Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC
BU shares the Jeff Cumberbatch Barbados Advocate column – Senior Lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies since 1983, a Columnist with the Barbados Advocate since 2000 and BU commenter – see full bio.

.[…]

Musings: An evolving democracy (II)
8/16/2015
By Jeff Cumberbatch

“Freedom of expression is the matrix, the indispensable condition, of nearly every other form of freedom…” – Benjamin Cardozo, US jurist

I posited in the first part of this essay that two of the major contributors to any evolution in local democracy are an increase in popular freedom of access to official information and an expansion of the civic freedom of expression. While there has been no contemporary positive attempt by the state to effect the former, there has been an indirect, though as yet under-utilised, realisation of the latter, as I argued last week. This is owed in part to the common law development whereby there is now an overarching regard paid to publication of material in the public interest even if it may harm an individual reputation, so long as it is responsible, and partly to the locally legislated relaxation of some of the strict rules of defamation.

However, as I also argued in closing last week, freedom of expression for the purpose of evolving democracy goes beyond its theoretical existence and depends rather on the extent to which it is availed of especially by those who hold views different to those of the accepted prevailing dogma, be it religious, political or otherwise.

In this context, self-censorship poses a threat to the democratic ideal.

To what degree may it be fairly stated that we have this form of freedom of expression in Barbados? There are two undeniable facts. First, it seems clear that there is not now, nor has there ever been, an official governmental policy of suppressing the free expression of citizens, although certain individual statements have, from time to time, betrayed a certain discomfort with contrary opinion. These are too well known to bear repetition here, but suffice it to say that both sides of the political divide have seen it fit to accuse the local print media of being unduly adverse/supportive of their party or the other. The relatively recent online publication, Barbados Today, has managed so far to avoid this partisan censure, but no doubt its turn will come. Fortunately, to my best knowledge, there are no repercussions for the accused publications, beyond perhaps loss of the custom of a few ardent party supporters.

Similarly, the government-supported Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation has been accused over the years, not entirely without justification, of being an extension of the administration in power so far as its presentation of information and general ethos are concerned. A degree of popular cynicism has developed as a result, with a resigned acceptance by the party in opposition that our turn will eventually come.

It must be remarked, however, that the greatest impact on the breadth of Barbadian freedom of expression in recent times has been the anonymity of the publisher afforded by the popular call-in programmes on local radio and, to an even greater extent, on the equally popular blogs, especially Barbados Underground. It is true that the radio contributions are frequently more guarded – clearly it is not as easy to disguise a voice. On the other hand, the blog obviously affords far more security of anonymity and posters have exploited this to the full with their unbridled criticism and, in a number of cases, their unswerving support, of the current administration.

Even though this anonymity does not render the blog publisher or the contributor wholly immune from prosecution or from a civil suit for defamation, the complexity of the legal process and the potential claimant’s probable attempt to avoid the appearance of being thin-skinned currently ensure some degree of protection for the blogging exercise. I will have more to say about this on another occasion, since I am scheduled to present a paper on the liability for defamation of intermediaries such as “blogmasters” at the annual conference of the OECS Bar Association in September.

Not everyone will be partial to this argument that the advent of the blogs has improved the quality of our democracy. Barbadians, who are ever ready to refer to corresponding responsibilities whenever a right or freedom is asserted, will no doubt point to the probability of an irresponsible abuse of free expression, especially when virtual anonymity is guaranteed, and Pete Singer, the Australian moral philosopher, contends that “the new freedom of expression brought by the Internet goes far beyond politics. People relate to each other in new ways, posing questions about how we should respond to people when all that we know about them is what we have learned through a medium that permits all kinds of anonymity and deception”.

I note the force of these arguments but they are not persuasive. I am prepared to concede that freedom of expression is not absolute and that, apart from its constitutional restrictions, the use of that freedom to incite unlawful discrimination, hatred or violence, for examples, towards a group should be proscribed.

