Denis Kellman M.P., Minister of Housing
Denis Kellman M.P. Minister of Housing

The following letter is a reply by Minster of Housing Denis Kellman to a Barbadian who exercised her right under the Constitution of Barbados. We have always found Kellman to be approachable – as all ministers of government should be. That said, one must question […]

Minister of Housing Denis Kellman responds to Claire Worme
Denis Kellman responds to Claire Worme (2)

98 responses to “Minister Denis Kellman’s Reply”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What an exchange between David and Dennis Kellman. Years in the spot light have made Dennis Kellman believe that he is the evening and morning star. That his writing is at a higher level than all and that his logic cannot be challenged. Sounds everything like Alvin Cummins and the AC brigade. If he can be a politician and be so deaf and ignorant to the nonsense that he and his party are doing than I am convinced more than ever that these people are oblivious to wrong because it’s all right in their eyes. No wonder why this shite would castigate BU. Dennis Kellman, I am sorry to say this, but you are a real shite indeed. All this nonsense about doing what is right for Barbados is bare smoke and guns. You are a mere simpleton in a minister’s chair and because you are part of the decision-making process and an obvious party political puppet being pulled by strings, I can understand why the Cahill deal to you is the sweetest thing since lead pipes. May God help your ass on a fast track out of government power. You are dangerous and a puppet pretender.

2. David,

You must have left out something again because his replies this time are even more disjointed than the letter! What the heck is he trying to say?

3. Dennis Kellman has always and will always be an IDIOT since he does not have a clue as to who he really is,his abilities,or for that matter inabilities,his intellectual capacity, nothing he is just downright stupid and surely reduces the level of Minister to the gutter. The entire gang from top to bottom like Todd,Blackett,Ince,Husbands ,Maxine,Garner Sandiford, Kellman, Adriel Breathwaite,the lady in labour. Have you all realize that this entire group does not have the ability that a single effective,caring resourceful,highly intellectual Minister should have . They are a bunch of total idiots just waiting for the electorate to fire them as they seem too ashamed to do it to themselves .
    Barbados will never and can never progress under this group as I almost said leadership but I mean the excuse for leadership that are now suppose to lead this country.
    Freundel as an old English teacher should correct Kellman paper and give him the 5 marks it deserves and then dismiss him.
    Well sorry cause we know Freundel has no power to dismiss anyone and he has to tow the line poor fellow. May God bless them cause you can’t reall wish anything more…
    Kellman actually thinks he has sense, that he makes sense and that people really listen to him….in short Kellman is a Cxdt…..

4. Gabriel October 2, 2015 at 9:14 PM #

Can we see Claire’s letter?I can’t follow the Ministers’s trend of thought.What is the reference to ships and planes?How does he GAIN opportunity costs?What is it about THE windmills in Kenya?

Gabriel – shame on you man ascribing to Mr Kellman ‘trend of thought’ If I lived in St Lucy or were a DLP supporter I would be quite embarrassed to be honest to learn that my representative could seriously sign his name to that incoherent mumbo jumbo and awaiting a reply too. The poor lady must be in stiches and scratching her head to find out where the letter starts or ends.

5. To say Kellman is incoherent is an understatement you wonder if the guy understands himself. He is the original ‘I man”. Rastas have nothing on Kellman with his’ I do this I did that.’
    BU why dont you put up a list similar to thieving lawyers in the news. A ‘The most’ lineup for example;
    Kellman the most incoherent politician. Carrington and Hats Payne the most disliked. Kerry Simmons the most fake. Mia the most egotist. Estwick the most unpredictable. Santia the most youngest. Hinckson the most tied tongue. Owen Arthur the most shortest. Fruendel the most quiet. Inniss the most talkative. Stephen Lashley the most Napoleon.You get the drift. Who is the dumbest politican? Kellman is already spoken for as the most incoherent. Start the listing BU.

6. “David October 3, 2015 at 6:08 AM #

The opportunity cost minister Kellman referred probably has to do with the savings in forex and being able to redirect the savings to grow the economy”
    you are treading on dangerous ground. Please do not try to explain the unexplainable. Notice that even AC is steering clear of Mr Kellman’s nonsense. You should too.

7. “When kellman says he concentrating on “gasification” is he suggesting that the government is considering a change from “plasma gasification” which is what is contracted for”

After reading Mr Kellman’s letter I am convinced that Mr Kellman believes that ‘gasification’ is synonymous with someone ‘passing wind’ in other words pooping or farting.

