CLICO Cheque_Leroy Parris

13.  Corruption – Corruption is generally not a major problem in Barbados, but some U.S. companies have reported unfair treatment by Barbados’ Customs and Excise Department.

[…]

Other U.S. companies have reported efforts by political actors to trade political support for payment or partial project ownership. – 2015 US Climate Investment Report – Barbados

BU does not have to be reminded about White collar crime in Barbados by the US government. Those of us on the ground are aware what it takes to acquire permissions from several agencies in Barbados. A read of the Auditor General report published through the years confirms this type of corruption is endemic to our way of doing business for many years. How many times have we heard about Permanent Secretaries transfers, transfer of ministers of Cabinet, bankers resigning or retiring in the dead of night and other stories and raised a quizzical expression in response?

Auditor General, Leigh Trotman's voice has been one in the wilderness.
Auditor General, Leigh Trotman’s voice has been one in the wilderness.

The politicians and supporters  – especially those in office – would have us believe the incident of corruption in public office is low based on a public perception index popularized by Transparency International, United Nations agencies and other global bodies.  In the same way then Attorney General Maurice King denied the presence of gangs in Barbados, the inability of the country to efficiently manage private transport which has led to a sub culture fuelling deviance by the youth, the infiltration of guns and drugs in a society known for order, the inaction of the Director of Public Prosecutions to swiftly deal with obvious wrongs, the ease which some brought before the Courts are able to have their cases dismissed (files misfiled???) or enjoy prolong bail arrangements, the CLICO fiasco many have forgotten about but which history will record as the biggest heist by white collar actors in Barbados. Let us not forget the DLP’s version of 3S Barbados in Cahill Barbados! On and on we can go to support the view all is not what it seems in Barbados.

What should be embarrassing to all proud Barbadians is that since the revelation by Albert Brandford in his Sunday column  Corrupt political ‘’actors’’ there has not been any responses coming from within the bowels of the political class, private sector, media OR the citizenry. This is telling! Bear in mind the Auditor General reports through the years have shown the private and public sectors are willing actors perpetrating white collar crime in Barbados.

Unless our civil servants are prepared to blow the whistle on obvious wrongs by the corrupt political actors, it will be business as usual in Barbados as we continue to slide towards the inevitable – social and economic implosion.  The members of the political class are too myopic and greedy to appreciate the outcomes of their behaviour. The citizenry too uneducated to care.

All the signs are present. We ignore at our peril. Whither future generations of Barbadians?

45 responses to “The Corruption Iceberg”

1. @ David

“Unless our civil servants are prepared to blow the whistle on obvious wrongs by the corrupt political actors, it will be business as usual in Barbados as we continue to slide towards the inevitable – social and economic implosion. The members of the political class are too myopic and greedy to appreciate the outcomes of their behaviour. The citizenry too uneducated to care.”

You accuse the “political class” of being corrupt, but some civil servants are just as corrupt as well. Corruption is rampant in Barbados and business is facilitated under a system of “draw-backs” or if you know the “right person in the right place.” Let me give you a few examples.

Let’s begin with Inland Revenue/BRA.

Taxi, maxi-taxi, route taxi and mini-bus operators are required to submit income tax returns and subsequently apply for a tax clearance certificate (TCC), which is required by Licensing Authority for the renewal of road tax. The question is how many of these operators have ever filed or continually file income tax returns, yet many of them continue to operate their vehicles.

Traditionally, small business people DO NOT like to file income tax returns, because they DO NOT want to pay income taxes (but would want to benefit from social services). With this in mind, a “system” was created to assist these people, whereby some of these operators can go to certain individuals in Inland Revenue, who, after receiving the appropriate fee, would circumvent the legitimate system and “help” the operators with their TCC.

Next is the Licensing Authority/BRA.

Public service vehicles have to undergo inspection to get a road worthy certificate (RWC) before permits and road taxes can be renewed. If you saw, for example, the condition of some PSVs, you will be curious as to how the vehicle passed inspection. But, as in the case of IR, there are those individuals who will circumvent the legitimate system, and for the appropriate fee “assist” the operator in receiving the RWC.

Now, a situation involving the “political class.”

