There is a need to improve labour productivity throughout the economy. A gap has opened up between the cost of labour and the productivity of the average worker over the past two decades – Governor Delisle Worrell

The Governor of the Central Bank […]has decided in his infinite wisdom the best approach to communicate with Barbadians is through press releases. Even more disturbing has been the low keyed reaction by individuals and other stakeholders to concerns expressed by Worrell in his statement placed in the local press last weekend.

Press Statement by Governor of the Cental Bank (09/8/15)
Press Statement by Governor of the Central Bank (09/8/15)

Two points to note from Worrell’s press release:

• Barbadian workers must produce more if we are to maintain the current cost base  and;
  • Government will need to borrow to finance the deficit. (This is not good news given our junk status.)

Barbadians will need to engage in an honest conversation about the state of the economy and what is required to shift from its current path. It is evident to those of us who have the capacity to filter the truth that occasionally escapes the mouths of officials, our economy continues to be under distress.   We have seen growth in tourism numbers, some reduction in government expenditure but a lacklustre approach to stimulating growth especially in the export sector. The issue the government and relevant private sector agencies need to honestly discuss is what structural changes are required to sustain the lifestyle we aspire. There is the touted social partnership which seems a good place to begin the conversation.

After 7 years of austerity we must ask ourselves if we are on the right path. Are we seeing a country firing on all cylinders driven by a shared position? Are we seeing a country tapping on our education capital fuelled by the billions invested in the sector post Independence?   What BU sees is a fractious government comprised of a garrulous lot who have failed to lead at a time when the ability to collaborate to promote a conciliatory tone is required. There is been no change to our governance structure to address transparency in government and by extension private sector.    There has been no change to redesign our education system to make it more relevant to local and domestic needs to be competitive. There has been no effort to aggressively modernize the public sector by integrating technology and performance management systems to improve productivity and efficiency. And no amalgamation of statutory boards does not frontally address the issue. There has been no significant improvement to improve the standard of transportation delivery by eradicating the sub culture …

The social and economic ‘wellbeing’ of Barbados is under threat while we continue to be engaged in irrelevant political diatribe. For the first time in his tenure the Governor appears to want to lead a narrative which points to the real issues confronting Barbados. The improvement in tourism is not relevant if we are debating what needs to change structurally to propel sustained social and economic growth/development in Barbados. Our debt burden has assumed daunting proportion which gives the country little fiscal space for the government to drive the economy. The government has reached a point where savings bonds are being issued to pay tax refunds. Barbadians should be ever so concerned.

98 responses to “Governor Worrell Warns Barbadians”

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

You must not fault Governor “Eveready” for his allegiance to the hand that feedeth him.

After all he was not one of the Eager 11 who have seen their Fumble in action and sought to oust the King, sorry Prime Minister OR should I now be saying Premier of the new Republic of Barbados, Dictator in Waiting…

What he has said is true and he is to be congratulated in confirming what many here have been saying in different words “what we are investing in, producing, or seeking to produce for the economic benefit of the nation, IS FAILING!!

All this talk about productive this, and GDP and what the Social Partners should and should not do is what Artaxerxes, Prodigal, Hants, the Annunaki, OOB, Walter Blackman, Hants, David[BU], Baffy, Lawson, Loveridge, have been saying every day.

So he has echoed a baseline wisdom but where he deviates radically from enhancing that with meaningful direction is where he starts to equivocate is when he starts talking about “producing more”

More of What??

Sugar Cane? What is he, the leading advisor on the nation’s financial supplies, recommending as a strategy? THere must be some other model where he has seen the efficient functioning of a central bank which would cause hime to step out of his “comfort zone” of running around the Garrison like the Hampshire Pinto Pony (the shortest pony in the world) and make a real man recommendation to the Fumbles and Stinkliars about where BIM must go…

“Is there No One here on this island of 270K bajans and the 40K Guyanese (no I ent gine mention Barbados DPP Leacock here today) dat prepared to stray outside their comfort zone just a little, and give these lost sheep a little nudge, and say, “wunna is lost by this is an alternative way….?”

