Submitted by Anthony Davis
Image-Barbados Road Safety Website

The operators of public service vehicles (PSVs) have a counter proposal for the Ministry of Transport which is currently mulling over the installation of security technology and the deployment of personnel on school buses to keep students in check […]
Barbados Today

Raphael said in recent times PSV operators have not had any “major issues” relating to the behaviour of pupils using their buses and insisted that members of his organization who would be prepared to transport the nation’s children would operate with the highest integrity.

He has, however, proposed that the private school service be separated from regular bus services.”

Pray tell me, Mr. Raphael, – first you were “demanding” and “insisting” that Government raise the PSV fares, now you are suggesting that they allow you to transport our children to school – are you really serious?

I don’t think so!

Do you really expect parents to allow you to take their scions to school, knowing how the majority of ZR and minibus drivers flout the laws of this country daily?

They are like the bad men in the cowboy movies – they take no prisoners. They dead stop in front of whatever vehicle is behind them – no matter if the road is wet or dry. They stop any and everywhere – and in the middle of the road. Then pull off just by pushing out their hand and not caring if the vehicle behind can stop or not. At one time they are racing each other to get to their destinations, at another they are dragging – not caring who is trying to get to/from work.

They are still not wearing the semi-uniform. The loud, dirty music can still be heard emanating from their vehicles.

I would suggest that you instill some discipline and manners into your drivers, and wait at least one year before you come up with such a preposterous idea. You say that those who do so would transport the “children with the highest integrity”, what about the highest discipline and being on their best behaviour?

About 10% of the persons who drive minibuses/ZRs adhere to the rules and regulations which are laid down in the statutes of Barbados, and one has no way of recognizing such drivers.

I say NO to that idea!

“Good order is the foundation of all things.”

41 responses to “PSVs Want School Transportation Service Privatized”

1. Such a stupid idea… Only an idiotic confused person would suggest such a thing…

2. Minister Lashley has loudly said NO!

3. It is also important to work with companies
    that can make and keep a same-day promise of service.
    Have a talk with your electrician as he may come up with a better idea.
    These microorganisms can cause various dangerous diseases.

4. This is an IMPORTANT point in the history of Barbados.

When we could reach the stage where ZR people could be making a serious offer to take over transportation of our children to and from school….. and we can get an IMMEDIATE response from a minister in a Government that has NOTHING to say about CAHILL, CLICO, layoffs, tax refunds, and multiple other pressing issues, THEN WE KNOW THAT ROCK BOTTOM IS NEAR.

Shiite man… next the Drug dealers will offer to manage Customs, the inmates will show how they can do a better job managing Dodds, and there will be water outages in the Pine causing the BWA staff to be sent home early….

But why the hell not??!!
    Wuh we already got some inmates from the mental running we Parliament…..

5. NO!!! A thousand times NO!!!
    I have been riding on ZR and Minibuses when I was last home. These drivers and conductors have no desire, inclination, and intention of adhering to ANY form of discipline. What example can they send to our children or even grand children. It is obvious that the example set by the government is biting in their pockets and they want to get at those funds. Toronto has recently followed the example set by Barbados, by now allowing children under the age of twelve to ride free on the public transportation.
    I repeat. NO!!!

6. What hypocrisy!

We hold PSV people accountable BUT years of Auditor General reports exposes graft and malfeasance in government yet we give those responsible a pass.

Go figure!

7. Thse PSV guys and dolls got to be DLP members.Afterall,the dead king say he introducing free bus rides for the schoolers to save them from reaching school unable to settle down and study reeling from the lotta dub shoite that yuh does hear from radios baybudus F’em.and the sinkliar say fellows did recruiting the gals on the minibuses for trafficking in overseas markets.If all this is true why the PSV’s now asking for the impossible.If I had my was these PSV muslims wud be kicked out of Buhbaydus back to calcutta.These people don’t mix wid the native bajan,why dem bout hey so?

8. Before this offer , my question is , what is the follow-up on the schoolgirl who lost her arm in the ZR incident?

9. Enough is Enough Avatar
    Enough is Enough

Disband the entire ZR system scrap it start all over. The criminality that engulfs the ZR sector is out of control with no agency not even the law enforcement agencies capable of pulling it back. Raphael who they say has a full time job as a security guard at BCC is the biggest clown around. Is he in government employ and owning ZRs? When he and Morris Lee are leaders of organizations as the old people say you are in ducks guts.

The ZR culture is the worst development in Barbados in a hundred years barring STD’s. There is nothing worthy about ZRs’. One may argue they move the poor and working class to and fro transporting them to work and so on but at what price. The widespread illegal acts of the terrifying conductors and drivers in on display day in day out. The swearing, the fighting, the drug use, the bad driving, the disrespect for the police for the public and the fear they bring to road users is the real price we pay for ZR transportation. There ought to be law to not only jail the operators of ZRs when they commit road offences the leaders of their organizations Raphael and Lee should be imprisoned with them. Bah humbug.

10. @Enough is Enough “The widespread illegal acts of the ….drivers on display day in day out. The swearing, the fighting, the drug use, the bad driving, the disrespect for the police for the public and the fear they bring to road users is the real price we pay for [vehicle] transportation. There ought to be law to not only jail the operators of [vehicles] when they commit road offences the leaders of their organizations… should be imprisoned with them.”

Does it still sound as smart as when you thought it? Or is illogic and injustice only okay when directed at ZR people?

11. I lost count of the number of times this blog has written on ‘ZR’s’. The behaviour of the operators is like a cancer. No amount of comment will change how those people operate. The police seems afraid to enforce the law. Just today I was in a line of vehicles at Black Rock roundabout, when the driver of a yellow bus saw a man on the opposite side of the road, walking from the roundabout, toward the petrol station. The driver held up all the traffic to wait for this gentleman. The car drivers behind in their vehicles began pressing their horns to arouse the conscience of the yellow bus driver. All he had to do was to pull over by the bus stop and wait. After he picked up his passenger, the bus driver passed the petrol station and stopped again for another fare. This type of behaviour can been witnessed on a daily basis.

12. If our school children continue to destroy the state-owned school buses, going private may be a given. Not today! Not tomorrow !

13. SuckaBubby October 9, 2015 at 6:45 PM #

Before this offer , my question is , what is the follow-up on the schoolgirl who lost her arm in the ZR incident?
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    This is Barbados. The answer is Sweet FA

14. @Gabriel October 9, 2015 at 3:06 PM “and the sinkliar say fellows did recruiting the gals on the minibuses for trafficking in overseas markets.”

The trafficking and prostitution of minors is a serious criminal offense.

If the Minister of Finance is aware of such trafficking has he made an official written report to the nearest police station?

If so what has been the police response?

15. The sector already transports thousands of school children and their parents every day.

The sector is badly organized.

The workers in the sector are badly trained or worse still not trained at all.

The method of paying the drivers and conductors IS THE UGLY, UGLY FACE OF CAPITALISM.

But the sector can be fixed.

The government MUST intervene. What is the point of having a government if the THE UGLY, UGLY FACE OF CAPITALISM is running things.

The government grants licenses so the government should not be held guiltless.

The government MUST TIE the granting of licenses to initial training and to ongoing training. No training. No license.

Would the government allow untrained drivers/pilots to fly commercial airplanes? I think not.

The government must use tax money to provide training. But the government must not act alone. he owners/employers must be made to pay for a portion of the training. No payment. No license. The drivers/conductors must pay for a portion of their training. No training. NO license.

16. @Gabriel October 9, 2015 at 3:06 PM “If I had my was these PSV muslims wud be kicked out of Buhbaydus back to calcutta.These people don’t mix wid the native bajan,why dem bout hey so?”

And when you discover that the “PSV Muslim” is a Bajan born and bred [and subject to Barbados law] what will you do then?

17. The Bajan identity and all that define it has become corrupted.

18. @ David
    “The Bajan identity and all that define it has become corrupted.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Debatable!
    It can be argued that “the Bajan identity and all that define it, has become exposed for the fraud and shiite that it always was…..”
    The chickens have finally come home to roost.

19. Check who they marry.They fly back to India,Pakistan and bring back their kind.I can call a name of one of their own who has been ostracized because he dared to marry a local black girl.He met with naked ethnicism.Next door in Trinidad now PM Rowley was pilloried in the press for wining on an Indian girl last carnival.Dem corrupt indian and pakis did a number.Let me get this straight for you.I am 100% against any form of discrimination whether european,indian,paki,or oriental.The japs are known to hate blacks yet blacks buy their toyotas,hondas etc.You go to Tdad or Guyana you find tatil vehicles because they are indian made.I am against all that.You are really simple

20. @ Gabriel
    “You are really simple”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    …but at least she acknowledges her childish simplicity.
    Life is complex, and 1 plus 1 does not always add to 2.

21. @ Colonel Buggy October 9, 2015 at 11:26 PM
    “….The answer is Sweet FA”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    Not exactly!

They built a series of massive road bumps along Nursery Drive….
    This will ensure that any such future incidents will be restricted to the other 99.999% of the roads in Barbados.
    You COULD not make this shiite up!!!

22. I am of the opinion that the sector can be worked with. I have seen a growing number of vehicles and drivers who display none of these behaviours for which the sector has been known. It is getting better. We must encourage the change. Really they are no different from many drivers and pedestrians I see using our streets. Most of them are insensitive to the rights of others. Once I actually called the police station to see if the rules of overtaking had changed. It seemed to me that on arriving at an obstruction on their side of the road the position taken was if I reach first I overtake. No consideration was given as to whether the manoeuvre could be completed before the arrival of the oncoming traffic which was forced to dead stop to avoid collision. Pedestrians walk across the roads of Bridgetown as though the cars are the ones who will die. They more or less dare you to hit them some vocally and tell you what they would do. It is not a ZR or minibus thing. It is a BARBADIAN thing.

23. Government should bring back those buses that had the hard seats and use those for a dedicated bus service only. Everytime school starts back you get problems getting a bus. If the children from a particular school destroys or deface that bus, I would send back that same bus to the same school until the school term ends. Then get it fixed during the vacation.

24. Donna October 10, 2015 at 9:19 AM #

It is not a ZR or minibus thing. It is a BARBADIAN thing. It is a BARBADIAN thing.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And moreso the authorities who fail to bring the wayard ones under proper control. We have the Ministry of Transport and Works, or should I say the Minister. We have Traffic Inspectors ,and an entity called the Transport Authority, all of whom appear to be like the old plantation bull dog. Bark loud and long, and has no teeth.

25. Gabriel October 9, 2015 at 3:06 PM #

……..If I had my way these PSV muslims wud be kicked out of Buhbaydus back to calcutta.These people don’t mix wid the native bajan,why dem bout hey so?.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    And in 5 or 6 years time ,delete (using the pen ,not the sword) Muslins and insert Chinese. Delete Calcutta /Kolkata and insert Beijing.

26. The same way that the Defence Force/Barbados Regiment has successfully instituted the Cadet Force in secondary schools all across Barbados, the Royal Barbados Police Force should be running a similar programme for Police Cadets, with the emphasis ,not on things military, but those which pertains to policing.
    These Police Cadets could be used to maintain law and order on the school buses, school premises,and most of all provide the RBPF with a pool of trained persons to fill its increasingly hard to replenish ranks, when required.
    I’ve seen school kids in Germany given the authority to direct traffic and pedestrians on the main road outside of schools.

27. @Bush Tea October 10, 2015 at 8:13 AM “1 plus 1 does not always add to 2.”

Bush Tea ya poppit : 1+1 ALWAYS = 2

Sorry David the blogmaster. I know that I should not cuss the other bloggers.

28. @Gabriel October 10, 2015 at 7:56 AM “Check who they marry.They fly back to India,Pakistan and bring back their kind.”

Dear Gabriel and Busah Tea: I am sure that both of you chose your own spouses. And yet it offends you that other people exercise the same choice.

Why?

In any event I don’t think that black Bajan women are lining up to marry Bajan “Indian” Muslim men.

And if black Bajan women were chosing to marry Bajan “Indian” Muslim men I am sure that you would find reason to be offended too.

29. We black Bajans are in the majority.

We make the laws.

It is our duty to enforce the laws.

If we neglect to enforce the laws.

There is no point in blaming other people.

We must stop pretending that we are victims.

30. @Gabriel October 10, 2015 at 7:56 AM “Check who they marry.”

Bajan men [and women] enuff went to Panama, and Cuba, and the United States, and the United Kingdom, and Canada and then sent for their girlfriend or boyfriend back home and we all thought that that was a good thing.

Why is it a bad thing when other people do it?

31. @Gabriel October 10, 2015 at 7:56 AM “Check who they marry.”

Most people tend to marry within their race/religion/cultural group. That is NORMAL human behaviour.

I bet that we can find any number of black Bajan Jehovah’s Witness men who would not marry a Muslim woman, or an Anglican one, or a Pentecostal one etc..

32. @Gabriel October 10, 2015 at 7:56 AM “pakis did a number.Let me get this straight for you.I am 100% against any form of discrimination whether european,indian,paki,or oriental.The japs…”

“I am 100% against any form of discrimination” If you are then why are you using terms which are widely regarded as ethnic slurs to describe other people, terms such as “japs” and “pakis”

33. @ Simple Simon
    Bush Tea ya poppit : 1+1 ALWAYS = 2
    When you overcome your simplicity you will find out who exactly is a poppit…!!!!

hint:
    In binary, there is not even a ‘2’ … so 1 + 1 have to be something else… like ’10’
    🙂

34. I am as a little child.

35. @ Simple
    I am as a little child.
    ++++++++++++++++
    No you are not. Children are SPECIAL.
    Children ask questions, seek answers, and are open to different perspectives.
    They tend to understand that life is MUCH more complex than Sesame Street seeks to portray…..So children rarely make dogmatic statements on matters that they don’t fully understand.

Gabriel may be harsh in his prognosis, but both history and current realities will prove him to be devastatingly right in his pronouncement that people who call themselves BAJAN (or any other nationality) should be prepared to EMBRACE that culture as it is …and THEN maybe seek to influence change from within….. rather than seek to impose THEIR foreign habits.

Keep your eyes on Europe…especially Germany.
    Remember that the Germans commences the last World war by picking on the Jews who were seeking to bring Jerusalem to Munich.
    Now we have the muslims seeking to being their culture and way of life to Dresden……

36. @Bush Tea

Wasn’t it interesting to listen to Dr.Akintalove Corbin make the statement on Sunday that there is a place for Bajan companies in the Barbados landscape? Interesting!

37. @Gabriel October 10, 2015 at 7:56 AM “Check who they marry.They fly back to India,Pakistan and bring back their kind.”

I ask Bush Tea and Gabriel again why does it offend you that people (especially wunna men lol!!!!) have the right to chose their own spouse.

38. @Bush Tea October 13, 2015 at 7:02 AM “the Jews who were seeking to bring Jerusalem to Munich.”

If that is your understanding of the second world war and the Holocaust then I do not even know where to begin educating you.

39. Dear Bush Tea:

And Hitler and the Germans were planning to reintroduce slavery for black people.

Do you believe that was because we black people tried to bring Africa, the Caribbean and the Americas to Munich?

To quote David the blogmaster: “thine ignorance knows no bounds”

40. And even so what is so precious about Munich anyhow or about Bridgetown?

Barbados used to be a mainly Arawak place, then a Carib place, then a white/European one, then an black/African place.

And according to some calypsoes and some of the bloggers here on BU it may well become a Muslim place or a Chinese place (if such people become the demographic or economic majority)

41. well … you DID say that you were childish…