Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

Walter, who is responsible you think in the society for building the framework to sustain employment? […]BU has always held the view that Barbados is a public led economy/society. On this premise therefore if government – by policy initiative – wants to move in a different direction one would imagine a sensible approach would be one of collaboration and preparation.

David King, Blogmaster of Barbados Underground

In 2002, I was part of a group of actuaries in Atlanta, Georgia listening to a speech being delivered by Ms. Anna Rappaport, a former President of the Society of Actuaries. At the end of the speech, I rose and asked Ms. Rappaport a question.

“Which country are you from?” she asked, recognizing that I was speaking with a non-American accent. “Barbados” I replied.

“You know”, she continued, “I am amazed at how such a small country could produce such a relatively large amount of young, bright, trainable people! It is truly a remarkable achievement!”

That incident alone was enough to convince me that the Barbados brand has achieved international status and acknowledgement.

Undoubtedly, there are many other Barbadians, working in various fields of human endeavour, in many countries across the globe, who have been filled with pride as they listened to similar complimentary remarks being heaped upon their small, but much beloved Barbados. Achieving international brand name status in the areas of training, education, and professionalism, made possible by the focus and dedication of generations of hardworking Barbadians that came before us, is a feat that we must now seek to leverage.

As a people, Barbadians possess enough talent, ability, ingenuity, resourcefulness, drive, and ambition to move their country forward for their and their children’s benefit. By Barbadians, I mean all Barbadians living “on the rock”, and in the diasporic areas of Europe, Africa, the Caribbean, and North America. Collaboration and co-operation among all Barbadians are extremely crucial elements in our drive towards maximization of our available resources. This definition of “Barbadian” is simple and innocent sounding on the surface, but when properly understood and applied, it can become a potent asset in our quest to find economic growth. For example, we have a massive food import bill at the moment. There are Barbadians living all over the world, who use their foreign currency to purchase goods and consumer items for Barbadians living in Barbados. This activity should be encouraged since it represents a situation in which foreign goods are flowing into Barbados, for Barbadians, without a commensurate drain on our foreign exchange. As long as barrels contain no drugs, weapons, and explosive materials, they should be moved swiftly through our ports, tax-free, into Barbadian households. The more, the merrier. Barbadians feeding and helping Barbadians at cheaper prices.

Developed countries constantly advertise shortages that exist in their professional, technical, and religious labour markets. The governments of these countries use favourable immigration policies and provide millions of job visas yearly in order to gain global access to scarce human talent. A new approach, in the areas of government and politics, must now emerge to find effective ways to carve out a niche market for Barbados in the provision of high level global human resources.

Additionally, the populations of first world countries now view the Caribbean as an exotic, idyllic region capable of titillating and satisfying their taste buds in the areas of sport, art, music, and international entertainment. These areas provide unlimited opportunities and earning potential for the successful Barbadian company and individual. In the international entertainment industry, our very own Rihanna is an excellent example. We, as Barbadians, can offer these populations more.

At present, our educational system is geared towards identifying those students who are good in English and Maths at age 11 and shepherding them towards the “older grammar” schools. The traditional media houses are routinely used to highlight the successes and dreams of a dozen or two of the top performers who are supposed to be headed for great things.

Five years later, many of those who did not gain entry into the “older grammar” schools, that is, those who attended the “Comprehensive” or “Newer Secondary Schools” are jettisoned from the secondary educational system. Perceived as “failures”, these 16 year-olds yearly add to a pool of unskilled, and unemployed Barbadians. This forever expanding pool of unemployed youths provides opportunities that are feasted upon by politicians, businesses, drug pushers, gun smugglers, sex abusers, rogues, thieves, and vagabonds. It is also developing into a dangerous social powder keg.

Some of these 16 year-olds, technically gifted from birth, relish the idea of getting an opportunity to study at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic, but their dreams are shattered as “underperformers” and “failures” from the “older grammar” schools eat into some of the limited spaces available at the institution.

Seven years later, out of an original cohort of almost 4,000 students, about a dozen or two top performers (Barbados Scholars and Exhibitionists) are highlighted and praised by the traditional media, and then encouraged by the politicians and policymakers to go away and stay away. They do exactly that.