Likewise, the assumption of certain roles may serve to restrict an individual’s freedom of expression; consider the case of the Cabinet member who is opposed to an endorsed policy of his or her administration or, to be more personal, as the new Chairman of the Fair Trading Commission, it should not be thought that I would use this space to fulminate for or against the utilities or other entities under the regulation of that body. This is the point that I believe the respondents may be trying to make in the case of the forced removal of the retired UWI professor from the organisation, CHART, that he headed and whose mission might have been diametrically in contrast to certain sentiments that he publicly advocated. Some things just may not be said.

However, beyond these restrictions and the others previously mentioned, it should be difficult to justify the legal restriction of political speech, no matter how inelegantly expressed, simply because it does not comport with the view of a governing administration.

A distinctive effort
I was intrigued to read in recent days of more students than one or two in Guyana and Trinidad & Tobago who had managed to secure passes in as many as 20 subjects in one sitting at CXC. Indeed, in one remarkable case in Guyana, the young lady secured, if I recall correctly, a total of 21 passes, all with distinction. I am not sure that I could have even attempted the undertaking of 10 “O” Levels, as they were known over four decades ago, and I sincerely congratulate these students on their truly fantastic achievements. However, and with no attempt at all to seem niggardly in their asking, the enormity of their success does raise a number of questions in my mind.
Having witnessed in my day job an alarming decline in the facility of law students, usually the cream of their crop, with the written use of English, I am forced to wonder whether these distinctive performances at CXC also reflect equal merit in written expression.

Further, it would be instructive to learn the names of the 20 or more subjects examined at CXC. Are they all justifiably relevant both substantively and intellectually?

Finally, with these kinds of results, does CXC not fear conceivable and reasonable accusations of dumbing-down the standard of regional educational achievement?

145 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – An Evolving Democracy (II)”

1. @Dompey

I know where U want to go but your use of Cancer is a poor choice since I watched my father and brother die of Cancer (to say nothing of other family members)When over the period of a year U see a 200 lb man reduce to 80 lbs and when he is turned over his hip breaks, that leaves quite an impression of what cancer is about. I believe I have an excellent identification with Cancer without actually feeling the pain. I use to make sure my brother had a very good supply of Demerol 50mg as in Bim there was only 25mg, so went to Bim 4 times that year and carried a bunch each time prescribed by his Dr in TO!

2. “and it has become common folk lore that the results were switched so that a famous person was awarded the scholarship, when they had not actually secured the highest marks. It was a colour thing”

MY friend your own words particularly ‘ commonfolklore’ are instructive. I rest my case. No respect intended to my elders but take off your political blinkers man.

3. “Bushie is not moved by Alvin’s sob story”

Me neither with all that bullshit about some meter in a lab and Harrisonian platitudes by the very same people who pour scorn on the educational system of the so-called colonial days.

4. “Poverty is no excuse for yardfowlism and brass bowlery”
    Well said Bushie perhaps Alvin needs to draw on your satirically profound skills when he is contemplating writing books in the future.

5. @ balance
    …not only is poverty no excuse, but unless bloggers possess the kind of balls that Caswell, Adrian Loveridge and Jeff Cumberbatch have, then we don’t REALLY need to hear their damn life story….cause when the whacker start up a whole lotta shiite will fly…

BU is about LOGIC, argumentative positions, and knowledgeable posits… We don’t give two shits about qualifications, status, rank ,poverty or connections.
    Anytime you hear a debater bringing up his ‘poor background’ and ‘hard life’ (as per Denis Lowe recently) you just KNOW that he is pulling a fast one on your ass…

BUT NOT on STINKING BUSHIE!!!

..write another damn book or something man…, or call “heartbreak hotel” or some shiite… but don’t come here looking for no damn empathy OR sympathy. What we RESPECT on BU are logical arguments that represent sound reasoning.

6. @Alvin

How has sales been for your last two books?

