The name Wang Jianlin may not resonate with you, but according to the South China Morning Post he is the richest man in China and recently announced plans to build the world’s biggest tourism enterprise which will overtake the current giant, Disney.

The chairman of the Wanda Group […]stated that his holding company will achieve an annual revenue of 100 billion Yuan (one Yuan currently equals .16 US Cents), attain annual net profits of US$10 billion and handle 200 million visitors by as early as 2020.

At this stage he has not ruled out entry into the aviation segment after China lifted a five year restrictions on applications for new airlines in 2013 ‘spawning a wave of privately owned start-up carriers’. To even try and understand the exponential growth, Wanda’s in house travel agency revenue is expected to reach 10 billion Yuan this year, 20 billion by 2017 and 40 billion by 2020.

Last month Wang together with Tencent Holdings and Citic Capital led a US$967 million acquisition of ticketing website, Ly.com, which is currently the country’s third largest online travel site in terms of revenue generated.

The Wanda Group includes the ownership and/or management of over 70 luxury hotels, the world’s largest cinema operation, 110 plazas, 22 million square metres of leasable property, film and television production, substantial print media interests, art investment with total assets exceeding US$85 billion and spanning across four continents.

Barbados of course, is not alone is seeing the potential of the growth in Chinese tourism, but the bigger issue is exactly how are we going to tap at least some of that market. My initial thoughts are that ‘we’ as a single destination will find it very difficult, but as a region, incorporating both lodging and cruise ship options, we could stand a far better chance.

With our diplomatic presence in China, perhaps high level discussions have already taken place with Mr. Jianlin, to see how we can smart partner with his global plans. Also with Sir Kyffin Simpson’s amazing success in China, it would be foolish not to involve his proven expertise and I am sure as a good patriot he may gladly agree, subject to his clearly demanding time restraints.

Also hopefully our tourism planners and prime movers are working in the background with the local global brands like Hilton, Radisson, Marriott and Fairmont allowing chosen staff members to undertake ‘internships’ in their Chinese properties to ensure we have a better understanding of their culture, dietary and service expectations.

China has had a long and sustained investment interest in both Barbados and the Caribbean generally and especially in the tourism sector.  A figure of US$7 billion was quoted by Adam Wu, the CEO of China Business Network as the amount of Chinese funded projects in the region during 2009 alone.

One thing for sure we cannot afford to ignore one of the fastest growing tourism markets on the planet.

By November 2014 China’s yearly outbound tourists reached 100 million for the first time and finished 107 million by the end of that year, representing a 19.49 per cent increase over 2013.

66 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column: Chinese Tourists Ripe for the Picking”

1. @ lawson 11.31 AM
    …You just needed a full stop after ‘moron’….

2. @ Lawson

The fact that Cuba has officially established diplomatic relations with the United States does not mean that it will impact tourism in the Caribbean and particularly Barbados in any meaningful way. Listen! Despite what Jamaica has to offer the North American tourist when compared to Barbados. There are still some people who would rather vacation in Barbados, irrespective of what Jamaica has to offer them and vice versa. A lot of people in Barbados seem minimized the fact that tourists who visit the Caribbean do so because of their personal preferences Lawson.

3. only time will tell, but what happens when that old brit decides to have a voyage of discovery rather than the ritual of reassurance at a much cheaper price what then? No .. it will be interesting times in barbados for the new presidente . Kick em jenni may make this conversation moot.

4. Why because I confront your sinister motive. First you complain about the noise. Answer ! make reservation at one of them high class hotels like crane or sandy lane.instead one uh dem cheap rated hotels.BRO you get wud uh pay for, that includes half ass service at half ass price. Then yuh keeptrash talking about black establishment calling them thieves because they dare to double check and verify a person ticket which u say u gave permission to be of use.
    Negro their are rules and regulations that businesses have a right to conduct and regulate for customer safety and protection and that includes u. Think on those things before getting on yuh high horse to slander and ridicule.

