BU continues to highlight the deplorable conditions at the island’s Psychiatric Hospital. A country must be judged by how it treats its senior citizens and the sick. If we are able to persuade international pop star Rihanna […]to visit the compound the publicity would be for a greater good and her goodwill will definitely bounce as result.

Rihanna, the patients and employees at the Black Rock institution implores you to visit!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

84 responses to “Rihanna, the Psychiatric Hospital Extends an Invitation to YOU!”

1. @Hants

Isn’t it amazing after explaining why Rihanna’s name was used i.e. To highlight we have commenters ranting about what Rihanna can do? Please read with comprehension for crissakes

2. @de Ingrut Word August 9, 2015 at 9:11 AM “Ossie, what are you looking for under the street light? “My $10 bill, I dropped it over there in Jenkins but there ain’t no light there so I looking for it here”.

This one reminds me of the missing Malaysian jet. Why are they looking for it near Australia when people in the Maldives heard and saw a low flying jet on the morning the jet was “missing” and some heard an explosion after the plane had disappeared from sight

But why pay attention to uneducated eye witnesses when Australia has “superior” computer modelling and nuff nuff planes and ships and thing…so let we look near Australia, because them poor tail people in the Maldives don’t have the education nor resources to solve a mystery this big.

Ossie ain’t the only mad man yuh hear.

3. Some a dem does sen home nuff moneyan beds an wheelchairs an ting to de QEH. Diverting a bed or two to de nasty stinkin hovel call Jenkins would help.

http://www.barbadosintoronto.com/barbadian-associations.html

4. Just read dis in de NatioNews.

“Burger King reports a double-digit increase in profits.”

Tink dey wud donate piece a change to help repair Jenkins?

5. Crop Over bursts with potential skillfully managed it could be the number one festival/carnival cultural phenomenon in the Western Hemisphere with the exception of Mardi Gras in Brazil. The excessive lewd behavior must be toned down. To achieve that is a challenge for organizers and festival well wishers indeed an intense coordinated effort must be put into action. The gunplay by wild and lawless youth at the hotspots must be stamped out. The RBPF and citizens who want to see the island prosper must join hands, identify the hard headed gunmen and punish them severely in the law courts or in the cemetery if they shoot back.

The Rihanna factor illustrates the power celebrities have to advertise the country in a way no marketing agencies could. The celebs at Rihanna’s level of popularity can lure tourists here in massive numbers the trick is to select key stars to lead the charge. Rihanna isn’t only a key one she’s one of us.

Kadooment Day must be tweaked. Incentives to the long complaining band leaders must be offered. Tax cuts on costumes and ancillary items should be cleverly rolled out so that if the state gives discounts it drives more commercial and economic bustle.

The Grand Kadooment from its name to its route is pure wonderment and excitement to all who witness it be it those from abroad or the local communities. The culmination on Spring Garden Highway with some of the best white sand beach and azure waters in the world fascinates the most seasoned traveler. Bajans cannot get enough of Kadooment or Crop Over and its clear the same hold true for tourists. The loving embrace of Crop Over by the people goes a long way in communicating the authenticity of the Festival. Outsiders respect the local endorsement highly. If you don’t respect your own don’t expect respect from others

6. Hants August 10, 2015 at 10:01 AM #

Then they will do something before the “story” spreads across the world that a Psychiatric hospital in Barbados is housing patients in deplorable disgusting conditions..
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And why should they care, when by then we will be the republic that, the lazy -arsed ,never-do-a -frig ,Attorney General,is the latest to jump on the Republic Bandwagon clamouring for.

7. With the amount of guns we are hearing about on the call in shows, which every Tom, Dick and Harriette,now compliment their Blackberries with, and the daily multiple shootings. It appears that the wider Barbados has now become an open Psychiatric Hospital. With the Warders fast asleep.

8. Things cant be that bad at the mental hospital, Just Saying was talking about the wonder and excitement of kadooment with the highlight conclusion at spring garden. Its obvious the patients have access to computers.

9. The 30 photographs were emailed to the DAILY NATION last weekend under the caption Help Mental Hospital!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/70936/falling-apart#sthash.bz5q0gw1.dpuf

10. @Hants

Good, congrats to the Nation newspaper?

11. Lawd havest mercy!

“It is one this basis that the NUPW and UWU have highlighted the unacceptable conditions at the Black Rock institution and are urging the powers that be to address them, urgently. There is no way that patients should be sleeping on the floor, feces floating in drains, and urine dripping from upstairs on persons below. A ratio of two nurses to 50 patients at night is backbreaking work for the most seasoned professional.”

Let us see how long it will take for those loving caring Bajan leaders to spring to action from the air conditioned comfort of their well furnished offices after driving to work in their air conditioned luxury vehicles.

Airconditioned house to airconditioned car to airconditioned office.