8. Denis could really shut up do.

9. That said Denis is a good CP boy from the days when CP as firing on all cylinders. The same CP that produced Rufus Brome, Calvin Springer, Owen Arthur etc.

From where I sit I’ve seen bright people, doctors, business people, engineers especially lollll!!! (but still I love my engineers) who are excellent at what they do but who consistently mangle the English language.

It is as though the language section of their brains has been set incorrectly.

So I beg wunna please don’t be to hard on Denis.

10. @simple Simon
    I looked at the brains wiring diagram of the politician and you are correct.The connection to language is open circuit and there’s a direct feed to the lieing / cheating connector which diverts most normal brain function to the utterance of bullshit and reteric .

11. Wait…… duh got AC, Douglas, Fractured BLP, NationBLPNewspaper, Waiting (Togetherness, et al), Bajan Fuh Life, Dompey, AND NOW Dennis Kellman writing nuff shiite pun BU????
    Seems as though the DLP has a special school to teach their members and supporters, since they all regurgitate the same shiite from the same script.

Kellman compared BU to the moderators on “Brass Tacks.” Perhaps he loved “Brass Tacks” much better when his word was made gospel when individuals such Maxine McClean, Maureen Holder, Harcourt Husbands, Tony Marshall, Akintoolove Corbin and Ralph Jemmott were the moderators and DLP sympathizers.

He also talks about patriotism. Patriotism not only manifests itself in WORDS but DEEDS as well. Kellman needs to treat his employees a bit more humane before he thinks about uttering the word patriotism.

12. Say what you will, Kellman is the longest serving member of parliament, decode that!

13. And to besides,Kellman was made a minister not because of any special talent but because he was the longest serving member of the DLP in the House.Taxpayers must put up with this semi brain-damaged, physically challenged shorty shopkeeper gaffer.

14. IMHO every member of the govt is deserving of “A DAY” on BU that is what keep their popularity growing and in themselves in spotlight.
    When last anyone heard about Santia Bradshaw or any other minister of the BLP for whatever causes done,i am hard press to remember or think of any of the Blp ministers name unless there is a bruha within the party , Ask me their names personally i have to go on the BLP website to remember them
    The fact that the DLP ministers are frequently mentioned here on BU ac does not frowned upon but adheres to the policy that better to have publicly than no publicity ,
    BU IMHO keep up the good work.

15. @ David/ Bu
    Longest serving DLP member

16. As anyone can see, David is a “friend” on Kellman’s face book page. Judging from Kellman’s response, he did not take it too kindly that David posted this article and the subsequent “licks” he has received so far as a result.

David is now trying to “back pedal” by writing such as “Say what you will, Kellman is the longest serving member of parliament, decode that!” in an attempt to appease Kellman.

So what if Kellman is the longest serving member of parliament? What David (and Kellman) should have us “decode” is a list of what he has been able to achieve on behalf of his constituents during this time.

17. @Artax

You missed the boat by a wide margin based on your last comment. The reference to Kellman’s length of service in parliament is meant to show he has the support of the people. In effect you et al are saying the people elected an idiot.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Count me in the et al group

19. @CF
    The question is will you make the same mistake again????

20. I live and am registered to vote in St. James South. I played no part in that colossal mistake

21. LOL
    You were part of a DIFFERENT mistake …ent it?

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

So true Bushie, so true

23. Bushie,

What are we to do when two idiots are running?

24. I am not aware of the nom de plume of various politicians; but let me congratulate both Dennis and David on their exchange.

In this time, when politicians are silent on most issues, it is good to see one venturing from the nuclear shelter and actively exchanging ideas with others.

As Observers, we have to extract the essence of the arguments and ignore obvious flaws, Ridicule tends to silence rather than encourage dialogue.

25. Good job David. Any other approach would have terminated the conversation.

26. Enuff DK bashing.

Why is he the longest serving MP?
    Is he delivering for his constituents?
    As a citizen I would prefer having a person who delivers on his promises than the most eloquent of politicians who fails to deliver. In this case BU contributors are using the wrong yardstick.

Barbados is a very small island, so there is not this marked distinction between st Lucy and the other constituencies, It might be self serving to consider yourselves as superior to the people of st Lucy, but your truth and reality may be quite different.

27. @The Observer October 4, 2015 at 1:44 PM #

Let’s go with you trend of though and give the minister a pass for not expressing him in a coherent manner.
    How do you explain his non-scientific belief of the plant being good for the island’s water supply?

