Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Last weekend Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart admitted, again, that the St. John Polyclinic will be completed by November 2015. Stuart and his government has given several completion dates for the project. Why is it so difficult to build a project plan to identify a realistic completion date which takes into consideration available resources of government and competing priorities.

Here is a government in 2015 unable to advise its citizens when an uncomplicated structure will be completed and made operational. What confidence can citizens have in a government unable to execute simple projects.

The revised completion date of the St. John Polyclinic should force Barbadians to ask the question – do you trust the prime minister?   The definition of trust by most definitions is a ‘firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone …’ There is sufficient evidence to question why Barbadians should trust Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart.

Prime Minister Stuart promised Barbadians leading into the last general election he was not going to change the tuition arrangement at tertiary level – see attached. When the DLP won the government he reversed the decision – see attached. BU challenges the willingness of the prime minister to lie to Barbadians without fear of being held accountable.

Last weekend the prime minister finally addressed the Cahill Energy waste to energy scam.  He sat in the House and listened to leader of the opposition level serious accusations supported by documents and said nothing. He said nothing when Claire Cowan the CEO of Cahill Energy hosted a town hall meeting at Sherbourne (LESC) and implicated the government in the rollout of a waste to energy plant at Vaucluse. He said nothing when the Future Trust held a well attended town hall meeting at the Lester Vaughn School. After several months of the country gripped by the Cahill scam debate he utters the obvious – No Cahill without my Ok. He said nothing knowing that four of his ministers signed an MOU, Implementation Agreement and Power Purchase Agreement with a shell company by the name of Cahill Energy.

Again leading into the last general election the DLP was reluctant to commit to the position of sending home public sector employees and the idea of privatization. BU recalls an emotional rant by minister Lowe defending the Beautification Program. BU also recalls former general secretary Dennis Clarke of the NUPW supported by minster of Finance Chris Sinckler responding to Caswell Franklyn’s claim the government had planned to send home 10,000 workers. One issue which continues to poke the credibly of prime minister Stuart is the inability of government to have the NCC matter heard by the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT). A tearful Denis Lowe and the prime minister promised NCC workers over a year ago at the LESC they would be treated fairly.    Even if the ERT rules on the NCC case before yearend the prime minister has taken a big hit in our view.

What about the promise by the prime minister he would address the issue of voting regularities he witnessed on polling day?

After seven years of a DLP government and a promise of building a society not only an economy where are we? An economy suffocated by debt and lack of growth and social maladies.

79 responses to “Stuart Resign Nuh”

1. You can talk all the shit you like ole man
    The fact is that there is a two party system one to lead and the opposition to be constructive in seeing that the affairs are properly conducted
    What has happen in the past seven years is an opposition who have neglected their civic and patriotic responsibility in order to curry friends and influence dark horses.

2. There was a time not too long ago Barbadians served in high positions at international agencies like the OAS, UN, ACP and many others. Is this still the case?

3. why would high level agencies entertain such a thought especially when social media has categorized barbadians as thieves and untrustworthy brass bowls, Would You, want any such people overseeing or be part of your day to day business dealings. Hush do,
    As the old adage say the pen is mightier than the sword.

4. @David the Blogmaster “do you trust the prime minister? The definition of trust by most definitions is a ‘firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone …’”

Actually David I do not trust any politician, not a single one. Not here. Not anywhere else.

In order to succeed in politics one must be self serving.

And when the politicians are busy serving themselves who is serving me?

No one.

5. Off topic yet of relevance the creation of a pedestrian cross at Spring Garden Highway is to be applauded. What cannot be tolerated is the change of Spring Garden Highway to McDonald Grynner Blenman Highway. Ouch ouch! that doesn’t even sound user friendly.The name change is needless. Spring Garden has achieved international status for Barbados’ culture and music. Crop Over without Spring Garden loses its soul. We adore Grynner’s contribution unlike most entertainers he remains humble and rootsy. There must be another way to honor this beloved Black Rockian than destroying the legacy of the Spring Garden Highway. Ras Iley’s classic Spring Garden On Fire now becomes moot. Think again Sinckler and Lashley by all means honor the “ugly man” but don’t bury the historic super popular Spring Garden in the process that name is of too much value to our great country.

David BU why not set up a poll For and Against the Spring Garden name change.

6. Dr. De Honourable writes: I do not visit BU anymore because of AC and if David wants me back he would have to ban AC.

Oh boy listen to you brother … you gone as though you’re an asset or an intellectual resource to BU.

But boy, I do admire your audacity, your temerity and your unmitigated-gal because you my friend is by popular definition a and in my own judgment a supreme egoist of an unique sort.

7. @Culture man September 19, 2015 at 7:54 PM “the change of Spring Garden Highway to McDonald Grynner Blenman Highway. Ouch ouch! that doesn’t even sound user friendly.”

Just now Bajans are going to call it the MGB Highway. Does anybody younger than 25 remember what the ABC in the ABC Highway stands for?