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

And of course High Priest in the Rum Shop Bush Tea….forgive de ole man, I did was trying to ‘member all de name dem and de one dat i was going to put last as he who does trail blaze here wid de wacker, de ole man forget…

When you get to be me age, dem tings will happen doah

3. Bush Tea August 13, 2015 at 10:08 AM #

“With respect to Governor Worrell, one has to wonder why he would not just call it a day (or in his case a damn century) and go long home… SURELY he can’t still be living paycheque to paycheque… He brings NOTHING to the table …. and he don’t even look like he is ‘able’….”

Despite the criticisms Dr. Worrell has received relative to his modus operandi, surely we have to agree that, from an economic point of view, this is the best working paper he has produced so far. However, I am of the opinion that his comments contained therein are a precursor to a policy initiative soon to be presented by the minister of finance.

In June 2012, the British Government released a working paper entitled “The Civil Service Reform Plan.” The paper mentioned that, despite government’s significant fiscal consolidation achievements, the budget deficit remained at 6.4% of GDP and outlined various reasons why the civil service should be reduced and reformed to enhance productivity.

Ironically, Dr. Worrell mentioned similar comments in his paper as follows:

1) The Barbados government established its commitment to fiscal consolidation reducing the deficit from 12% of GDP in 2013 to under 7% in 2014.
    2) Another major challenge faced by government is the implementation of measures to improve the efficiency of the public service.

But he also stated that “government will NEED to BORROW to finance the deficit, adding 4% of GDP to the debt stock this year.” Dr. Worrell is basically implying if government does not continue to reduce expenditure, they will have to borrow money, thereby reversing the gains supposedly achieved by fiscal consolidation.

Dr. Worrell’s paper was strategically released at a time when government has to look at reducing and merging statutory corporations and weeks after their controversial attempt to forcibly retire BIDC employees. We must also bear in mind that the report on statutory corporations, which was to be completed and discussed by Cabinet at the end of January 2014, is yet to be released.

Although he outlined and explained the economical implications a lack of productivity would have on competiveness and growth, the Governor did not mentioned any strategies government should employ to address productivity in the civil service, but placed the onus on the Social Partnership to devise such strategies.

It is against this background that I am of the opinion government has relied on Dr. Worrell to present a case, through his worker paper, for them to continue their retrenchment program, this time concentrating specifically on statutory corporations.

4. The AG in a contribution in Parliament this week to approve the borrowing of 76 million from the NIS indicated the NIB expressed an interest in contributing to the cause given its standing as a citizen of Barbados. Two questions come to mind:

Why is the government continuing to borrow from the fund?

What motivated the NIS to want to support the government and police?

Just asking!

5. @ Artax
    Despite the criticisms Dr. Worrell has received relative to his modus operandi, surely we have to agree that, from an economic point of view, this is the best working paper he has produced so far…
    cuh dear Artax… Bushie can be wicked with the whacker, at times… but shiite man…. are you saying that the best paper produced by his “Govenorship” so far – is some shiite saying that ‘we all need to work harder…’?
    …Wuh even Alvin probably have figured that out …. probably the subject of his next book. 🙂

6. @ Bushie

Bushie, read the paper within the context it was written. Dr. Worrell explained the economical implications a lack of productivity would have on Barbados’ competiveness and economic growth.

Shiite, Bushie, Worrell ain’t as bad as Cummins….. hahahahaha!

I know you will not respond, but as Bushie would say “cud dear, David…… you like you ain’t following the economic realities in Barbados as you should.

The government has been experiencing problems repaying its debt. Mia Mottley challenged Sinckler about government’s inability to pay the $88M to Credit Suisse, He subsequently admitted providing partial payment of $41.23M. The IMF has advised against the Central Bank financing the deficit by printing money.

Additionally, the CB cannot continue engaging in quasi fiscal activities such as guaranteeing VAT returns for small and medium sized business. (Note, that effective April 13, 2015 the CB established a Value Added Tax (VAT) Receivables Liquidity Facility (VRLF), guaranteeing small businesses more prompt refunds owed by the Barbados Revenue Authority.)

Under these circumstances, the government has no other option but to borrow from the NIS fund.

7. @ Artax
    “There is a need to improve labour productivity throughout the economy…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …not to prolong the issue …and with all due respect to wunna economic gurus who have been schooled in the art of (fooling people with) economic gibberish talk…. this is somewhat like the Minister of Youth saying that “…we need to find ways to prevent our young people from using guns for violence… ”
    …or like the Arch Bishop saying that we must learn to “live in peace and harmony”….