Certainly, our educational system is flawed, and needs to undergo some adjustments. Be that as it may, all of these adjustments would now have to be implemented against the background of a country severely crippled by massive debt, a government that is broke, an agriculturally demoralized nation resigning itself to a high food import bill which gnaws at scarce foreign exchange, and a rising tide of angry Barbadians now beginning to recognize the damage that has been done by excessive political greed and corruption.

As a starting point in the discussion related to laying down an educational framework to serve the employment interests of Barbados in the 21st century, I now take this opportunity to offer some recommendations:

Primary Education

· The 11+ exams in Maths and English should continue as basic exams for all students, but the format and scope of the testing should be broadened to include computer fundamentals, French, Spanish, Chinese, art, music, performing arts, and sports.

· Scores achieved in end-of-year exams in class at ages 9 and 10 should form part of the overall 11+ score.

· Tapes and videos should be used to assist with the teaching of conversational French, Spanish, Mandarin, and Cantonese.

· Student exchange visits to and from Cuba should be pursued. We should be looking to produce bi-lingual Barbadians by 2035

· Performances in Inter-Primary school competitions should be used as 11+ scores in sports and athletics.

· Emphasis should be placed on building confidence and beginning to create a sense of national self-worth at age 11.

Secondary Education (Boys and Girls separated to correct the Biller Miller catastrophic blunder)

· Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic (SJPP) should be accepting 11+ students, based heavily on scores in computer fundamentals, and maths.

· CXC exams mandatory for all students.

· SAT exams mandatory for all students.

· Exams needed to qualify students for entry into international technical colleges and universities should be mandatory at SJPP.

· Focus should be on getting as many students as possible on to the tertiary level of education.

Tertiary Education

· Excellent scores in SAT may create scholarship opportunities at universities and colleges in the USA and elsewhere

· Excellent performances in sports, art, and music may create scholarship opportunities at universities and colleges in the USA and elsewhere

· Non-scholarship students will seek entry into the University of the West Indies and their education will be paid for by the Government of Barbados.

· Emphasis on math, science, engineering, technology, business, and sports

· Focus should be on producing workers, athletes, and professional sportspersons for the global market.

How do we find work for our graduates?

Eleven short years after Christopher Columbus set sail for the New World, the Spaniards established at Seville in 1503, a Casa de Contratacion, which, in their language meant a House of Trade. In 2015, we must now apply the concept of a House of Trade to the purpose and function of our embassies. No longer should our ambassadors and senior members of their staff be allowed or encouraged to believe that their purpose in life is to rub shoulders with international diplomats as a means of satisfying their individual thirst for social status and recognition.

Barbadian embassies must now be transformed into national institutions which are constantly on the lookout for educational, athletic, trading, investment, and employment opportunities that can be grasped by Barbadians. For example, the Barbadian embassy in the USA should be spending a lot of its time encouraging and incentivizing Sagicor (a Barbadian-connected life insurance company operating in the USA) to access the talent of Barbadian actuaries, accountants, investment managers, risk managers and other support staff living in the USA and Canada. It should also be analyzing the USA demand for doctors, priests, certified public accountants, physiotherapists, and other professionals, and advising young Barbadians who to contact, what processes to initiate, and how to position themselves to compete for these jobs. Similar efforts should be made by our embassies or “High Commissions” in Canada and other Commonwealth countries, and Europe.

Finally, the government of Barbados has suddenly relinquished its responsibility to fund the tertiary education of Barbadians. To ease the heavy financial burden that has been placed upon government’s shoulders, some ingredients of a self-financing mechanism must be introduced into our educational system. Those students who receive governmental assistance, in order to move from secondary to tertiary education, will be required to sign a contract with the Government of Barbados before they begin university studies. These students will be tracked and required to pay a percentage of their earnings for the first 5 years of their working life after graduation, regardless of whatever country they are working in. These special payments will be earmarked for spending on tertiary education.

It would be in the interest of everyone concerned to ensure that young Barbadians gain access to a tertiary education, compete for global sustainable jobs after graduating from university, and compulsorily pay back into the system so that the next group of Barbadians following them can grasp opportunities and repeat the process.