7. Alvin Cummins

Alvin, you’re not being disrespectful at all sir, I wonder what gave you that idea because I do welcome your constructive critique? Now with respect to your inquiry of my understanding of the words Empathize and Emphasis which I do understand quite well, even though I misused the word Emphasis instead Empathize in my latter post, I nonetheless, employed it correctly in my first post, so should have gotten the general idea that I was trying to convey in my latter post.

In any event, getting back to your comment regarding Empathy, well I am presently employed in the healthcare industry here in the States, as you an I confabulate. And I am currently working with a patient who is on “Hospice Care” because of complications from Multiple Sclerosis (MS) which has compromised his lungs and he hasn’t long to go. And even though I know that he lies on this death bed at the end of his life brother, I still cannot empathize with this patient because at the end of my shift, I go home to my family,and forgets about what this guy is probably going through spiritually, psychologically and emotionally. I can’t relate at all because had I been in his situation, I might have been able to empathize with his suffering, but how can I when I have been there?

And lastly, as a former military man, it kinda puts me in the mindset of the seasoned veteran who has fought in many battles and is now battlefield tested, and the green infantry soldier who is about to face combat for the first time. Can this unseasoned infantry soldier empathize with this battlefield tested veteran? Of course not, well the same goes for the patient who lies on his death awaiting his impending demise, and a person much like myself who hasn’t been there as of yet. Alvin, have you ever heard the saying that: True knowledge comes by way of personal experience?”

8. Oh get a life nuh Dompey! …. mean they still letting you around sick people after that incident with the cellphone charging…?
    …and did the army not discharge you for the wasteful manner in which you persisted in peeling the damn potatoes in the cookhouse where you were assigned ‘for combat’?

Shiite!!
    Next we will hear a moving testimony from sister AC about how tough life has become since her DC left for Arizona ….and of course of the wicked role that the BLP played in DC’s escape …errr leaving.

Steupss
    …see what Bushie means balance?

9. Alvin Cummis

Empathize, according to the Oxford American Dictionary means to: “Understand and share the feelings of another”. Yes as a human I may feel a sense of sadness that another human being is appoaching the end of his or her life, but on the fundamental level, do I really understand this dying person state of mind, or can I actually relate to the suffering of this person unless I have experience it firsthand myself? Listen! My wife has been under anaesthesia ( Bristish or Bajan spelling Anesthesia) several times, and she tells me of the euphoria one experiences when put under the influence of that sedative. But it was not until I had gotten my first colonoscopy this year, that I could really understand what she was trying to convey to me as fact. Because I did in fact experienced that euphoric feeling she had been stating all along. Now, I don’t wish to ride this issue any longer because I hope that I have gotten my point across to some extent.

10. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Are-We, I agree with your ‘rum shop’ post above but interpret the concept of anonymity with a slight difference.

In the wood & mortar rum shop, as you suggest, one ” can quite easily predict almost exactly what the views of any regular … will be about any particular topic” and so too right here indeed. But I think that when the faceless/nameless posters personalize their experiences here it certainly still enhances a true feeling of friendship (or enmity).

Being anonymous takes nothing away from the interplay in my view because from what I have seen here there are BU family members who are great friends and seem to walk lock-step in discourse; those who are verbal rivals and battle back and forth often; then those who tend to be aggrieved maybe because of previous disagreements; and of course those who can’t stand the mere thought of each other.

Yah tink all those dynamics are diminished in this virtual rum-shop? No sir, in fact it just makes it ‘sweeter fah days’. So oh yes, good sir, BU is as real as can be in its virtual life!

@ Bushie and Balance et al: Why would Cummings’ story of growing up evoke special empathy here on BU when most of us either lived it directly or vicariously through our parents or other family members?

The comments by Cummings were absolutely not much different from other grand pieces of personal driftwood that posters have cast into the BU waters.

