Photo credit: Barbados Today

bang bang bang bang all day, tension in the atmosphere…tell me what is happening to the young generation…call de police…arm the police.

Who would have thought the landscape of Barbados known for order and relative calm compared to our neighbours Trinidad and Jamaica would be one characterized in 2015 […]

as the Mighty Gabby did all those years ago?

This cannot be Barbados!

left right left right the government boots…is it necessary to have so many soldiers in this small country…is it necessary to shine soldier boots with taxpayers money…he buying boots to cover soldier toe.

Is this Barbados where the standing Prime Minister feels compel to publicly credit the Barbados Defence Force  for contributing to the  ‘enduring  national endeavour’ of Barbados being a safe, secure and stable environment?

This cannot be Barbados!

In 2011 the Attorney General of Barbados uttered the following words in response to what was a rising crime:

We have seen the startling crime statistics in other Caribbean countries, and it would be tantamount to burying our heads in the sand if we were to believe that this is not possible in Barbados. But, left unchecked, that is precisely what would happen. The importation of illegal arms and illegal drugs gives the criminal element the leverage to wreak havoc on our society; as the two are linked to most of the heinous acts committed – Statement On The Crime Situation By Attorney General, The Hon. Adriel Brathwaite

In 2015 the Attorney General of Barbados uttered the following words in response to rising crime:

… Last year was a 14 per cent decrease from the year before, so when one looks at the overall statistics one has the impression that what is happening is really just a correction to us going back to more or less what our norm is – I think about 9000 reported crimes per annum – AG: Crime update

This cannot be Barbados!

Several years ago Barbados Underground cautioned Barbados the weeds were sprouting on our manicured lawns and we needed (urgently) to deal with the root of the problem. In 2015 we are forced to listen to politicians addressing the crime problem by retreating to statistical mumbo jumbo. Here AG Adriel Brathwaite:

The Attorney General’s remarks came as he noted that research has shown that the higher the educational attainment in a country, the lower the rate of individuals being involved in homicides – Barbados Advocate

The AG appears to have forgotten the change to government tuition policy has resulted in a precipitous drop in enrolment (of young Barbadians) at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. The BCC according to reports received 5,000 applications for 1,200 available places. How can we sustain the character of the society that has made Barbadians proud and the envy of our neighbours under the current state?

This cannot be Barbados!

There maybe hope yet for policymakers because outspoken minister Donville Inniss recognized we have to stop pushing our heads in the sand as it relates to the crime problem.  The platitudes will get us so far. Time for an action plan.

This is Barbados!

187 responses to “Pow Pow…this is Barbados”

1. Donna

Once the Police decide to focus on you they can be relentless without good evidence. Police are often lazyasses that want the easy solution.

2. MoneyBrain

I thought the three institutions which exercise the most influence upon the collective-psyche of society, were the institutions of Home, School and Church. It would appear as though there has been a paradigmatic shift in the value structure of our society?

3. @Exclaimer and Dompey

I still waiting for U gents to educate me.

4. MomeyBrain

Once the police focuses his or her investigation on a specific person of interest, then their most proceed to ascertain the necessary evidence to support the charges brought against this personal of interest. Then that evidence is presented to the prosecutor who then reviews it to determine whether or not such evidence can support or sustain a conviction.

5. MoneyBrain

I counts it open-mouth-imbecility to challenge someone with a pedigree education with the trappings of a mongrel education.That reach is the psychological equivalent of the base to the summit of a mountain Money.

6. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Blog Mastahhhhhhh!!!! Help

7. @Piece

All out of meds.

8. Piece

Then brother you can opt for behavioural therapy which I think involves psychotherapy; medication therapy is just one process in the wide range of interventions.
    You know when you sit in that chair and the behavioural-specialist who resembles the patients in the insane asylum, ask you all manner of personal questions about your childhood because for some twisted reason the behavioural mechanics seems to concluded that this is where it all started.

9. @Bush Tea August 21, 2015 at 8:03 AM

Honest, above board citizens actually felt SAFE and comfortable knowing that large numbers of lawmen COULD be around ANY corner ..at night….

A Simple Response: True, true I was stopped and had vehicle searched and no problem except for the little collins thingy…but I do gardening…ask islandgal

One wonders who DID NOT feel comfortable ..and would want to end such an EFFECTIVE tactic…?

A Simple Response: Those who are profiting from importing and selling drugs and guns.

And if the Commissioner feels that customs officers are part of the problem then he should arrest them and their handlers…after all we do not pay the Comish very well just to give us a lotta long talk.

If he knows who the criminals are…then arrest them…and we the men and women of the jury will convict them.