137 responses to “Adjusting Our Educational System to Generate Sustainable Jobs for Barbadians”

1. I am felling you Pieces. My only disagreement with your presentations is that I don’t interpret that Blackaman “skirts” your and Bushie’s perspective of education. In fact sir, his commentary in my view went directly to the core of the “self activation” and too “self actuation” you mention.

We all fall into the trap of reading and almost automatically bringing to bear our already well formed ideas to the subject. This often causes us to say the very same thing as the author but in a very different way which at first blush may appear to be in dissonance but in fact is on the same continuum.

With respect to the bastardization to Mr. Maslow’s concepts I would suggest that we can’t self actuate (in his needs scale) unless of course we cover some of the earlier fundamental stages. Blackman’s notes spoke to that fundamental stage what I previously termed self activation (not ‘actuation’) .

Blackman’s base level concepts of what education must do highlights both in a simple but profound way. When he states that “The 11+ exams in Maths and English should continue… but the format … broadened to include computer fundamentals, French, Spanish.. Chinese, art, music, performing arts, and sports” he is demanding that we act to cover or bases better and in so doing prepare ourselves to soar to great heights of education of the mind, body and soul.

His point goes to the core of your and Bushie’s ‘education definition’ when he emphatically states, “· Emphasis should be placed on building confidence and beginning to create a sense of national self-worth at age 11.”

Couple that with, “Focus should be on producing workers, athletes, and professional sportspersons for the global market” and tell me where is the dissonance between his concepts and the highfalutin prose from Bushie.

He is not speaking only of a ‘job’ or ’employment’ but the self worth and confidence to make your mark wherever your skills, talents and intuition take you; and developing that from 11+ right through your youth and early adulthood. The traits which empowered those who embody your Sandy Lane and Sargassum to food examples.

Different points on the same continuum Pieces.

It was Observer I believe who spoke of how different we interpret things here and I wholeheartedly agreed then and now.

We can agree or disagree with Blackman but his comments, in my interpretation, were very comprehensive on education as a base construct and also as a ‘self actuation’ concept. Mr Bush Tea simply offered a perspective which focused principally on the high end ‘self actuation’. Everything he said simply reinforced Blackman’s comments.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Venerable Blogmaster

I glad dat you mention Jamaica.

Jes de udder day all uh we heah in de Caribbean did laughing bout how Portia cyan talk a lick, and dat she wasnt de political equal to that fellow Holness…

Evey body talk bout she malapropisms but, wunna check recently? whu dat umman who ent know bout Chaucer or Saucer, wunna check whu she country doing?

Wunna check the enabling environment for microbusiness en ting?

Here is whu by de definition of our educational system, is a ingrunt woman a graduate of a “limited Residence and distance learning institute – Union Institute and University – competing with and completely obliterating a clown who is a PC, QC, MP and a graduate of the University of the West Indies!!

Wunna unnerstan’ de ole man pints? (I did not say points, we is in de rum shop)

Education, in its optimal setting, brings agility in strategy for self, for community, for nation but therein comes the difference between those whose education is effective and those who jes’ “bright”

3. David, is it that we don’t respect micro businesses or that they are difficult to control and therefore tax or otherwise manage because some slip in and out so easily.

I ate some food from a micro business one day and a few hours later, as we say I puked like a dog. The only link to my upset system was the food. I simply rode the storm – thankfully wasn’t some fatal food poisoning – and never ate there again.

Yes, I could have had the same experience from a Chefette or McDonalds but of course the repercussions are vastly different re enforcement from Health Authorities and so on.

When micro businesses play by the rules of engagement they prosper and are respected.

However, they often flout the laws and then cry foul when they are sanctioned. No respect due.

Did anyone say mini-bus culture!

4. pieceuhderockyeahright September 2, 2015 at 5:42 PM #
    “I beg Mr. Blackman’s forgiveness if I am not too kindly in my constructive criticism.

He says “Tapes and videos should be used to assist with the teaching…”

You see why the ole man is so constantly at variance with many of these improved ideas? Tapes and videos, in an age when $236M was wasted on Edutech, in an age of whiteboards and VOIP, and Skype, we are reduced to “tapes and videos”

That is not 21st century thinking however I again give my kudos to the definitive leap beyond the anachronism proposed by Grenville the Third.”

