Authored by Professor Paul Connett with Climate Colorado and the Zero Waste Barbados Movement
Zero Waste Logo

1. Sept meeting organized by the Future Island Trust (before this meeting organizers need to be briefed by Robert on how to organize the brainstorming […]to achieve these goals).

Need sponsors like the Rotarians, various hotel owners, Chamber of Commerce, farmers, university, Churches, B’s recycling, other waste companies, Zero Waste Barbados, Barbados renewable Energy group etc…

Need to brainstorm ideas for projects in the following areas and identify potential leaders, players and entrepreneurs. Throughout the discussion a high priority should be given to ways of maximizing jobs in each project area.

1. Education for sustainability K 1 -12; University department for sustainability
  2. Sustainable Agriculture
  3. Sustainable and Clean water supply
  4. Sustainable Energy supply (Barbados Renewable Energy Association (?)
  5. Sustainable waste Management (Zero Waste Barbados; B’s recycling and more)
  6. Sustainable Tourism
  7. Sustainable transport
  8. Setting up a network of sustainable communities emphasizing both social and environmental justice.

2. These ideas written up to form basis for international summit in November (?). To be sent to all prospective participants.

3. International Summit for a Sustainable Barbados (dialogue between local ideas and international experience).

4. Results written up and the plan (a list of well-defined interlocking projects in the 8 areas) made available to all citizens via social media and the press. It will be an open question then whether the advancement of this plan will involve public or private money or a mixture of both. If government cancels Cahill project and opts instead to support this plan – then citizen-organizers will have oversight. If government refuses to support the plan citizen-organizers will be looking for local and international entrepreneurial and charitable support for each of the projects and overall orchestration of the plan.

100 responses to “Citizen Plan for a Sustainable Barbados”

1. Alvin Cummins, you perhaps have a masters in spin and probably is well paid for the defence of bad governance. Greenland had the same partisan political operatives. Nothing will change unless we have ITAL and FOIA for the DLP and BLPare fundamentally the same at deception and theatrics just to control the country`s purse string. Sad, but future generations will put the baby boomers on trial in absentia for corruption of their legacy

2. @ Are we there…,

I aim to please. The problem in the country is that people ( a large number) do not read things that are published by government. I remember the brouhaha when the Conference centre (LES) was being built, there was a model on display, and yet people did not go to see it and find out as much as they could, but were highly critical of it. That’s why, for instance that the proposed concert hall; included in the original plans, was never completed; a concert hall I might add that was supposed to be the home of the National Youth orchestra
    Anyhow, I will always try to enlighten with whatever knowledge I have.
    I would also say that there is a difference between a supporter and an apologist.

3. @ Kamie;

You are obviously too young to have heard the phrase “I don’t rice at you” and understand its significance.
    Well I Alvin Cummins don’t rice at anyone. I am not paid by anyone for my thoughts or actions in support of the Democratic Labour Party. When I made my decision in 1965 to follow the philosophy of the party, I went according to my conscience. I have supported them since then. I have been highly critical of them many times and have expressed these opinions at annual conferences of the party. I have supported and rejected resolutions of delegates and constituencies when they came up for consideration.

So judge me differently. I do not criticize just for the sake of criticizing or follow like a yard duck. I think for myself, and if these thoughts are different from the crowd, these are still my thoughts and opinions, and I will hold on to them until I am convinced in my mind that I am wrong then I will give in,

4. Walter Blackman Avatar

Alvin Cummins August 16, 2015 at 7:13 PM #

“I remember the brouhaha when the Conference centre (LES) was being built, there was a model on display, and yet people did not go to see it and find out as much as they could, but were highly critical of it. That’s why, for instance that the proposed concert hall; included in the original plans, was never completed;”

Alvin Cummins,
    Presumably, you went to see the model of the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference Centre, and just the sight of the model convinced you that it should have been built. Remember, everybody’s brain doesn’t work that way.

On the other hand, Barbadians recognized that they were dealing with a “monkey handling gun” situation. They realized that Sandiford had already brought, and was bringing more destruction to the Barbadian economy. They had lost confidence in PM Sandiford and pleaded with him to put the scarce money and other available resources to better use. For them, it was simply a matter of misplaced national priorities at the time. And here you come accusing Barbadians of criticizing the project because they did not go to see ” a model on display”?
    Are you serious?

