voicenoteheadmasterThe Voice Note of a Primary School headmaster making the rounds – in a raw use of language –  gives insight into the challenges confronting our society. When the family unit begins to disintegrate and basic standards are ignored, we know we have a problem. Many will be quick to condemn the headmaster, BU recommends we ignore the superficial argument if we want to grasp the enormity of the problem we face.

Parents must parent!

186 responses to “Voice Note of a Primary School Headmaster [RAW]”

1. Simply put the headmaster is a jerk.and to the stupid comment about how what women preferred to spend their money it is no bodys business womaen have a right to speak up when disrespected//////// take what licks sound like you would be a perfect candidate for domestic violence the female should not take verbal or physical licks from no male,

2. “Taking your licks” or “teking yuh licks” is a Bajan saying which means accepting deserved criticism or a merited defeat. Now, if you don’t know Bajan dialect and you don’t know English, exactly what IS your language?

And the BU crowd yells……..GIBBERISH!

3. oh shut up , who de hell you want to lecture. i say what i say and i mean it you can tek it any way like even “up de a,ss” that too is a bajan term for f u,

4. Gutter gibberish!

I may have an ass but you the whole of you is one.

5. The principal said “I have seen so many of those things…” by implication female private parts.

Why has the principal seen so many female private parts? Is a a gynecologist whose principal duties entail inspecting female private parts?

Or is the principal by his own admission a promiscuous man?

And if a female principal has said “I have seen so many of those things…” by implication male private parts would we have so many conservative commentators on this blog supporting an admittedly promiscuous female principal?

6. Again irrelevant!

7. Can the principal define “ugly breasts”

What are “ugly breasts?”

Does he perhaps mean the larger softer breasts of women who have borne and breast fed one or more children? Women just like his mother and just like my mother? Women just like Pat and islandgal and Donna? Are their breast ugly just because they have breast fed. Women just like his mother and just like my mother?

And if intelligent people such as school principals uglify the larger softer breasts of women who have breast fed one or more children can this be considered an attack on the sensible policies of all governments which encourage women to breast feed their children.

When I was a child in rural pre-independence Barbados the majority of women had many, many children, and the majority women publicly breast fed. They fed the child (no doubt including this principal) when he or she was hungry. Nobody thought anything of it, and I never heard the breast of lactating women or women who have breast fed described as ugly.

Breasts are still best. BREASTS ARE NOT UGLY Regardless of what a foolish principal thinks.

Some men have watched to much pornography which idolizes pubescent form of very young women.

Somebody needs to tell the principal to stop looking at “so many of those…” wherever it is that he spend his time looking and to live in the real world where normal health mothers have large soft breasts.

8. We don’t all want to look like “porn stars” and if the headmaster don’t like it he can lump it.

9. But…. maybe he meant the ones he was being shown on the school premises. And hence his frustration as the one or two miscreants became a multitude of exhibitionists.

10. That was unfortunate because it could be taken to mean that if they were “beautiful” he wouldn’t have minded so much.

11. My own mother breast fed nearly a dozen children all of whom she raised to healthy adulthood. She started her child bearing pre-1937 when the infant mortality rate was 220 per thousand. I’ve never thought of my mother’s breasts as ugly, not even when she was old and ready to die and I needed to help her with her very personal tasks.

Women who breast/women who breast feed fed raised living healthy children.

Women who who did not breast feed buried dead children.

I know an acquaintance whose grandmother who lived in town who buried 11 of her 12 infants.

So let us not uglify the breasts of our young mothers. Lest God curse us and return us to the time when 220 of 1,000 of our children will die..

Those dead children are not strangers. They are our older sisters and brothers our aunts and uncles.

Let us not dishonour their memory by cursing this generation of young mothers.

12. Just because this generation of headmasters can afford to buy a refrigerator and infant formula it does not mean that the breasts of mothers have become obsolete.

13. “Ugly breasts” This principal.

Ugly/inappropriate hair – a school principal just last year.

Who do we do this to ourselves?

And why especially do we do these things to our young women?

If enough principals tell our young women that their breasts are ugly how long will it be before our women start disowning their “ugly breasts”

Just as so many of our young women have disowned their own natural “ugly” hair.

And then we will spend tens of millions of dollars importing other people’s hair and other people’s [or animal’s] milk and then we will wonder how and why and when we became a poverty stricken, foolish, self hating people.

Does the headmaster know that up to the 1970’s doctors [our brightest and our best] offered new mothers a chemical injection to “dry up their milk” This was so a mother could continue to have teenage like breasts to please juvenile little men like the headmaster, and to boost the sales of ARTIFICIAL infant formulas all of which were manufactured by and enriched “the great white north.”

But breasts were designed for the nourishing of infants, NOT FOR THE VISUAL PLEASURE OF HEADMASTERS.

