Massy Stores

Let us welcome a new blog Barbados Aboveground. Not sure what to make of the name but it is good to see others blogging!

Did Barbados’ poor economic performance over the last few years play a significant role in Massy’s decision to close […]Super Centre JB’s, now known as Massy Stores?

Or was it purely, as Barbados Today reports (Sep 29 edition), a matter of  too many outlets in close proximity to each other? Either way, 100 employees may soon find themselves out of work when the Sargeant’s Village outlet closes its doors after 20+ years of operation.

Read full blog @Barbados Aboveground.

69 responses to “Massy Stores Super Centre JB Sargeant Village Outlet to Close”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [The Blogmaster]

There was a time when Neville Rowe gave ALL of the merchants a veritable run for their money when he imported and sold food at a price that was reasonable.

Then the vagabonds got together and went down to the Comptroller of Customs and fabricated lies to say that “Neville Rowe was reinvoicing” and the Comptroller of Customs, even in the face of incontrovertible evidence from JPs overseas, de ole man forget what they are called, ohhh notaries, UNILATERALLY assigned values to the imported and levied taxes that drove Rowe out of the business of giving real real prices to Bajans.

This is ironically in the face of the fact that said merchants like Goddards, Mannings and Cave Shepherd have warehouses in Miami and across the globe where said reinvoicing is done daily but our “niggers with the keys” called Customs Comptrollers dont give one PHVCK bout Colonel Buggy’s “Pride and Industry” which manifests itself in making foodstuff affordable to black shytes like me and you, BUT willingly destroy any black business that the White Massa has earmarked to die!!

Wunna see how much tom fvckery one year of celebrations of 50 years of Independence is?

Steupse….

2. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

It will take a catastrophic event to change Barbados and Bajans.

The Capitalist business owners will continue to exploit the opportunities provided by captive consumers.

3. @<a href=”https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2015/09/30/massy-stores-super-centre-jb-sargeant-village-outlet-to-close/comment-page-1/#comment-609870David

They might still control the old brands that we Bajans love so much, but unless the new players are backed by the old ones, I would say there is no one group controlling food importation and distribution.

Now if you are trying to say that a certain class have us by the short and curlies, then you will get no argument from me.

4. @David

They might still control the old brands that we Bajans love so much, but unless the new players are backed by the old ones, I would say there is no one group controlling food importation and distribution.

Now if you are trying to say that a certain class have us by the short and curlies, then you will get no argument from me.

5. @Raw Bake

The brands the Barbados middleclass are weans on, even working class, controlled by who?

6. There is something to be said for local Bajan product sitting in the international section, in the American grocery store.

I don’t find them very eye appealing, and I know that the native here in America don’t so much as to glance at them, but perhaps, I have accustome myself to the international product that the local Bajan product here doesn’t tickle my fancy anymore?

Take for example the local Bajan biscuit which I purchase every time I avail myself the opportunity to go to the grocery store here, and over the years my coworkers saw my eating these buscuits, but showed no further interest in wanting to acquire the taste, but would perfer to eat the Jamaican biscuits with look, tast and smell worse than the Bajan biscuits.

7. David, there is choice now. If people prefer the brands sold by Massy it is not Massa’s fault. There is no differece between the brand name items sold there and the the no name brands sold at other places. Check the labels: Made in China,Thailand. Product Of Canada, U.S.A, Turkey, Brazil, Jamaica or Trinidad.

They control the sheeple’s thinking not the sector. Dominating and controlling is not the same thing. Yes?

8. @Raw Bake

There, you have identified the challenge.

9. David, what challenge what?

Next year we shall thump our chests, pat our backs and celebrate 50 years of Independence. This has long gone passed being a challenge.

10. Ayee, that the people are entitled to do!

11. Indeed, but why then boast that we are a highly educated people punching above our weight?

12. @Raw Bake

That was in the past when the good times were rolling. The branding is good to stoke false pride and security, then reality sets in.

13. @ Raw Bake
    When Kofi said that, he REALLY meant to say something like – “why wunna don’t keep wunna little asses quiet nuh! …and try and sort out wunna own little shiite business?
    …AND KEEP OUTTA BIG PEOPLE AFFAIRS TOO….!”

….but we were so vain, that we really thought it was a compliment…and that the song was about us..
    Just like AC thinks that her ‘hignorance having no bounds’ is a compliment.. lol ha ha

BTW
    what the hell is a raw bake?
    if um bake – um can’t be raw too… 🙂

14. @Bush Tea

Once upon a time most Bajans knew what a bake was, so they would immediately know about raw bakes. Those were the good old days, long before the good times that David mentions above. When the oil is too hot, the outside of the bake is golden brown long before the inside is cooked. People not skilled in bake making would assume that because it is golden brown, it is done. Biting into such a delectable looking piece of Bajan delicacy demonstrates the folly of such thinking. 🙂

Yuh mean to say that even Kofi knew that we are only poorgreat.

I hear you. The thing is, our present leader(s) and those identified as future leader(s) seem unaware of this morass. The present education system is here to stay so how do we start over?
    Republic? Do we dare, could we?

15. Thanks Raw Bake
    Bushie will try to stop trying to judge a bake by its cover…. lol

16. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

oh goodness @Raw Bake that’s an excellent exposition of cooking palaver.

Even an apprentice cook understood immediately after their first event that too much heat can produce oil that is too hot which results in uncooked inner dough if not properly handled.

The honest, impassioned among them once so embarrassed would endeavour never to produce another “raw bake”.

But 50 years on yet we have seasoned chefs who definitely have not made that commitment.

The leaders (seasoned cooks most of them) know when a bake is authenticate and well made. They simply have become so dishonest that raw bakes are their staple now. So we have these Cahill type raw bakes over and over!

The challenge is not the school system nor intelligence; it’s lack of integrity.

17. @ Raw Bake is that your nick name? back in the day after that explanation you would have been nicknamed.lol

Thanks Bushie for triggering my memory. I here listening to Carly Simon on youtube.

18. Any of you make bakes recently or wunna too hi falutin fuh dat?

19. @Hants, The Doughnut van does a roaring trade in the villages selling fancy bakes.

…………………………………………………..
    On another subject. Have you noticed how the media in Barbados have no qualms in publishing close up photos of Prison Officers,and Police Officers,both uniformed and plain -clothed, on those occasions when they are accompanying accused persons to court, but protect the gentry of the land ,as in the recent case where an employee of a chicken farm was killed. We were informed that the chicken farm is owned by a “well known businessman.” These are the same media persons who approaches grieving relatives,and proceed to juck a mike or camera in their faces.

Dah is we culture.