The Commissioner has the power to arrest. We do not.

10. Bush Tea

The customs officers in the Barbados are part of the problem and I am going to tell you why.

About a year or so ago a friend of mine in Barbados asked me to send her down somethings, so I went and bought the stuff and took it to the US Postal Service to post it.

So the white attendant at the post office asked me where was I mailing the passage to, so I told him Barbados. And to my shock and amazement he told me that I better double up on the insurance on the passage, and I asked him why. And to my disbelief this white American man told me in no uncertain terms that Customs in Barbados have a history of stealing people’s stuff. If that don’t shock your socks of I don’t know what would?

11. Excuse me … I misspelled the word package so that is my sign to call it a night.

12. Where is the demand for drugs coming from?

Who is buying the imported drugs?

We know the truth is that if there is no market for the drugs then the drug (and gun) importers would go away.

The first and only time I was ever offered drugs I was just a youth and a scruffy white boy on the Don Mills bus asked me if I wanted to buy marijuana. I politely told him no. He must have sent an international message out to the other drug dealers because nobody has offered me marijuana (or any other drug) before or since.

But then I have an attitude. I’ve always had an attitude. Even as a teen.

13. Simple Simon

The demand for drugs has always been there especially amongst the youth in my day, and I am talking about the youth1980s. Marijuana was the drug of choice in my day and the youth throughout the town and country used it regularly, and I knew this to be a fact because in the 1980s I followed the Station Hill basketball throughout these two mentioned localities and witnessed it firsthand.

14. Dear Dompey:

Marijuana was available in my youth too. One of my classmates got so high once that he took off all of his clothes walked all the way down the west coast in all his “manly glory”. The cops had to escort him to the mental that time. He almost scared the tourists.

People talk nonsense about social class and education etc. Note that said classmate and I were delivered by the same granny midwife and raised in poverty in the same rural village.

He chose to use marijuana. I chose never ever to use marijuana. I chose never ever to get drunk.

None of us are born with a marijuana cigarette or a rum bottle in our mouths.

Maybe you and your friends used marijuana but I never have. Even when it was offered. I have always found it very easy to say no to “shite”

I didn’t vote for the DLP in in the last 2 elections either.

As I said I find it very very easy to say no to blasted shite.

Lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15. The commissioner is talking about corrupt Customs officers but I want to know what happened to the case where the young coolie boy Adams was charged with importing a container load of mariujuana.

What happened to that case? Is it still being prosecuted? And if not why not? And where is the contraband stored? Has it been destroyed and etc. and etc.

Because if it is seen that an almost foreigner boy can get away with a container load the foolish youth who are buying and selling a few 5 bags at a time will feel justified in doing so.

If the Commissioner can’t or wont’ tell us maybe the Director of Public Prosecutions and or the Attorney General can shed some light of what has become of that case. Maybe the Prime Minister, he who is head of national security can tell us what is happening. He can tell us why we should be afraid when we are in our own houses. He can even tell us why he felt the need for six policemen to escort him out of the Crane? And he can start to imagine how those of us who can’t even afford a pot starver for protection and who don’t even own a water pistol, he can start to imagine how we feel. After all I assume that the PM wants the DLP to win the next elections. And yet and yet he too posh to talk to we?

And when did we black Bajans become so stupid that we feel we have to buy whatever the coolie man imports? Our grandmothers who didn’t went to school anywhere knew when to buy a khaki school pants for their son from the coolie man and knew when to tell said man to get lost. Has education turned us foolish or what? Why do we feel the need to be perpetual victims?

16. @Simple–

Excellent approach to ganja. I used to go out with fellas that all smoked ganja in the car and was the only one to say no! Hate smoke and smoking, I always used to say,”I am on a natural high for life!”

17. I was in a car one night going to Sundown Drive In, it was early so all of a sudden the driver went up a cart road in some canes to check his ganja patch, a fella in the backseat said,”suppose the Sarge waiting pun yuh”, the driver reaches under the car seat and pulls out a 357 Magnum. How I didnt soil ma pants bad so, I will never know! I was totally innocent, had no knowledge at all BUT could have been involved in massive trouble!!! Lot of innocent guys in prison for guilt by association. I come from a very solid non criminal family BUT that night was a LIFE Lesson!

18. When you say Magnum you don’t mean that delicious chocolate covered ice cream on a stick do you?

Lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If not you lucky Sarge wasn’t there because otherwise your @ss wold be grass and the fellas at Glendairy would have been singing Sparrow’s classic about the Congo man who never had a white meat yet.

19. I woulda had the Magnum at the Dairy!!!!haha

Hold de pepper and de double ott sandpaper!!!

