Submitted by Veritas Y. Aequitas
Royal Barbados Police Force under the spotlight

Well, the DPP said there was no case to answer and ordered the charge be withdrawn.

But, some recent news leaked out from the Police Force said there was a deliberate attempt to haul Mr Slinger over the fire and cause him embarrassment

[…]

– he’s been accused of causing bad boy police Everton Gittens to be charged for Blues Knight killing – it’s been described as the straw which broke the camel’s back since Slinger’s pen had been touching quite a few people including Speaker of the House Michael Carrington who should have been charged for keeping that poor man in the wheelchair money for over 14 years and Slinger has also been at the forefront of CLICO’s Leroy Parris exposures.

In fact, Slinger’s arrest and charging was orchestrated by Acting Assistant Superintendent Graham Husbands, one of the Commissioner of Police low-life cops who hail from St Lucy as well.

Husbands was heard telling some young detectives – go and bring his ass here, he like writing bout people, leh he write bout this.

Husbands also went on to curse and swear about Slinger’s consistent writing about “Blues” death and even mentioned that the Nation newshound even started a day by day count-down on Blues’ death since no one had been charged.

He said this had caused a lot of pressure on the police to do something. Husbands even went on to say that it was Slinger who wrote story that police was trying to get Blues’ son who was shot as well to change his original statement.

The police investigations have been described by the DPP as shabby and without merit since close circuit video showed Slinger leaving the restaurant empty-handed. Also an inventory signed by Slinger and three other people showed clearly nothing was removed or stolen from the bar.

Apparently, Slinger was trying to assist Pizza Man Doc who owned the place against a bad tenant and fraud Jacqueline Proverbs who owed thousands of dollars in rent.

People who frequented the De Hype Bar said they have never even seen a long neck brandy or whisky as was reported stolen by her.

Another thing that went against the Nation Tim Slinger was that he is a personal friend of suspended commissioner Darwin Dottin who has been described as one of Husbands’ most hated people.

It all adds up, now we know what depth some police would sink to, to falsify charges.

It’s not the first time and it wouldn’t be the last. You could be next.

124 responses to “Why was Nation Journalist Tim Slinger Charged for Burglary?”

1. I remember 1957 and my parents wanted to take a family photograph to send to a sibling who had gone to England in that big, big migration. My parents had to go 4 villages over before they found a man who owned a camera and who was willing to come to our village to photograph us.

He man with the camera to us because there was no way for a family with nearly a dozen children to pay busfares for all of them to go to one of the few photo studios which then operated in Bridgetown.

2. Piece

Friend are you cognizant of the perennial dictum which says: ” To error is human but to forgive is divine?” On second thought, given the time you have spent in the terrestrial sphere thus far, I am quite certain that this old adage hasn’t escape your grasp?

In any event, I have stated here on numerous occasions that I write devoid of Spell-Check, so therefore, most of what I have written in terms of verbosity, tautology and malapropism comes from my standard memory bank and that ought to be applauded.

And lastly, I am well aware of the meaning of the word “antithetical” because I have dealt with it extensively in Hagelian’s Dialectic. Do your remember Hagelian’s Dialectic which concerned itself with the Thesis, Antithesis and the Synthesis Piecce?

Come on Piece, give me some credit here sir because I have never claim to be what you and others here so wrongfully and disrespectfully misrepresents me to be, so carry on with your preplexing rant and rave which only serves to promote your self-serving agenda.

3. Piece

You continue to sink deeper and deeper into your own turgidity and it appears as though you can find no repose.
    You sir, represent in my mind the archetypal miner who thinks that he has recognized the presence of gold beneath his feet, so he begins to dig; and finds nothing, but cannot make up his mind to believe that the earth contains no treasure; so he sinks his shaft deeper and deeper in an eternal hopefulness.

When you are ignorant and somehow convinced yourself that you’re smart because of your verbal acrobatics; you’re truly ignorant Piece.