A Mr. Gordon Bispham was a chairman of Urban Development Commission (UDC) when it was located in Roebuck Street and under the portfolio of Chris Sinckler. Bispham had office space at UDC and gave himself the authority to select artisans and distribute contracts accordingly. Hence, artisans desirous of obtaining work from UDC would crowd the waiting area in anticipation of see Bispham and receiving contracts for house repairs from him.

For those who would be quick to draw the party line, these types of activities are synonymous with BOTH BLP and DLP.

These are FACTS, but some of you will say it’s a situation where “a poor Black man is trying to make an extra dollar to feed his family.” The reality is, these practices are white collar crimes and are therefore illegal.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Our culture is not only parading almost naked girls, disgracing themselves, calling it Kadooment. Our culture, whether we like it or not is heavily laced with stealing. It runs through all levels of our society. Unfortunately, the only stealing that is frowned upon is that committed by poor black uneducated men, who make up the bulk of the population at Dodds.

We have instances where court marshals steal money that they had collected and when discovered, they were allowed to repay the money by instalments. We even had an instance where one of them was give acting promotion so that he could use the acting allowance to pay off the money that he stole.

The marshal who reported wrongdoing, on the part of his chief, was demoted. In light of that do you expect civil servants to risk their jobs reporting any aspect of wrongdoing. Mind you, it is an offence for a public officer to know of wrongdoing and not report it.

3. @Artax

Thanks for the ‘intervention’. Another prominent reference to include is why has the BRA not audited Leroy Parris.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

He is not a leper.

5. Is this the precursor of things to come on Cahill energy
    Is nautilus renewables the NJ based investment house (Infrastar) unwittingly getting involved in the Cahill scandal .
    The auditor general should be looking at the way this scammer Clare Cowan has used the money borrowed to fund this charade to pay her mortgage and fund her non performance in attracting investors to believe her BS. Her non payment of the many companies and consultants for the services done in good faith and her using the contracts as colateral to dupe people into performing services on the condition thst she will pay them once the contracts are signed is an abomination.The pending lawsuits and legal demands she is ignoring have to be brought to a head and she needs to be brought to book for her elisit dealings before more people are dragged into this global scam…..

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Franklyn

Today’s refrain is Nuffing ok?

The examples of glaring infelicity that you have shared here only make the ole man more convinced that man, in general, and Bajans in particular are just reinterpreting and applying parts of the Bible as they see fit.

Matthew 7 verse 3 comes to mind when I say this

“And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?

Now afore ye believe that the ole man doing a zoe pun you and breathing brimstone upon ye, let de ole man say as Chief Backslider in de fold at *** I cant say nuffin bout nobody udder dan DEM vagabonds dat I does cuss heah

DE part dat is important is de “considerest thou not the beam that is in your own ey” dat de ole man gine talk bout.

You remember when a certain man of whom great platitudes was given when he dead, you remember when he son get catch at de airport wid drugs?”

You remember whu happen wid he illegal contraband matter?

And your refrain? Nufffin!!

You remember when a next man set up he wife as de director uh a business (no not Minister Pornville dat is a nex wife) and she send in a quotation to he Coastal Management Unit en she get de job? You remember whu happen tuh he illegal practices?

You remember how a Prime Minister and he Attorney General Nitwit did look and see people buying votes pun election day, TWICE, and did promise tuh prosecute nuff vote buyers en ting, you remembah whu happen to dat illegal issue?

We de reason dat nuffing gine happen in dis corruption iceberg ent becausing we isnt have so many instances dat a civil servant ken report it is becausing uh “de beam” dat I got in me eye Mr. Franklyn.

If i do de right ting and report you skvnt today, you ken bet you last dollar bill dat befo’ de week out dat you gine can me skvnt in de same circumstances BECAUSE DE MOTE IS IN ME EYE TOO!!

Here endeth today’s reading

7. “The members of the political class are too myopic and greedy to appreciate the outcomes of their behaviour. The citizenry too uneducated to care.”

‘Nuff said!

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

**gine catch, gine catch me skvnt

9. @ David

“Another prominent reference to include is why has the BRA not audited Leroy Parris.”

By mentioning the above comment, surely David (and in the words of Chaucer) “thoughte he wolde amenden al the jape.” David, surely you must remember the following:

Richard Byer charged $766,855.24 for rendering a legal opinion on a $25.7 million loan from the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) to finance the Cave’s redevelopment and $38,187.50 for interpreting the Caves of Barbados CEO’s contract. It was interesting to note that similar legal services were rendered for $17,000.00 plus VAT associated with the original loan agreement of $33.7 million.