14. @Donna September 26, 2015 at 12:08 PM “I did MY BEST AND SOME OF HIS for MY child!”

You meant “our child” right?

15. The men in my small, rural, pre-independence village may not have been scholars, but they were gentlemen..this principal is neither a scholar nor a gentleman.

16. At that time he was MY child. The father had absented himself through anger at me. I focussed on the fact that though I was angry at him too the child was MINE and I couldn’t care less about his part. Understood! Some mothers forget that the child is theirs when they are angry with the father. Abuse and neglect often stems from that.

17. And on top of everything else it is evident that the headmaster failed his GCE and or CXC Biology classes. If he had not he would know that the human female vagina cannot be seen in a fully clothed standing woman. Maybe he means a clothed outline of the labia majora? If so he should say so.

Here is a definition from Wikipedia to help the headmaster catch up on his human biology:

“The vagina is a sex organ that is part of the female genital tract. It is a muscular and tubular in structure. In humans, the vagina extends from the vulva to the uterus. The outer vaginal opening may be partly covered by a membrane called the hymen. At the deep end, the cervix (neck of the uterus) bulges into the vagina. The vagina allows for sexual intercourse and childbirth. It channels menstrual flow, which occurs periodically as part of the menstrual cycle.

The location and structure of the vagina varies among species, and may vary in size within the same species. Unlike mammalian males, who usually have the urethral opening as the only opening to the urinary tract, females usually have two external openings: the urethral opening for the urological tract and the vaginal opening for the genital tract. The vaginal opening is much larger than the nearby urethral opening, and both are protected by the labia in humans.”
    Source: Wikipedia

So in essence vagina’s are rarely seen outside of a gynecologists office.

18. @Simple Simon

You can be very simple at times.

19. the headmaster is a jjerk and anyone who defends his disrespectful actions is a bigger jerk,
    Focusing on the mothers is not the issue but the headmaster disregard and distasteful use of language in his emotional tirade to condemn female attire

20. what subculture being rammed down by people throats,
    how does female attire becomes so important and relevant to subculture. female attire changes does not have any lasting power , it is simply a fad that fades in and out of society within in time when last have anyone seen attire explode to a point when it made a lasting impression on society
    Attire a trend endorsed with every generation that comes and goes as fast as it makes entry and leaves with little or no fanfare expect for degenerates who takes this nonissue and turns it into a overblown rant and rave,

21. AC continue to castigate the Headmaster as much as you wish for perhaps ill-advisedly using the wrong choice of words to convey to some recalcitrant parents the error of their ways and how to improve their image but it wouldn’t be the Headmaster who would be holding his belly in the long run.

22. oh lord.

improve what image why is the headmaster gazing.staring upon the female vagina and looking at the breast and female underarm so much that he can describe in a perverted manner , this guy has some serious problems or mental health issues which needs to be resolved and needs to seek help
    Seems like this headmaster has some outstanding female issues that is dire need of resolving starting with disrespect and perversion.,

23. Fashions change and we have to learn to go with the flow.

I am significantly older than the headmaster and I remember when nuns wore gowns down to their ankles and sleeves down to their wrists, and veils down to the middle of their foreheads.

I remember the first time I saw a nun in a knee length dress, and with sleeves only to her elbows, and with a veil that exposed some of her hair I was surprised and a bit unsure of whether the person I was seeing was a nun or not.

Barbados is hot. Much much hotter than the places from which so many of our fashions originate. And fashions change. As fashions have changed even in very, very conservative religious orders.

I would like to see all of our headmasters, wearing knee length pants and short sleeved shirts. I feel sorry for them that they seem compelled to wear pants down to their ankles and sleeves down to their wrists [when ever deeply conservative religious orders have given up such gear]

I remember when our neighbour Albertha, a deeply conservative 19th century Anglican woman did not step out of her door unless she was wearing long sleeves, ankle length skirts, multiple petticoats, a head tie and brown pumps. A real-real post-Victorian darling.

Nobody dresses like that anymore not even the deeply conservative wives of headmasters. Especially not the fashion princess wives of headmasters. LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Things change. Go with the flow people.

24. A fight by school children posted to Facebook is a one a day occurrence. The apologists will say we have always had fights so why worry.

https://www.facebook.com/mary.downes.3954/videos/518237485000454/

JAs

25. Well David that is true re fights of yesteryear. Of course we never got to see them on video afterwards though.

There was sex in schools too -after most schools went coed – but again fortunately a 3 megapixel camera was still basically an expensive and relatively large device so there was no lasting evidence.

Now we got hi-res nine and more megapixel cam-phones all bout de place.

So seeing this fight here (and I really have not watched the video) tells me that fights continue as they did years ago and school kids are still as wayward.

Of course with this evidence the principal or police can act accordingly if they so desire; so frankly today’s situation is ‘much better’ than it was when I was a school boy…no more hearsay and innuendo evidence is available!