By the way, I believe that any part of the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference Centre that was left unfinished ended up in that state because the government ran out of money (cost overruns and “frigging in the rigging”?). As Barbadians would say,”they started before they were ready”.

5. one thing ac can absolutely say about the BLP misfits they are the magicians of speculations and presumptions

Walter Blackman August 16, 2015 at 7:55 PM #

Alvin Cummins August 16, 2015 at 7:13 PM #

“I remember the brouhaha when the Conference centre (LES) was being built, there was a model on display, and yet people did not go to see it and find out as much as they could, but were highly critical of it. That’s why, for instance that the proposed concert hall; included in the original plans, was never completed;”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Alvin Cummins,

Presumably, you went to see the model of the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference Centre, and just the sight of the model convinced you that it should have been built. Remember, everybody’s brain doesn’t work that way.

how does one read Alvin cummins comment and makes the following conclusion,truly a masterful commentary of political gimmickry

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

a read of Mr Cummins statement indicates he was making an assessment based on what he knew and not assuming or presuming what he had no knowledge of .Whether or not his assessment was a cause for the the plans being abandoned is debatable, but to assessed his analogy as one where mr,cummins was naive is political poppy cock

6. Don’t come to me with that Walter. I not only saw the model, but I looked at the drawings; the office was in the West Wing of the Public Buildings. The reason the concert hall was not finished was the same reason the St. Joseph Hospital was left to decay to nothing, when the BLP won the election. Pure malicious spite.

The part that was left unfinished ended up in that state because the government ran out of money. Bull !!. It was a conscious decision by the Barbados Labour Party which won the election; while the conference centre was still being constructed ,(Remember it was the Chinese who took over the construction) not to finish that part of the building. Over the years its usefulness has been proven time and time again. The motto of the Barbados Workers Union has been “Where there is no Vision, the people Perish.” Erskine Sandiford’s vision was also criticized when he proposed the Barbados Community College as a sixth form school. That vision has been justified, even though it was vilified at the time.
    Many Many Barbadians, even today, have no vision and make no attempt to look into the distance.

7. Don’t come to me with that Walter. I not only saw the model, but I looked at the drawings;
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    CLASSIC!!!

LOL ha ha ha…
    OHHH shiirt!!
    Bushie belly ….!!!
    Wah loss…

Wunna see why it is futile to argue with a ….. ahhh ..let’s say a person of diminished mental capacity.

@ Alvin
    Don’t know what those damn doctors told you last years, skippa ….but they DEFINITELY removed part of your brain…
    Bushie is yet to determine whether you should sue their asses …. or thank them…

8. Walter Blackman Avatar

Alvin Cummins August 16, 2015 at 7:27 PM #
    ” I think for myself, and if these thoughts are different from the crowd, these are still my thoughts and opinions, and I will hold on to them until I am convinced in my mind that I am wrong….”

Walter Blackman August 16, 2015 at 7:55 PM #
    “I believe that any part of the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference Centre that was left unfinished ended up in that state because the government ran out of money (cost overruns and “frigging in the rigging”?)”

Alvin Cummins,
    “Bull !!”

No need for us to argue on this one, Alvin. Just read and reflect, my friend.

9. Will the Cahill plasma gasification plant have a lot of ‘steal’ in there?

10. The following is a good example how the procurement process should be followed. There is a request for vendors to express interest to be followed by a qualification process.

UK businesses asked to tender for EfW projects

13 August 2015 , Be the First to Comment

UKTI is highlighting two potential contracts for EfW plants in the United Arab Emirates

Government-department UK Trade & Investment is attempting to drum up interest in two energy-from-waste projects in the Middle East.

The proposed plants, both in the Northern Emirates region, are planned by the United Arab Emirates Ministry of Environment & Water (MoEW).

Planned for Ras Al Khaimah, the biggest of the two project will process around 700,000 tonnes per year.

The second smaller plant, planned for Fujairah will have a capacity of 108,000 tonnes per year. Both plants are intended to be energy recovery facilities.

The MoEW has issued a request for interested business, which must be received by 15 September.

Further details of the project and how to register an interest are available on the UKTI website.