Denis Lowe subsequently agreed to pay Byer $487,817.40 and $23,500.00 for interpreting the CEO’s contract.
    After personal attacks and verbal abuse from Byer, the services of CEO, Joe-ann Grant, were terminated (perhaps for bringing this matter to the fore).

Byer ain’t get touch, so you expect the BRA to audit Parris?

Byer’s actions and the subsequent responses by ministers Kellman and Lowe to those actions, position this scenario to the tip of “The Corruption Iceberg?”

10. Corruption – Corruption is generally not a major problem in Barbados, but some U.S. companies have reported unfair treatment by Barbados’ Customs and Excise Department

(~_~)

Wunna cud talk til de black belly sheep follow de cow and jump ova de moon; if the mighty Uncle Sam says corruption is not a major problem here, then that is all that matters. No?

When the bell tolls we will run to mark that all important X next to the names of these honourable men and women. A Few of you may pause to reflect on corruption, integrity, transparency, accountability, good governance and other lofty ideals, but the vast majority will not and this post will be as relevant in 2019 as it is today.

11. I remember an old saying:- “WHATEVER IS DONE IN THE DARK, WILL SOON COME TO THE LIGHT;” Well this isn’t nothing new for sure. The only problem is that this time they have tried to squeeze the wrong folks too tight. But you can bet your last dollar that most of the folks who has invested in Barbados already knew what has to be done to accomplish what they want, or need. The sorry part about the whole situation is that not only are they messing with people wanting to invest in Barbados. But also the way that they are even taking from the poor hard working taxpayers, and doing it with a big smile and lots of promises. Along with every now and then they will throw you what they call a FREE AFFAIR. But for your information it isn’t FREE at all. YOU have already paid for it ten times over.
    You see the people that are making the big decisions already has in mind that they are above the law, and nothing is going to be done about it. And it will be business as usual. Until this STOPS, things are going to become worse all around. The shot calls should be held accountable for their actions, and dealt with to the full extent of the law. But they know that’s not going to happen, and count on it 110%. From the looks of things, it seem that the good people in Barbados is going around in a circle, and where, or when it STOPS nobody knows.
    When you start losing CREDIBILITY, you are going to lose investors, which means jobs and revenue for the country.
    I hope that this situation will cause changes to be seriously made, making all accountable, and punishable for their actions? “THIS HAS TO STOP;”

12. @Raw Bake

There was a time when Panama’s Noriega, Sadam, Osama et al were all friends of the US. What happened?

@Caswell

What happened with the outstanding VAT owes by Courts?

13. We should list several ministers of MPW who have pocketed money for licenses.

14. Foreign and local investors are likely to SUSPECT that a hand-out is expected, because our over-beurocratic permitting process is so SLOW !!!

15. David,
    I always have trouble answering you rhetorical questions. My answer is exactly.

We should not have to wait on our uncle to change his opinon though.
    Yuh mean we the people will forever remain powerless against our political masses.

Talk bout parents wasting lunch money!

16. David

As far as I know it was never paid and it seems not to be a problem for this cash strapped Government.

17. @Raw Bake

We are an uneducated people when it comes to civics.

18. “The heart is deceitful ABOVE ALL THINGS, and DESPERATELY WICKED, Who can know it? I the Lord, search the heart, I test the mind. Even to give to every man according to his ways. According to the fruit of his doings.” (Jeremiah 17: 9,10) emphasis added.

The following is no joke, when America sneezes, look out!

STATISTICIAN: DATA PROVES BIBLICAL FINANCIAL COLLAPSE
    ‘In September, we can expect something really bad’
    Published: 15 hours ago
    image: http://www.wnd.com/files/2014/06/lhohmann_avatar.jpg

Stock Market despair

Get ready – because the best of times are over and the worst of times may have just begun.

That is the assessment of a Florida mathematician who has studied the biblical Shemitah cycle as it applies to the financial markets.

Thomas Pound is an educator and mathematician who applies his statistical wizardry to the markets.

The Dow fell another 468 points, or 3 percent, Tuesday, providing fresh evidence for investors the sell-off which began in August was no mirage. It is likely to continue in September.

