Submitted by Douglas
Leader of the BLP Mia Mottley (l) Former Leader of the BLP Owen Arthur (r)

“The challenge is, as represented in the Peter Wickham poll, that Ms Mottley . . . faces a problem of being accepted by the society at large and faces a problem of being accepted by a cross-section of the BLP,” Arthur told the media at his UWI, Cave Hill office.

“The BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where there’s not a contest […]for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said, “but she has to make herself likeable, she has to be respected because people want to believe that their leaders are full of integrity . . . and she has to consider the use of power; not be feared negatively, but be understood as a person who can use power effectively.”

Extracts from 2009 Interview with Owen Arthur

Owen Arthur warned Barbados and the Barbados Labour Party about everything that is taking place now in the corridors of the Barbados Labour Party. In an interview in 2009, he spoke honestly and without malice while giving an assessment of the leadership of his “former protégée”. He advised “the challenge is to have a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society and wide acceptance in the parliamentary party.”

Here lies the fault line, which is occurring on the eve of the party’s next annual conference. The race is on to have the Mia matter executed ahead of the Party’s conference. It is evident the “former protégée’s”arch rival and an unrepentant political acolyte of Arthur in the person of Jerome stands to benefit from this imbroglio. He stands to benefit immensely after standing down from an obvious third defeat at the hands of John Boyce.

The spin doctors in the BLP are busy at work trying to give the public the impression that the issue in Christ Church West is about Dr Maria Agard. We on this side are quite aware at the core issue is leadership. This re-occurring decimal in the thread of Opposition politics continues to define for this country what is to come if ever the BLP is elected to office.

Less we forget that what happened in Ch. Ch. West happened in the St James North and St George South candidate selections. The white elephant in the room is the apparent irregularities in the branch voters’ list or for some Mia’s list . The last recorded issues have to do the accusations of monies spent in St Joseph by the Female Club to ensure that Dale was a sure loser. Of course, no one is talking about Arthur’s concern re governance of the BLP’s edifice after he took over from his former protégée” on the last occasion. The issues there are the subject of a Barker Report.

There is clear and present danger in the Opposition way of managing the affairs of their party. What say you about the affairs of the country? It is clear that there is a danger in opposing the leadership of the Messiah.

This new brand leadership which is authored by the non male members ’club of the BLP begs the question, in whose interest is the process gaining momentum? The face of the Barbados Labour Party has changed so much since Arthur exited that is hardly recognizable beyond the Mia’s faction. She has done well to stamp her authority NOT leadership.

In a letter penned to Dear Joan and signed by Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P on the 19th September 2011. The author of the letter declares to Joan

“ You may well ask whether internal victory at all costs for certain interests is worth jeopardizing the image and appeal of our great Party in the eyes of the wider electorate at this volatile and uncertain juncture of our Nation’s history and within sight of a General Election.”…

We must quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority. For we must ask ourselves, after the women and young people who will be next in the line of attack? Why is one-man one vote so threatening to the leadership in a modern democratic Party?”

Understand what would happen if these machinations take place in national elections by those who appears to manipulate constituencies branch elections.

The views of Arthur and the views of Mia as contrasted here speak to a leadership of contradiction. The current leadership is on a journey to redefine politics by making it a blood sport where lives and reputation are placed in public space. Barbados must listen to the honest words of Owen Arthur “…there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said

222 responses to “Mia…Just Not Ready”

1. Walter Blackman Avatar

David October 3, 2015 at 2:04 PM #
    @Walter

“Are you saying in a simple term – if yuh lick yuh lock up?”

Barbadians are a quiet people. Traditionally, they have resorted to reasoning rather than violence. People have mistaken that quietness (some call it docility) for stupidity. That is a very serious mistake.
    After years of putting their trust and confidence in public officials and institutions, they are beginning to realize, day by day, that they have been betrayed. A lot of that realization has to be credited to BU.

No one alive in Barbados has ever had to deal with the situation we are faced with today – greed, mediocrity, a lazy, unproductive and arrogant civil service, widespread corruption, a judiciary bringing the hammer down on the poor only, institutional rot, a “broke” and broken government, unprecedented suffering felt by the young, old, poor, socially disadvantaged etc.

These problems are beginning to manifest themselves in the form of social symptoms – violent crime, anger, selfishness, widespread drug use, “don’t-carish” attitudes.
    Once money stops flowing, the mendicant attitude bred and encouraged by politicians will come back to bite them in their behind. They will be blamed for everything.

Once evidence of the politicians’ wrongdoings begin to surface (it has already started) the populace will start howling for their prosecution and imprisonment.