The man is a writer and story teller and obviously loves that type of historical hiking, so to speak, …was it not enjoyable (certainly for me and based on others’ comments) when he chronicled some early music students and their successes. This is all interesting and back in the day this ‘oral history ‘ was invaluable. What makes such remarks so damning here?

His comments should be interpreted as about the period and the life of that generation not about him; and I would hope he continues to provide other historical nuggets and names as he did.

Cummings make a remark several weeks back to the effect that he was looking through the ‘jalousies’ of his family home the morning of the riots. The next time after that when I had reason to address one of his comments I added the honorific ‘Mr’ to his name out of simple momentary awe.

My point to all that is take the man as he comes with all his Barrow/DLP unshakable devotion.

If one puts his life as gleaned here into perspective that love is absolutely understandable… even as we also understandably disagree vehemently with him and his corrupt DLP on this Cahill matter and even as we understand not all of that generation have an unflappable love affair with Errol Barrow’s DLP.

11. Bush Tea

Oh dear Bushie! I do recall the incident involving the cellular-phone quite vividly, but it would appear as though you have the facts of the incident somehow misconstrued and convoluted. The incident has little do with me and more do with you when you were a patient at psychiatric hospital commonly known as the Mental, under observation for claims that the DLP government had planted a listening device in your cell phone to monitor your every movement.Oh Lord, poor Bushie, is in the advanced stages of dementia and can’t seem to get over the fixation that the DLP government is out to get him.

12. The DLP under the Skippa Dippa and Cammie was a COMPLETELY different Group of true Leadership than this wayward bunch of CLOWNS! Serious alternatives must be considered, monitored and once qualified, elected.

Note to younger family members —-NEVER blindly support any group. political party, Sports team, simply because of their historical performance or leadership.

The questions must always be centred around who is leading now, why, how, what they plan to do and what they actually do, are they genuine or just con men brekking for themselves. For example, I grew up backing the WI Cricket Team, however given the”leadership” in Admin and the attitude of some players I would be a fool to place faith in that entity today! SAD!

13. N o bozie ac never had to undergo those hard times. I remember the days wearing Bata and Clarke shoes no holes in my shoes deputy dawg

14. @Dompey—

So the only way to understand the consequences of someone you know jumping in front of the Subway is to jump too???

Clever people learn from experience BUT the truly Clever learn from the experiences of others!

15. MoneyBrain

That’s a fair enough analogy, But let me ask you this question though: would you agree that some people account of a given event is limited to their individual interpretation? So if a religious-zealous comes a long and tells me that he has seen God, should I then accept his accounted at face-value, or shouldn’t I examine his claim through a process of empirical evidence to determine its validity?

16. @Dompey

Yes interpretations will vary.

Especially when there is Religion involved you have to conduct much research. People can easily be brainwashed eg Charles Manson had those young ladies murdering innocent people they did not know and had never even met!

Hitler had most Germans believing they were better than any other group!

Mao had people beating the Educated Uni Profs/ Lecturers and sending them off to work in the fields!

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

De Ingrunt Word re. your 7:21 am post;

Thanks for your comments on my earlier “rum shop” post. I think you found the signal weakness in my comparison of the traditional and the virtual bajan rum shop.

Balance;

I am beginning to think that the mere mention of HC is like a red flag for you and a few others, sometimes without considering the context in which it is mentioned. My allusion to HC in earlier posts was essentially to posit that the HC geniuses and brainiacs of “the day” imho contributed much less to Barbados as compared to the contributions of other HC students and of those from other schools who did not do particularly well at GCE but went on in later life to excel on the world stage and also to contribute greatly of their talents to Barbados’ development.