Let the punishment begin. No apologies there!

26. @de Ingrunt Word September 29, 2015 at 8:00 AM “Let the punishment begin. ”

Do you really expect the Ministry of Education to discipline the misogynist?

Does the Ministry ever discipline anybody?

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Know how De Ingrunt Word thinks, in small part, He is not referring to punishment arising from the Minister of Edykashun Ronald We Jonesing aka the chilrun are is reading well but probably to the parents who are seeking the intervention of the Police and the lawyers

De Ole Man find dat once you bring in de Policemens dat peeple as ingrunt as dem is, does stop and tink when you 15 year ole chile are is in de newspaper and news media, again, but dis time wid dem shirt ovah dem head, facing the possibility of time at Dodds and or a curfew and an order for you ingrunt mudddah and non existent farder to pay de victim medical bills

SHAME & BLAME WUKS EVEY TIME!!

28. ac September 28, 2015 at 6:30 AM #

“oh lord. improve what image why is the headmaster gazing, staring upon the female vagina and looking at the breast and female underarm so much that he can describe in a perverted manner , this guy has some serious problems or mental health issues which needs to be resolved and needs to seek help. Seems like this headmaster has some outstanding female issues that is dire need of resolving starting with disrespect and perversion.”

It is interesting to note that, despite how negatively the naysayers may have interpreted the principal’s remarks, Minister of Education, Ronald Jones, has also agreed that too many parents are visiting school premises dressed inappropriately.

Perhaps the AC consortium will take a different position on this issue since Jones has essentially endorsed the principal’s sentiments. Or maybe they will also describe Jones as a pervert as well.

29. artexeres i was awaiting such response , from the blp consortium. quick to pounced but low level to educate , However if the extreme versions which Mr, Jones applied (one) of which mothers came to the school with breast hanging out from neck to backside basically (uncovered ) then there should be need for discipline from within the governing body of the school as applied to nudity . However i remain steadfast and principled that the mothers attire as described by the teacher in the audio has not reached such an extreme level
    I sensed that Mr, Jones tried to use a version of “BU isms” to make a point latching on to extreme versions as an example of an issue to validate his concerns

30. “Awaiting such response,” what. But none the less, your response was an anticipated one.

Oh, what a set of hypocrites!!!!!!!

31. Yes but my response was truthful and in no way deflect my attitude away from previous responses to this issue
    All i said in my last response was there was an over exaggeration on this issue from Minister JOnes as well as the Principle

On another note one would be hard pressed to find a vocal majority in the hierarchy of Barbados that would insert their commentary openly attributing Rhianna style of clothing as nude or salacious and enough cause to usher some ban on her attire when she graces these shores in a formal or public setting .but would lashed out at poor working mothers for wearing a strapless dress /blouse or tight pants to pick up their children.

32. Minister of Education Ronald Jones said yesterday that a standardised protocol needed to be developed, with the input of relevant stakeholders, in order to arrest the situation.

“I heard the comments of the president of APPSP [Association of Public Primary School Principals] and I must say that I support his general view and the principles espoused,” Jones stated.

President Ivan Clarke said the subject of dress took up a major part of the association’s monthly meeting a few weeks ago . . . .
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/73170/minister-backs-principals-dress-code-parents#sthash.YvD7T4T3.dpuf

33. @ Artax
    It is obvious that AC is a retard and an idiot….

That such a moron seems to reflect the jokers currently running the country explains our dire predicament….
    The only good thing about AC’s ever-present idiocy on every blog is that it allows Bajans to see how desperate our situation REALLY is….

Now we have NO EXCUSE for continuing to tolerate such idiots in our parliament….and if we do, then we deserve all the pain that they will cause us….

34. Physcho.u still ranting and raving
    BTW tell By who”WE” is referred in your ten point plan imbecile

35. No one should be against decency “decency exposes a moral characteristic in all of us,,

However using a few mothers who might have fallen victim to society norms and painting an entire community of mothers with a tarred brush is wrong,
    Speaking about Hypocrisy i clearly remember when govt implemented dress codes for public entry to govt offices, the cry out here on BU was Loud and hard against ,

36. its not just about fashion when you take out your large milky breast on the bus, pull the corner down and start feeding the baby whilst looking around to see who is watching. “See me?” Message being, “look how fecund I am, could be the mother of YOUR child!”
    I have no problem with a mother feeding a baby on demand on the bus or anywhere else; the milk starts leaking just at the time the little one wants a feed.

Let’s focus instead on the silly girls who imagine getting pregnant gives them some right to self-definition. “I’m pregnant! I’m a Mum! Is that all their aspirations seek as a conclusion to their young lives? Then there is a little child born without a Dad; yes family rally round but at the end of the day, there’s another kid brought up by maternal relatives, no male model in sight.