4. @Bush Tea October 17, 2015 at 7:45 AM “So if she became pregnant ..are you going to hide that too…?

YES. Terminate the pregnancy and be forever silent. There is no good reason why a 13 or 14 year old girl should bring a pregnancy to term. In fact the only people who ought to know of her pregnancy are her parents and her physician (the rascally boy should NEVER know.) The physician is bound by a vow of confidentially [the same way your doctor can’t talk about your goadies or your benign prostate enlargement or your prostate cancer] and sensible parents do not bring their teenage children to disrepute.

@Bush Tea October 17, 2015 at 7:45 AM “If they spread STDs ..will you hide up THAT too”

The only people who should know that a 13 or 14 year has an STD are the parents and the doctor. The infected one should tell the doctor about sexual contacts. And the doctor NOT the girl or her parents should do contact tracing and have the other party treated in confidence.

@Bush Tea October 17, 2015 at 7:45 AM “You EVER heard of HIV? …where will you hide that…?”

The only people who should know that a 13 or 14 year has HIV are the parents and the doctor. The infected one should tell the doctor about sexual contacts. And the doctor NOT the girl or her parents should do contact tracing and have the other party treated in confidence.

Otherwise what are you suggesting? That the Nation should publish the names, addresses and national ID numbers of everyone who has an unplanned pregnancy and or an STD or HIV? And should they do this retroactively? Should they go back 100 years? 200 years?

Do you really want to know and do you want the whole world to know if your mother terminated her first pregnancy? Of if you wife left school pregnant at 13 and went overseas to deliver the baby and had it adopted out? Do you want all of us to know if your 15 year old son impregnated his 14 year old first cousin?

Idiot.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

I know that you have called Bush Tea an Idiot but hold your horses a little.

You painted a lovely single vision story of 13/14 year old who had been afflicted by the STD or HIV virus and what was to obtain in those circumstances.

In a prior post you also posited a reasonable position that we as adolescents were likely to veer away from the straight and narrow.

NOw let us suppose that we were to extrapolate on your construct and that of Bush Tea and say add in Donna’s construct

So now we have an infected female, with STDs or HIV who is involved in big peeple activity AND Donna’s son also an adolescent while veering away from the straight and narrow finds himself at the tender age of what? with HIV. you understand that here we have a 13 year old, whom you are seeking to protect, not potentially taking away the life of another “experimenter” whom you are proposing should be protected BECAUSE Bushie is an Idiot right?

Simple Simon, hen we find ourselves questioning what we believe is right and what is wrong, we know that we are in a bad place.

When this incident first began, I felt that the Nation was wrong to publish the pictures of 13 and 14 year olds since I felt it was a matter of exposing minors and the standard thing that de ole man was taught. And then you made the point about the girl being set up etc

Then Bushie made his point about responsibility and what the bigger picture is and he put it in a context of taking responsibility for your actions, both the children as well as the vacillating Nation, of late the Champion of values of the peeple of Barbados.

So de ole man find heself vacillating too.

In the red corner “the chilrun are is experimenting and as minors are to be protected because dem exposing dem parts” and den de ole man say “what if it was two boys caught in dat picture?” was you and de udder moralists gine to be similarly amenable to “adolescent experimentation?”

So leh we carry it a likkle furdah.

Yesterday you trouble me at school and you tek you pen and juck me, it tek me compass from me geometry set and juck you back, you gone home and get you fadddah Collins and come back fuh me but I, heah bout it and adopt me own version uh “Glory Glory Alleluia and meet you scvunt with me faddah loaded 44 at de classroom door and Kablam, donkey dead ( I said Donkey not Dompey)

Here on BU we does practice the last recourse lef to a fellah Blame and Shame which, depending on who you talk to gots varying results, so if you talk to AC she and she cohorts say it is useless but if you talk to de head uh de IDB or the EU, it does mek dem extremely diligent wid dem Bilateral Aid.