My allusion to HC in this particular thread was merely to offer another example of progression in the continuum of evolving democracy, perhaps 8-10 years after Alvin went to Cawmere, i.e. that coming from a similar background to Alvin, I was able to go to HC and all my siblings to the top Secondary schools by dint of my parent’s sacrifices and our own efforts, and in the later stages through far reaching changes in the system born of the Governments’ strategic thinking. I am almost certain that I would not have been able to attend a Secondary school if I had been born earlier. Now that is not to say that 90% of the people posting on BU did not have similar experiences but at least it is recording that such a situation did happen.

re. the flame photometer. The short discussion on that was an aside, particularly directed at Alvin to point him to who I was as no one outside a technologist or worker in that particular laboratory would know what I was talking about. It really did not deserve that vituperative comment.

All;
    I had an old neighbour, one of whose favourite sayings was; “tuh explain yuhself yuh have to expose yuhself”.

The personalised comments on this blog may be good examples of the truth of that aphorism. Alvin exposed himself to explain himself. So did I, partially. So have a number of others on BU over the years without calling down the ire that this seems to have generated.

I wonder why?

18. MoneyBrain

I would agree with you that people can be so easily brainwashed, look what a western education has done to some of the eldership here on BU? Their western style education has been deeply influenced by the western intellectual tradition which some of the eldership here have failed to realized influences their thinking in many respects.

But I have said this before and I shall say it once again: anyone can say or state a claim, but until empirical-evidence gives way to truth, such claims are tumble weed tossed and turned by the wind and finally buried under a pile of rubbish.

19. I have been on this blog for quite sometime now, and I do not recall any of the readership here on BU paying homage to the well noted and international-acclaimed Barbadian novelist, essayist and poet, the illustrious George Lamning. Is it because he has attended Roebuck Boys’ Primary and then Combere Secondary, that he doesn’t warrants the attention of the mostly Harrison College readership here on BU?

20. Sorry that was supposed to be Combermere… please forgive my constant human shortcoming.

21. @Dompey

Are U attempting to get in my Castle or under my Skin?

When did we discuss Poets and Literary Genii??? Harrisonians respect this gent immensely.

There is friction with some Cambermerians who have INFERIORITY complexes who continually attack former HC alumini. When U are number 0ne, in any aspect, the wannabes are always sharpening the knives! It is a fact of life eg many hate the Yankees.

22. David, I often wonder if our own Bushie could be the well noted and internationally acclaimed novelist George Lamning, masquerading behind the verisimilitude of the pseudonym of Bush Tea? His writing skills are impeccable and his intellectual lucidity is above and far beyond mediocrity we often find here on BU. We obviously have a national treasure who remains in incognito, but whose intellectual luminosity breaks through the veil which cocoon this rare diamond that rest in still concealment beneath our feet.

23. MoneyBrain August 19, 2015 at 7:41 PM #

That was a bouncer but unfortunately went quite astray. Number One? Hah……

Measurements of success are relative and subjective.

The US? For sure, getting sick if you don’t have insurance your tail is grass.

Many are wealthy, but a multitude sleep homeless on the streets, while good houses lie fallow.

Number One?

That said, in terms of the title of this blog ‘an emerging democracy’ , surely ‘an emerging autocracy’ is more apt?

24. @Bushie ”Anytime you hear a debater bringing up his ‘poor background’ and ‘hard life’ (as per Denis Lowe recently) you just KNOW that he is pulling a fast one on your ass…”

Maybe , maybe not.

Denis Lowe may indeed have had a ‘HARD’ life… very hard….

Hah!

25. MoneyBrain

I was schooled at Roebuck Boys’ Primary which as you well know, was in close proximity to Harrison College.
    And from time to time my friends and I would ventured over to Harrison College during our lunch break, and I must tell you without any ambiguity, that I founded quite a few of the students at Harrison College during the early 1970s, socially -aloof. So it is now wonder why many at the time and I would imagine to this today held/holds a visceral as well as a pathological hatred for those who have and continue to attend Harrison College today.

26. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Are-We, no need to wonder deeply. The remarks or interpretations by Bush Tea and Balance re Cummings personal reminisces and the nostalgia both of you enjoyed could best be described as puerile. That’s the best adjective to match their possible ages and comments to the time of the reminisces! LOL.