28. With the recent discovery of some 20,000 marijauna plants,and counting , in the parish of St John , perhaps we can now understand the smoke stack/ chimney part of the design of the Polyclinic. With more marijauna plants than sugar canes in this parish, this could be the new all purpose factory they been telling us about. A most fitting name for it would be Pot House.
    http://i.imgur.com/zCLJ9hu.jpg?1

29. @Bajan in NY
    From Bajan in NJ
    I am not an authority on the many pronouncements of the minister.

However, a case like this is easy to decide, Array your experts against those from the minister; throw the information into the ring and let the readers decide.

To debate his position or your position without having the facts is an exercise that is not profitable to any of the parties.

30. @ Gabriel October 4, 2015 at 7:41 AM #

And to besides,Kellman was made a minister not because of any special talent but because he was the longest serving member of the DLP in the House.Taxpayers must put up with this semi brain-damaged, physically challenged shorty shopkeeper gaffer.
    ………………………..

After the 2008 election and David Thompson announced his cabinet omitting Kellman, I asked a hardcore DLP friend of mine why was Kellman not given a ministry……he told me……………”ministry what…..when Kellman learn to behave himself he will get something.” To tell the truth, so much had gone on in the DLP, I had forgotten that he and David Thompson were enemies.

So Kellman was never going to get a ministry under Thompson. But good luck for Kellman, the grim reaper came for his arch enemy. Well you know on the morning of Thompson’s death, the DLP MP’s had to vote for a leader……. we all knew that Thompson thought the DLP was his and so he “willed” it to Stinkliar. A vote had to be taken and it is alleged that after the second round of voting, he told Freundel ………….if I vote for you, I want a ministry!

Amazing how we ended up with Kellman as a minister………the loweman got sick and a door was opened!

31. Colonel Buggy

The design of this polyclinic is just as ugly as the Eagle Hall market built by the BLP…….one of the ugliest structures on this island.

32. islandgal October 2, 2015 at 10:11 PM #
    “You know I got real dizzy reading this letter.”

I have not written here in a long long time. This article had me dizzy as well and when I read Islandgal I just rocked in peels of laughter and said ‘so true.’

I was dizzy. I felt like I was in Kenya between the windmills and turbines that were not explained and still don’t get the relevance. There is the info that MP Denis went to Kenya.

Others tried to explain and asked for Claire’s letter which I also thought could have been posted for clarity. However from the dialogue with David I wondered if it would make a difference reading Claire’s letter. So I just respect the fact that he actually replied.

I am delighted that I know that there are various mental challenges and that the Psychologists have a week of activity, and that we need to know when it is time for therapy physical and/or mental.

Islandgal thanks for the therapy, “a good laugh worketh good as a medicine.”

33. @Donna October 4, 2015 at 12:47 PM “What are we to do when two idiots are running?”

Offer your sensible self as a candidate.

34. @Prodigal Son October 4, 2015 at 4:18 PM “Well you know on the morning of Thompson’s death, the DLP MP’s had to vote for a leader……. we all knew that Thompson thought the DLP was his and so he “willed” it to Stinkliar. A vote had to be taken and it is alleged that after the second round of voting, he told Freundel ………….if I vote for you, I want a ministry!”

A skillful bit of negotiating I say.

35. The Government via the Barbados Water Authority and the Ministry of Transport and Works continue to put the lives of many road users in this country at risk. We heard recently that much, if not all, of MTW’s trucks and equipment are out of service, awaiting spares.Therefore the many potholes, and the excavations made mainly by the BWA maintenance crews , cannot be safely reinstated,and as a result we have seen many excavations made by the BWA all across the island , being filled in with the same mud and dirt, and sometimes old and dirty traffic cones , jucked in the middle of the highway “grave’, right in the face of traveling motorists,seems to be adequate.
    I thought that BWA,especially ,would have learned from its mistakes, when some years ago, it left a similar exacavation on Maxwell Main Road,which cost a young Light and Power employee, Mr Thorne , his life while trying to avoid this obstruction one night.

http://i.imgur.com/yAC9NXx.jpg?1

36. What was funny is to listen to the news release from Transport blaming Drainage. You can’t make this stuff up!

37. “Islandgal thanks for the therapy, “a good laugh worketh good as a medicine.”

Thank you Brief but you didn’t know I had to go and lay down real quick and tek a phensic. Every time I get pon dis page I get sea sick feeling so lemme get off before ah vomit!

38. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, well said earlier re Lucyians electing an idiot if Kellman is one too. If there is one thing that is pellucid over all these years of political life is that citizens get exactly the representative for whom they vote.