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    This topic is not a calculus problem with a unique solution, so all comments, questions, and criticisms are wholeheartedly welcome.
    Whenever I write for public consumption, the limitation of space and time forces me to reflect upon almost every word and phrase I employ. Am I getting over my message to the reader clearly and coherently?
    I spent quite a few minutes on the phrase “adjusting our educational system” which helps to form the topic of this article.
    I did not want to create the impression that our educational system is totally useless and should be destroyed and replaced by something brand new.
    Human beings do not rush to welcome revolutionary change. Au contraire, many people fear it, so there are practical considerations involved . Donna understood this very well when she asked readers not to be too hard on me.
    On the other hand, I do not believe that a little touch up here and there would get the job done either.
    Not surprisingly, some readers view my attempt as simply “patching”. Others hint at the need for a full revolutionary approach. In between these two extremes, other readers, like de Ingrunt Word, appear to have grasped the meaning I meant to convey.

In the area of foreign languages, I highlighted Spanish and Chinese as two languages we should consider learning to speak. We can easily get our children to Cuba and the Dominican Republic, but China is a different kettle of fish. If we are going to be effective, we need to teach these languages in a conversational format – hearing, seeing, speaking, and interacting. All of the technology that is available to assist us now in this area, and that will be available in the future, will have to give participants the ability to hear, see, speak and interact with each other. This idea I tried to get over through the use of the phrase “tapes and videos”. I did not plan on having you think literally about 8-track or beta max tapes, and a VCR. That is certainly “old school”.

5. Adjusting Our Educational System to Generate Sustainable Jobs for Barbadians

(~_~)

However honourable, must me always be glorified hewers of wood and drawers of water?

How about:
    Adjusting Our Educational System to Generate Sustainable Barbadian Businesses

As far as I know Barbados is the only place in the world that produces Bajans, albeit declining and diluted, but Bajan nevertheless. Until the education system acknowlege and embrace this small fact, we can produce as many highly skilled drones as we like; Barbados will remain at sqaure one simply because those highly skilled drones can be produced elsewhere for far less and in greater quantities.

Bajan To The World!

6. @Dee Word

You had one bad experience and…?

In Latin America, Jamaica, DR and a few others micro segment is integrated into mainstream decision making. In Barbados it is not the case and there is a view we need to tweak how we deliver education content in schools and other entities responsible.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

With regard to the first story is is just testimony that while these things are being done ovah and away, we are seemingly clueless or in the mode of “follow de leadah, leedah, leedah.. as our calypso-esque natures seem to drive us.

With regard to the second story, I see that you and Hants are friends and like encouraging de ole man to be a lesbian en like womens bad…

8. @Pieceuhderock,

At least I have been warning you when tings are “dangerous.”

Did you see what David posted in the Diaspora blog ? Bottoms in de road.

9. No David it was not the one bad experience in the least. The point was that that type of business can skirt the social rules that the big players cannot.

I use ‘micro businesses’ often.

As noted when the small businesses play by the rules there are few problems but obviously there often seems to be a perception that small means lack of excellence or lack of meeting certain standards by some of the owners.

I would agree with you that micro businesses may not always be treated with the respect due them but that is partly their fault as it is the government.

As in all aspects of life there is power in numbers so collectively they can harness their energy and work in conjunction with their SBA etc.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants,

David doan encourage me in dose tings, he is a Honourable Blogmaster en does not contribute to the enthrallment of ole menses on de udder hand dere is dose who ….

I wonder if Harold Hoyte and dem fellows does come here and look at the ideas and possibilities dat wunna brite fellows does recommend??

He wunt be looking at de ole man suggestions causing (i) de ole man got lascivious thoughts and me mout nasty an (ii) I does doan say nice tings bout Vivianne Newspaper formerly his.

But I wunda if dem fellows does jes cum and see de blog dat got all de politicians frighten dat on day coming soon de Blogmaster gine publish a voice message or a recording or a video or a nex cheque dat dem get cut fuh graft and kickbacks?

You know if I did an ingrunt fellow like We Jonesing, not dat I ent ingrunt but not like we jonesing, i wud sneak heah in de deah of the night when de blogmaster supposed to be sleep and go through these articles from fellahs like Blackman, Artaxerxes, Hants, Bush Tea, Gabriel, SSS, SS but not A(s)Sie nor asinus, and tek notes and den get de PS tuh write a paper bout um and den go into parliament and talk like if whu i say is mine

But den mos of all do um.