20. MoneyBrain ,

Dis one have a gun
    Dat one have a gun
    Man dey gon shoot each other fuh fun

Robin Hunte has passed away. Shucks!

21. Donna,
    When the Big Fella calls we all gots to go!

22. Money Brain,

Yeah, but I do miss everybody so!

23. It is perhaps fair to say that there has been tremendous improvement in the standard of living within the last four to five decades. But there has also been a substantial decline in the ethical standards and moral fabric of our society, brought on as a result of rising expectations and demands. It has become almost de rigueur, for children to rob parents, siblings to rob siblings, far less to be robbed by a stranger. Our political leadership, far from attempting to ensure a reasonably equitable distribution of wealth/resources ,its members are more interested in amassing great personal wealth in the shortest time frame possible, after being elected,and definitelyat the expense of the masses. People have resorted to “economic cannibalism”. Small wonder an alleged reprobate of a daughter may have recently robbed her own mother of property ! People stealing from the church !Evahbody tiefing from evahbody ! Even monkeys stealing from monkeys ! Soon de monkeys too will have guns to protect themselves and their ill-gotten gains !

24. With many Bajans now cowering in fear of being gunned down, when are we going to accept the fact that the government does not think that the average Bajan is a product deserving any special protection. Guns all over the place , and our leaders cannot come up with a solution, where the Police working along side of the Defence Force could be instrumental in recovering some of these guns and reducing the incidences of gun related crimes, in the same fashion as we have Joint Police/ Defence Force patrols to protect our Tourist Dollar from visitor attacks , and our King Sugar Dollar from acts of arson.

25. Col Bugs–

Gather up the Joint group and hit the key areas at 4.30am ie Silver Hill, Bonnets, The Farm et al. No one lower down needs to know why, when, what they are about to do before 4am briefing. Remove the guns, the intelligence gathered should suggest where guns are stored typically. Charge and lock up plenty perps too.

Send a message the easy days done! Bajans should never be in this situation!

26. MoneyBrain August 27, 2015 at 12:36 PM #
    That’s the way to go .Cordon and Search at first light. Usually catch many asleep, except those who have been forewarned from on the inside.

27. The moral of this story is evident. Install a social system which disenfranchises a large swathe of the population: seldom referred to as the politics of laissez-faire. Sit back and watch the total disintegration of that society.

Wait for the clarion call from a tiny minority to demand that they need to defend themselves in the face of such insecurity and violence. Solution: flood the country with guns.

The only winners are the gun manufacturers, the criminal, certain members of the business community and the politicians who all have a vested interest in seeing the growth in the gun trade.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/71600/masked-menace

28. Exclaimer,

The effects of disenfranchisement are too hard for some to understand.

29. Exclaimer—

Install a Socialised Capitalist system where INCENTIVE favours the clever and hardworking and helps the poorer members of Society to IMPROVE themselves via a good, relevant Education/ Training System, proper Health Care etc. Discourage LAZYASSES who are just TAKERS and dont want to contribute to Society.

Start from the TOP with STRICT INTEGRITY Legislation for Politicians, this will filter down to the masses. Attract the very best people to manage the Nation and pay at least TRIPLE today’s income to MPs. Lock Pols up and throw away the key for transgressors.

Follow and adapt from very successful Nations ie Singapore. Do NOT follow FAILURES that cant produce or import enough FOOD for its people ie Cuba, Nth Korea OR purely Commie/ inefficient Socialist States. Even these states are turning successfully to an INCENTIVE based system ie China , Russia, India.

Western Europe has PROVEN conclusively that Socialist Giveaways DONT Work—- Stealing from hardworkers to encourage LAZYASSES in a very inefficient manner without high expectations of outcomes and severe PENALTIES for ABUSING the assistance NEVER had a chance to work because too many humans are TAKERS without any conscience whatsoever. Even in the USA they give free cell phones to poorer people and some have garnered 30+ phones??????????????? This wastage is typical of very poorly managed Socialist Policies. Govt MUST Monitor and Control its programs to stop nonsense!

This BS happens purely for Pols to use hardworking people’s $$$$$$$$$$$ to BUY VOTES!
    Any idiot can throw away other peoples money! Any Clown can TAKE, TAKE, TAKE!!!!

30. @ Money B
    Gather up the Joint group and hit the key areas at 4.30am ie Silver Hill, Bonnets, The Farm et al.
    What about the key areas in the Heights and Terraces where we ALL know the real thieving is going on?
    Who the hell in Bonnets do you think has the wherewithal to influence politicians, customs, police etc to get away with the kinda shiite that we are seeing…?

