Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

The following statement uttered by the leader of government business Senator Maxine McClean in the Senate yesterday [7/09/2015] sounds an ominous warning […]for long suffering CLICO policyholders.  The leader of Government Business in the Senate today warned that there were no guarantees that CLICO policyholders will recoup all their investments

No Promise. It appears long suffering CLICO policyholders will receive a haircut!

The BU family is fortunate to have Walter Blackman share his insights about government’s plan to restructure CLICO. Government’s plan is to transfer CLICO assets to New Life Investment Company Incorporated (NLICO). That company would be responsible for issuing Government bonds to CLICO for the purpose of transferring the real estate assets of CLICO to NLICO – Barbados Today. Walter is a trained Actuary and fully aware of the nuance of the Barbados market. BU regards him of one of the most qualified Barbadians to comment on this issue.

The following is a comment posted by Walter in response to a question from the Blogmaster.

David September 7, 2015 at 6:39 PM #

@Walter – The BIPA appears to be in favour of the restructuring plan therefore one must assume they are fully apprised of the risk.

It would indeed be unbecoming and disrespectful of me to make any unflattering remarks about the efforts of the BIPA at this time. The biggest risk the BIPA faces is that it might have been given a front row seat invitation to witness and participate in the burial of its policyholders’ hopes. I said hopes, because that is all the policyholders are left with.

However, similar to the little dog in the nursery rhyme, I must “laugh to see such fun” that results when fools try to play the part of wise men.

Let us look at this CLICO problem from a very basic and simple standpoint.

If I were Prime Minister of Barbados, and thought that at least one Barbadian had common sense, I would have been forced to provide that one Barbadian with four elementary pieces of information:

1.The present value of CLICO’s total liabilities
2.The present level of CLICO’s verified assets
3. The level of statutory reserves CLICO ought to have
4. The level of Statutory reserves CLICO actually has

David, have you seen or heard any of this elementary data coming from the PM or the MOF?

The Prime Minister accused the Judicial Managers of paying themselves “dizzying millions” from CLICO’s remaining assets. Why couldn’t he tell Barbadians the exact figure?

If, despite the fact that CLICO possessed “dizzying millions”, the company was still forced into Judicial Management, how can he convince me and you that the government intends to inject $53 million dollars in the new company and that will be enough to solve the problem? Who pulled this 53 million dollars out of a hat?

If you were to look closely at some of the high level personnel involved with NEWCO (or NLICO or whatever it is called), you will discover that they are people who have come to the end of their careers and have very little to lose, reputation wise. We have already discussed Wismar Greaves, the deputy chairman. From all reports, Clennel Goodman, the chairman, is a RETIRED banker. George Hutson is a former MP and cabinet minister who the Prime Minister wants us to believe lacks the ability to serve in the senate or in his cabinet. So, for the time being, we can view him as a RETIRED politician.

Finally, if you had listened carefully to the recent utterances of Dr. Ralph Gonzalves, PM of St. Vincent and the Grenadines on CLICO, you would have come away convinced that Dr. Gonzalves was accusing the Government of Barbados of deviating from its promises made to him and other prime ministers by trying to use this inadequate and unilateral approach.
If they could deliberately try to bamboozle their prime ministerial colleagues from the OECS, do you think they would think twice about tricking and outfoxing the BIPA? I certainly don’t.

As I said before, stay tuned.

65 responses to “Walter Blackman Comments on CLICO and NLICO Restructuring Plan”

1. @Artaxerxes; I got it right didn’t I?,

Anyhow, I am not throwing anything out to catch anything. I tell it like I perceive it to be, since according to you folk I am an idiot and a yard fowl. I just go according to those better placed and more sensible than me, and their postings. That is why I went all the way back to 2014; and I was not in Barbados in June that year (2014) so I could not have been influenced by anyone. I could only know what I have read, copied and have in my archives, and they make very interesting reading. What a mess Barbados has been in for lo these many years; and I am talking of before 2008; years before. The names called and the situations, the scenarios and the people involved; drugs, murder, intimidation, so many awful things, I am shocked. Yard fowls and Yard ducks have similar masters acting in the same ways with the same friends that each master and servant is protecting. As Bushie would say…”Bare bars bowlery, and shite. But since I don’t know who Bushie is he might be one of the big ups involved. Murdah!

2. @Artaxerxes,

For the information of those who may not be aware; I am sure you are aware,Excerpted from an article entitled “CL auditors come under fire.”

…n particular, auditors PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) Trinidad and Tobago, were grilled over apparent failures to question the word of former CLF officials Lawrence Duprey, L Andre Monteil and Gita Sakal and – in once instance – for not even bothering to check the CLF financial statements when doing audits of related subsidiary companies that relied heavily on CLF’s financial health.