Now follow dis, effing fuh 7 years dem ent do a pang and dem know dat dem gine all get vote out, INCLUDING ST JOHN, wudnt it mek sense tuh do sumting dat gine at least save one seat??

I gine axe de Blogmaster ef de ole man right tuh say dat dem does come peeking around and does be copying and Pasting whu dem brite fellows say

When de police no longer visit your site and de legal threats doan come no mo’ it does be eider dat dem realised dat you isnt gine away or dat dem planning a nex big foot move…

11. Artaxerxes September 1, 2015 at 9:15 AM #
    @ Walter

“Some students may be fortunate enough to gain scholarships and pursue qualifications in areas that will benefit the development of Barbados. But after graduating they are confronted with the reality that they are no employment opportunities available to them here.”

Artaxerxes,
    You have commingled two concepts here, so let us separate the two strands.

Strand 1: Many students gain scholarships and pursue qualifications in many areas that would undoubtedly benefit the development of Barbados. That is a fact.

I hate to lean on personal experience here, but it is the quickest method I can use to get over the point.

I was awarded a fellowship by the OAS to study a masters in actuarial science because the OAS, the World Bank, and the IMF believed that a Barbadian should be trained at that level to provide expertise to the NIS of Barbados as the system matured.
    I was working in the budget department of the Ministry of Finance, and Mr. Michael Parris was my boss at the time. Although, I had only studied maths up to ‘O’ level at Combermere, I attacked my post-graduate studies with a sense of confidence and determination. So much so, that I was the only student at the University of Nebraska to receive an A in Social Security the year I studied it.

We had no actuaries and no exam centre in Barbados at the time, so thinking ahead, I approached the Society of Actuaries and enquired if I could take the actuarial professional exams on my return to Barbados. If I managed to pass a professional exam before leaving the USA, the Society promised to establish a test centre in Barbados. I passed my exam, and by doing so, succeeded in getting Bridgetown established as a test centre so that other Barbadians coming after me would enjoy the privilege of taking their actuarial professional exams at home.

Strand 2: After graduation, these students are confronted with the reality that there are no employment opportunities available TO THEM here.

The Tom Adams administration was midway in its second term of office when I returned to Barbados, and the first thing I noticed was the extent to which the working environment in the Ministry of Finance had changed. Mr. Parris had moved on to become company secretary of the Arawak Cement Plant. Mr. Erskine Griffith was now saddled with the opportunity of charting my professional career. I was not a member of any political party.
    To make a long story short, Mr. Griffith placed me in an acting position (reviewing letters written by Barbadians seeking a waiver of duties and taxes) which rewarded me with an acting allowance of $30 per month. All of my attempts to secure employment in government in areas related to my chosen profession (NIS, Insurance Corporation of Barbados, Supervisor of Insurance Office) were systematically blocked and thwarted. Eventually, Mr. Griffith had me transferred to the Ministry of Agriculture.

Clearly, Mr. Griffith, as Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance, had his own handpicked list of “experts” to assist the Government of Barbados with its handling of financial matters. Personally, over the course of about 30 years, Mr. Griffith rose to giddying heights (Director of Finance and Planning, Head of the Civil Service, a diplomatic posting in Brussels, BLP senator, and Minister of Agriculture in the Owen Arthur administration). Is it possible that that ministerial posting contributed to Owen Arthur’s downfall?

Now take a few seconds and contrast the rise of Mr. Griffith with the fortunes of the government’s financial sector. Start by mentally recalling the annual Auditor-General’s reports that point to a pervasive, repetitive and sickening breach of government’s financial regulations, dwell for a moment on the scandalous and corrosive CLICO robbery and the complicit behavior of the various actors involved, then think seriously about the millions of taxpayers’ dollars that ought to have ended up in the Treasury, but didn’t. Think also about the millions of dollars that should have never left the Treasury, but did. Ponder on the low probability of you getting an NIS pension, because in actual fact, the politicians and senior civil servants have ensured that no actuary has been aligned to the NIS long enough to raise the hue and cry over the rape and wastage of mandatory contributions paid by Barbadian workers.

