BU shares the Jeff Cumberbatch Barbados Advocate column – Senior Lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies since 1983, a Columnist with the Barbados Advocate
Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

A Nation Under Law (iii)
9/20/2015
By Jeff Cumberbatch

Initially, […]I did not intend that this essay on the rule of law should be extended to as many instalments as three, but the opening of the Law Year in a few regional jurisdictions; the release of a book by a sitting US Supreme Court justice; and some provocative comments from an English Law Lord together with some other related phenomena all seemingly conspired to provide enough relevant fodder for another part or two.

Too besides, readers of this column should have surmised by now that I am far more comfortable discussing the law and its operation in society than the admittedly more populist issue of partisan politics that is frequently reduced in these parts to the lowest common denominator of the personalities of the leading participants rather than being raised to the higher level of the quality of their contributions on significant issues. The situation is further exacerbated by the predictability of the contributions in this context of most of those who attempt public commentary and the tired reluctance of the very actors to debate the hard issues beyond mere assertion.

Because of the diverse nature of the topics covered by the writers and speakers last week, it may be preferable to discuss them separately although, given their provenance, their content offers some insight into the perspectives of those who are constitutionally charged with the practical administration of the rule of law in the various jurisdictions.

In Trinidad & Tobago, Archie CJ has firmly asserted the view that common sense should dictate that the carrying out of the sentence of death by hanging is not the solution to the spiralling murder rate in the twin-island republic. He appears to base this view on a combination of an apparent moratorium on such executions – the last occurred some sixteen years ago-; the number of those awaiting trial for murder– an estimated 514-; the dubiousness of the penalty of a deterrent and the sheer repugnance of executing even a fraction of the number awaiting trial even assuming that they were found guilty. In his words, “…do we really believe, assuming that a significant fraction of those persons are found guilty, that we will be able to hang several hundreds of people or that if we tried we could stomach it?”

Of course, the learned justice was mindful of his and the court’s limited jurisdiction in the matter, recognising expressly that this was a matter for the legislature and, by extension, the people of the country, but he decried too the judicial sense of futility of pronouncing a death sentence nowadays.

These sentiments are in sharp contrast to the view expressed recently by my learned friend, the retired Justice Leroy Inniss, who has advocated keeping the penalty on the statute books even as Barbados struggles to come to terms with its international undertakings, a partly self-imposed and partly judicially-enforced moratorium on execution of any imposed death penalty longer even than that in Trinidad & Tobago, and a hemispheric mood that for the most part regards the imposition of death penalty as an inhuman and a poorly-thought-out response to a grave societal problem. In these circumstances, it may be difficult to accommodate a view that the death penalty remaining a legal form of punishment will serve any useful purpose, no matter the eminence of its source.
Moreover, with all respect to the opinion of Mr Justice Inniss, it seems particularly unseemly and perhaps unnecessarily dangerous to add to the number of laws on our statute books for which there is little likelihood of enforcement. What may be more needful at this stage, if we should be so lucky, is a parliamentary debate on the issue; not one premised on the toeing of the unswerving party line as espoused by our current Westminster export-model system of governance but, rather, one based on the expression of the member’s conscience or, more desirably though less likely, that of his or her constituents collectively.

We have skirted this difficult question for far too long. And, after all, some things are more important than partisan political stances.

Across the globe, in New Zealand, the Lord Chief Justice of England & Wales, Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd, advanced a revolutionary view of the concept of judicial independence in a speech to a convocation of the Commonwealth Magistrates and Judges Association. Rather than counselling his fellow judicial officers to adopt the traditional stance of abstentionism in the political sphere, he urged them to take “proactive steps” to secure adequate funding for a justice system that is becoming “unaffordable to most people”.

In an article by Owen Bowcott in the Guardian newspaper last Thursday, Thomas LCJ is reported as enjoining, “…Judicial independence must not mean judicial isolation…the judiciary must explain the centrality of justice and why it matters. That task cannot be left to others. Transparency and openness are crucial to instilling public confidence in the judicial system…”

The Lord Chief Justice’s comments were made in the context, as already noted, of funding for the justice system, a point likewise referred to in the speech of Archie CJ at the opening of the Law Year in Trinidad & Tobago. There, Archie CJ bewailed “the inability to obtain the necessary financial resources to implement critical infrastructure projects, although, unsurprisingly, he did not go as far as Thomas LCJ did in advocating a reformation of the concept of judicial independence so as directly to engage the political directorate.