Cummings has been so far ‘off the reservation’ on Cahill that anything he says is considered toxic so the ire was more about that I believe.

re your HC comment: The day that Bajans stop getting worked up about HC, Lodge, QC, C’mere etc is the day when those schools stop producing the leaders of the country, most of the judges and basically being at the forefront of the country’s life.

But of course you know that so why waste your time responding to more puerile school boy remarks about stuff like that!

Suffice to say that your Cummings’ discussion was interesting and enlightening.

@Dompey, stop being a flame thrower. Your remarks ” Is it because he has attended Roebuck Boys’ Primary and then Combere Secondary, that he doesn’t warrants the attention of the mostly Harrison College readership here on BU?” are BASELESS.

Whether George Lamming is discussed on BU or not has nothing to do with such a nonsensical remark. Comissong (a Harrisonian) wrote a blog which highlighted him just rcently.

What would be practical would be to write a piece on Mr Lamming if you want to have a discussion rather than writing such a load of cow-dung…steeupse.

You obviously have a large chip on your shoulder. I do hope for your sake you can shrug it off some day.

27. @Dee Word

It would be a most interesting exercise to find out who on BU are required to take meds to perform normal functions.

28. @ David,

Well, due to the ‘DeeWord says’ Harrison led Gvernment, meds such as BP meds are essential, due tot he stressed brought on by an inept Government with ludicrous approaches.

And this after an aloof Government, previously, also per Dee Word, Harrison led.

Bah Humbug.

29. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Dompey, let me tell yah, if “from time to time [your] friends and [you] would ventured over” to my nameless school, uninvited, during lunch I am confident that we would have cut your asses. So you would have had ample reason for your ” pathological hatred for those who have and continue to attend ….”

Dude, get over yourself. Where you went to school is relevant and important to no one here.

If you enjoyed your school life then sing its praises but good lawd man get off the HC bull crap.

You sound like a desperate wannabe who after all these years is still upset that the HC boys looked down their nose at you….oh boo hooo; does it hurt??

Are you a grown man or still stuck in your difficult adolescent years?

@David, see if you can organize this lad Dompey with some of those meds, do!

30. Dompey
    Your Headmaster at Roebuck was a neighbour.
    Kolij fellas did not tend to laud over others.

31. how about the name Harrison College be replaced with the EWB college of higher learning,,but seriously outside of barbados and a few carribbean nations Britian included who ever hear the name or pay attention to Harrison college as an accredited school of higher learning,

32. @ac

Actually there are several Professors at Oxford, Cambridge, MIT et al, who went to HC. Very highly respected among the academic cognoscenti.

Most intelligent Bajans are very proud of HC, QC and some other schools that are easily forgotten! (Lodge was a great school until Smitty mash it up!) How did ruining the school of the former plantocracy benefit Bajans? It was servicing the people for many years.

33. MoneyBrain

Money, I would have to agree with AC that most Americans would chuckle at the thought of a college of any sort being a school of national recognition.

And with the easy accessibility of an education in the Great White North, I wouldn’t be surprise to find Barbadians who attended most if not all of the secondary schools in Barbados holding professorships throughout North America and in various parts of Europe.

Greorge Lamning was once a visiting professor at Brown University; that’s and Ivy League school Money. And Sir Arthur Lewis who now respites peaceful in tranquil meadows in the Great-Beyond was a attendind professor at Stanford University for many years; Stanford happens to be another Ivy League school.

But I guess that in the minds of most Barbadian people Harrison College is still to be looked upon as a school of academic-excellence, but I am also resolve to the fact that some Barbadians do believe that time to move beyond Harrison College as being a institution of learning to aspire for is now?

34. “cummings make a remark several weeks back to the effect that he was looking through the ‘jalousies’ of his family home the morning of the riots. The next time after that when I had reason to address one of his comments I added the honorific ‘Mr’ to his name out of simple momentary awe.”