Barbados has not reached this blighted predicament by accident. We are here because thousands had to suffer so that a few individuals, who really “ain’t worth what Paddy shot it”, could establish a system to suit their selfish and short-sighted purposes. Some employment opportunities exist in Barbados, but they are deliberately blocked off until the “right” person can be handpicked.

Artaxerxes, I was only 28 years old when I came up against this iniquitous system in Barbados for the first time. Although quite young, I rationalized that it was not me alone that was being victimized. There had to be thousands more suffering the same fate. This rationalization enabled me to keep my sanity, if nothing else. Sometimes, I detect a slight hint of disgust blended with frustration in your writing, and that deep aching pain of long ago comes rushing back to haunt and mock me. Maybe, its about time that all of us Barbadians who have been “unfaired” by this system start thinking about doing something about it.

A country being run in this way can never prosper. My instincts tell me that a backlash is certainly coming.

12. @Walter

This comment merits pride of place on the blog, what do you think?

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Walter Blackman

De ole man read that twice and concur with the Blogmaster.

This is the Unfolding and Testimony that is needed, this is the Madame Defarge “Je t’accuse” with logical, rational reasoned dispassionate commentary that is needed for us to first uncover the treason of these negrocrats and thereafter for us to put mechanisms in place that say ” never again!,”

We have to come to the national altar of sacrifice and, without fear and without apology tell our story like it is, name names and let the cards fall where they may

I am sure tha men like Griffith will be vengeful of this public indictment but you know what at the end of the day we have to dismantle the endemic mindset that pervades our cuntry where grudge full mindedness and myopia debars any type of activity that is for the good of nation progressing because negrocrats wish to get at the man.

Men, rather treasonous men, like Griffith needs to be held accountable, and a plural noun is used because he are not, are being reflexively used as in WeJonesing, he are not alone

Rome was not built in a day and the state of affairs that we now find ourselves in did not pop up overnight but was bred by the relentless actions of small (minded) actors like The Griffiths, inces Jones’, Tudors

They need to be held accountable and in the absence of such blamed and shamed. At the end of the day these enemies of the state must realize that history will tear down the monuments of their despotism when it comes to light

14. @ Walter
    Skippa
    YOU IS DE MAN!
    It is Barbados’s loss that you did not get the opportunity, back when you were on VOB call-in as a moderator, to start something going….

15. @ Piece
    Griffith has always come across as a Dompey-type.
    The REAL villain is Owing…. who, under the guise of ‘inclusiveness’ installed clueless dummies to facilitate his personal fetishes.
    The Wilkinsons, Shoreys, Fields, “Chicken-feed” Supervisor of Insurance …and a long list of other questionable characters were installed for reasons that were CLEARLY not related to national interests…… while the COMMYsongs and other so called ‘free spirits’ were easily brought out with trinklets….

Bushie still feel that Walter should have started something back then, but on second thoughts, before BU was able to level the playing field ..those thugs were COMPLETELY running things bout here….

16. @ Walter

“Ponder on the low probability of you getting an NIS pension, because in actual fact, the politicians and senior civil servants have ensured that no actuary has been aligned to the NIS long enough to raise the hue and cry over the rape and wastage of mandatory contributions paid by Barbadian workers.”

Walter, after reading the above comments I realized that you are correct in your assertion “that no actuary has been aligned to the NIS.” Additionally, although that department employs a long list of people with professional qualifications, I often wonder why the NI operates in an unprofessional manner and renders inadequate services by staff who act unprofessionally.

Your comments relative to your experiences working in the civil service reminded me of a discriminatory experience I had when I worked in the service. I too was young when I was employed as the assistant accountant of a government department. When the administration changed 1986, the accountant was terminated and I acted as accountant for more than two years.

Because I performed my functions in adherence and within the guidelines of government’s financial rules (I used “in adherence and “within the guidelines” purposely to emphasize my point), I was confronted with difficulties from management.

Usually, when government departments advertise a post, one of the requirements would be that the applicant must have the requisite qualifications and acting in the position for 5 years.
    When management advertised the post of accountant, they deviously included that the applicant must have at least 10 years experience, because they knew I had 5 years experience, thereby eliminating me from the application process.