We gots a problem with standards and behaviour which, if left to fester as i is, gine give all uh we a problem especially when wunna get to be my age and DEM axing me why I doan stan home and dead, whu even heah pun BU one uh de ACs threaten me wid violence to my noggin and I di was had to beg fuh de Blogmaster to proteck me scvunt

We are redrawing the line every day until pretty soon we going be right pun de ocean where, when we retire, you kin only stay afloat fuh so long and den, not meing an aquatic animal, and without food or drink, you gine drown

6. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Pieces, I do not get your logical progression in your note to Simple.

How can combine proposition 1, the absolute need to discipline egregious behaviour when “the chilrun are is experimenting and as minors are to be protected because dem exposing dem parts”.

Propo 2, the absolute need to maintain law and regulations related to privacy rights and to fairly administering justice to any wrong-doer.

How do those reasonably get to suggesting basically that we have to trample current rights in order to fix our problems as in “We gots a problem with standards and behaviour which, if left to fester as i is, gine give all uh we a problem..” .

A rather brief and likely too concise sum of your entire note but it captures the main thrust.

Have we not seen that movie played out repeatedly over the years. And are we still not on the cusp of your ocean inundation!

Your comments are surprising.

7. @ Simple Simon, there are many beautiful things about blogging beyond the most basic pleasure of having one’s opinion in ‘bright lights’.

One of those others is that we can disagree vehemently on day one and agree completely on day two, and indeed agree and disagree on day 3.

I would not agree that Bush Tea is an idiot.

I agree with your other remarks re privacy and the utter impracticality of the arguments to include those as part of this discourse of the Nation’s poor, wildly sensationalist style of journalism.

Most of us bloggers love to see ourselves in print. Some love it so much that they adopt a trademark tone which drives their post. Reason, logic or fundamentals of law and basic rights are irrelevant.

The ACs are obviously the best (worst) examples of that.

There are others who travel a similar path..though not as egregiously.

8. Piece

let us cheriah the illusion that children are going to do the right thing after witnessing the hypocrisy of their elders.

Brother, you were a child many millenniums ago and I am quite certain that you’re aware of the fact that it is within the nature of the child to rebel against parental and pedagogic authority, whether he or she does it directly or indirectly.

What would you or Bush Tea expect from a child who is operating in deficit of the necessary intellectual marbles which enables him or her to make the valued judgments?

The important thing is that the child learns from his or her mistakes and does not repeat them in the future.

9. @ Piece
    There is a way that SEEMS right to a brass bowl … but the end thereof is the way of death.

If you simply look back at the kind of disciplinarians who appeared to be making a dent in getting this country on the right track, you will generally fine no-nonsense, hard-nosed, men of extremely high standards, who DEMANDED and accepted nothing less that high standards, and whose tolerance level for shiite sometimes seemed to be below zero…
    Men like the Major, Tank, Major Barker, Joe Physics, Deighton Maynard…

ANYTIME that you find yourself confronted with those seeking to make excuses for nonsense; to trivialise rule-breaking; to protect the guilty; …..you know you are dealing with a ‘small-picture’ simpleton driven by emotions rather that a big-picture view…..

…there is no point in arguing with such persons….

Now if yourself, or Hamilton H, or another blogger of similar substance wanted to put a case for the anti-Bushie stance, no doubt it would have been framed in some overall context that redounded to the betterment of the school, the society, the other children in the school system, and if possible, to those directly involved…

…but to argue shiite about ‘protecting the identity of teenagers’; about how adults are even worse; and about the ‘reputation’ of the clearly guilty can only be a bad joke…

Take for instance, those ‘young impressionable teenagers’ who have now taken to throwing stones through Transport Board buses at rival school children….
    Perhaps Simple Simon would suggest that we install bullet-proof bus windows….?
    Perhaps some Ingrunt person would be upset if a photo of such a perp in action was released in the newspapers….
    …and how about those teens recently charged with SERIOUS crimes -including murder …. should we give them detentions and make them hand in their 9 mm guns and ammo?