Lotta shiite….
    MEANINGLESS WORDS FROM EMPTY BRASS…

Shiite man!!
    At his pay scale should Worrell not be detailing exactly HOW this improvement is to be achieved? Who the hell is he waiting on for the details…? …Dompey?

Who is Stephen Lashley waiting on for the DETAILS and ACTIONS needed to solve the problems of violence with our youth…?

Shiite man… Bushie notes that the Cadet Corps (which was a school based organisation with that very mission) now seems to be part of the “do-nothing-but-parade” army….
    The Scouts always seem to be scraping the damn barrel for resources ….and the Girl Guides only seem to come out for shiite parades…
    Oh wait… Lashley must be too busy wukking up at kadooment to have time to come up with the details of making these youth organisations function effectively….

…don’t talk bout the Attorney General “…ahmm ahhh umm ahh we will have to put our heads together to come up with a solution….uhnnn ahhh …and soon…”
    steupsss … bet he ain’t putting his salary anywhere but in his bank though… while talking a roll all over the damn place…

steupsss..
    How you manage to pick through these people’s shiite …looking for pearls ..defy logic.
    Must be the practice yuh get from responding to AC … 🙂

8. “How you manage to pick through these people’s shiite …looking for pearls ..defy logic.
    Must be the practice yuh get from responding to AC …”

Hahahahahaha…. now, that’s a good wun, Bushie.

However, point taken.

9. @ Bushie…..more “words”

““I am honoured that my academic and professional work has been recognised as significant enough for me to be invited to join this prestigious group,” commented Governor Worrell. His selection is based on his contribution to championing economic growth and advancing global finance. “This membership will grant Barbados access to some of the great minds in the world of business and finance.” –

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/70914/central-bank-governor-joins-bretton-woods-committee#sthash.oArOFLKf.dpuf

10. LOL @ Hants
    No doubt they will ask him to do a paper on something like ..”Exchange rate parity management in small and developing shiite economies where brass bowls run things…”

Wuh you don’t feel that those Bretton woods people like a good laugh too…?
    besides, the fellow that Worrell hosted some time ago must have told the others what a ball he had bout here …. 🙂

“This membership will grant Barbados access to some of the great minds in the world of business and finance.”
    …does that mean that Worrell is moving to Bretton Woods ? ha ha ha
    ..thus creating a vacancy that could (possibly) lead to such access…? LOL

11. “The Central Reports show Barbados was never a significant agriculture producer. The Guyanese contributed to agriculture ouput but it was not significant and we have to consider the squalor some of them endured which must count to social cost. Also the exotic industry benefited ”

Very unenlightened post but I am glad to see that you have come around to the view that agriculture is a dying industry. However, your ears with respect to the contribution of Guyanese labourers with respect to their positive impact on what little positive impact agriculture contributes to the economy generally are obviously not on the ground.. I have always posited that Barbadians have long moved away from the view that agriculture is a saviour and the younger generation are not enamoured by the thought of finding a living in the hot sun. Fiurthermore, agricultural products such as ground provisions are not generally popular with those born after the sixties.

12. …”this business of exploiting others to do shiite that we consider to be below our status is plain WRONG…..especially when done by people with OUR damn history.”

Bushie that was a fashionable view and caught on but it was not the general view. Yes, unfortunately; even some bajans not all trying to remain illegally in the USA do find themselves exploited by unscrupulous characters but this does not mean that it is the norm.

13. “This membership will grant Barbados access to some of the great minds in the world of business and finance.”

Congrats to the Governor; Good, then perhaps we should be able get some meaningful and trustworthy information from the Central Bank once again.

14. @balance

You like others chose to ignore the conditions Guyanese were forced to live and how they were exploited by the system. It is the height of hypocrisy simply to support a comfortable narrative. It is what Bajans do best.

15. Cheese-on-bread David Man!!!
    Bushie was just about to drive the whacker into that bush that balance planted at 7.04am …only to find that you already trimmed it ‘nice and gently’ with a little sickle….

spoil sport…. 🙂

16. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ David [BU] and Brother Bush Tea

With regard to the exploitation of labourers has either of you gents “an ear” at SLIME & SLOW?

If you really want to hear about exploitation and how workers are being mistreated by the new massahs on the recolonized island of Little England reach out to LIME staff (those who have the balls to speak out) and you will get the real down low on what is happening there

Under the watchful eye of our so called unions.

You see how a few S6 Galaxy phones to FTC staff and family can undermine an entire cuntry?

That is why I believe that the punishment for these “Griffiths” and people of this type who are selling out Barbados like this should be nothing less that a public execution like that afforded traitors and incompetents in China see http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/10/world/asia/10iht-china.1.6587520.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

If we had this practice of eradication of incompetents as a national cure, something similar to “China executes the former head of its food and drug agency published: Tuesday, July 10, 2007 see http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/10/world/asia/10iht-china.1.6587520.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0 wunna feel that Cahill or LoweDown of the eager 11 and the rest of these bandits who set up companies for them wife or muddah to run, wunna feel that shy*e like dis could flourish in BIM like it is now?

17. @PUDRYR

It appears the players who should be watchdogs are smitten by the opportunity to acquire a smartphone.

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

30 Pieces of Silver Oh Blogmaster.

De ole man going predict this.

The generation of Turncoats at the FTC WILL NOT PERISH AWAY FROM THIS EARTH before a time arises when the ease and availability of internet, the equivalent to the Barbados Public Library, (an institution that is dying/dead) is a resource that will not be affordable, nor available to our lower income folk

For whereas competition overseas has MADE INTERNET ACCESS available to every cat or dog what this S6 FTC crew has done lies in the echelon of what the DLP has done to the hopes of the poor man/woman in the street, and a generation yet to be born.

They have made slaves of a nation TO A MASSAH that we thought we had gotten rid of.

Peggy Griffith and people of her ilk deserve nothing less than a *** to the back of the head.

If that seems harsh I am sorry but this is the way that slavery commences, under the guise of exploring new horizons of integration and assimilation, then one day you wake up and wonder, how it happened like this. how w got here…

Waste foops….

19. @ PUDRYR
    If we put yardfowls in charge of our national gates …it is only obvious that we will be sold out for scratch grain…

You are VERY right about the benefits to be derived from applying Chinese methodologies to these traitors who are selling out our children’s future….
    The next best thing is for Caswell’s BUP to publicly expose their dishonest tails for all to see..

…unfortunately, the problem is that there are so many damn thieves in Barbados that most of us don’t want any such exposure ..
    …and we DEFINITELY DON’T want Chinese methods…. 🙂

Boss, …why do you think that THE VERY FIRST STATEMENT from our current Attorney General was that “He will not be hanging a boy….” ?
    ..and up to now he has offered NO ALTERNATIVES….

Um is a free fuh all bout here bozie…. perhaps we need to start with his retarded donkey…

20. Have a look a the 35% increase in cost of our exports over the last several years caused by the increased value of our currency. How is it possible that a 1.75 litre bottle of Caribbean rum in Miami costs $12US and in Barbados it is $20US . Why would a consumer in the export country pay such large premiums. They wont. Then look at the cost of imported things like furniture or biscuits. Costs of importing have gone down by 35%. How is a furniture maker or a biscuit maker able to compete with that kind of subsidy. Many of them simply give up adding to the cost of our non productive labour.

21. July 10, 2015 Jeff Cumberbatch was appointed chairman of the FTC.

Can he make a “difference”?

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ hants

Jeff Cumberbatch, as straight shooting as he is in the various areas of law that he is taxed with CANNOT and WILL NOT be able to make a difference in the entrenched machinery that is the Unfair Trade Emission (of bad air from the nether region)

Here is what happens to these men and women.

Known for their big ones they ultimately get appointed to these positions as change agents.

They genuinely wanted to make a difference when they were in the trenches with the bullets whizzing over their heads

But once at Batallion HQ with three square meals and the comfort of a soft mattress at night, it does not take long for them to quieten down like some have said of Sir Hilary, I mean evry now and again they will rouse to seemingly cross swords with a fellow, but not anywhere to mek a real difference

It is not that these champions join with the oppressive forces not that is active engagement or collusion with the enemy, NO this is atrophy brought on by simple disuse or passivity.

Bring him in put him to chair a meeting or two, some three course meals, a xmas party or two, one of the office girls to smile at him now and again, Ms. Griffith to stroke his ….ego and Whaplax, like Pilly do at the Barbados Attorney thing, dem does abdicate dem duties, for as long as they remain Chairman and then retirement rolls in, or another appointment elsewhere in the vulture kingdom and they roll into the obscurity of the ages.

23. LOL @ Piece..
    Boss, you know the thing…
    …and if by any chance Jeff decides to rock the boat or to jettison some of the shiite cargo and passengers on board we will hear how he is “not a team player”…. how he “won’t take advice”, he is a secret ‘BLP’ looking to do political damage…. or they will simple “change the Board” as the minister “seeks to revise his political strategy….”

If Jeff gets on real ingrunt … (like Frank Alleyne or Sir Cave Hilary) and tries to change anything seriously then they may just kick him ‘upstairs’ to some harmless position on some legal review commission, ..to pro vice Chancellor… or such shiite.

Perhaps they think that since Jeff is a BU family member we will go easy on him – while Flow re-establishes the old plantation system back in Barbados…
    Brass Bowls ….
    ..the whacker can be even more devastating when fixing up home bush…. 🙂
    Ask GP…. LOL ha ha

24. Piece

Sometimes it is easily said than done to escape the entrenched culture of any given institution. I told the story of this politician who was elected by the people to bring about real change. So this guy started boasting about when he gets down to Washington how he is going to bring about the kind of change the people wanted. Man, this fella got down to Washington and it didn’t take him too long to fall in the rut of the common herd, so feeling ashame and dejected that he didn’t living up to his promises, told his constituents that the external pressure was too great in Washington so he faultier under the it. Then a little smart mouth boy ( much like Bushie, but better looking yah hear) standing in between his parents and in close proximity to this dejected leader, shouted in a loud but rather lucid voice: where was your internal resolve to withstand the culture of Washington sir? The poor guy already feeling bad that he was unable to live up to his promises, walked away with his head hung low without uttering a single word.

25. @balance

You like others chose to ignore the conditions Guyanese were forced to live and how they were exploited by the system.

Definitely not unlike you I have assisted such Guyanese in times of need but of which system do you speak? for these persons were exploited by unscrupulous individuals seeking to profit from the difficulties of another human being.

26. To repeat: we have a right to protect our borders and we will. Immigration is a big issue in the US and Europe, your attempt to trivialize the problem we faced in 07/08 is based on emotion. How can a country allow any Tom, Dick and Jane to enter without considering factors which will impact social and security well being of the country?

27. @ balance
    I have assisted such Guyanese in times of need but of which system do you speak? for these persons were exploited by unscrupulous individuals seeking to profit from the difficulties of another human being.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    This is WAY below your usually high level of contributions balance….one wonders why..?

MOST whites back in the days of slavery probably said the identical thing about black Bajans. Until recently, one “John” came on BU talking shiite about how kind and supportive some whites (the Quakers) were in ‘assisting blacks in times of need…but that unfortunately the “system” forced them to keep slaves…
    Lotta shiite…
    IT IS WRONG TO EXPLOIT VULNERABLE PEOPLE… W R O N G !!

If strangers are welcomed to our shores then we should treat them AL LEAST as we treat ourselves …and really we should treat them even better.

It is only OBVIOUS that if our lazy-ass farmers can get some poor soul to work for 1/10th of the going rate, while still selling the produce at market prices, he is EXPLOITING that poor soul. …Wuh ANY jackass can ‘succeed’ under such circumstances, especially if it is possible to extent the arrangement for 400 years…

Pinch yuhself and wake up man….
    Bring back the balance… 🙂

28. @Bushie

Let us take it further – we are Caricom states with divided territorial air and sea space yet the LIMES now FLOW charge roaming fees with impunity. Why not insist these regional players for profit treat the Caricom region as ONE economic space IF we are serious?

29. @David, Bushie and Pieceuhderock,

Can you remember anytime in the history of Barbados that a product,service or business was “boycotted” by Bajans?

There seems to be a disease in Barbados. I call it Mustconsumititis.

30. St George's Dragon Avatar

“Why not insist these regional players for profit treat the Caricom region as ONE economic space IF we are serious?”
    Because we are not serious. Caricom is a sham. No Caribbean country does anything more than pay lip service to it. There is no political will to progress Caricom or integrate the countries further. There is no will in society to do this either.
    Politicians are happy to do nothing because it means they remain in charge, rather than have to give away some degree of sovereignty (control) to a “higher” body.
    The only way Caricom will become a reality is if outside influences make it happen such as external funders making it a condition as a result of Chris Sinckler’s debt relief call. Even then, politicians would find a way of obstructing it.
    Part of Caribbean countries’ problem with debt is that they all like pretending to be first world countries. We all have to have our own High Commissions around the world; we all need to write our own versions of the same laws; we all have separate (but similar standards for imports etc. There are efficiencies to be gained by greater integration, which means less tax or less debt. I can’t see anything changing for a generation, though.

31. Dragon, the unification or as you have put it, the further integration of the Caribbean is a real possibility I do believe. The pages of the history books give us many examples of this that stretching from as far back as Roman-Empire to the American Republican form of governance. But it would be a monumental-task for any political scientist to attempt to unify the Caribbean given what we know of the Caribbean people and their attitude towards each other today.

32. Well said Dragon

33. I do not consider my opinions to be devoid of criticism. Healthy criticism in my view is acceptable because we can learn from others but I see no emotion in my remarks and one needs not get hot under the collar if another person sees an issue in another light.. Yes, countries big or small ought to have systems in place to protect their security and other national interests but it is my strong belief emboldened by a conversation I overheard between a MInister and party faithfuls at a funeral that the policy was politically motivated rather than holistic and born out of the electioneering euphoria of which the issue of Guyanese migrants to our shores was very much a part. The statistics from the immigration department at the time would not have supported the fashionable contention that Guyanese were emigrating here en masse. I again wish to point out that there are laws under the treaty of Chaguaramas devised by Caribbean Governments governing the entry of persons into the respective countries and the circumstances under which persons breaching these laws can be denied entry or deported or prosecuted. Exploitation of others seeking domicile elsewhere is another issue and persons exploiting others should when caught be punished in accordance with the laws of the land. so there is no need for lynching.

34. Three points: First, Governor Worrell has lived a life of air conditioned luxury. Now he wants all Barbadians to work like dogs (“improve their productivity”) so that his extravagant pension is not in danger. Take a hike, pal. It’s hot out here. I don’t want to see Barbados become a rat race like New York and Toronto.
    Second, a system of arithmetic democracy cannot be expected to produce exceptional political leaders most of the time. We get people of average ability in leadership positions because they are “relatable” as regular guys. The best and the brightest are not electable, and they usually have little influence because they threaten insecure leaders of average ability.
    Barbados is already maxed out. We have a financial services industry based on billions of dollars of fugitive capital from North America and a tourist industry that rakes in hundreds of millions from visitors. There are no better ideas out there for making money. We do not have the strategic location or the demographic assets of Singapore so forget the stuff about the S Model.

35. He is not asking Barbadians to work lie dogs he is simply asking them to be more productive. There are too many government workers yes too many. Some workers do less than 20 hours of work and lollygag for the rest.

36. Imagine both parties have bloated the public office to pursue narrow self-interest to promote their popularity and the whole country must pay for it. When Sandiford was forced to trim the public service and implement the 8% cut what happened? Successive governments have cancelled the effort of 92-93.

37. “When Sandiford was forced to trim the public service and implement the 8% cut what happened?”

If Mr Sandiford had managed the economy properly; there would have been no need to trim the public service or cut salaries. When Mr Sandiford was warned about his profligate spending and possible negative effects of an economy sliding into recession; his response in his own ‘like it or lump it ‘ style was to refer to those concerned as ‘prophets of doom and gloom’ and announce in his own words that the economy was ‘ batting better than Gary Sobers’.

In addition the circular of 31/12/81 from the Chief Personnel officer to Permanent Secretaries/ Heads of Department with respect to the instructions from the Prime Minister re- Employment of Substitutes does not support the view that Governments ‘bloated the public service to pursue narrow self-interests’.