Given our apparent judicial tradition of being perceived as being politically detached and, at most times, the existence of a healthy mutual respect for each other’s constitutional authority, it is unlikely that Lord Thomas’s advice will resonate in this region anytime soon. Yet few will want to deny that the justice system has not profited from the customary disengagement from the public sphere. This has consequently led to a climate of mistrust and suspicion; a circumstance that a notion so important as the dispensation of justice could very well do without.

Those days when a judge could state with some degree of pride that he or she never reads the newspapers are arguably, and happily, now of the past. And a local tradition that appears to abhor the idea of any judicial officer being invited to speak publicly on matters of law serves only to enforce a regime of mystery rather than the more desirable one of openness in the justice system.

To be continued…

75 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Nation Under Law (iii)”

1. Well secured!is that so then explain the high levels of crime even with state sanctioned executions

2. I don’t know how I can argue with you…I think it says in the bible the weak..freak.. or geek will inherit the earth, …since you have the trifecta going you are probably going to get it all or at least be queen or something. So in some bizzaro way maybe you are right we shouldn’t off the criminals we should just revel in the thought they will be drones for the queen bee

3. LOL @ lawson
    There in no point in serious argument with an idiot…
    …put another way …. don’t waste time trying to beat sense into AC***.

@ Zoe
    Don’t the bible also say that there is a way that SEEMS right to brass bowls, but that the end thereof is the way of death….? Don’t you like how we seem INCAPABLE of seeing the correlation between the shiite we do and the results that we are getting…?

You need to grasp the concept of people being so blind that they CANNOT see…and stop getting so uptight…
    BTW … how is GP today? lol..

Hard ears we won’t hear, mind AC ..and we will feel… 🙂

4. @ Dragon
    Killing people is wrong whether it is called murder or state execution
    Logic that would impress any four-year-old …and AC.

Unfortunately, interpersonal relationships and social dynamics are much more complex issues than can be summarised with such childish, emotional thinking. (this is probably the reason that the Bible tends to promote MEN -(with REAL balls) for leadership positions.

The harsh (grown-up) reality of life is that achieving good results within a human society REQUIRES leaders to make difficult and challenging decisions. This is why we have court systems, police forces, armies, health services, sanitation services etc.

SHIT HAPPENS.
    …and unless someone is capable of cleaning up the mess, ..we all will catch some shiite diseases…. like elephantiasis, Poliomyelitis, arthritis and the one diabetes LOL …according to Mitchigan & Smiley

So if it hurts your emotions that ‘the state’ may be called on to take a life then you may need to withdraw to the bedroom and do some knitting …and let a REAL man step forward and deal with the centipede…

Put another way…. If you can’t handle the HEAT of leadership, then stay to hell out of the leadership kitchen …..and carry long Fumble with yuh….

5. Jerk u did not answer the question

6. Btw taking pot shots is not the answers ,There is a lot of research available where you can find the answer . as to why the death penalty is only a panacea for the social ills of this world, the problems of high crime coupled with murder would never go away until the basic foundation one built on moral grounds is restored to the society and the family unit,

7. St George's Dragon Avatar

“Logic that would impress any four-year-old …and AC.”
    It’s called a moral position. Everyone should have one.

8. i have resolved myself into believing that barbados would always remain seated comfortable on the back burner no matter hot it gets, therefore it makes no sense in debating those things that are far removed from their conscious

9. Should the death penalty be banned as a form of punishment?

http://www.balancedpolitics.org/death_penalty.htm#yes

maybe after a good read some big headed brass bowls would “get it”

10. Bush Tea

Those who object against death- penalty, reminded me the of the man who wanted so badly to be the Hangman, until his very son was sentenced to be hung.

Bush Tea

Writes: killing people is wrong whether it is called murder or state execution.

But he has yet to give us a valid reason as to why state sponsored execution is wrong?

1) Is it because the Bible says thou shall not kill?
    2) Is it because the majority believes the it is morally wrong to do?
    3) Is it because your grandparents said the it is too inhumane?
    4) Is it because a life for life does little to elicit an effective deterrent?