5. I have a timeshare at the crane , well run and beautiful, I stayed at palm beach last summer ,clean and well run impeccable , my mistake was getting too accustomed to dealing with class acts. I doubt very much any of these businesses are black owned but I dont know they could have been. But you could imagine if I had ordered a hooker out of one of those magazines and a poxy fat old whore like yourself delivering a pizza to the people next door rang my bell by mistake….the look on my face at that first moment I see you is the same one I have on my face each time I read what you have posted

6. Good !well stop creating a lavish lifestyle at underrated prices. Keep yuh time share in good standing and use it. As fuh that look on uh face at seeing me in the flesh ac can bet that I looka thousands times better than that bearded fig tree uh call a woman.

7. The gap was only because the kids begged me, it has really gone down hill over the years, or maybe it was always a dive but I didn’t notice because I only saw it at night. What you fail to realize it is not only the money we spend on where were staying it is how we got there, what we spend there and what it costs to shut down two businesses for 3 weeks. I could stay at an all inclusive but the 40 bucks a day for the beach chairs the money and tips at the restaurants would be sorely missed if it ever entered the island at all when you book an all inclusive.
    Now you will have to stop trying to entice me with your loofa body , the distance is too, far me in canada and you at the black rock mental home You should set the the bar a little lower and just walk down the hall and knock on dompeys door.

8. now look at that big lie, ,Yuh neva noticed ! ha ! yuh mean to say that you gonna take yuh kids to a place without noticing the social environs, ,wuh please the gap ain;t that big a place that nobody can.t see wuh de hell is going on when they enter ,some kinda father you are. go on now blame the kids you cheap skate

9. Are you saying the peeps at the gap are of less social standing than the peeps at holetown?? social environment? do you have a brown skin caste system going on down there that we tourists should know about. are all exclusive DLP tax exempt resorts the future of the gap to keep those of the lower caste away. Tut Tut you mutt I judge people on their own merits apparently ardent DLP cronies do not.

10. no bro you call the gap a “dive: those are your words not words most would associate with a high ranking so go check yuhself bro, after all you said that is where you kids wannted to go and you took them there,

11. yes a dive it has become more run down, you mentioned the people and there social standing shame on you, is this what the rest of your uppity party thinks

12. @ Lawson,

You disappoint me. Naively, I thought you had become a reformed character. However since you have returned from your holiday in Barbados you have reverted back to your old sewer ways.

You have been plaguing this forum for over two weeks now. It is evident that your sewer rat friends have expelled you from your home.

If you are looking for a home or a safe haven may I suggest that you dial 666 and ask for a man who goes by the name of Lucifer. He resides in a place called hell. You may find his home and his surroundings congenial to your unpleasant and anarchic character. It is what we would call here in Britain a match made in hell.

Oh and do have a nice day!

13. Lawson ! No ! bro u cant throw ac under the bus on this class issue hell no you were the one staging an anti social class war ranting and raging about how bad things were at the gap. my only chime was to call you out as a cheap racist rat,, ta ta,

14. It is quite possible that there would be a clash of Chinese and Barbadian culture. Some of the comments relating to Chinese tourists make it clear that some of their behaviors are in conflict with western ideas of what is normal.

15. Not picking sides. I just love to see witticisms’

“Google translation does not help with this. Where do I find a website that translates from Mountgay to English?”

Brilliant.

16. @Dompey

“The fact that Cuba has officially established diplomatic relations with the United States does not mean that it will impact tourism in the Caribbean and particularly Barbados in any meaningful way”.

I disagree. If there was an infinite supply of tourists then it is possible that your hypothesis would be correct; but sadly, there is a limit to the number of tourists and not all tourists are rich. Price is a consideration.

The entrance of Cuba with its (1) proximity to the USA and to the rest of the Caribbean (cheaper air travel and similar climate), (2) its size (longer coastline and therefore more beaches and longer beaches), (3) geographic diversity, bio-diversity and numerous historic buildings (these allow a visitor to experience more on a single trip than they would have experienced by visiting a smaller island) and (4) and cigars will have an impact on tourism in the Caribbean.

Cuba is the elephant in the room.