The interviews were just a matter of formality because an individual, who was related to a DLP politician, was given the job. The government’s financial rules were breached to accommodate this individual, so that they could benefit from a car loan and travelling allowance. Although that individual was qualified, they were unable to efficiently perform the required functions. The individual resigned and I was once again requested to act in the position, until another DLP “affiliate” was brought in for the job.

17. Piece, I don’t know how I get pun you gravitar t’ing, yuh.

You in a class by you self, you is a top drawer man, while I, according to Dompey, is a shiite bucket. So, tek me off before de peele t’ink dat you and me is de same body.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I am not sure what you meant by the Gravatar remark, please explain

19. @ Piece

I found out what happened. When I posted my contribution your website page was attached. My name appeared in red at the top of the contribution. When I clicked on it, it went to your page as shown below.

“http://en.gravatar.com/pieceuhderockyeahright”

I rectified the problem.

20. David September 3, 2015 at 11:08 PM #
    @Walter

“This comment merits pride of place on the blog, what do you think?”

I think the blog merits pride of place in our national collective effort to arouse Barbadians from their civic slumber. Hopefully, one day your Herculean efforts will get the reward and recognition they truly deserve. For now, I urge you to keep soldiering on.

21. To Mr Blackman and his remarks, “Barbados has not reached this blighted predicament by accident… Maybe, its about time that all of us Barbadians who have been “unfaired” by this system start thinking about doing something about it” we can say a loud AMEN.

Having not reached this state under one BLP or DLP group or one cadre of senior civil servants or judges it certainly will take concerted effort and a lot more exposes from a few more like Walter Blackman to move the country in a different direction.

As has been said here before the BU medium is an extremely powerful and dangerous tool that can incite that movement.

Let’s hope the next few years are filled with the type Cahill exposes seen here and that a book of infelicities can be written based on the testimonies of Mr Blackman (CLICO and here) and his like minded colleagues.

@ Pieces, “They need to be held accountable and in the absence of such blamed and shamed”. That will be a hard road to hoe. This little jab here by Walter will not affect the standing or assault the mental awareness of men like Griffith one iota.

There needs to be continued comprehensive exposes, say for example a ‘Boys in the Band’ type with irrefutable details hitting these guys hard. Even then it’s just a dent in their retirement movementations but still very useful going forward.

Long road to hoe… But excellent commentary. I endorse the blogmaster’s remarks.

22. Wasn’t the last Stephen Alleyne not associated with the NIS before he died?

23. @Walter Blackman “SAT exams mandatory for all students.”

Not so fast Walter. First you have to explain why every student should take the SAT

Since the SAT is only required by U.S. universities (not required by UWI, BCC, SJPP, nor by the British and Canadian universites where most of our students go) and since fewer than 5% of Bajan students will go to U.S. universities why should every student take the SAT?

It costs $54.59 USD to take the SAT plus $35.00 USD international processing fee. Since we have a cohort of 4,000 students it would cost $89.59 USD per year per student; or $179.18 Barbados per year per student; or $716,720 Barbados per year. I don’t think that we should pour nearly three quarters of a million Barbados dollars per year into the coffers of the College Board which owns the SAT.

https://sat.collegeboard.org/register/intl-services-fees

I think that there are better ways to spend this $716,720 per year.

For example and assuming that we do indeed have an extra $716,720 per year we could spend it on:

Fiction and non-fiction books for elementary aged children. If each of our 60 elementary school received an extra 179.00 BDS per year per student and if they were compelled to buy and circulate these books I believe that we would see a difference. We could even mandate that half of that money is spent with Caribbean publishers, or books by Caribbean authors or with Caribbean themes.

$89.59 USD per year would buy about 4 books per elementary aged child. If we bought them in bulk we could get discounts of up to 40% so maybe 6 new books per child per year.

24. @ David

As I can recall, (bearing in mind that my comments are subject to correction), Stephen Alleyne served as the deputy chairman of the NIS between 1994 and 2005. He was subsequently appointed as chairman of the Sub-Committee on Pension Reform, which successfully developed and implemented significant reforms of this island’s social security system, in an effort to ensure its financial viability.