Steupsss

10. Piece

Is Sex Education still taught in the school system of Barbados these days? I remember when St. Leonard’s Boys Secondary embarked upon coeducation or rather the boys and girls where educated on the same compound, but in different facilities in the late 70’s, and brother the pregnancy rate shot up exponentially.

So intelligent minds back in the day decided that boys were to have their lunch from 11:00am to 12:00pm and the girls from 12:00pm to 1pm; the girls were to be released in the evening at 2:00pm and the boys at 3:00pm and these new arrangements only served to exasperated the alreardy exacerbated situation.

11. Bush Tea

A lasting Peace has never been achieved through the barrel of a gun; it is achieved by way of diplomacy in the end.

I would bet you that the disciplinarians you made mentioned of above achieved they control through the physical brutalization, and the verbal intimidation of innocent children, unaware of the lasting emotional and psychological trauma that they have caused these innocent souls.

As a soldier I was accustomed to a certain kind of discipline, which I would described as verbal abuse/ intimidation, but I was ready for it physically, emotionally and psychologically.
    As a child and then an adolescent in the school system in Barbados, I was accustomed to a certain sort of discipline that I would described as physical violence accompanied by physical threats, and I wasn’t prepared for it physically, emotionally and psychologically.

12. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

​Facts, remain valid, true and basically unbreakable despite any level of misdirection or illogical reasoning. Very different from opinions.

Thus, Mr Bush Tea we can accept as factual based on the evidence of history that …”Tank, Major Barker, Joe Physics, Deighton Maynard…” stood for and demanded discipline.

Based on that same view of history we can also accept as factual that NONE of those individuals would have published or wanted to publish the face of any of their students who were caught breaking the school rules in the national newspaper.

That would have been against their clear standards of decorum and emphasis of following the rules.

We can also with some certainty – if not factually – assert that a few of those gentlemen would have done floggings at assembly as a school-wide condemnation of grave misdeeds.

You continue to CONFUSE appropriate discipline with your desire to speak in hyperbolic terms of the moral decay of our society. And you believe that your ‘holier than thou, fire and brimstone’ approach validates this ‘bull in the china shop’ approach.

I certainly don’t expect you to understand these simple truths but facts don’t change because the blogger has the word ‘ingrunt’ in his moniker or if you find the person presenting the info less than savory. Nor for that matter if you become more condescending and illogical in your commentary.

Tank, Major Barker, Joe Physics and Deighton Maynard were all honourble men as far I know.
    Two of them were military officers who would have valued decorum and rules very highly.

To invoke their names with such a scandalous example of journalistic ineptness is astonishing and clearly shows the level of your unbelievable logic’ in order to validate your ‘brass bowl’ mantra.

13. @Dee Word

Is it also not true the principals mentioned operated during a different period and therefore approaches to discipline then must of necessity be different today?

14. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Incidentally, when I was a Prefect at school I remember sitting with the Prefect council and exploring ways to combat the incidence of indiscipline on the school buses. Whether from external or internal forces there were major issues of damage to the buses, students acting out (fighting) and other basic stupidity.

Amazing therefore that lo and behold students damaging school buses today – 35+ years on – is an example that our society is so discombobulated because we lack the kind of no-nonsense hand of ‘hard nosed’ men who happened to be the leaders of my youth.

Are we being serious or just maintaining our shtick regardless of realities.

15. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

David,I hear you but a different time meaning what exactly? You do remember that during that era there was a ‘murder’ at Foundation Girls, yes! You also do recall that school girls got pregnant, right?

You do understand that HC and some of the other schools of its ilk started to have the first major exposures of students smoking ‘de tampee’ and the grave difficulties that brought with it like ‘outlandish’ behaviours for which the Heads and teachers would have been completely unprepared.