Only eight more trading days remain until the dreaded Elul 29, which is the final day of the Shemitah year, known as “wipe out day” on the Hebrew calendar.

Since Elul 29 falls on a Sunday, Sept. 13, when the markets are closed, the rest of this week and the following week could bring the most devastating losses. Another theory is that the period of Sept. 14-28 right after Elul 29 and leading up to a scheduled blood moon (on Sept. 27-28) could be worth watching.

What do YOU think? Is America’s economy on verge of crash? Sound off in today’s WND poll

Proof in the numbers

Several years ago, Pound corresponded with a financial adviser who was using a decennial analysis to determine which years were optimum for investor returns. According to the theory behind decennial analysis, which was first proposed in the book “Irrational Exuberance” by Yale Economics professor Robert Shiller, years ending in the number eight yielded better returns than other years, according to the Israeli publication Breaking Israel News. Years that ending in seven were less lucrative.

Armed with 144 years of market data going back to 1871, Pound set out to test the validity of this theory. As Pound explained to Breaking Israel News, “Being a statistician, if somebody makes a claim, then statistically, it should hold up.”

Using the Analysis of Variance significance (ANOVA) test, Pound discovered there was some basis for the financial adviser’s strategy of avoiding investing in years that ended in seven. It gave him a statistical advantage of 100 base points, with years not ending in seven averaging an annual return of 10.19 percent, compared to an overall average of 9.04 percent.

Now comes Jonathan Cahn’s New York Times-best selling book about the Shemitah cycle – “The Mystery of the Shemitah” – and Pound was again challenged to study Cahn’s research from a statistical perspective to see if it had merit.

The Shemitah year falls every seventh year, when God instructed Moses to let the land rest, cease sowing and reaping, and then all Israelites were to have their debts canceled on the final day of the year, Elul 29.

Cahn pointed out that the years 1973, 1980, 1987, 2001 and 2008 were all Shemitah years that saw stock markets collapse.

The biggest ever single-day stock market crash occurred on Sept. 29, 2008, when the Dow fell 777.7 points and lost $1.2 trillion in value. This day also happened to be Elul 29, the last day of the Jewish year, one day before Rosh Hashana, signaling the end of the Shemitah cycle.

After a friend told him about the seven-year Sabbatical cycle to the stock market, Pound again set out to see if the theory held up under statistical scrutiny.

Applying the same ANOVA test to the Shemitah cycle, Pound’s research revealed that the sabbatical years were the only group of years in which the market cycle averages consistent significant losses since 1871.

See all of Jonathan Cahn’s books, films and teachings in one place.

He also found that, in Shemitah years, the difference in loss was greater than that noted in professor Shiller’s decennial cycle.

“Statistically, it appears that the calendar years in which the Sabbatical year ends are worse than the other six years, and that difference is significant based on the data I have,” Pound told Breaking Israel News.

Prepare for a crash

With mathematical precision, Pound quoted King Solomon in Ecclesiastes 11:2, “Divide your portion to seven, or even to eight, for you do not know what misfortune may occur on the earth,” as practical advice to prepare for the inevitable Shemitah market crash, Breaking Israel News reported.

The Israeli newspaper noted that “this bit of biblical wisdom advises we diversify our portfolios.”

Pound also noted the irony that, according to the decennial theory, 2015 should be one of the better years for investing in the stock market. But not so, according to the Shemitah theory. As Pound told Breaking Israel News, “In September, we can expect something really bad.”

Some who have studied and scrutinized Cahn’s research in America are even more dramatic in their advice to investors.

Michael Snyder, author of the blog Economic Collapse, wrote in an Aug. 31 entry:

“All of the intel that I have received is absolutely screaming that big trouble is ahead. So enjoy these last few days of relative peace and quiet. I mean that sincerely. In fact, that is exactly what I have been doing – over the past week I have not been posting many articles because I was spending time with family, friends and preparing for the national call to prayer on September 18th and 19th. But now as we enter the chaotic month of September 2015 I have a feeling that there is going to be plenty for me to write about.”

Snyder pointed out that Augusts are typically not bad months for the stock market. But when bad Augusts do occur, they are almost always followed by a September that is just as bad.

“Throughout history, there have only been 11 times when the S&P 500 has declined by more than 5 percent during the month of August,” Snyder wrote. “When that has happened, the stock market has almost always fallen in September as well.”