In contrast, the auditors appeared to have taken a more cautious approach for the accounts of smaller, less important firms in the CLF group, such as British American Insurance Company (Trinidad) Limited (BAICO), than they did with Clico’s accounts, where billions of funds belonging to third parties had accrued.

PwC partner Keith Daniel, the firm’s head of insurance services up to 2011, and a partner for the last 20 years, faced questions by lawyers for now State-owned Clico; the Clico Policyholders Group; counsel to the Inquiry and even lawyers from Ernst & Young.

There were at times heated exchanges between the witness and the attorneys. So much so that by the end of the sitting, which began at 9.30am, Daniel asked chairman of the inquiry, Sir Anthony Colman, for a break.”

As I said I only tell it as other people tell it.

3. @Artaxerxes, the excerpt is from a T&T article by Andrew Bagoo in Newsday.! March 1st. 2013. There is much more, even more interesting.

4. @ Alvin Cummins

Why are you associating/correlating the CLICO Trinidad issues with CLICO Barbados?

It seems as though you are confusing the issues and me in the process. You are asking questions pertaining to CLICO Barbados and responding by presenting information about CLICO Trinidad & Tobago, PURPOSELY IGNORING the FACT that they are two COMPLETELY DIFFERENT SCENARIOS.

I’m done with you and that because I do not understand where you are going with your line of argument.

5. @ Artax
    …first it was AC…
    Now it is Alvin….
    Wait … you got some kinda fetish for ACs? …. skippa leave the man nuh!!

Cuh shiite man!!
    Alvin just told us that he researches his ‘facts’ by referencing past issues of BU – probably postings by ‘Judders’, ‘Dirty laundry’, AC and Dompey…. and you talking shiite bout ‘you do not understand where he is going with his line of argument’…?

The man is a nut……
    What don’t you get?

6. @ Bushie

Hahahahahaha

7. @Artaxerxes.

/Users/alvincummins/Desktop/B.dos underground1.jpeg

8. @Artaxerxes,
    What are the different scenarios? the auditors for CL Financial, were questioned regarding the collapse of CLICO (Trinidad). The Judicial Manager for CLICO (Barbados) has made certain statements regarding the Inter-company transfers from CLICO subsidiaries to CL Financial (Trinidad). There is no getting away from the fact that there were inter-connectivities. Yet you pour scorn on David Thompson when he said the same thing. It is YOU people who are nuts.

This is taken from the blog of:
    Dirty Laundry June 7.2014 at 2.28.p.m.

“…Let us return to the real issues here. Barbados used to be admired cos everything worked, good government, good Civil Service. Competent mostly honest non political Judiciary:Regulated economy and society:Sad to say”used to” this PWC and CIBCFCIB matter when fully publicized will cause Bajans to have very serious concerns on several scores and seriously cause foreigners to take a second look at Barbados.
    Barbadians and Foreigners for that matter should normally be able to feel some degree of trust in PWC;Price Waterhouse Coopers. As an international Accounting Firm, and expect that the PWC firm and PWC partners abide by the Law; to have integrity; expect that partners can’t be bought/corrupted; that PWC would not corrupt the judiciary; that PWC would operate within the Law.
    I fear, not so.
    Not on ,amy scores.
    An International and National disgrace.
    All while the so called regulatory authorities , despite being we’ll are of all the illegalities simply look on. Why? Because emasculated by Politicians and corrupt Attorneys at Law

Recall PWC was auditor for the CLICO British American group all about the Caribbean. PWC knew all that was happening at CLICO BAICO; as did many of the attorneys who benefitted from doing the paperwork for those Criminal Ponzi robbers. Check the list of parties in CLICO litigation.See who the attorneys were. Read the CLICO Audit accounts by PWC CIBCFCIBC Well. Well. Who was the senior executive who opwnwd Leroy Parris Bank account.Why did CLICO do so much business with CIBCFCIBC??
    Now consider the receivership on <cHale. Totally unlawful from the start to now. See who the players are; CIBCFCIBC/BAICO PWC…As in CLICO BAICO
    Clarke Gittens Farmer Attorneys.

…See this now, it is Ramon Alleyne (ROA) of Clarke Gittens Farmer who applied for the Judicial Managers Report to be sealed…to try and keep the corruption private from the Caribbean people who lost their money with CLICO. It was Oliver Jordan who was the Senior man at CIBCFCIBC then went to Deloite Judicial Manager of CLICO BAICO, an now the same Oliver JORDAN gets the report sealed and goes to PWC the auditors of CLICO to carry on his good work.