8. From the Sunday Sun September 20. SICK – AND FRUSTRATED TOO! Those words could aptly sum up the state of many who wait at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital’s (QEH) Accident & Emergency Department for medical attention.

When the SUNDAY SUN made a late night visit to QEH’s emergency arm, some people there profusely voiced their discontent. It steamed out like the pressure escaping from the vent of a pressure cooker. And as the night went on, the coughing, vomiting and complaints increased.”

Time to seriously think about packing the bags, seriously….. everything falling apart. Ah well, was good while it lasted folks.

Best wishes to you all.

9. Crusoe September 20, 2015 at 5:30 AM #

“From the Sunday Sun September 20. SICK – AND FRUSTRATED TOO! Those words could aptly sum up the state of many who wait at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital’s (QEH) Accident & Emergency Department for medical attention.”

Perhaps the Sunday Sun made a mistake in their reporting or the patients at the QEH are lying and have given the Sunday Sun’s reporters erroneous information.

I mentioned this because, according to the following excerpt found on page 9 of the DLP’s 2013 election manifesto, under the heading “HEALTH,” the DLP bragged about the progress made in “resolving many of the problems that impacted adversely on the delivery of health care.” [I used capitals for emphasis]

“HEALTH: In just five years, the DLP has RESCUED the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH); and the QEH is well on its way to being restored as a premier health care institution in the Caribbean. In just five years, much progress has been made in RESOLVING MANY OF THE PROBLEMS that impacted adversely on the delivery of health care. In the area of primary health care the Democratic Labour Party Administration IMPLEMENTED CORRECTIVE MEASURES WHICH HAVE REDUCED THE BURDEN EXPERIENCED BY THE PUBLIC DURING THE PERIOD OF NEGLECT, 1994-2008. An analytical, people centered and solutions oriented approach to the challenges in the health sector, has borne fruit over the last five years.”

But then again, Stuart, Sinckler, George Pilgrim, Reggie Hunte, Irene, Jeptar, Donville, Kellman, Lowe, Michael Lashley, et al, have been known to “speak falsely or utter untruth knowingly, as with intent to deceive.”

Hence, judging from the rapid deterioration and the numerous complaints from the public about the service delivery of the QEH during the past 7 years, the above excerpt may be untrue as well.

10. Dompey September 19, 2015 at 7:41 AM #

“Here is a hypothetical to chew on: let’s us suppose that Piece, Bush Tea and Artax, the three foremost outspoken critics of the Stuart administration……..”

You are incorrect, Mr. Dompey.

“Piece, Bush Tea and Artax (are) the three foremost outspoken critics of” YOU, Dompey (and rightfully so too).

11. @Correct is Right

And you see me right there in the epicenter of battle exercising my democratic as well as my inviolabe right to free speech within the periphery of constitutional protection, as Piece, Bush Tea, and Artax do.

So what your is question now sir? lol … man piss off …! Whomever you may be cloaked behind the verisimiltudes of your well dressed pseudonym?

12. @Dompey

A correction to your last comment. BU support commenters sharing views, emphasis on BU. It has nothing to do with whatever constitution you have referred.

13. @ Simple Simon,

I like the name “MGB Highway”. I used to own an MGB when I was a young wild boy.

14. @David

Sir, I am referring to any constitution with adhere to the principles of democracy. Now if you or I lived in China or Iran for example: we wouldn’t be able to express such views regarding the affairs of government, so my referenced to my democratic right to free-speech does not in anyway apply to BU specifically, but to the democratic right to free- speech many of us enjoy in the western -hemisphere, as opposed to many areas of the Middle East.

15. @Dompey

Thanks for your clarification however if you reread your comment it is obvious it was made in the context of commenting on BU.

16. @ David

I am sorry it was not my intent, but then against you’re probably correct because it is matter of perspective and interpretative- extrapolation.

17. Transport minister Lashley is on a roll first he makes crossing the Spring Garden Die way safer then he gives a firm no to increased bus fares for the ZR buses that terrorize us daily. Kudos to you Minister. Have Roy Raphael and Morris Lee lost their marbles?. The ZR culture remains one of the biggest threats to human life in the society. The lawlessness, criminality not to mention crude and selfish attitudes that pervade that sector must be rooted out before the public will support any ease for the anti social ZR sub culture led by Raphael and Lee. Those two report the NUPW represents them . As a member of the NUPW if that is true without an attitude change from the ZR anarchy my membership of the NWPW will end immediately.

The Police and the courts are overrun with the lawbreakers and foolishness crudely forced on the public by the ZRs. The ZR operators are as feared as the gunmen who threaten the society. When there is verifiable changes back to normal human behavior exhibited by ZRs they can return to argue their case. Until then the police must arrest them when they break the law with impunity and the courts must fine and jail them to the fullest extent. Raphael and Lee could volunteer to bear the punishment for their members. Don’t budge Minister Lashley the ZR people must join the rest of us in obeying the law first.