The stock market has already plummeted 14 percent over the last month.

John Hussman, author of Hussman’s weekly financial letter, wrote in an Aug. 30 entry that he sees the Dow falling by 50 percent by the time the dust settles.

Hussman urged his readers not to listen to the so-called experts brought in by networks such as CNN, CNBC and Bloomberg to calm investors’ jittery nerves. He wrote:

“They assured their few thousand remaining viewers the 11% plunge in the stock market was caused by China and the communist government’s direct intervention in their stock market, arrest of a brokerage CEO, and threat to prosecute sellers surely cured what ails their market. The Fed and their Plunge Protection Team co-conspirators reversed the free fall, manipulating derivatives and creating a short seller covering rally back to previous week levels. The moneyed interests are desperate to retain the appearance of normality and stability, as their debt saturated system teeters on the verge of collapse.”

Hussman, in fact, sees a down market for the next 18 months as it gradually falls in line with the down economy of Barack Obama.

“John Hussman’s weekly letter provides sound advice for anyone looking to avoid a 50% loss in the next 18 months. The market has been overvalued for the last three years and now sits at overvaluation levels on par with 1929 and 2000. The difference is that fear has been overtaking greed in the psyches of traders. The average Joe isn’t in the market. Only the Ivy League MBA High frequency trading computer gurus are playing in this rigged market. The 1,100 point crash last Monday is what happens when arrogant young traders, fear and computer algorithms combine in a perfect storm of mindless selling. Suddenly the pompous risk takers became frightened risk averse lemmings.”

Read more at http://www.wnd.com

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You actually mean to say that there is a “more” to read?

20. There are many questions that can be asked here but the foremost one on my mind is why hasn’t V.O.B carried it as part of the Newscast. Isn’t this as important as the next downgrade. Or is Ellis busy looking for the ‘Balance’? Babb like he is a big frighten man!

21. @Zoe,
    Zoe didn’t you understand from my earlier submission that the Old Testament is nothing but a history of the Hebrew people of thousands of years ago? It has NO bearing on the world of today. You and others like you are just trying to make it fit, but like a crossword puzzle if it is the wrong piece, it will never fit.
    We have had corruption in man from the “creation”. We have had corrupt kings, queens, ordinary people, leaders of countries and leaders of business. Corruption is part of man’s nature and will never be removed from man’s nature. Get used to it. WE HAVE HAD CRASHES, WE HAVE HAD “BUBBLES” THAT BURST BECAUSE OF CORRUPTION, WE HAVE HAD CORRUPT CHURCH OFFICIALS, POLITICIANS, BUSINESS LEADERS AND ALL SORTS OF PEOPLE WE HAVE “LOOKED UP” TO, and it will continue. We can try-maybe we should try harder, but until the thing castled MONEY is reduced to nothing, that will be the way of life. I am a realist.

22. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bernie Fields; re. your 6:44 pm post;

Sorry, I haven’t been following the news carefully.

But…… What are you talking about that VOB didn’t carry and that have Babb frightened?

23. @Are-we-there-yet Think what he is saying is that this is big news and we have not heard traditional media given it the airplay it merits. It punctures a hole in our governance setup. BU is concerned the government has not seen it necessary to respond. On the other hand other trivial issues raised by insignificant on unimportant actors they are quick to respond.

24. @ Alvin
    You would do well to leave Zoe alone.
    Your understanding of the bible -and particularly of the old testament – is an exercise in abject idiocy compared to Zoe’s.
    A word to the wise is usually sufficient, (…although this is not applicable in your case.) However Bushie would still STRONGLY advise you to wait until OCTOBER before dismissing Zoe’s recent ‘rants’….

25. @Bushie,
    Oh really!!!
    If you read my blog carefully, and try to separate your common sense, from your brain-washed and “stuck in the middle ages understanding of the Bible, you would see that what I have written makes perfect sense.

The Bible, especially the King James version was designed to brainwash, coerce, and cow, those who just accept what they are given without any sort of analysis
    This is what I have done. And it is not directed to Zoe only, but to people like you who let your personal biases get in the way of your intellect.
    Zoe regurgitates the words and writings of those who want to keep people in subjection; those who believe what they write, by making promises that are no less actual and factual, than the lotteries that attract those looking for a quick fix. When Zoe can quote something from Jeremiah, written over two thousand years ago, and attaches it to the state of the stock market:
    STATISTICIAN: DATA PROVES BIBLICAL FINANCIAL COLLAPSE
    ‘In September, we can expect something really bad:
    and have people believe it, then they need to have their heads examined.