…you and you one-way-of-seeing things does REALLY make Bushie laugh sometimes hear?

So YES!
    Let us hit ALL the damn key areas with joint forces – not only police and army, but ALSO with forensic audits, Tax audits, routine searches etc….and BOTH in the Farm AND on the Heights….

31. @Bushie—-

We on the same page besides the fact that I was putting a stop to Guns etc that kill innocent people many of them Black and/ or poor. Remember a few years back I tore into Wall St and Washington DC etc for Financial malpractice that hurt millions of Citizens that up to now dont know the truth about that 2 by 4. I dont see things ONE WAY, only when straightening out some fellas pun here who are RACIAL, as in Whitey is always wrong/ bad. I will certainly play Devil’s advocate then, even if I dont really believe what I write but just need to shake things up.

Heights and Terraces may call for an Audit Task Force. So Mr Customs Guy/ Politician/ WhoeverCrook, you meking $X per year but have a Home, car and lifestyle suggesting that you are making 5-10 times $X! Please show where that money came from? Inheritance? Lotto?? When, how much, where , who??? ALWAYS remember that Scarface himself, Alphonso Capone, was imprisoned for TAX Evasion and nothing else!!!

Appoint me Benevolent Dictator and I will be Mr CLEANUP from top to bottom. I will need a full time security detail for sure as these Bad actors will want me gone to the beyond! I will also ban Communist nonsense, such jokers will be invited to move to Cuba etc on a one way ticket.

32. @ Money
    Appoint me Benevolent Dictator…
    Skippa … yuh mean you ain’t detect the kinda mood that Bushie in today…??!!

APPOINT YOU as WUH….!!!!???
    …you is a piecea shiite? ..wuh boss, we had 400 years of ‘benevolent dictators’ just like you… and look where it got us….
    Steupsss … Man not even BAJANS are such brass bowls as to do that….

You like MONEY!! you don’t give two shits bout we… all the lotta talk you got, we all know that in two -twos you, COW, KiFF and Bizz would be tight tight, …business taxes would be dropped – and all like Bushie would be back pun some plantation sweating for a few shillings …or singing shiite in some hotel….

Man go long back to sleep and finish off that dream you was having bout ‘benevolent dictator’ do…

Bushie heard about horror dreams …but you like you does dream comedies …. 🙂

33. @Bushie–

De joke pun U cause I and plenty Black Bajans living sweeeeeetttt to rahteeeed up here in Toronto so, and dat is no dream hey. I did see this shyte coming down de stream back in 1979-80 and leff it all to wunna to live wid. This is exactly what I told my family dat would come to past, all de corruption, and black Pols brekking fuh demselves. My advice was leff Bim and watch the fun from afar! Wuhloss dem mash de place up quick so! If dem ever update the bible for modern prophesy I in dey like flint booossey. Cor bluma! Dah fah lick yah! ALL TOTALLY PREDICTABLE!

34. @ Money
    Boss man, before you start laughing your ass off at us poor Bajans… you betta look around yuh… Bushie tell you already we could always sleep on the beach and eat breadfruit and mangoes… when the Canadian shit hit the freezer wuh you going do…?
    You laugh…
    ..at least Lawson keeping he ties with Bim …and Hants got NUFF land bout here… LOL

35. @Bushie—

Dont cry for me Bushie cause I may soon buy onea dem $2mn homes the Banks selling for like $500k. Dat is my kinda price, bottom fishing—I did always love a sweet bottom.(besides any male’s of course) Glad to learn dat Hants gots nuff land in Bim, I just praying he didnt buying anywhere near the peak and needer Liar/ Lawyer in carry way the Deeds and such, yuh know how dem does stan. Dem Liars and Pols woulda carry way the Moon,long time, if dem had a step ladder long enuff!

I gots plenty nuff ties wid Bim, bessy not worry yuh head bout dat, doan study it! Christmas come I would be drinking Rum and Coconut Water all over de place. Mek sure dem clean up de sargassum from bout de place cause i aint able wid no bad smells and de touristes gin stan home.

Skippa if shyte happen here in TO I can fly to several destinations—Singapore? Bim? USA? Hawaii—knows dem all, Hawaii real sweeeett gots nuff sweeett ass Asians–Koreans, Chinese, Japs, Phillipinos—oh I woulda dead fixing dem up! Food dey like Bim—FISH–MAHI MAHI or Dolphin—eat it grilled with rice/ potatoes etc at the Intl market in Waikiki for under $10.

36. Bushie,

Yellow bird up high in banana tree

Now dat was sweet!

MoneyBrain,

Leave Bushie alone before he kill me with laugh.