Excerpt from the Circular reads thus;
    “All Ministries/Departments are advised in appropriate cases, to so re-organise their functions as to avoid the necessity of employing substitutes”

” You are required to include in each request for a substitute adequate justification for approval of the request ”

“Any breach of this instruction may result in the officer authorising the employment of a substitute being surcharged if the period of employment is not subsequently approved”.

38. balance you have missed the substantive point: both political parties have engaged in indiscriminate hiring in the public service to inflate popularity. If you recruit based on a false position the process to sustain it is like building a house on sand.

39. Your substantive point though speculative might very well be true and is taken but the information I proffered indicates that there was a policy in place by Government at some time to avoid the prevalence of what you claim as fact.

40. Piece

Might I reiterate to you once more sir that: whenever I attempt to post any information here on BU, is almost always factual, and not hypothetical as you seem to think.

Now, as far as my point regrading the teaching of the Critical -Thinking -Skills prior to 1990 goes here is the evidence:
    William M. Bart from the University of Minnesota has stated that: ” Over the past three decades, the focus of education in the United States of America has changed from curricular content to outcomes, with a major emphasis on helping students learn to Think Critically.” He went on further and stated that: Most colleges and universities in the United States of America had included Critical-Thinking-Skills as an important educational objective in their goal statements, and many accrediting agencies included measurable gains in Critical-Thinking-Skills into their accreditation criteria in 1990.”
    Now, Piece, the emphasis on teaching Critical-Thinking-Skills necessarily leads to the need of some kind way of determining its effectiveness, and would you believe that the National League of Nursing here in the States, has mandated that all accredited nursing programs must teach Critical-Thinking to their nursing students and must empirically verify the efficacy of their instruction through testing. Old one you mustie tink I was meking sport or someting; man I was real serious as tail?

41. Get out yuh cheque book Bushie. Increase yuh Real Estate portfolio.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/71109/posh-homes-steal

42. @balance

What policy is it you have speculated was in place?

Nonsense!

There was no policy, the property market has changed that all. The financial institutions have become more aggressive in a climate of high delinquency and bad debt. Have you not been reading the story of the Canadian banks?

43. @David,

Have you read the front page of the Nation?

Is this a further sign of impending doom ?

44. @Hants

The mid property market had been under distressed for some time. It us the middle lass (Black) who has born the brunt of a depressed economy the last five years. This is a middleclass with a high debt burden, like government. If is the risk of taking on debt in an uncertain time especially now the government has been instructed to trim tax benefits.

45. @David,

One of my favourite columnist.

Very interesting article.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/71155/wild-coot-fatca-bra

46. Country’s financial system ‘stable’
    THE financial system in Barbados has been described as very stable.
    This is according to the latest Financial Stability Update for 2015, published jointly by the Central Bank of Barbados and the Financial Services Commission.
    According to the two Government institutions, the capital reserves that are set aside by institutions to protect them against unexpected losses are enough to ward off adverse occurrences of sizeable proportions.
    Additionally, they said that one of the tables in the report “suggests that in the event of a systemic crisis, the parent entities of the banks remain well positioned to assist their subsidiaries and branches; they remain well capitalised”.
    Commercial banks, finance houses, credit unions, and insurance companies are among the key players in the Barbados financial system. The joint report of the two agencies also stated that “evidence of a slowly recovering financial system emerged over the 12 months ended March 2015 as the loan portfolios of major deposit taking institutions expanded by just over one percentage point of GDP.
    They also reported that “regulatory authorities continued to build on efforts to enhance the domestic supervisory framework”.
    They added that the Central Bank of Barbados launched guidelines on measuring capital adequacy for controlling interest rate risks on the banking books.
    Both the Bank and the FSC are jointly responsible for the continuous oversight of the financial system, the assessment of vulnerabilities and the initiation of policies that increase the resilience
    of the system in the face of possible adverse events.

47. Referring to the growing cost of labour and underproductivity in Barbados, it seems that we have reached a classic Lewis Turning Point where the supply of inexpensive labour is no longer forthcoming from the agricultural sector for the modern sector. Growth, according to W Arthur Lewis will now depend on Barbados finding alternative and cheaper suppliers of this vital component factor of production . . . . We should ensure that if we must open our doors to immigration that it should be for the higher value-added sectors of the economy !