Cover up. Coincidence? No way you poor victims. All planned from the top. Is this another coincidence? Brian Clarke a PARTNER AT CLARKE GITTENS FARMER, LEFT HIS family firm of attorneys to work for CIBCFCIBC, as general Counsel. Just as Leslie Haynes was Counsel to CLICO. You all want to know why?

You remember McHale spoke out at CLICO General Meeting; spoke about CLICO Auditors and Directors. Strange coincidence?????

Clarke Gittens Farmer,CIBCFCIBC and PWCbeen trying to destroy McHale Financially since late 2012….helped by Leslie Haynes who acts for Anthony DaSilva and INNOTECH services and Gordon Seale go Bouganvillea and Michael and Angela St. JOHN OF TROPIC AND GLACIAL ICE. You want the full scoop? How to corrupt and influence the Judiciary? …the Regulators? RBPF.

You all want the real down low? You would like to hear the dirty politicians involved?

At the Almond Beach Club AGM a highly regarded business man asked if he could be expected to trust the PWC Audit Report; or if the company had bought them off.

United Insurance, Audited by PWC; can any policy holder or depositor rely on the audit report of PWC?

Chris Sambrano was one of the PWC McHale receivers….resigned his Partnership at PWC and gone to Ernst Young…Who audit CIBIFCIBC.

You want more dirt? Go to the McHale takes on Gordon Seale blog here.

Now I (Alvin Cummins) am only writing what was already written by others. I have picked sense out of nothing. So if Bushie says I am talking shite, these are not my words but the words of the bloggers. Fight and quarrel with those bloggers, They know more than me, and are supposedly more sensible.

9. @Artaxerxes and Bushie,
    So you knew what I was speaking about, before I wrote. So I am not such a nut, neither do I talk shite. So it must be Judders and SC, and Dompey, and Dirty Laundry, who are speaking the truth. Strange, that now I have researched it I am a nut. Well I have presented excerpts/ It is up to BU nation to judge whether I am really a nut. You say Chris McHale is a person who should be committed. Why? Because he speaks the truth? But, he presents the evidence. Why are people so quick to rush to judgement? Our society leaves much to be desired.

10. @ Alvin
    Repeating what other anonymous bloggers said is not ‘RESEARCH’.
    It is called ‘hearsay’
    …or in this case ‘seeblog’..

11. @Bushie,
    Don’t give me that Bull Turd. The reason I “researched”; (went back to 2014) inserts by other bloggers is to present their opinions. Don’t forget YOU are one of those “anonymous bloggers, so ANY OF YOUR COMMENTS; IS ALSO “HEARSAY”. I AM PUTTING THEIR OPINIONS IN THE PRESENT so as TO ACQUAINT THOSE WHO MIGHT NOT HAVE SEEN THEIR EARLIER COMMENTS, TO BRING THEM FORWARD. THEY ARE TOO IMPORTANT TO LEAVE IN THE ARCHIVES.Please note I always indicate where the quotations are from. I NEVER write as though they were my own contributions. When they are mine I so indicate. My “research” has unearthed a lot more. I’ll keep those close to my chest until the appropriate time

As I said, I don’t know who you are, neither do I want to know, but I suspect you are closer to the whole debacle than you would like people to know.

By the way, are we in a court of Law, or just a court of public opinion? L believe it is a court of public opinion, so “Hearsay” or ‘seeblog’ is perfectly acceptable as contributions to the discussion.

12. Alvin
    Every time Bushie figures that you have reached the nadir of idiocy, you manage to find a new hoe….

13. But Bushie, you ent saying nutting!!Not a ping nor a pang!!!

Ef yuh ent got nutting sensible to say, don’t say nutting.You already point out dat I is a nut, an a idiot. Big deal.

14. @Walter

Do you want to comment on minister Denis Kellmam’s Facebook status?

Where ever you go, in Barbados you will hear the bright classroom students saying “do not mind the MP for St Lucy, he is also talking foolishness.” When the BLP decided to increase the pensionable age and the rates i spoke out against them, explaining what would have happened. I warned them that it would have caused the young people not to receive work at their most productive age and also it would increase the cost to employers decreasing employment. Also what occurred is that while the NIS was building reserves the country and the businesses were recording losses and down grades. it occurred because of bad advice from the actuary, causing the NIS Boards to rape the economy using a policy of their own Government. NIS then turned around and told the Government , we did not beg you to give us the reserves and if you want to borrow you have to pay us higher ,than what we can receive on open market., depriving Government of its credit rating, and having cash. They had no better opportunity to invest, but they bled the Government without caring that they are all part of the Government.