Remember that there were fights were ‘big hard-backed men’ used 2X4’s, compasses and any or all implements to defend themselves from or maim other students.

Yes today’s issues are in many senses significantly more complex and dangerous with the prevalence of weapons. But in that same context educators are more trained, there are more devices of detection/other control mechanisms available to monitor these turbulent youth.

I can assure you that back then the times were turbulent too and with much less or no readily available control devices.

16. @ David October 18, 2015 at 4:05 PM #

@Dee Word

Is it also not true the principals mentioned operated during a different period and therefore approaches to discipline then must of necessity be different today?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Principals and Periods do change but Principles(law/rule) should remain the same and be invoked.

17. @pieceuhderockyeahright October 18, 2015 at 9:26 AM “So now we have an infected female, with STDs or HIV who is involved in big peeple activity AND Donna’s son also an adolescent while veering away from the straight and narrow finds himself at the tender age of what? with HIV. you understand that here we have a 13 year old, whom you are seeking to protect, not potentially taking away the life of another “experimenter” whom you are proposing should be protected

@pieceuhderockyeahright October 18, 2015 at 9:26 AM “BECAUSE Bushie is an Idiot right?”

No, no, no. My argument has nothing to do with whether or not Bushie is an idiot, although truly he is one…but we all know that there are already established protocols for dealing with HIV infections. I propose that we always follow the protocols.

(A) For those who are able ABSTAIN.

(B) For those who are not infected and are able to find an uninfected partner, BE FAITHFUL.

(C) For those who can’t manage abstinence or faithfulness CONDOMS.

Sadly not everybody can manage the ABC above and some infections will still occur. Treat the infection and counsel the infected one on how to avoid spreading the infection.

And ongoing public HIV/AIDS education for all of us [old people too] as some old people are sexually active, and sadly some old people lose their long term partners to divorce or to death. Should these elders wish to resume sexual activity will get the same ABC advice and should follow the same protocols as “Donna’s son”

It is an imperfect world.

We can only do the best that we can with what we have.

And if 2 boys or 2 girls had been involved in the activity my advice would be the same.

18. @ Simple Simon
    And if 2 boys or 2 girls had been involved in the activity my advice would be the same.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Oh shiite!!!
    YOUR advice…??!!

What qualifies you to be an adviser bozie?
    …the lotta ex-men that you can reference?
    …the fact that you catch the bus every day?
    …your life has been some kind of role model…?
    …your children are model citizens now?
    …you gotta whacker?

…or you just got some time on your hands between ex-men? 🙂
    Steupsss…

Perhaps Bushie is an idiot…
    …we know that AC is a typical DLP thinker, .
    ..and you are a typical Bajan Brass Bowl ….

19. @Bush Tea October 19, 2015 at 8:17 AM “…your life has been some kind of role model…?

YES

…your children are model citizens now?

and YES

20. Probably explains our current state….

21. Bad Bushie! Bad bad Bushie!

22. @ Donna
    🙂

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ bro Bushie

Man not even the dynamic duo of asinus and de antichrist nor de earthly exegesis and de man who always joking in de Rum Shop hath elicited your ire aforetime!!

You know bout Barry too???

De udder day de ole man was did talk bout de holy hands crew and it had elicit a coo ent from you. Whu I want you to unnerstan is dat I know some good christians some good injuns and “some o my best friends is white people”.

Sometimes de ole man does call dem hunkies, injuns and “de holier dan thou” crew causing dere is a few who does mek bad for de many.

I been round here long enuff to know dat even doah I is a black man, dere is some niggas among we dat mek we cuss dem fuh whu dem does do even though they are black like us, e.g. The Democratic Labour Party

When Owen Arfur had called us negrocrats I did not take offense and neither should you when you see comments about the pretend christians ok?

24. Pieces,

I knew that. I was just letting you know I was there.