International financial regulations are loudly hammering the nails in the coffins of corrupt politicians worldwide. In this respect, FATCA is a game changer. If there are corrupt politicians in Barbados, I am confident that the US government has a good idea of who they are. They can’t hide the money. Once the money is tracked down, some individuals who are career civil servants and politicians will be unable to justify such huge international bank accounts.

Barbados is in need of serious political reform. That reform can only take place if a critical mass of Barbadians awaken from their slumber and sixty progressive minded individuals offer themselves as candidates for public office.

2. Walter
    I made the point that any decision to question the AG’s findings would properly be the bailiwick of the Opposition although OSA repeatedly dared Thompson to activate the PAC and when the man made excuses OSA changed the rules and the composition of the committee to give the Opposition the option of a PAC having a quorum without depending on the presence of government members’ numbers.In other words there is no argument on the AG’s findings but the repeated refusal of the chairman of the PAC committee to convene meetings and name and maybe shame the malefactors is nothing to do with Mia Mottley per se.The political class is here again protecting each other and we can speculate,given the named parties,why OSA was daring Thompson.
    You are aware that political parties and politicians solicit funds during election campaigns.Thompson and Parris no doubt agreed to fund partially OSA’s or the BLP’s campaign and wrote a cheque to OSA instead of the BLP.Now if a cheque is made payable to OSA,I would think it should be deposited to his personal account.I assume too you think such an act a betrayal of public trust in OSA.I don’t,although I think it was a carefully hatched plan designed to produce the result it did and OSA should have seen that curved ball coming.After all he was the protege of the master himself,JMGMA.Keep your temperament under control and don’t make noise.It’s unbecoming scholarship.Leave that to AC.

3. @Walter Blackman wrote “I suspect that you scrolled past the comments AC”.

Yes Walter I “scrolled past”. I do not read anything posted by ac or dompey.

Sorry I meant 1994-2008. I doing too much multi tasking for my age so I sometimes and frequently make mistakes.

4. @ Walter
    Bushie’s point is that the status of the BLP is water under the bridge.
    WE KNOW WHAT THEY ARE NO GOOD FOR…

The REAL and PRESENT issue sits in a different location.
    Attempts to remind us (by those at that location) of what we ALREADY KNOW (and thought that we had dealt with) are only aimed at justifying the REAL and PRESENT shiite.

Bushie’s position is well documented….
    UNLESS people like YOU, Jeff, Caswell, Donna and Grenville make it wunna business to offer Barbados an INTELLIGENT and above-board alternative, we may as well alternate between the BLP and DLP shiite hounds.

5. It don’t matter to Bushie anyhow…. The Bushman will whack any shiite ….Bee, Dee, Pee or BUP… while awaiting the arrival of BBE’s real party…

6. Walter Blackman Avatar

Gabriel October 3, 2015 at 3:15 PM #
    “Walter
    Keep your temperament under control and don’t make noise.It’s unbecoming scholarship.”

Gabriel,
    What have I written to justify your comment?

I have quietly stated, in essence, that the PAC, as an instrument of preventing the wastage of public funds, has been an abject and dismal failure. All of your talk about OSA changing the composition of the committee, daring Thompson to activate the PAC etc cannot change that fact. As much as you love OSA, and would like to paint him as a “PAC hero” in this instance, you cannot change that fact into a lie. Sorry.

In cold blood, I argued that Mia never did anything to halt the wastage of public funds under the Owen Arthur administration, of which she was a member. Therefore, what evidence has she given the public of Barbados to suggest that she will halt such wastage under a Mia Mottley administration? Like a vampire ducking from a silver bullet, you have attempted to avoid this question completely.

In a cool, unruffled manner, I called you a hypocrite because, as the Bajans would say, you like to “paramount Owen Arthur to highest” but never once chided him for taking $75,000 of CLICO’s policyholders’ money.

You denigrated and insulted Mitch Codrington in all forms and fashion. You denounced him as a poor-rakey lawyer.
    Amazingly, after you had been informed that Owen Arthur had taken $75,000 of CLICO’s policyholders’ money, which, as PM of Barbados, he absolutely had no right to access, you wrote: “Now if a cheque is made payable to OSA,I would think it should be deposited to his personal account.I assume too you think such an act a betrayal of public trust in OSA.I don’t…”
    I am going to take this opportunity to call you a hypocrite again.That says a lot about your character, and it explains why Barbados is in such a pitiful state . Why don’t you ask CLICO policyholders what they think?

It is an extremely dangerous practice for citizens to manufacture their own laws to condone, justify, or support the acts of public officials who should know better.