If people would be kinder and more considerate of each other, and each others’ needs and wants, and seek to help each other, this would be a kinder world.

26. Only those whose feet are firmly PLANTED in ‘MIDAIR’ covered in the Dross of self-deceived IGNORANCE and DEBASED ARROGANCE, cannot critically and intellectually see and understand that we are virtually living IN* and witnessing ALL that Almighty God’s Word, the Bible, has prophesied for these END-TIMES, unlike any other ancient document!

Dazzling ‘End Times Eyewitness’ movie
    – $4.95 today only!
    Blockbuster film examines the Unfolding Signs of the Messiah’s Return’

Is the return of Jesus closer than you think? What are the most powerful prophetic signs being fulfilled on the earth today? How is the new Middle East after the Arab Spring aligning with the testimony of the biblical prophets? What are the little-known prophetic signs that few are paying attention to?

Addressing all these questions dramatically and insightfully is New York Times bestselling author Joel Richardson’s latest film, and today only, WND readers can get their own copy of this stunning documentary, “End Times Eyewitness: Israel, Islam and the Unfolding Signs of the Messiah’s Return,”

“End Times Eyewitness” takes you on a firsthand journey into the heart of the biblical world, to the front lines of the ongoing Middle Eastern revolutions. Discover how the most powerful prophetic signs are being fulfilled on earth today and how the new Middle East after the Arab Spring is aligning with the testimony of the biblical prophets.

Find out how Muslims are talking about helping to rebuild the Jewish Temple. Learn about the Islamic eschatological belief that Jesus will return to lead the Caliphate and require Christians to convert to Islam.

Filmed in several nations and featuring the testimonies of global Christian leaders, pastors, theologians, and missionaries — as well as some of the most prominent Islamic scholars in the world — “End Times Eyewitness’ reveals which biblical prophecies of the last days are being fulfilled on the earth today and what is coming next.

Join Joel Richardson as he interviews:

• The legendary Old Testament scholar Walter C. Kaiser Jr.

• Adnan Oktar, a Turkish Muslim leader who talks about the rebuilding of the Jewish Temple – with the help of Muslims

• Sheikh Ekrima Said Sabri, the son of the late Grand Mufti of Jerusalem who explains Islamic eschatological belief that Jesus will return to lead the Caliphate and require Christians to convert to Islam

• Rabbi Yehuda Glick, head of the Temple Mount Heritage Foundation

• International House of Prayer director Mike Bickle

• And many other Christian leaders from Israel, Egypt, Turkey, Lebanon, Syria and the United States.

Filmed in the Middle East in the midst of uprisings and revolutionary fervor, “End Times Eyewitness,” produced by WND Films with Joel Richardson, goes further and deeper into the heart of the conflict than network news teams dare to venture. The access provided is unprecedented. The footage captured is remarkable. The biblical insights from scholars, reporters, rabbis and Christian leaders are startling.

Watch movie trailer below:

http://www.wnd.com

27. @ Alvin
    Bushmen do not argue with women, children or fools…

28. Fulfilled Prophecy: Evidence for the Reliability of the Bible
    August 22, 2003
    By Dr. Hugh Ross

Unique among all books ever written, the Bible accurately foretells specific events-in detail-many years, sometimes centuries, before they occur. Approximately 2500 prophecies appear in the pages of the Bible, about 2000 of which already have been fulfilled to the letter—no errors.

http://www.reasons.org

29. Facts become credible FACTS, when they are WARRANTED to the relevant degree of CERTAINTY!

Israelite slavery in Egypt, exodus, Canaan conquest, Egypt’s collapse! | VIEW ONLINE
    Creation Ministries International
    Patterns of Evidence: Exodus

Multi-award-winning documentary showcases clear evidence for the events of Exodus
    Some events described in the Bible were so momentous that they reshaped entire nations, changing the course of history.

Like the 10 plagues that literally destroyed the land of Egypt… Like well over a million people leaving Egypt overnight… Like the conquest of Canaan.