18. @Togetherness September 20, 2015 at 11:46 PM “The ZR operators are as feared as the gunmen who threaten the society. When there is verifiable changes back to normal human behavior exhibited by ZRs they can return to argue their case. Until then the police must arrest them when they break the law with impunity and the courts must fine and jail them to the fullest extent.”

Dear togetherness:

Either you don’t know what you are writing about or you are lying. I’ve taken ZR’s virtually everyday since February 1999 and the situation is not as you say.

If the government wants to do something they can use the tax money they collect from ZR owners, operators and ZR passengers to provide covered bus terminals, with toilets and with soap and with toilet paper for the operators and their passengers. We provide such facilities at the airport don’t we? Why not in the ZR stands? The government can then add bus shelters along the road. The government can provide training for all public service vehicle operators. We pay for the extensive education/training of our lawyer/political class don’t we? So why not for ZR operators? The government can tie licensing to training, as in if an owner/driver/conductor does not take the training he does not get a license. The government can provide covered garbage bins in all ZR stands. We provide covered garbage bins at the airports don’t we?

If you want more ideas ask me since I’ve taken the ZR’s virtually everyday for a generation and the situation is not as you write. In the past 16 1/2 years I’ve witnessed a single act of violence, which was when a woman apparently a ZR conductor’s girlfriend or ex-girlfriend, entered the van, drew a knife and tried to stab him to death while he was doing his work. We talk about young men failing and about young men who don’t work or won’t work. And yet I doubt that anybody can show me a group of young men in Barbados who are more hard working than ZR operators.

This is The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help me God.

19. Voters’ list mess

OPPOSITION LEADER Mia Mottley ordered the shutdown of one of her party’s branch meetings last night after confusion broke out over the election of a new executive…

20. “William Skinner September 19, 2015 at 2:46 PM #

All:
    It is obvious that when these two monstrosities(BLP and DLP) are put under the microscope ,their apologists cannot seriously defend them. Objective nationalists can then sit back and watch the cannibalism. To put it bluntly, cussing Stuart is like cussing Mia ! And vice versa. BLPDLP: same party. We have a very crude one party state. Any number can play -it will be the same result.”

What can be done then to change the system of which we complain since it seems to have been accepted as a fait accompli?

21. “Off topic yet of relevance the creation of a pedestrian cross at Spring Garden Highway is to be applauded”

You mean we are so bereft of ideas at governance level these days that creating a a pedestrian crossing is headline news. Man gimme a break.

22. @ balance;”What can be done then to change the system of which we complain since it seems to have been accepted as a fait accompli?’
    There are many citizens/ citizens groups calling for reform. I refer you a recent submission of the Mahogany Coconut Group and The Peoples Democratic Congress as carried in this BU blog. There must be continued dialogue with groups such as the Peoples Empowerment Party. We need to lift the conversation from petty party politics to what is in the national good. The goal must be to get the citizens more involved through what is commonly referred to as a participatory democracy.

23. Just when you thought it was impossible…the BEEs have outdone themselves again! First it was St. James North branch voter’s list with Edmund Hinkson and alleged vote- padding.

Years later….we have the same happening in September 2015…..Christ Church West…..alleged voter – padding……again.

So if the BEEs cannot manage their branch elections……can Bajans trust them with

24. Can Bajana trust them ( BEEs ) with national elections?

Nada…..

25. @Fractured BLP September 21, 2015 at 9:02 AM “Can Bajana trust them ( BEEs ) with national elections?..Nada…..”

Fortunately there are non-partisan peple like me who help to manage national elections…and I am happy to do so for little or no money because I don’t care about the DLP, the BLP, the NDP, the PEP, the PDC nor any party.

26. @DR. THE HONOURABLE September 19, 2015 at 12:42 PM “Nobody has responded to the fact that Carson C Cadogan is really David Thompson’s mother.”

Carson C. Cadogan had a sex change AND GAVE BIRTH and we have not moved forward and made Barbados the sex reassignment capital of the world? Think how much we could have earned if we could have done the sex re-assigment surgery for Bruce Jenner and other rich American celebrities.

Endless money den!!!!

LOL!!!!

27. While the AG, the PM and our illustrious law makers are procrastinating and scratching their balls over the question of how best to deal with the frightening upsurge in gun related activities in this country, the gunmen are ably and loudly demonstrating who are the real bosses in control of this country.
    What will it take to spur our Marking Time leaders into action? Today it was guns blazing in Westbury Cemetery, tomorrow it may be Palmetto Street.
    http://i.imgur.com/o0eACPe.jpg?2

28. Well—didn’t David Thompson lie more than once PRIOR to 2008 when he said publicly that he had information which he clearly didn’t have? Barbados still put him in power. Did we think that he would change? And then–he left us Freundel to carry on.

29. Obama promised he would change the way government does business. As the term of his office expires you be the judge. Politicians everywhere can be defined in the same way.