I am not a lawyer, but this is what I think, subject to correction. When Owen Arthur stupidly signed that $75,000 cheque from CLICO, that transaction represented income, since “Owen Arthur” is not a registered charity or political party. Is a PM of Barbados allowed to earn income beside that of being PM? Owen Arthur provided no services to CLICO, and as PM who had ultimate responsibility for the financial stability and well-being of all insurance companies in Barbados, he had no right allowing CLICO funds to flow directly to him. Additionally, he should have asked himself: “Who else, in addition to me, are CLICO’s funds flowing directly to for no justifiable reason?” Because of the exhibited lax control of CLICO’s funds, that question would have forced PM Arthur to put CLICO under extremely close scrutiny.

Once Owen Arthur cashed CLICO’s cheque, that transaction would have attracted VAT and income taxes.
    After paying the VAT and income taxes, Owen Arthur would then be in a position to contribute the $75,000 as a donation to the BLP. Please note that two transactions would have taken place, and Owen Arthur would still have been on a legal hook for accepting the $75,000 from CLICO without providing any services to the insurance company.

Joe Louis sank into bankruptcy as a result of a legally perceived two-transaction activity which ought to have converted boxing income into charitable donations AFTER the payment of income taxes.

Why don’t you ask Mitch Codrington, who you dismissed as a poor-rakey lawyer, what advice he would given Owen Arthur when that cheque arrived with Owen Arthur’s name written on it?

7. @Walter

Correction, it was a Clico subsidiary check in Caribbean Commercial Bank.

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2008/01/10/david-thompson-comes-out-swingging/the-much-discussed-cheque-donation-which-was-deposited-to-arthurs-personal-account/

On 3 October 2015 at 21:40, Barbados Underground wrote:

8. Walter Blackman Avatar

David October 3, 2015 at 6:00 PM #
    @Walter

Correction, it was a Clico subsidiary check in Caribbean Commercial Bank

Thanks. I stand corrected.
    However, the thrust of my argument remains the same.

9. So when are going to see David Thompson’s will.

10. Walter
    Former editor of the Barbados Advocate Robert Best would chide you for coming out swiping.You are all over the place.Stick to your chosen field of demographic meteorology.

11. David
    Don’t hold your breath.I enquired a few years ago of a very influential ‘man about town’ and was told that it was kept in the then registrar’s pocketbag,in other words it was neither for chance nor purposeful scrutiny.In some jurisdictions,it is considered a public document.

12. Bushie,

Everybody has a place in life. That is not my place. I stand prepared to assist those who are so called.

13. The 2006 Auditors report would serve well as a “case study” and as a guide for members of society who would like to pursue a career /profession in the world of politics, it clearly reveals a disconnect between the people to be served and those who are trusted to be the servers one of unbridled ethics and morals
    As a matter of fact this report should be a mandatory course which all politicians are required to study and should passed in order to be considered ethically and morally approved before holding the reigns of govt,
    The unethical and immoral practices in this report goes beyond the bounds of irrationality with a composite only known to persons with a higher than normal disregard for what is right and proper,

14. Mia mottley in today newspaper trying to put some band aid on her party eye sores, Her only problem is that she has a lot of explaining to do about the way she has allowed so many cracks to explode into full blown episodes which now have become frequent and characterized as “divisions” in the party and a sure stamp of weakness against her leadership, which cannot be corrected by sweet smiles and sweet sound bites in the media,
    At present still hanging over her head like a dark cloud and which is lying dormant in the court dockets is the Payne vs Hinkson fight which when comes to fruition would eventually caused further division and stress within the party .
    IMHO Mia is not a leader of the intensity to be proactive but displays a level of insufficient immaturity to such a level that can exaggerate rather than heal as demonstrated by her response in todays media

15. Dompey October 2, 2015 at 7:49 PM #
    Sea Egg

It is obvious that you have a political narrative to defend, so it doesn’t take a Quantum Physicist analogous to that of an Einstein to discover that anything which excoriates your particular narrative would be regarded as distraction.

So in essence, it doesn’t take a Nuclear Physicist to figure this one out; just someone with the intellectual capacity of a three year old child.

And it is funny how people of your liken have a growing propensity to anathematized those persons who do not think as you do, and are benumbed at the thought of incurring such anathemas themselves.

Dompey, Dompey, Dompey!!!!!!!