Patterns of Evidence: ExodusYet most archaeologists today have concluded that there is no evidence that the events described in Exodus ever happened. In Patterns of Evidence: Exodus, filmmaker Timothy Mahoney sets out to answer the question, “Is this foundational event of the Bible really just a myth?”

The answer is a resounding “No!” The evidence is there all right—but archaeologists have consistently assigned it to the wrong time period, breaking the connection between the evidence and its biblical causes.

This film showcases amazing evidence of the arrival, multiplication, and then descent into slavery of a Semitic people in Egypt; evidence for the collapse of Egypt, along with the mass exodus of the Semitic slaves; evidence for the conquest of Canaan, with sites like Jericho lining up perfectly with the biblical text.

A compelling watch, featuring interviews with leading archaeologists and biblical scholars against a backdrop of stunning video and animation, it is no wonder Patterns of Evidence: Exodus has already picked up a slew of awards!
    http://www.creationministries.org

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans need to grow some balls like the Guatemalans and the Malaysians who will do something about their corrupt political leaders, even if they have to put them in the ground.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/71835/arrest-warrant-issued-guatemalan-president

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is a scientifically proven fact that if you really want to (i) kill a party (ii) get problem neighbours to move (iii) kill a website article that will expose a serious problem

All you need to do is

(i) get the rhythm poet Andisa Adwele to perform at your dub
    (ii) play Christian music all day long through your 1000 watt Bose Speakers
    (iii) set loose your purported Christian fanatics on your blog

For those of you recently “Turned Onto the Bible” Fanatics like the “Turned onto Phonics Crew” I would wish to suggest that you research the following three words

(i) Postmillenniumists
    (ii) Amillenniumists and
    (iii) Premillenniumists

And for a hint of their respective meanings and more importantly, the context of such one needs to understand these definitions in, one needs to remember that, during several ages, post the First Coming of the Christ (though during the Transfiguration OF JESUS THE CHRIST, THE SAVIOUR there have been many conflagrations and wars and world wars whic, denizens of these respective times have (erroneously??) interpreted as the Coming of the CHRIST!

If THE CHRIST HIMSELF can say “And Jesus answered and said unto them, Elias truly shall first come, and restore all things.

12 But I say unto you, That Elias is come already, and they knew him not, but have done unto him whatsoever they listed. Likewise shall also the Son of man suffer of them.”

and in so saying speak to the sign that presages His Coming on the Mount of the Transfiguration and his disciples knew it not, how then can mere mortals like wunna and me pretend that we know??

Wunna should get band for wilfully disrupting a meaningful article while discussing something that wunna ent know nuffin bout,

Dem gots to be a law somewhere bout dat for which de punishment is incarceration, in solitude, while boning tinned salmon or something… I gine go and research it pun de internet..

32. LOL @ Piece
    Give Zoe a break.
    He is suffering from the ‘cry wolf kickback’ syndrome ….

For centuries now, those who misunderstand the intricacies of BBE’s project program have been reading about the ‘grand opening ceremony’ and, driven by an over-estimation of their own critical relevance to the whole scheme, jumping to the conclusion that that fateful day MUST be at hand…
    Naturally, they broadcast this urgency to one and all …crying wolf over and over for the last two thousand years in the process.

Unfortunately for everyone, the wolf WILL one day eventually turn up – and the Zoes of that fateful time will shout….. and naturally will be laughed out of town…
    …allowing the wolf to appear ‘like a thief in the night…’

The problem that Bushie has with Zoe’s current alarm is the fact that that September 2015 DOES portend ominous potentialities…. maybe even worthy of a special blog on the subject.
    Since we are already in that month it will only require a period of 30 days or so before Alvin and the rest of us can sing the ‘We told you so… ‘ wolf song that will send Zoe back to the mountains of Tibet to further his exegeses on the topic….

Perhaps David will accommodate Zoe in an appropriate blog and let him rip…. 🙂
    Who knows …. even GP may make an appearance …

33. This second epistle, beloved, I now write unto you; in both which I stir up your pure minds by way of remembrance:

That ye may be mindful of the words which were spoken before by the holy prophets, and of the commandment of us the apostles of the Lord and Saviour:

Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days SCOFFERS, walking after their own lusts,

And saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation.