11. Cahill just like citizens cane and able could easily regester their expression of interest for this work
    But once the pre qual forms were filled out honestly and with the correct documentation the people interrogating the truthfulness of the assertions of Cahill real capabilities they would not pass the first gate.

12. @David,

Lots of room for commissions and cost over runs.

http://khaleejtimes.com/business/local/uae-economy-set-to-surge-4.4-to-cross-440-billion

13. They are much better at facilitation fees then we are
    And the deep pockets to not miss it

14. @David,
    So what is the difference between the UK “invitation” and the SSA invitation?

The SSA invitation to tender:
    The Government of Barbados through the Sanitation Service Authority is requesting Expressions of Interest from contractors for the design build operate finance and transfer a Waste to Energy Plant at the Solid Waste Management Complex in Vaucluse, St. Thomas, Barbados. Bidders will be expected to construct and operate a facility which can convert between 300 tonnes and 550 tonnes of predominately municipal solid waste into electricity,

The U K invitation:
    Government-department UK Trade & Investment is attempting to drum up interest in two energy-from-waste projects in the Middle East.

The proposed plants, both in the Northern Emirates region, are planned by the United Arab Emirates Ministry of Environment & Water (MoEW).

Planned for Ras Al Khaimah, the biggest of the two project will process around 700,000 tonnes per year.

The second smaller plant, planned for Fujairah will have a capacity of 108,000 tonnes per year. Both plants are intended to be energy recovery facilities.

The MoEW has issued a request for interested business, which must be received by 15 September.

Further details of the project and how to register an interest are available on the UKTI website

See what I tell you about US!!! We denigrate ours when there is no difference.Bob Marley said it: Mental slavery.

@Mocking Bird,

How do you know what documents were submitted? Were you part of the Tenders Committee? If so are you not held to adherence to the Official Secrets Act that binds Civil Servants to secrecy? Or does that no longer hold effect?

What do you KNOW of Cahil, apart of suppositions, rumour and untruths.

Come on people; Yard ducks too. Grow up.

15. @Alvin

You are so stuck on your point there is never room to allow for reason. The point some of us are trying to make is the invitation to vendors for expressions of interest is a first step to qualify vendors. We might have had the first step in Barbados but there is no evidence a request for tender was floated by government to support the configuration of the WtE plant being proposed by government and Cahill. BU is willing to be corrected.

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Alvin;

The Cahill scam does not show a natural progression from the early WtE project that was being run by SSA as indicated in the SSA’s call for expressions of interest. The projects have turned out to be actually two different projects, possibly because 4 naive ministers got involved in the SSA project cycle, apparently without technical input, and thereby changed it considerably from what had been intended in the original project into a nightmare.

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;
    Your 9:18 am post explains the situation perfectly. Alvin does not stop, review the evidence and then revise his attack based on the preponderance of the evidence. He just presses on regardless.

18. Mr Cummins ignore the BLP misfits they are running out of steam on this issue so much that the word”expression” is now being used as a necessary exercise to define and explore what govt did in reference to having the project tendered. Just a bunch of intellectual yahoos on a mission to irritate and aggravate what u have presented as a plausible and rationale ex plantation whereby govt made the decision to accept Cahill proposals after two years of “expression”publicly with no homegrown or outside response

19. Cahill have the contract for 18 months
    What have they done with it ???
    NOTHING !!!!!!!!!

20. Where is the transparency this government promised?

21. David August 17, 2015 at 2:08 PM #

“Where is the transparency this government promised?”

This DLP administration left “transparency” the same place they articulated it.

Under the caption “22 GOOD GOVERNANCE” on pages 46 to 48 of their 2008 election manifesto.

22. And they will continue to leave it there just where they want it. Who cares about the people who put them where they are? We were just a means to an end.

23. Has the media relinquished its role by not holding the government accountable? If one listens to George Pilgrim one wouldn’t think so.

24. @David,
    So what is the difference between the UK “invitation” and the SSA invitation?

The SSA invitation to tender reads:

“The Government of Barbados through the Sanitation Service Authority is requesting Expressions of Interest from contractors for the design build operate finance and transfer a Waste to Energy Plant at the Solid Waste Management Complex in Vaucluse, St. Thomas, Barbados. Bidders will be expected to construct and operate a facility which can convert between 300 tonnes and 550 tonnes of predominately municipal solid waste into electricity,”

The U K invitation reads:

“Government-department UK Trade & Investment is attempting to drum up interest in two energy-from-waste projects in the Middle East.

Further details of the project and how to register an interest are available on the UKTI website”

See what I tell you about US!!! We denigrate ours when there is no difference.

Bob Marley said it: Mental slavery.

@Mocking Bird,

How do you know what documents were submitted? Were you part of the Tenders Committee? If so are you not held to adherence to the Official Secrets Act: that binds Civil Servants to secrecy? Or does that no longer hold effect?

“Cahill have the contract for 18 months
    What have they done with it ??”

Contract to do what? Articulate!

What do you KNOW of Cahil, apart from suppositions, rumour and untruths.

Notice, this advertisement for expressions of interest from the United Arab Emirates, comes FIVE years AFTER the Barbados Government (SSA) advertised. Barbados is five years ahead. Do we want to stay ahead or do we want to regress? Note also that the United Arab Emirates uses the U.K. to seek out interested parties “to drum up interest in two waste-to-energy plants, The Barbados ADVERTISEMENT IS “REQUESTING EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST FROM CONTRACTORS FOR THE DESIGN, BUILD, OPERATE, FINANCE, AND TRANSFER A WASTE TO ENERGY PLANT…”

WHERE IS THE DIFFERENCE??? Where is the talk about “transparency” in the U.K advertisement? You talk of the need to reduce bureaucracy, and yet you put all sorts of nebulous obstacles in the way of progressive policies seeking investment from outside the country. Always seeking to PULL DOWN our own.

Are we there yet:
    How come it is so easy for me to understand that there were two projects: (one to get investors, and 2 to get the investors and the investment to design Build Operate and transfer.

There was no requirement for the person securing the investment (Cahill?) to construct etc. It is obvious that this is ; has to be; different tenders for different projects. The same way for the UK advertisement for “interested persons to tender their expressions of interest”
    Is it because I have an open mind and not one closed like Bushie’s BB.

I’ll bet you that both of these projects in the UAE will depend on the importation of waste (garbage) from other places such as Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and other countries in the same region.

@David:

“…there is no evidence a request for tender was floated by government to support the configuration of the WtE plant being proposed by government and Cahill. BU is willing to be corrected.”

A look at the copy of the advertisement from SSA in no way talks about any configuration of the WTE plant proposed by Cahill and Government. The advertisement was for “Expressions of interest in the DESIGN, build and operate, well as FINANCE. the WTE plant. There was no design by Government, so how could there be a “configuration” proposed by government?
    You are hereby corrected.

Come on people; Yard ducks ESPECIALLY. Grow up!!!. This is the real world.

25. @ Alvin Cummins

LOL u got them nuggets, especially the speckled fowl David HA! Ha! /

26. Alvin Cummins you are a star boy today, keep rolling the dice. don,t expect to hear a peep from professor brass bowl deputy dawg any time soon.
    The misfits are adamant about driving a stake in the heart of the WTE project but using the wrong tool.

27. @Alvin

If you check at the bottom of the UK website. In other words the expression of interest process is to allow the government to perform due diligence based on quality of applicant. Then those who qualify get to tender. Not sure what exercise the Barbados government went through. You were probably in Canada when Sinckler stated on public radio no tender was necessary for a PPP there this discussion is irrelevant.

28. These BLP clowns have been warned several times not to listen to Mia, she has proven time and time again that she can not be trusted ,hence her sourced efforts to get credible information is hampered an d as a result she ends up floating half truths and misinformation to her loyal foot soldiers , although time and time again they have been proven to be wrong a reflection comes to mind in her feeble and asinine disapproval of the waste tax where she floundered and lost her way during debate only to be told by her former leader OSA that her approach was wrong,

29. Will the request to change from plasma to “something else” be made public by the government ???? When Cahill find a willing uninformed investor??????

30. This project will not fly, it will be challenged in court. Isn’t it amazing we have ordinary citizens asking our government to be transparent yet we have yard fowls crowing against it? When the other party takes office the tune changes. When we are willing to place party positions above national interest the inevitable will occur.

31. Oh David do not become so crabby i

32. She did not say which countries, but explained that the company decided to locate the plant here because investors had shown faith in Barbados based on its stability as a place in which to do business. “. . . not all Caribbean governments qualify for that. Some investors are just skittish about certain countries and they won’t go near them.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/07/24/youre-safe/

33. @David,
    I wrote an answer to your 6.31 post what happened to it?

Will your 10.07 post satisfy the Yard ducks? I doubt it.

34. Here is a question for Clare Cowan, by your admission this is the first such project your 3 year old company is managing. What is YOUR experience working on WtE projects?

Ms. Cowan said that Cahill Energy is a privately-owned Guernsey firm, which has confidence in Barbados. It is the first project of this kind to be undertaken by the company.

http://www.cahill-energy.com/news-posts/making-progress-bdos-will-soon-benefit-from-waste-to-energy-project/

35. Shiite man David, you gotta be a boss
    Balaam was recorded as having had extensive conversations with a donkey…
    But here you are ..in ongoing discussions with, not one, but TWO jackasses…

You have already outdone Balaam Boss…
    Now give it up ..and let us have some intelligent ‘PEOPLE’ discussion nuh….

Let the two of them bray at each other..
    One a victim of a brain surgery slip, …and the other of ‘much-too-tight’ panties…

36. @David
    Thruth be told
    This is the first project she has attempted period …….
    None of her previous shell companies executed any project or completed any recorded transactions.
    She has fumbled from misadventure to misadventure only to land on our doorstep through an introduction from seventh heaven properties .
    Any investor contemplating advancing her funds to continue her charade deserve to loose that investment.

37. The Nation newspaper writes a good editorial.

Home Commentary EDITORIAL:…

EDITORIAL: Silence on Cahill smacks of disrespect Barbados Nation, Added 18 August 2015

MORE ARTICLES Mental edge ‘key’ Read More Pinelands get even Read More Husbands captures Breeders Read More ALL AH WE IS ONE: Gals ‘n’ guns Read More THE ‘NETTE EFFECT: Not poverty, just spending sense Read More DEAR CHRISTINE: Twice bitten but willing to try again Read More Treat for EDM fans this month Read More Boyfriend of Morgan Freeman’s granddaughter charged with her murder Read More VIDEO: Pic O De Crop Finals 2015 Read More BSTU nod Read More Complaints of garbage pile-up at Palmetto Mall Read More Call for Sargassum fund Read More AS I SEE THINGS: New way to measure economy Read More BARBADOS EMPLOYERS’ CONFEDERATION: Work-life balance – myth or attainable reality? Read More Protect our abandoned assets (Final part) Read More SHOULD THE VOICES of the people matter  in a democracy? Do the voices of Barbadians matter in our democracy? Related articles IN THE PUBLIC INTEREST: Some burning… NOT ALL BLACK AND WHITE: Cahill… THE HOYOS FILE: Tipping Cahill… We find these questions important as we observe the Government’s apparent reticence in the face of strong objection to the proposed plasma gasification plant at Vaucluse, St Thomas. It would be inappropriate to say that a majority of Barbadians appear not to be in favour of this project since we have no way of proving this. However, what would not be inaccurate is the assertion that objections have resulted  in the largest town hall meeting ever convened in Barbados when Cahill Energy attempted  to sell the venture to average Barbadians at Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on July 22. The questions and suspicions were many and  in the absence of any Government representatives at that meeting, officials of Cahill failed in their attempt to justify the planting of this $700 million waste-to-energy facility on our landscape. One month later, and with objections apparently increasing, it is hard to fathom the deafening silence of Minister of the Environment Dr Denis Lowe, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and the Government as a whole. It is as if they have determined that they will outlast objectors with their silence. While there are clearly a number of people among the objectors who have made up their minds that plasma gasification and Cahill Energy are bad for Barbados, the comments of the majority of people seeking answers suggest their fears are based on a lack of information and their suspicion is fuelled by the silence of their representatives. This would suggest that if the Government thinks the project will be genuinely beneficial to the country and not just Cahill and/or a select group of people here, it has a duty to “sell” it to Barbadians. Talking down to the population from the floor of Parliament, where no ordinary citizen can respond, or resorting to absolute silence outside of that chamber, smacks of disrespect. We do not believe it is unreasonable for Barbadians to ask if this is primarily a garbage solution or an alternative energy venture. It can’t be unreasonable, given our experience with water supply, to ask how much water this plant will require. Neither can it be out of place to ask who owns Cahill and from whom the money for this massive investment will come. It certainly can’t be out of place for taxpayers and electors to ask whether any member of the Government has any financial interest in the project, in Cahill Energy, or in any firm that will be engaged in the funding, building or operating of the plant or the supply of waste or any other commodity or service to it. We also hold the position that with technology this new and untested, the country has to be exposed to the views of “experts” other than those supplied by Cahill Energy, even if it is at the expense of the Government. How can we be asked to trust Cahill’s information when it has a vested interest in the venture? Cahill Energy, plasma gasification and/or waste-to-energy may in fact be good for Barbados, but bludgeoning a population into metaphorical signing with state-led silence can’t be the path to achieving this. Barbadians have a duty to ask questions  and Government has an obligation to answer. Anything less is nothing short of disrespectful.

38. @David,
    I am aware that my submissions are usually long, but I make no apologies for their length, because much is said and much has to be discussed.

The essence of this editorial is a call for clarity in a number of areas. Much of the speculation about the proposed plant is premature. A lot of the speculation is based on a misunderstanding of the process and a lot of the speculation is a haste to condemn without knowledge of the facts. The original government invitation to tender is for expressions of interest in the project. Step 1 for those expressing interest would be to get the design of the plant; one suitable for the country. Designing and constructing a Plasma Gasification Plant, with specific requirements; suitable for Barbados, is not like going to the store and buying a shirt. Everyone knows and admits that this would be a first for the country and the Caribbean. It would take time first of all for the engineers to design the plant. How can questions be asked about the amount of water needed when the plant has not even been designed. How does anyone know that it will cost 700million dollars when the type of plant has not yet been arrived at. Step 2 would have to be obtaining the investors to finance the plant. When the principals met in 2013-14 engineers were among the delegation. One has to assume that they would have discussed the requirements, then to go back to their offices to PLAN the type of facility and work on the design of the plant. As I said, this is not like going to WallMart and buying a ready made plant. Then the various assessments, legal requirements, contracts, etc have to be passed through the necessary bureaucratic hurdles, before a decision of the design is approved. So far I have not seen any notices tendering for the construction of the plant, since that will not involve government. The company that submits the winning design and has the required financing will make those decisions.
    Only one year has passed since the visit of the principals to Vaucluse, not enough time for the questions to be answered. I am sure when that stage is reached there will be more discussion and consultation.

In the heightened political atmosphere; evident since before and after the last election, everyone is seeking to score political points and thus often mislead. In the current atmosphere calm reflection, studied analysis, and less hysteria have to be the order of the day. Cussing, demeaning, and misleading have to be replaced by calm, fruitful discussion, and a clear understanding of all the facts. A rush to judgment; especially in the absence of correct information, does not serve the country in any positive way.
    The editorial asks if any member of Government has interest in
    Cahill. Why ask this? It is obviously a question designed with malicious intent, for despite the hundreds of contracts, and the hundreds of millions of dollars in Government expenditure spent with Williams Industries, Rayside, or other large conglomerates, local and foreign, I have NEVER seen this question directed at government representatives before. Why now? The present minister responsible for Energy; Dorcy Boyce, was a member of the former government. How has he changed since then; if at all? Why question his integrity now? Doctor Lowe is the Minister of the Environment, what factual evidence is there that he is a dishonest man? These attempts to demean their characters speaks volumes of the type of people we seem to have become; mean spirited and spiteful. Why? The members of government are persons of intellect and integrity. We elected them; not once but twice.
    I don’t remember this question being directed when the contract for the Desalination Plant ( a BOLT arrangement was awarded to Williams industries; IONICS Ltd, or when SBRC was awarded the construction of the waste separation plant (also a BOLT arrangement).

What makes this different now? Could it be that there are other competing interests (BIG)who want to sabotage the project for their own selfish interests? Is there another, (or others) entity interested in what B’s recycling is doing, and eying the waste to energy business?

Barbadians have a right to ask questions and the Government is obligated to answer, but my many examinations have taught me that it is usually best to take time and examine the questions asked, spending time to formulate the answers, and then trying to answer them calmly and completely. Otherwise the wrong answer will be given.

People much older than me said it: “If greedy wait, hot will cool.”

Ponder on these things.

39. Excellent response Mr.Cummins .

40. @Alvin

Not yours is a minority view and the reality here is that the government has not been transparent so far. How ever you twist it the government needs to communicate better on Cahill and other issues, even minister Inniss has stated this publicly.

41. First response from govt came in the form of an international press release followed by town hall meetings where the same old questions about cost and got input and financing were address.
    However the gossip mill continue to spin out of control with additional add ons and speculation mostly fueled by political hogwash.
    I recalled during the past Budget debate Chris Sinckler gave a clear and open review as to many of the concerns asked about the WTE project one of which having to do with financing and cost and the projects developers

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac;

Not so!

Minister Sinckler did not address any of the substantive points raised by Ms. Mottley in that debate.

43. Sinckler did not respond to the speculation drawn upon by perceptions brought into the issue by Mia. He however did respond to what he knew to be factual and correct concerning the project

44. ac + Alvin Cummins = Absolutely Clueless

45. No Alvin brought to table records which are relevant and plausible. Unlike most here who are innovators of made up speculation and slanderous name calling

46. Absolute nonsense
    Sinclair knows well of the abomination that is Cowan
    He also knows that there is a minimum of $50 million dollars needed in infrastructure work that Cahill have no responsibility for
    They are also well aware that changing from plasma will require an amendment to the contract which they are keeping under wraps

47. St George's Dragon Avatar

“….Alvin brought to table records which are relevant and plausible.”
    He has brought no “records to the table”. His major point was that there was an “Expressions of Interest” advert a few years ago. He has posted no facts about which firms applied, how they were scored on their submissions etc., or how Cahill was finally appointed – indeed, if they responded to this advert at all. He suggests that a Tenders Committee would have properly overseen the process without even knowing whether such a Committee was appointed. He appears to be trying to fill a factual void with unsupported speculation.mThat, I am afraid, is not good enough.
    I suggest the Auditor General should be asked to review Cahill’s appointment. While they are at it, they should extend their audit to cover other PPP projects such as the BWA headquarters and the SSA building. They might be able to throw some light on whether the correct processes were followed and also if Government has to tender PPP projects at all, which Chris Sinckler denies.
    The Auditor General’s reports have their limitations in terms of follow-through but they are pretty good at getting to grips with the shortcomings of process.

48. Big question???
    Is there a “time is of the essence” clause in this dam contract???
    If so the clock should be ticking
    If not then the government lawyer should be slapped on the wrist.
    18 months and zero progress on a non runner project
    If it was that bankable it should be well underway by now
    Truth is its unproven and unbankable

49. @ GlennK
    If not then the government lawyer should be slapped on the wrist.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …slapped on the wrist? …after having received his ‘bankable’ fee at the $700,000 rate?

50. From

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=9&p2_articleid=14577

Government has started preliminary discussions on whether Queen’s Park should be renamed National Heroes Park.

This disclosure has come from Minister of Culture, Stephen Lashley, after touring the City park with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart; Permanent Secretaries Sonja Welch and Ruth Blackman; and officials of the National Cultural Foundation, led by Chief Executive Officer, Cranston Browne.

Mr. Lashley explained that they toured the property with a view to determining whether the location was a suitable one for the National Heroes Park. He said after the near one-hour tour: “We are at a very preliminary stage. Queen’s Park has been discussed and the purpose of the tour was to have a firsthand view and an initial brainstorming session as to whether the park is a feasible possibility.

“From here, we will have some further discussions with various stakeholders and then ultimately, prepare a proposal for the consideration of the Cabinet. The Cabinet will then determine whether it will give the green light in principle pending the holding of wider sectoral consultation.”

The Minister underscored the importance of the tour, saying the officials received vital information to assist in making a determination as to how to proceed. “Once the Cabinet considers that this is something we can look at in principle, we would convene a town hall meeting to consult with the public and of course do the necessary due diligence and other consultations before we proceed,” he stressed…………….”

What is going on?

Sounds like they are doing more due diligence on renaming a park, than was done before signing a$700 million WtE plant.

Surely they must have better things to than take a one hour tour of a park they have probably visited hundreds of time.

This is Barbados