I’m at a lost as to what you wrote. I haven’t a clue what you mean by your rambling while trying to sound important. I always try to write in simple straightforward language.
    It is evident that you have a serious impediment for which you need specialized treatment. How many times must I tell you that I am NOT a member NOR supporter of ANY political party.
    Fyi, unlike you, I don’t have my nose up anyone’s backside so I’m not obligated to agree with the shite that the politician excretes.
    Because someone may disagree with your posts that he or she is anti you. All I ask of you is to step back and try to understand what others are saying to you.
    Your english is terrible, your ideas are piss poor, your reasoning is at primary or perhaps kindergarten level and worse of all you bring absolutely nothing to the discussions. You have to make everything about you. Why? Are you that dissatisfied with you lot in life? As Bushie would say, you are indeed a real brass bowl.
    My grouse with you is that you lack the ability to think. Not logically, not clearly, not rationally. In short, you just do not have the capacity to think at all, hence your rambling about everything under the sun.
    Let me tell you why I have a difficulty with you and your piffle. Let’s say that your girlfriend willfully, deliberately and intentionally lied to you about any any every thing and you found out that she was lying all along, would you against all odds make her your wife?
    Perhaps that analogy is beyond you, but I want you to apply the same principle to the DLP administration. Leading up to the last general elections the DLP went the length and breadth of the island stating what they will and won’t do. Yet, the very first order of business was to renege on ALL the promises they made to the electorate. They lied to us. They can no longer be trusted.
    If a person on the witness stand made ten statements which are true and the eleventh is false the entire testimony will be discarded. Imagine if everything was a lie, perhaps that witness may be charged with perjury.
    Dompey, stop putting the blame for your poor english on the medium you use. Whether it’s a phone, laptop, desktop, ipad or an android tablet, what you type is what comes out.
    I’m truly sick and tired of you making everything center around you. It is about issues. NOT ABOUT YOU.
    I leave you in the capable hands of Bushie, Piece, Artax, Donna and even Hants.
    Steupseeeeeeeee!! I gone. Another great day for the beach.

16. Talking to Dompey got me drained. Don’t know why I waste my time with him. Unteachable brass bowl. Even AC is far better

17. Sea egg why so much hostility towards any disagreement i am disappointed in your reaction. i thought you might have been the “one” person to bring some balance to the debate whether or not they were any disagreements,
    IT might be a challenge for you that i understand especially having to sit or float among a heavily group of partisan people.

18. AC
    The beach was great today. You must try to get there at times as I believe that it would do wonders for you. If only to watch the waves as that may help to clear your mind at times.
    That aside, do you ever take time to really understand the gibberish that Dompey writes? I may consider myself educated but to try to understand what Dompey writes is challenging to say the least.
    As I told you before, I have no problem with you or anyone supporting a political party of your choice, but when that said party comes to the public and lies continually, then I have a problem with the thinking of individuals who see nothing wrong with that. Admittedly, you bring some interesting points at times and you do that deliberately to throw posters off guard. You seem to take pleasure in derailing serious debate when your back is against the wall in trying to defend foolishness. That is your escape clause I guess.
    All I ask you to do is to take a step or two back and realistically observe the goings on of this government and tell me if you honestly agree with the leadership of the country. Seriously. Step back and examine all the broken promises and the unfulfilled promises and empty rhetoric and tell me if they make any sense to you.
    I am not a party yardfowl or duck or anything. I call it as I see it.
    To date I have not put up any argument for the BLP. They are not in government. The DLP is and it isn’t doing much of a job. Your ministers have not brought anything of substance to the table. Not one has ever managed a pot of piss far less a business. NONE! And that’s my point my dear AC.

19. Sea egg No! i do not see your point i did not address my comment to you about party affiliation /association.just questioning your temperament .
    Most of the time i gloss over many comments as i expect the usual fluff and nuances by both sides,
    i am”giddied” by those who often lash out at others and question there lack of tolerance,
    most of the time i believe such level of intolerance is to be a want to control/

20. AC
    No qualms about your questioning my temperament. Perhaps you should instruct Dompey whom I consider to be your partner to think before writing. He listens to you and no one else. I have a very low tolerance for foolishness passing as intelligent contribution.
    While I’m at it, try not to be so partisan. It doesn’t wear well on you. I believe you can do better.

21. First my allegiance is to country .what I do not like is unadulterated hypocrisy sold as intelligence I find it very insulting

22. @ Sea Egg

“Your English is terrible, your ideas are piss poor, your reasoning is at primary or perhaps kindergarten level and worse of all you bring absolutely nothing to the discussions. You have to make everything about you. Why? Are you that dissatisfied with you lot in life?”

“I have a very low tolerance for foolishness passing as intelligent contribution.”

Be careful, Sea Egg, since your above comments are similar to my assessment of Dompey, he may conclude that you and I are the same individual, just as AC previously suggested.