Listen! I have already established earlier that there is a high wall between church and state, and that secular government doesn’t abide by Ecciesiastical law.

Nevertheles, I am fully convinced that if my daughter and your granddaughter were to be kidnapped tortured, violated in the worse possible way, and the murdered by a known sex-offender, that we would be the first to call for the death penalty, if we don’t take care of the job ourselves.

And in conclusion: it is not about our religious convictions; it is not about our moral convictions; it is not about the way in which the majority feels about it.
    It is about Justice for the deceased who is unable to communicate the manner in which his or her life has been taken from this human existence. And justice in my estimation, and I am quite sure in the estimation of many, equal a life for a life, no matter what the books of theology and philosophy concluded.

11. David let me say this lastly and for those folk who knows a little something about moral philosophy: the issue surrounding the Death-Penalty here both pros and cons, involves two school of moral-reasoning: Consequentailist- Moral- Reasoning and Categorical-Moral – Reasoning. Now, Consequentialist Moral Reasoning entails the results from one taking a certain action, where as Categorical Moral Reasoning deals specifically with the action one takes.
    Now, I can elaborate to elucidate for those persons who may be prisoned intellectually by the two simple philosophical concepts.

12. @ Dragon
    Skippa …. Bushie would not normally engage at this level…. But it may be important to save you from yourself…. 🙂

Thai is not a MORAL position.
    It is a childish, emotional, piece of idiocy that is akin to the ‘moral’ position that there should be ‘peace and goodwill among all peoples’ and that ‘we should all live in peace and harmony.’ in short…
    A lotta shiite.

What moral position what?!?

‘Moral positions’ depend on the overall design intent… You heard what Jesus told those fellows…?
    “….I came not to bring peace ….BUT TO BRING A SWORD.”

A little thought should tell you that it is quite possible to conceive circumstances where, out of LOVE and unselfish devotion to someone, the RIGHT thing to do may be to kill them.

….or that out of love and devotion to others, THE RIGHT thing to do may be to kill someone else …like some drug-crazed moron who attacks your family at home…

…or like TRUE LEADERS exercising the authority given them, and protecting the lives and goodwill of law-abiding and trusting citizens against evil animals.

The REALITY of this world is such, that sensible countries need an army….. and may well have to use it …. or end up like the Arawaks….

Boss.. don’t mind AC and Dompey hear?
    …try to stick with topics that you actually understand….
    If they did that …there would be great silence in the land….

13. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Dompey
    “Killing people is wrong whether it is called murder or state execution.”
    If you read the trail of comments properly you will see that it was me, rather than Bush Tea, who said this.
    Why do I believe this? Because taking human life is morally wrong, in any circumstances.
    State sponsored execution (murder) reduces us to to being murderers ourselves.

14. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ BT
    There might be circumstances where someone needs to kill an attacker to save others “in the heat of the moment” but in general, we have ceded retribution to the state.
    Nowadays, there is no need for state killings because we can an incarcerate people for life.
    An innocent question – do you have any moral beliefs?

15. St. George’s Dragon

You have to have a more valid explanation than the merely fact that you believe the death penalty to be wrong because it makes us murders.

You could at least based your reasoning on the fact that you object against the death penalty because of the inhumane way the state put convicted murders to death, to give your argument at least a foot to stand on.
    Oh cares about what you believe; it is not enough to justify the abolition of the death penalty?

You have to have a more valid explanation than the merely fact that you believe the death penalty to be wrong because it makes us murders.

You could at least based reasoning on the fact that you object against the death penalty because of the inhumane way the state put convicted murders to death, to give your argument a foot to stand on.

So you’re telling me that it was wrong for the state to put John Wayne Gacy to death, after he was convicted of killing more the twenty-five innocent young men?
    And that he should have live out the rest of his life in solitary confindment, watching cable TV and be served three square meal a day all at the expense of taxpayers?
    And all because you believe that it is wrong to murder people because it would make us murders?
    Well too best, I willing to be call a murder if I was given the job to put John Wayne Gacy to death.

16. And then again why the moral suasion is proper in its use against the death penalty it holds all to higher standard and a respect for life a life that only one of a higher being can designed and sustain.

17. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Dompey
    “You have to have a more valid explanation than the merely (sic) fact that you believe the death penalty to be wrong because it makes us murders (sic).”
    Why? That is exactly what I believe.
    “So you’re (sic) telling me that it was wrong for the state to put John Wayne Gacy to death, after he was convicted of killing more than twenty-five innocent young men.”
    Stealing is wrong. Is stealing a small amount ok? No it is not, it’s still wrong.
    Taking lives in executions is wrong. Why would it make a difference if the murderer had killed more than one person?

18. @ Dragon
    Moral beliefs…?

TWO basic ones…..

1 – BBE is THE boss; …the creator of everything our senses can handle; the key to everything that makes sense.
    So what BBE says ….goes.

2 – Do to other persons as Bushie would like them to do to him were the situation to be reversed.

Everything else is a subset….. 🙂

19. @ Dragon
    “Stealing is wrong. Is stealing a small amount ok? No it is not, it’s still wrong.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …so you have 4 hungry children at home and Stinkliar just terminated you from NCC so that he can have more money for Bizzy and his pals….
    Your family is hungry as shiite …and the youngest (and cutest) daughter has a high fever…

Right next door, COW has a big potato field ….but he is not likely to be anywhere around for months…

You actually think it is WRONG to dig a few holes of COW’s potatoes….?
    as opposed to watching your children starve to death…?
    Lotta shiite…!!!

Now Bushie would openly dig two holes of potatoes …cause If Bushie was COW (and COW was Bushie) he won’t have a problem with COW taking some potatoes for his kids… 🙂
    …and If Bushie (as COW) would have wanted a poor man to starve instead of taking a few potatoes, then Bushie (as a hungry poor boy) would LEAVE the damn man’s potatoes where they are… and let the children starve.

Same shiite with execution….
    If Bushie came into your house and killed your son or wife, then he should EXPECT to be put to death when caught… if that is what he would expect to happen should you come into his home and do shiite…

This is why you CANNOT judge another person…. cause you don’t know what they ‘would have done unto them’…..

These issues are MUCH too complex to be discussing with AC and Dompey though…..
    ha ha

20. unfortunately some who espoused Gods principles and beliefs only does so in a time when it is fitting and proper to trampled on peoples Human Rights, lest we forget one of the laws written among the ten commandments clearly and succinctly state Thou (ALL collectively You individually ) shall not kill. there is no more well define law without having any legal interpretation necessary with out a doubt speaks against,
    murder
    Either those who espoused the principles and teachings of the bible accept and adhere to the law or else they are self righteous parasites who only avails themselves with some practices not all the practices/laws and teachings of the bible,
    In other words they are fraudsters and hypocrites,

21. hey bush shit oppose what i say i bet your defense is so weak rather than u safely hide under the cover of pot shots, lol Ha HA

22. bush shite you are trying to infuse a hypothetical to dissuade a moral stance one which is rooted in the bible. Firstly a diligent and dedicated loving mother would not wait to eleventh hour to feed the baby, starvation is not automatic it has several stages beginning with hunger and in that case a mother would first seek legitimate alternative methods of finding food rather than stealing a potatoe and having to end up in jail and taking the risk of losing the child,.
    You always come up with these ridiculous examples believing that all on BU are over ninety years and senile

23. Another. We have a problem.

“The name of the man has not been released, but Cobbler said the man was shot by two masked assailants around 3 p.m. at Bucks, St Thomas.”

24. @ Hants
    Boss… we have HAD a “problem” now for some time..
    What you are seeing now is not a ‘problem’. It is the beginning of the ending…

Blatter’s ass is grass
    CAHILL’s ass is grass..
    The EU’s ass has been overrun with shiites…
    Sir Cave has returned to his old modus operandi…
    ….and a blood moon is due.

WHAT NEXT NUH…?

Perhaps Zoe has been praying fervently for “….thy Kingdom come…”

25. משרד החינוך יקבע אלו גנים ייכנסו לאופק חדש בשנה הבאה. מבנה העבודה של הגננת באופק חדש יהיה כדלקמן:בימים א-ה משעה 7:55 עד שעה 14:00ביום ו: משעה 7:55 עד שעה 12:45.גננת תעבוד חמישה ימים בשבוע במשרה מלאה של מאה אחוז.אין כל שינוי במתכונת שנת השבתון.