For this they willingly are IGNORANT of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:

Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished:
    But the heavens and the earth, which are now, by the same word are kept in store, reserved unto fire against the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men.

But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.

Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness,

Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat? ( 2 Peter 3: 1-12).

34. @Bushie.
    I agree with you. After reading this ;sat [oece by Zoe, I give up. There is no reasoning with someone who is delusional.
    Back to more mundane things. We have to understand that Claire Cowqn is not q citizen of Barbados, and as long as she does not break any laws of, or in, Barbados what occurs woutide of Barbados is no business of ours. How she obtains her funds, and what she does with them is her business and that of her investors.
    Looks like she will get the funding needed for the project.

35. Bush Tea September 3, 2015 at 9:49 AM #

Bushmen do not argue with women, children or fools… Another racist rant !

By all means the dumbest quote of the day, coming for the dufuss deputy dawg
    However i wish he would expand with clarity why he includes woman and children
    Now staying on point with the religious theme i believe a great philosopher said that a Little child shall lead them which is the highest hon our or prestige given children f.
    And to the woman Provebs states

She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

She is more precious than jewels, and nothing you desire can compare with her. Long life is in her right hand; in her left hand are riches and honor. Her ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace. She is a tree of life to those who lay hold of her; those who hold her fast are called blessed.
    Now in his dimwitted delusional aging mind , he exempts his cohorts and two footed
    those two footed counterparts called men. who have ruled and reign terror on the universe with there doctrines and ideologies from the beginning of time

36. Was any public statement issued by the government to explain how the 3S Barbados agreement was exited? How much did it cost tax payers? Why is the Opposition silent on this matter?

37. @ AC
    Every time you post you manage to reinforce the level of your ignorance, and to dig deeper into the nadir of idiocy. Why not go on a sabbatical from BU….? that alone would improve your image – and perhaps also the DLP’s…

You mean that you are so foolish as to quote SOLOMON on the issue…? Shiite woman … where you went to school…?

That tirade by Solomon started with the words …. “An excellent wife, who can find? For her worth is far above jewels.”
    In Bajan bush language, what he said was…. ‘ Where the ass yuh going find a good woman? … wuh such beings are as rare as sea eggs…”

He then goes on to OUTLINE the characteristics of such a (rare) woman…….”She is more precious than jewels, and nothing you desire can compare with her. Long life is in her right hand; in her left hand are riches and honor. Her ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace. She is a tree of life to those who lay hold of her; those who hold her fast are called blessed.”
    Shiite woman …. that is the VERY OPPOSITE to you!!! …he was talking about Donna, Pat etc

But don’t feel bad …. Solomon also spoke about you when he advised ..”It is better to live in a desert land than with a quarrelsome and fretful woman…..”
    …or in Bajan terms “…best to get your ass FAR from around A C*** …”

…why do you think your man ran off to Arizona…? It was the closest desert he could find….

LOL ha ha ha

38. Deputy Dawg you need to mind your own businesses who are you to say who stays or who goes on BU your racist rantsvare classic reminders of the the days when woman were treated as second class citizens

39. Racist? Where’s my dictionary?

40. Alvin is correct in saying that once human beings are running things there will always be some level of corruption. The problem is when corruption becomes rampant and unchecked. I am well aware that practically anything can and sometimes MUST be bought in Barbados. People tend to talk to me because I’m a good listener and that’s how I know. Much larger countries and economies have been brought down by corruption. Barbados’ fall is well underway.

41. LOL @ David
    What Afra Raymond is saying in summary, is that if the Trickidad Government gets away with that appeal against the High Court ruling in his favour – allowing them to spend $25 BILLION public dollars on CLICO without having to account as to HOW and WHY the money was spent…. despite the FOIA, ……

…then Trickidad would be just as shiitey as Brassbados!!!!

What the hell !!!

42. @Bush Tea

You do have a way with words you know.

43. @David September 2, 2015 at 7:18 AM ” why has the BRA not audited Leroy Parris?”

The esteemed gentleman is not a leper. In addition he is the Prime MInister’s friend.

Has Inland Revenue/BRA ever audited a Prime Ministerial friend?

Was Rdney Wilkinson ever audited by Inland Revenue/BRA?

44. Relax

Barbados: How ‘paradise’ stays clean

“Just doing the right thing” FS