12. Buf look how fass duh correct dis problem doh nuh !!!!

Wish dem wud do de same at de Psychiatric Hospital.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/70938/govt-correct-quarry-mishap

13. @Hants

We are first and foremost a society and not an economy.

14. Yes David. A society that treats mentally ill patients worse than criminals.

15. Hants August 11, 2015 at 10:58 AM #
    Hats off to Minster Kellman, for working so fast and hard, looking after the interest of the people of his constituency……………..not forgetting the one at Broomfield House.

16. @ David,

The evening Nationnews has commentary on the topic.

17. The message is LOUD & CLEAR.

REPAIR THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL NOW.

18. Who will be the first BLP politician to raise this issue in the house?

19. Or will John B get up and say, Mr.Speaker, as a matter of urgency the Psychiatric Hospital must be repaired forthwith just in case some of us are sent there when we become demented.

My ministry will allocate funds yada yada yada

20. Hants

Correction

Should say

…………when some of us are sent there when we are diagnosed as being demented.

My ministry will allocate funds “soon”

21. Where is the oversight body which ought to inspect this psychic institution to ensure that the proper standards are being met? Hospitals and Psychic Institutions here in the U.S are inspected annually, by a body tasked with the responsibility to ensure that the proper standards are being met, and if there are not, the hospitals and psychic-institutions loses their accreditation. Barbados seems to be far behind and obviously need to get with the program in a quick second.

22. A lot of the major institutions which serves the public needs, in Barbados are owned and operated by government, and this is where the problem lies. It is kinda like asking to police to police the police; you know where I am going with this right?

23. Several years ago I took the police test and passed the:

1) Written Test
    2) PT Test
    3) Criminal Background Test
    4) Medical Examination Test
    5) Polygraph Test
    6) Psychological Test
    7) Credit Check
    8) Interview with Chiefs
    But I where failed was the questions from the person on the Citizenry Board. And this is what Barbados need; more Citizenry oversight in the political affairs.

24. Sorry I meant the Federal Criminal Background Check.

25. St George's Dragon Avatar

If we all hold hands around the table, will someone from the psychic oversight institution make themselves known?

26. @Hants

Did Boyce offer a solution?

27. St. George Dragon

The time for making cheap jokes to gain cheap thrills is over brother because it appear as though the ruling elements in Barbados lack or cannot find the necessary vision to move this little island forward. Constructing bigger and more modern buildings ought not be misinterpreted as progress, when we have system that is in want sustainable transparency.
    I can tell you without much ambiguity and equivocation that as someone who has worked at a hospital and a mental health facility in the past, that there are prescribed standards which these institutions of health have to meet annually, and these standards are readily enforced on the state and federal level. But it appear as though no such Checks and Balances exist in Barbados, so citizenry gets on social media and besmear the image of the little island regarding the deplorable and atrocious conditions at the MENTAL, as those this is going to implore the government to act. It hasn’t in the past when the people who reside in Barbados got on social media last year and told a international audience that QEH run out of toilet-paper. Dragon, active citizenry involvement is what is needed in the political process in order to force government hand, and implore it to act for the better good of the nation.

28. @David,

“He said a team of officials from the Ministry of Health visited the hospital this morning (July 11th)to conduct an investigation and would make recommendations on how to remedy the situation”

This is a good start.

29. @Hants

The conditions at Black Rock has existed for years. It seems Boyce does not have a grasp on his ministry or he lacks to resources to respond.

30. @David,

Plain and simple. The Psych Hospital needs repairs NOW.

The evidence is documented and published and now that John has declared his awareness of the situation it is his responsibility to get the repairs done.

31. We have to abandon the misconception that government is the sole solution to all of society’s problems. I haven’t heard anyone here as of yet called on the private-sector for any assistance to address some of the deficiencies there in Black Rock? I believe that the private- sector can play an important role in addressing some of these problems in Black Rock, but government as well as the citizenry have to emphasis, and defined the role it can obviously play. It sickens me to hear when my country man calling on government to address some of the challenging problems which afflicts the island of Barbados, as though government has all of the answers to all of society’s problems. I remember last year when the QEH running out of toilet- paper, and Barbadians from America, Canada and England, got together and took the initiative through the medium of Facebook to collect the necessary cash, and send it to a contact person in Barbados, who distributed that cash to the QEH to addressed that minor problem.

32. Social media is being given credit for the focus being placed on the Black Rock institution, we leave it to Caswell and Unity Workers Union to keep the flame burning brightly under the asses of the authorities.

33. @Hants August 11, 2015 at 11:43 AM “Yes David. A society that treats mentally ill patients worse than criminals.”

Some of the mentally ill are criminals. Jenkins is where the mentally ill go…it is also where the criminally insane those who have done really really bad things go as well.