Then you might have given him a Lordship if he had remarked that he went to the toilet to ‘jobby’

35. “N o bozie ac never had to undergo those hard times. I remember the days wearing Bata and Clarke shoes no holes in my shoes deputy dawg”
    Ac you must have been privileged then.

36. MoneyBrain

This is little off topic, but some here have spoke of the need to revamp our academic system, and I am quite sure conscientious listeners would agree that it is imperative that we do so quickly and for the sake of our posterity.

But beyond revamp our educational system devoid of a specific aim, we need to move towards a more Afrocentric focus, and away Eurocentric emphasis which has shaped our thinking and impacted our behaviour for far too long.

37. Classism was rooted and bred in our educational system and is self explanatory in reading differing comments here ,it is obvious by some who went to those school which they believed were the top tier still express a sense of distinguished perplexing attitude wearing a halo of ‘greatness”

38. Balance, how about having to wear Dog-Sandals and Hush-Puppies?

39. @ balance but the philosophy “it takes a village” was not said but done ,. with having an extended family being a neighbor ,yes ! i was fortunate to be part of such a family setting who did not hide or shy away from responsibilities when necessary with helping buy my school supplies including uniforms and shoes

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Wile we here debating HC and Cawmere and QC anso-onn we ent raylize dat sumting big mite be hapning.

The Cabinet and top Civil Servants met in retreat at the Crane Resort for two days. On the first day the meeting discussed the Ministry of Finance and the AG’s department only. I have not yet seen what was discussed yesterday but it was reported in the Nation that for the first day no currently hot button items like escalating levels of crime were discussed.

Seems to me that there’s something very much out of the ordinary going on here.
    Why did the PM have such high levels of security protection while the other members of Cabinet were not reported to have had excess protection or any protection at all? Why did they have this meeting in mid term rather than in 2013 when at that time it might have been feasible for decisions coming out of the meeting to have been implementable in this cycle as contrasted to a mid term meeting when it is unlikely that any significant changes could be made before this term comes to an end?

Wonder what the meetings were really about? Is there any significance to the report that on the first day only Finance and the AG’s ministry were discussed? Wonder why CBC ent even unpick duh teet last nite bout de meeting?

41. @ AWTY
    No real surprise
    Even the most dedicated DLP die-hard brass bowls must by now be coming to see that they have been doing bare shiite… and that idiotic attempts to continue to blame everyone else – from the BLP, to OPEC to Bushie … is ringing hollow..
    Perhaps Froon has finally found time to start with the AX matter…

@ Crusoe August 19, 2015 at 8:15 PM #
    Denis Lowe may indeed have had a ‘HARD’ life… very hard….
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It is not that such debaters did NOT indeed have a hard life, but that they are trying to use a ‘poor me’ tactic to avoid dealing with the REAL issue or to distract the gullible audience…

The ONLY thing that is relevant on the debate floor is the moot…

42. @Yard ducks et al.

I went back to the archives; a short item from October 2007:

…”Here are some more questions:
    Why was no tendering for this massive project?
    Why a company without any prior experience given the contract?
    Did this company present to Government any financial status in case of a malpractice suit?
    Did this company present a portfolio of past jobs to ascertain their credibility?
    Were drawings for the scope of work deliver to Government and analysed by professional personnel?
    If the answer is no, are decisions only made as work progress, thus the reason for the magnitude of additional costing?”

Do you know what this is from and what it is about?
    It is from Word Press, and it is in relation to the building of the Flyovers and the ABC road widening contracts.

What say you?

43. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Are-We as usual you are ahead of the game re the Crane Resort meeting. We can only but speculate that a major announcement is possible. I too was confused by the PM security presence. That suggests a conspiracy of threats leveled at the PM. LOL.

@Balance:

Absolutely correct and astute observation that, ‘[I] might have given him a Lordship if … went to the toilet to ‘jobby’.

