes. A and B, being dominant, produce melanin in good quantity while recessive a and b produce only a minor amount of melanin. Hence, our coloration depends upon the number of black and white alleles we received from our parents. The color genes express themselves in only one place – specialized skin cells called the melanocytes – that produce granules of melanin that are delivered to neighboring cells.

Eve was made from Adam’s rib and was thus a clone of Adam [Genesis 2:21-22]. They would therefore have had identical genes for melanin production. If they were both AABB, they would have been Negroid and produced children of only the darkest of Negroid coloration. If this were the case, the world’s population today would be entirely Negro. In fact, only about 10% of the world’s population is Negro, so we can be certain that our first parents were not of the AABB combination. By the same argument, if Adam and Eve had both been aabb, all their children would have been aabb meaning that all their descendants would be the lightest Caucasoid possible – there would be no other colors. Clearly, this is not the case, so by a process of deduction we can conclude that Adam and Eve were heterozygous, each having two dominant and two recessive genes, AaBb. They would thus have been middle-brown in color and from them, in one generation, the various shades of brown would have been produced.

These color differences were likely amplified following the business at the Tower of Babel [Genesis 11:1-9] when the human gene pool was divided. Loss of genetic information in an isolated population is well known and a problem to breeders of pure-bred dogs, horses and other animals. It seems that one population group that migrated from the Tower of Babel suffered a greater loss of the genetic information required to produce the melanin and became the Caucasians. The bottom line is that Adam was not white or black but a good middle brown.

48. NOAH: What Race was Noah? What colour was he? Where in the Bible can I find out?
    24/03/2015 John Mackay Bible / People

The original question was:
    Where can I find out what race was Noah? I know he is not Jewish. Was he black or white?

John Mackay’s Answer

What do we know about Noah who is first mentioned in Genesis 5:29. He was a direct descendant of Adam (Genesis 5:1-6:2) He existed before the tower of Babel (Genesis 11) where mankind was split into various family groups which would eventually form groups with distinct physical characteristics (`races’) across the planet. He existed prior to Abraham (Genesis 12) or Judah (Genesis 29:35). Since Judah was the ancestor of the Jews and Israelites are descendants of the person called Israel (Genesis 35:10) so in the grand Biblical scheme of things, neither Adam, Abraham nor Noah were Jews or Israelites.

As to Noah’s colour, there is no positive statement on this anywhere in scripture, but the answer is still there indirectly. Noah’s name means `rest’. This has no colour connotation whatsoever. Noah’s sons Ham, Shem and Japheth however have several colour clues hidden in their names. Ham is definitely Hebrew for dark. Japheth is Hebrew for fair, and Shem’s name has nothing to do with colour at all. The name Shem is a word that means “name,” in this context relating to ‘he will make a name for himself’

In the present day world, whenever a person has some distinguishing colour we still sometimes give names that have colour connotations. In Australia we have often used the name ‘Bluey’ for a red headed person. Shem was not given a colour tag, with the implication that to his father Noah, Shem’s colour was what Noah would have been regarded as normal. Now add to this that Noah’s father was Lamech and his grandfather was Methuselah who had known the first man Adam for some 300 years. Noah’s immediate relatives were therefore in a good position to comment on any skin colour alterations that might have occurred at Noah or Shem’s birth. Since there no colour comment made in Noahs’ name, we can safely assume whatever colour Noah was, Shem was, but so were Lamech and Methuselah, and so was Adam!

But Adam’s name does give us a hint to his colour. The ‘dm’ sound in Adam, is also Hebrew for the word blood. Hence the tradition that goes back ‘to the beginning’ is that Adam was the man of the red earth. He was neither too dark nor too light. He was the type of rosy brown that most of us would desire to be in the on the beach at summertime. Since Adam’s body was part of God’s “very good” creation, we also know that whatever colour skin Adam had, was the one best suited to the world’s environment.

So don’t be surprised that as we go around the planet today, some 6000 years after Adam and 4000 years after Noah, that we discover dark skin is not the ideal and neither is light skin. Dark skin works well only where it is very hot. It has so much surface pigment, it prevents absorption of sunlight which is fine in a tropical land, but when you shift a black skinned person into a cold country, and they don’t get enough light onto their skin, they can’t make enough vitamin D, so invariably some vitamin D deficiency problems arise, such as soft bones (Rickets). Likewise when you shift a light skinned person to a hot country, they suffer a big rise in skin cancer deaths, as is common in Australia today. The only skin colour that is the safest in all environments, and happens to be the majority skin colour on the planet today is the rosy brown one.

So working from beginning to end; given that Adam was rosy brown and Methuselah saw no reason to suggest to his son Lamech that Noah should be given a colour name tag, Noah was therefore the same colour as Adam. Neither too dark nor too light. But after Adam’s sin came onto the planet and man’s whole body physically, spiritually and mentally became subject to ‘the fall’, it shouldn’t surprise us that man’s skin colour controls had started to breakdown even before Noah’s flood. Hence when Noah had offspring, some had ‘lost control’ of skin colour production. Some were producing too much melanin (brown pigment) near the surface or some too little near the surface, so that dark skin, light skin and medium skin were all in existence prior to the flood and to the tower of Babel in the second century after the Flood.

Hence when Noah’s descendants were split up at Babel, if your Dad was Hamitic black, your “tribe” or “race” was black before you went to Africa. If your Dad was a Japhethite, you were already fair or light skinned before you went to Europe. So what race was Noah? As a direct descendant of the created man Adam he belonged only to the human race! Since then all of us, no matter what features have become exaggerated or diminished in our particular race through isolation and inbreeding since Babel, we are descendants of the man Noah and through him back to the first man Adam. Which leaves us each with the one common problem we have inherited from that first man – sin and the need of a Saviour, and only one is available for all – the Lord Jesus Christ. http://www.askjohnmackay.com

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply