Where there is smoke there is bound to be fire. What we have here is a group of elected officials who have betrayed the trust of the people. What the Cahill Scam has exposed also is the inadequacy of our governance system. Unravelling is this government’s equivalent to 3S Barbados SRL. The more things change the more they remain the same.

190 responses to “Cahill Energy Barbados Scam EXPOSED, AGAIN!”

1. ac
    the folks are saying that Clare Cowen has turned out to be one very, very vindictive little wench. she has vowed to have her revenge against lowe, boyce, sincere, tempo and bjarkhamn. lowe is reported to be sick with worry and she has made threats.

2. The PM wants to help his pal lowe but this Cahill matter is like quicksand, better just to stay clare(ish)

3. “Did you know that COW and Bizzy control the majority of all construction activity in Barbados?”
    Err…….. I thought it was Jada:
    – Jada Construction
    – Jada Builders
    – Jada Equipment
    – Infra
    – Sigma Construction
    – Millworks”

@ St. Georges Dragon,

But what you got against competition? Are you a COW-boy? Man look, ALL OF THEM is bad,yuh hear? In fact, it’s the lesser of two evils. Whoever projects bringing foreign exchange into Barbados, and creating jobs for Bajans, well, we goin’ wit (and we travelling wit our bad grammar/spelling 2!).

4. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Dodds in not one-tenth of the scandal Greenland is.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Help to understand something here. We got three dominant presentations of the Cahill Cowan fiasco. One of them has 945 comments. The other two that provides documentation to the reasons why this agreement was top secret, reveal pissy lying ministers hands deep in Cahill from a corrupt angle. I thought revelations like these would have already received comments surpassing 945. What the shite happening here? Alvin the Cunt Alvins, I like I will have to believe whatever shite you write from now on. Jesus H Christ, we need something like FIFA investigators where the commentary on that up in a few thousands and climbing. chuuuupse

6. @SSS

What more can commenters say except that we want transparency in the matter. In fact some commenters in their ignorance are already thinking (in their ignorance) BU is focusing too much on the Cahill issue without realizing like many other issues it is about a flawed governance system.

7. @ David
    That said….
    …as a draughts player of some note, ( 🙂 ) you must be cautious that the DLP players are not giving us the Cahill king-man to ‘eat’, while planning to hide the CLICO common-man in a corner and hoping to count down for a ‘draw’ (at pension time)….

The battle must be intense on BOTH fronts….

BTW
    How much longer before they hit the pension ‘jackpot’?

8. Even in 2002 Cowan was proven in print to be lying to make herself look good.

The article below was published April 17, 2002 about another one of her shell / dummy companies.

Are our Ministers that daft that they wouldn’t google her to find out what she is all about or are they just as greedy and decietful as she is?

Venture Exchange Network signs up heavy hitters
    Howard Solomon
    Howard Solomon @itbusinessca
    Published: April 17th, 2002

A Toronto-based venture capital exchange which says it has big buck venture companies ready to invest says it’s finally open for business.

However one of the Canadian venture firms which is supposed to be associated with the operation says it knows nothing about it.

The Venture Exchange Network, a partnership between a private Toronto company and KPMG LLP, said in news releases this week that it has signed up some of the biggest VC names in North America and is now receiving business plans.

“”Our goal is to be the true venture capital exchange and the only exchange for private equity,”” exchange CEO Clare Cowan said Wednesday.

The exchange says that for US$825 an entrepreneur can file a business plan that will be screened with the help of KPMG. If it fits the criteria of the exchange’s venture capital members the plan will be forwarded to them for consideration.

In a news release April 15 with a Toronto placeline, the company says Montreal’s CDP Sofinov, one of the biggest venture firms in Canada is one of those members.

However, a spokesman for the financial giant who saw the release is baffled.

“”I even talked to Denis Dionne, who’s the president of CDP Sofinov and that doesn’t ring a bell to him,”” said Lucie Freniere of the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDP). Sofinov is the Quebec company’s venture arm.

“”Either it’s a mistake or… No one knows what Venture Exchange Network is or why our name is there.””

In reply, John Kozak, the exchange’s COO said it dealt with Fredrick Bezon of Sofinov, whose title he didn’t know. At press time Sofinov had closed and couldn’t be reached for comment.

Kozak said it was possible, but unlikely, Dionne wouldn’t know about the exchange membership. Vencaps have to fill out an extensive on-line application and be vetted by the exchange, he said.

The Toronto news release lists other Canadian venture companies as members. Neither they nor Sofinov are listed in a press release with a New York placeline on the exchange’s Web site, though it lists a number of big name American members.

Cowan is the majority owner of Goldcare Indutiae Inc. of Toronto, which owns the exchange and is funded from private North American and European investors.

None are members of venture capital companies.

The exchange is similar to others such as Toronto’s VentureDrive, which say they can link entrepreneurs to investors.

The Venture Exchange was originally named VenturePie and a press release was sent to the media in March, 2001 describing its operations and inviting entrepreneurs to search for compatible investors. Later a Web site with the name VenturePie.com was set up. Cowan, however, said that release was only sent out to test media reaction to the idea.

Cowan said a Linux-powered software engine that uses algorithms created by KMPG calculates whether business plans, which are submitted online, meet up to 100 criteria set by VCs. Since February, 225 business plans have been submitted and 40 accepted by the exchange, she said. Of those 15 are being evaluated by VCs.

SOUNDS LIKE ANOTHER CROCK OF SHIITE TO ME

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

My dear SSS

Patience, Rome was not built in a day.

Let me use this as an example.

Say I wanted to court you, with the ultimate goal that we menses have for you beauteous creatures, de ole man could not jes come by you house an pic you up (like a billy goat) and as soon as you get in me Austin Cambridge (with it plush leather seats) start to maul you.

Yes dear dat Austin Cambridge was de dream car de ole man had was did to drive befo’ Mr. Knight and he peeples tek way de ole man licence to “kill” sorry tuh drive but dem say dat I gine soon kill somebody wid me depleted eyesight.

Now I was going tek you out pun a date and we wudda had dinner and wine and den a little outing to a Liberty and some three step (yess yess yes I is a ole man, I ent know bout Aftah Dark nor Mr. Blu) and den some Brook Benton and some closer dancing.

But I did not was gine maul you pun de floor like dese Kadooment Billy Goats

After a few evenings out and days pun walking un de beach, watching de sunlight glistening through the perspiration pun you creamy skin, telling you sweet nuffings, (euphemisms fuh de lies we mens does tell) we may have kissed and who knows

Anyways befo I get carry way and start saying tings dat gine get me censored I sure dat you unnerstan de pint de ole man

BU is much like that courtship “a gently exploration to boldly go where no man have go befo’…” slowly, inexorably towards that consumation”

To unnerstand whu de ole man saying observe the likes

Much like the comments steadily peaking at 1,000 en ting, whereas you would get one or two likes, now you getting 15 and more.

So I want you to be patient my darling, de race is not fuh de swift but …

By de way, de ole man jes wanted to know effing you was gine to get in me Austin Cambridge if I did had cum fuh you??

10. Further more the cloak of confidentiality is protected and govern under the guidelines that governs ethics and accountabilty in journalism unlike social media whose practices are guided by popular opinion and ethics and accountability is never challenged or expected.

11. @David,
    A careful reading of the documents posted on BU seems to indicate that the accusations against Cahill are just accusations. The deal seems to be above board. Show me where I am wrong. No negative nabobery( interesting word) or political incorrectness. Just the facts.

12. @Whistle Blower October 9, 2015 at 11:54 AM

I saw that article too, and had intended to post it. So thanks.

I extensively searched (Googled) MECC, Goldcare and Venture Exchange Network; but could not find one item siting any deals done by them.

Just spin like this 2003 bit:

“Cowan notes that traditional venture capital investors are concentrating on investment opportunities in the Western hemisphere, especially in today’s risk averse market. The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development confirms this trend, noting that total Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) dropped more than 50 percent in 2001. In addition, between 1994 and 2000, developing nations’ share of total FDI decreased from 41 percent to 19 percent.

“When any nation loses three-quarters of its annual FDI, it’s a crisis. For developing nations, it’s a disaster,” said Cowan. “We are seeking to reverse that trend by tearing down the barriers for venture capital investments into developing countries. The underlying principle remains that only profitable activity will attract venture capital investment in developing nations. Success will be predicated upon private sector participants realizing positive returns from their investments.”

So in 2003 Clare Cowan was tearing down the barriers for venture capital investments into developing countries via her company Venture Exchange Network.

In 2013 she zeroed in on Barbados via Cahill. In 2014 she got the Four Ministers to sign agreements which would guarantee profitable activity for Cahill; and in 2015 is trying to attract venture capital investment to fund a WTE PG project, of which Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Christopher Sinckler, on March 15, 2014, said : “This investment by Cahill Energy represents a ‘game changer’ for the island and truly belies any doubt that Barbados is still a preferred destination for solid and impactful foreign direct investment.”

So she had many years of experience trying to sell the FDI story (apparently without success) when 7th Heaven introduced her to what she thought was her 7th Heaven, the Four Ministers.

Unfortunately for MECC it is turning out to be her Hell. and she is getting kicked out of her condo.

You really could not make this up.

13. She is not going down without detonating her bombs. The scorned and each and everyone of those rogues know full well she intends to exposed them, right down to the emails and tracing routes.

14. @David,
    Didn’t I warn you folk that there were many other players in this business? Didn’t I warn you that they were out to kill B’s Recycling? Didn’t I ask who was behind, and or funding the Future Centre Truat? No answers. Just wait there is more to come.

15. @Alvin

Didn’t BU ask you to advise which email address you purportedly sent a letter?

Put up or shut up!

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

The SSS would get in your Austin juga juga. What happens next will not be my fault but yours.

My response to what you wrote is this;

I cannot exercise patient with criminals. The longer you wait the more they plot and plan. I want to see the backs of these people and a news article stating ” Lock Up for Lowe, Stuart, SInckler, Boyce et el. Do you know how much this shite has vexed my spirit. You think it makes me feel good when those in firm want to know what is happening to Barbados and I am marketing my island as a nice little place to take a vacation. The SSS is no liar or no pretender. I have to tell them that we have a few men that made some bad decisions but the island is still beautiful. Stupse.

@the cunt Alvin Cummins

You see what I told you all about this shitey wannabe. See how he tries to elevate is statute to make one feel he predicts this or predict that. He is also such a mean bitch that he makes no reference to what the articles exposes about the ministers and their lies but zooms in on Cahill along. I really do not know why this shite do not seek to win souls for his Dark Lord.

17. Lord Wenlock October 7, 2015 at 8:57 PM #

……. she has vowed to have her revenge against lowe, boyce, sincere, tempo and bjarkhamn. lowe is reported to be sick with worry and she has made threat
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    She has my vote as a National Hero, if she is able to send these bastards,and their cronies into convulsions and heart attacks.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

THe one who makes my blood boil is the cunt we have a prime minister. Pretends to be so ever intelligent and full with big words but a real dumb asss

19. @whistle blower
    It’s intriguing that the London law firm TW didn’t uncover all this stuff on the Cowan scammer ??? There are rules of engagement for these law firms
    They either didn’t do their homework or the chose to ignore the risks
    Their PI insurance policy has to be at risk
    For duplicity or unprofessional conduct.
    The law society would also be intrigued on how they managed this crazy scammer.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy

You is something else “she has my vote as a national hero….into convulsions and heart attacks”

De ole man does tell people “doan watch whu Dem say, watch whu Dem do..”

A Brother Shredder and personal laptops

The second item is obvious even DEnnis Kelman got one uh dem so you business deals ent pun de guvment cuntputer

But de recent ordering uh de first one, de Shredder, fuh Sincere Stinkliar is evidence dat Dem is “hedging” jes in case BlackLips Downlowe doan mek it, Dem gine shred all de files dat gine incriminate Dem donkey

21. @Alvin Cummins, is your skillso thick and your brain so warped that you still asking the stupid question” Who funds the Future Centre Trust?” If I tell you the BLP and Anderson Cherry would stop with your partisan defence of folly?

22. @Alvin Cummins, you need to tell the readers which minister went with Cahill Energy Barbados to Capitol Financial Corporation in Miami?

You need to speak to who within Barbados already gained on the Cahill Energy deal and who was promised compensation once the deal goes thru?

Speak about the allegations of corruption under the BLP and DLP and the need for better governance if you want to be true to your conscience. Perhaps, you can push the need for ITAL and FOIA.

Tell the country how Bs Recycling had to do an EIA costing nearly $350,000 in an area designated for Environmental businesses while GOB doing the EIA for Cahill. Mr Cummins, the bank wrote BsRecycling and said not a cent unless the GOB can give a written undertaking Cahill is off the radar.

Alvin Cummins, you are just another selfish partisan only interested in supporting a party to maintain social invites irrespective of if it means persons going to the gas chambers. Can you for once have a conscience?

Persons voted for change after the arrogance and lack of transparency under the BLP only to experience a GOB which is totally dismissive.

Cahill, 3S, GEMS, HRL and many road work projects since independence all put monies in the pockets of a few entrepreneurs at the expense of Barbados…. No need to wonder how we get here for the people of Barbados were robbed.

@ Caswell Franklyn, If ever a need exist for a new political dispensation the time is now…. for the undermentioned have the financial resources to field candidates

BARP
    Hoteliers
    BCCI
    Credit Unions
    Farmers
    Insurance Companies

23. A third party will be party that comes third in the general election. It is pointless, its not going to happen and certain is NOT going to happen with a period of two years to elections.

24. Willie,

Maybe, just maybe, you underestimate the level of contempt for both of these parties in Barbados. Really it’s only the few yardfowls and relics from better times who still believe. Most people I speak to say they aren’t voting again. There is about as much interest and belief in voting right now as there is in the West Indies test team. Just mention the WI team, the BLP or the DLP and you are likely to hear one big steupse. A new entrant in the field might just liven things up.

25. @Donna

The number of Barbadians NOT voting has been decreasing. There is an indicator for you.

26. David,

That was last time when we were stupid.

27. low voter turn out the dlp looses

28. As a young person born in the 80s I never want to see the dlp in power again, poor fiscal management and great disregard for the electorate, this project is very different our health is on the line not just money our health, all political parties will do bad things power corrupts, but at least under the last government the climate for development was better, when people say they would never vote again they are usually dlp supporters and that perspective makes me sad. Accept that you voted for liars and fools and you yourself was a fool to swallow the hog wash and show them how you feel about it. I am no blp supporter but life in Barbados was way better, I will take back the last Government at their worse in a heart beat.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Donna

You might be on to something but how much does the ”majority of people you speak to” represents what percentage of the voting population. I asked that because a number of my peeps plus their peeps plan to spoil their votes or do not vote at all. I told them to vote even if they vote independents or BLP. They are longing for the formation of a third party, like me, to cast that important X. I say vote even if you want to get these conniving bitches out of government. I prefer to put the other conniving bitches back in power just to see the backs of these stinking bitches. At least with the Bees Barbados is not so bad off even when they steal and get on like dey mek their asses.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Cammie Holder

I think you are the one with the hard head trying to reason with this compromise pretensive shite. I am sure you got better things to do then to respond to this mek believer. Next time you are in Sugar Point restaurant with your big up looking friends eating lunch, stop staring at me and come over and say hello. I do not bite. Oh yeah it was last year during buffet period in case you forget.

31. @Sunshine Sunny Shine, you sure it was me? I have a lot of patience,for we must not allow those who benefit from corruption or poor governance to deter us from sharing our concerns. The constant lament by those who constantly say a third party will not work is a deliberate ploy in mind control.. for what you hear often enough becomes embedded in your subconscious.

The BLP and DLP politicians have all manipulated the minds of the people and provided much comedic entertainment to wing their way into parliament. It’s time enough Bajans stop being fooled by the superficial hot air of electioneering candidates.

3S, Dodds, Hardwood and many other capital work project since independence like Cahill never had the scrutiny of a contractor general or facilitated the input from civil society thru participatory budgeting. Better can be done and must be done.

All it will take is 60 strong independent to throw themselves in the elections with at least six with the financial means to launch a well orchestrated meaningful campaign. Noise, confusion and 6 seats is all that’s needed for many ways exist to skin a stubborn cat…

There is no other motivation as great to be told something cannot be done!

32. Time is of essence. Without opposing views the quest for change would be devoid of momentum. Thus lets us respect the opinions and challenges of diverse opinions without going to the gutter.

The Cahill money grab presents Barbados and voters an opportunity to demand real change and create better governance thru advocacy.

33. Amazing. Someone with an utterly bizarre fixation about “social invites” uses the same expression in a sentence about gas chambers.

34. @Kofi Cuppe, stop being a coward using anonymity to fire shots. If you stand for something you should be man enough to argue you point without fear.. Thanks for telling me of the bizarre fixation Peter. Have not seen you and Darcy at dinner recently!

35. @Kammie,

Still want to know who is funding the Future Centre Trust. Can’t say? Thought all of you are interested in transparency? Still have not given us the bone fides of the goodly Professor. I AM PATIENTLY WAITING.

36. @Random,
    If you were born in the 80’s that makes you at least in the vicinity of your thirties. Of this since the DLP erer elected in the last ten to twelve years, you are only familiar with the BLP administration’s governance, and the DLP governance during the “rough” years. Learn more of your local history, and wheel and come again.

@Kammie,
    I am surprised and disappointed that a man like you would equate a Plasma Gasification WTE facility, with “Gas Chambers.” Do you know anything about the gas chambers, that you are obviously referring to? Do you know anything about the second world war, and the context in which the gas chambers were used? Surely you can’t be so ignorant.
    And in your reference to the funding of the Future Centre Trust, you did not say who was funding it. You answered,”If I said…” Answer the question directly.

37. @Kammie,
    By the way, I don’t need social invites. I am independent. As I have said before I don’t rice at anybody. I have acquaintances in all spheres of life. I can dine at the Hilton, or sit on the floor of the poorest person and enjoy a meal. Despite what SSS says I am not a pretender. What you see is what you get.

38. alvin dont pay Kammie no mind his comment shows desperation/.with all the fire power he has garnished via social media against the WTE he has now resorted to being a twistorian

39. @ Alvin
    “……I am not a pretender. What you see is what you get.”
    Don’t put yourself down like that Alvin…. shiite man!!
    you can’t be THAT bad…. 🙂