At that time, the NIS actuary was a Mr. Richard Nunez.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I too as an older man wish to employ the disclaimer as you have “that my comments are subject to correction” and would ask those more knowledgeable than I to remark on the “successful development and implementation” of the Social Security System insofar as to the engagement and use of LatCapital as the SAP certified company from Florida and the resulting inoperative system with its annually licensed seats at 22% of the value of the software.

Was not Mr. Steven Alleyne the person put in charge of CWC2007 and is it not he of whom it was said the ** would call at nights to curse regarding the BCL fiasco and that such stress was the cause of his untimely demise?

26. Stephen Alleyne’s mother died when she was quite young. Was he not raised by his step mother? Genetics is a hell of a thing. I don’t think that we should accuse anybody of stressing him into his grave. He did have the option of saying no.

Massa day dun dead.

People need to understand that it is ok to say no to a Prime Minister, President, Pope etc.

If de Prime Minister stressing you, say no, and if he thinks that he is such a gorillaphant he can go and do de job heself.

27. I can’t believe that there are people out there more simple than I am.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I hope that you have the same perspective as the intestinal fortitude of underlings.

When dem telling Acting PS (Edison Alleyne) and the rest of them to contravene the rules and, because dem acting, dem cant tell de PM or De minister to go ** demself, OR LOSS DEM PICK

Stress kills and some people are more predisposed to be distressed than others, up to the point of their demise.

A ** evah call you and cuss you out?

What would you do? Cuss he back?

You would cuss fumble to he face??

Maybe you would but doan tell he “you en know dat you want killing, hear!!”

29. @ Piece

I ain’t getting in dah wid you, boh. You like you want me to get lock up.

You say you is a ole man, and judging from how you does articulate you self pun BU, you had to be a big boy, so you mussee enjoying a big pension now. You even say dat you childrun over in away does send fuh you, dat means you is a man of means.

I still got nuff more years, if ah live, before I could get pension, and I want to enjoy dah money. So I ain’t got nutten to say ’bout who used to call Stephen pun a night and cuss he. I are frighten.

Not me an dah Pele case, bozee.

30. @pieceuhderockyeahright September 4, 2015 at 1:50 PM “A ** evah call you and cuss you out?”

No, no, no.

LOL!!!!!

We know one another from the time we were both in short pants…and he knows better than to call at my home.

I can cuss much wusser than he. And he knows it.

Lolll!!!!!!!!!!!

31. tobesides i nevah ask he fa nuffin yet.

32. @pieceuhderockyeahright September 4, 2015 at 1:50 PM “When dem telling Acting PS (Edison Alleyne) and the rest of them to contravene the rules and, because dem acting.”

Know he befo’ he born.

I tink that he can tell dem to get loss. Gine be 63 as soon as the year turn. Child[ren] dun raise.

There comes a time in life when we are only answerable to God.

33. I never threaten to kill anybody. I’ve never wished to kill anybody, nor wished anybody dead.

34. David,
    It appears that Barbados Underground (BU) is beating the traditional media houses to the punch and is really playing a pivotal role in getting the burning issues of the day to the people.

Here are two excerpts from the Nation editorial of yesterday which was captioned “Time to review education system”:

“The way forward must of necessity be to ensure a higher proportion of our students graduate from secondary school to the tertiary level – whether vocational, technical or the UWI. The risks of continued failure are virtual harbingers of disaster.”

“Barbados can neither afford nor allow to continue a situation where a high number of students leave school and are unable to pursue post-secondary education, rendering them ill-equipped for a career. This will only produce undesirables.”

35. @Walter

Thanks, read it. BU does not have the reach of the Nation newspaper, we have tried through friends of BU to access the services of email blasters to promote BU but the feedback is they are ”scared” to be seen supporting BU. We will continue to influence opinion key places until we crack the traditional barrier.

On 6 September 2015 at 23:25, Barbados Underground wrote:

36. Will all the Bajans who believe we should study Chinese and French please be quiet. That is a waste of scarce resources. Focus on Math, English, Computer Science, Accounting, and Management Science. Then Physical Sciences and Engineering. Everything else is of questionable value, especially Art and Geometry. If people want to learn foreign languages, they should do so on their own time and with their own money.