Your prowess to conflate the seminal magnitude of the 1937 riots to the mundane task of a bowel movement clearly shows your intellectual gravitas and ability to move beyond the puerile I so incorrectly accused you of previously. I now stand ashamed of my earlier description of you!

@Dompey & AC

Of course, a comprehensive and forward thinking review of education is needed in Barbados – and this point has been discussed here at length previously. BUT to suggest that such a revamp should be done at the expense of our older schools is simply ludicrous.

If either of you had that ‘esprit de ecole’ that Lodge, HC, QC, Foundation and other boys and girls from the older secondaries have you would realize a few basic things.

—1. Students from Princess Margaret, Ellerslie, St. Leonards etc – the newer secondaries – also have a sense of pride in their alma mater and they develop that by doing positive things for their schools and building on their successes; not by pulling down the success of others.

—2. You would realize that our educational system has indeed undergone change over the years with a focus away from the main older secondaries as there was a concerted effort to better spread the ‘wealth’ of talented students.

—3. And finally you would understand that in any country you will always have a ‘best of class’ institution or institutions and rightly or not they will be given precedence over others.

BTW, let’s see if I can put into perspective your insulting (to all Bajans) remark: “… chuckle at the thought of a [Harrison] college of any sort being a school of national recognition.”

I came across an article in the Economist some years back, which noted that (at 2012) one particular school, Ecole Nationale d’Administration (university) in France, had seven of the past 12 prime ministers as former students in addition to several other prominent officials, civil servants etc. The writer thought that was ‘breathtaking’. It was also noted that this school was one of three from which 46% of the country’s business tycoons were grads.

Now, consider that our first Premier went to HC, and all but two our PMs attended there as well – over 70% I believe. Further consider that over 85% of our high court judges attended that school and at various times in the tenure of the court that number was 100% I suspect.

These are simple facts that clearly suggest that the frigging school is in not a ‘chuckle’ at being a ‘school of national recognition’. Success breads success; a number of those who topped common entrance went there and thus the school got the best school leaving results.

So Mr Dompey please get your thinking cap on properly…In most countries that means your school is touted as one of the best, whether we like it or not.

If you want to discuss the teaching practices and resources they have and argue that Ellerslie or Deighton Griffith could turn out more talented students if they had some of those resources then make the point with facts but this insane petty folly is pathetic.

44. Dompey

De Ingrunt got it exactly correct above at 10.21am.

All Nation’s have superior centres of learning at various levels! There is no example of tearing down a top institution because of some errant political game, that has proven beneficial. Singapore has Raffles College/ National Junior College pumping out genii like no tomorrow. These institutions are revered and Singaporeans do not want to denigrate or destroy. The fact is that the top Bajan schools are tops because the best brains go there. Having said that,students develop at different rates and in my own bloodline connections they were many clever students that went to HC, Lodge, QC BUT the one that won the Bdos Schol did their formative education at Foundation!

The gent in the US with the highest IQ (they could not put a number to his IQ as he was that clever) never finished high School because school was a waste of time and when he was younger classmates despised him for being so clever, so he decided to appear dumber in order to preserve social acceptance. Suppose he had been identified and placed in a school for the very Gifted this chap may have solved Cancer/ “free energy”/ anti gravidic propulsion or some other conundrum by now. This situation was a waste in terms of human advancement and effective use of assets.

The fact is that with computers/ technology today it is possible to “flatten” teaching differentials. You can take the very most effective teaching methods/ systems and place them in programs for everyone’s use. The teaching role should change to supporting those that need help as the computer/ Tech system will integrate testing, immediately showing who gets the work and who does not. I would encourage everyone to acquaint themselves with the Khan Academy and to recommend this to all family / friends with youngsters.

45. Surely not arguing the level of competency .but the level of arrogance that emits from some who enters those educated walls.what I describes as classism not found in other western colleges. Yes across across N america one would hardly noticed or recognize a distinguishable difference in intellectual prowess to impress by any university grad unless specifically told by another source