To denigrate Kellman as idiotic or lacking intelligence is amusing to me because that effectively says that a number of family members of us bloggers on BU here who live up there are blinking idiots too.

@Caswell, and maybe I am also an idiot even though I do not live in St. Lucy because quite frankly despite the “disjointed, incomprehensible letter” it seemed relatively clear to me.

Simple Simon explained the planes and ship re full of garbage and landing fees although you are correct that it is quite incomprehensible that cargo planes would be used to transport garbage. But otherwise likely that’s what he means.

The Kenya windmill reference can be linked to wind-farm turbines for green energy of course.

And the seemingly strange remark about “having discussions” and “near houses’ while there would surely be a reference to the proximity of the WTE plant close to homes and the impact of production/operational noise pollution. He is suggesting it would not be an issue.

But again it remains incomprehensible what a wind farm and a gasification plant have in common in that context.

But generally though if I was a CP grad who stood cheek and jowl in the House with the almighty Bajan scholar and PM Thompson and also took him on mano-a-mano and I am the one left standing then I think I would be a tad arrogant too. Particularly when my early criticism of him as evil have been shown to be correct.

Whatever you think of the man he is still there; others – deceased and otherwise – are long gone.

39. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

And I am definitely not a CP grad otherwise grammatically I would know it should properly be “if I WERE a CP grad…”

Had to get that in before Simple Simon came a correcting!! LOL.

40. If I was is correct in this context.It is possible that you could have been a CP graduate.

41. @ Colonel Buggy October 4, 2015 at 3:05 PM #

I was recently told that the section of the St. John Polyclinic pictured in your post is the amphitheater.

42. Can anyone on BU come up with at least one area of government that is working efficiently under any of these ministers?

Not Transport……..anyone heard Lashley today?

Not Health……….Thompson clinic cannot open and the QEH is in worse state than ever before…..

Not Labour…….crumbs that woman has screwed up every matter that went before her

Not Education……..dont know where to begin with that man

Not Finance……….less said about Stinkliar, the better, we await his announcement of further layoffs

Not BWA………things are worse than ever before but they have a new building, though..

Not Agriculture……..but we getting a 500,000 factory with few canes to feed it

Not Housing………does Kellman even know what is his job description?

Well, maybe I would have to say that Stephen Lashley gets some marks…..Crop Over came off well.

Kellman should keep off Facebook and do the work he is being paid to do. I heard a lady on Brasstacks saying that she applied for one of the houses at the Grotto……..Kellman would do well to tell Barbadians what is the NHC’s position with these houses which have been paid for (Mark Maloney again). Does the minister not know that you cannot keep houses closed up for so long?

These morons have completely screwed up this country and set it back decades! For real!

43. Prodigal Son October 5, 2015 at 9:37 PM #

“Kellman should keep off Facebook and do the work he is being paid to do.”

Prodigal, you are not being fair to Kellman.

Remember, Kelly doan get a easy time when he does call Brass Tacks to talk shiite and he said dat BU just like de moderators pun Brass Tacks.

So you see why now-a-days he using face-book?

44. Prodigal
    Stephen Lashley,the I-man,did not tell the truth about Crop Over 2015.Word on the ground is that it was an abysmal failure financially and got the Government scrambling to pay the millions owed to service providers.We have not heard the last on Crop Over 2015.The stakeholders will soon speak out…..man,whey we money, man.

45. After almost 50 years of independence , we are about to move from the Stand Pipe to the Stand Tank.
    Problems in the sugar industry………….Build a new multi-million dollar factory
    Problems at QEH……………………………. Build a new hospital Problems at NIS……………………………..Build new offices Problems at BWA……………………………Build a new Deslination plant.

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel

If you don’t build new things how do you expect people to get kickbacks?

47. I was also under the impression that the wells , pumps and water find at Groves St Phillips,when linked to Ben Springs,in St John, as the Minister bragged, would not only keep the southern parishes in water, but would bring relief to the northern parishes.
    As it stands, it appears that the only pumping that has been done, is the taxpayers money all the way to the bank, to Mr B’s and his usual cronies accounts, and of course a piece on the side for the other interest party.

48. Prodigal Son October 5, 2015 at 9:37 PM #

Kellman should keep off Facebook and do the work he is being paid to do.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    And what exactly is Mr Kellman paid to do? or for that matter Mr Todd, Mr Lowe and Dr Byer , the Attorney General et al. Selling aged rope?