Brenda Mazibuko: You’re risking your political capital, you’re risking your future as our leader.

Nelson Mandela: The day I am afraid to do that is the day I am no longer fit to lead[…]Invictus Quotes

What about the law suits?

Barbadians from both sides of the political fence agree Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart has not enjoyed the freedom to make unpopular decisions within the party because of a razor thin margin given to him at the polls. It has affected his ability to respond effectively to the Eager 11 issue as well as to censure errant ministers to identify two out of many. Minister David Estwick has repeatedly challenged the custom of Cabinet collective responsibility. This week Donville Inniss in his capacity as minister of Industry public stated at the BCCI monthly luncheon the government should make the Cahill agreements public, a statement which conflicted with one issued by the Minister of Finance on the same matter in the same week (let the fish gather).  It is difficult to understand if ministers attend weekly Cabinet meetings why the public is frequently subjected to a high level of incoherent utterances read conflicted positions from ministers of the government.

In the movie Invictus which features  Morgan Freemen in the role as president Nelson Mandela of South Africa,  he [Mandela] responded to his personal assistant with the quote at the top of the blog when questioned about the risk to his office by taking an anti-establishment decision. The problem plaguing Barbados is the unwillingness of our political leader to make decisions in the interest of the country.  During a period of social and economic stress we have a political leader who is constrained to make decisions based on protecting a diminishing level of political capital.

A big strand in leadership is about nurturing trust in those you seek to lead. Barbadians listened to the prime minister after the last general election expressed outrage at election irregularities he saw with his own eyes. The first minister he appointed to his Cabinet supported him (the same minister who promised to investigate the matter of the LEC and has not been held accountable by the PM). BU like many have have not forgotten the insensitive and callous defence of the Speaker of the House who was found guilty by a High Court of withholding clients monies until the political class – including members from both BLP and DLP – were forced to do a collection to save is Black a**.

The rise of social media riding on the back of technological advances is attempting to give a voice to Barbadians and citizens across the globe. This has become necessary because the moribund and supine traditional media continues to prostitute itself at the whim and fancy of the advertiser’s dollar. The traditional media is meant to be the leveller, the watchdog, a forum to give voice to the issues AND to educate the public to facilitate informed positions. But nature abhors a vacuum and social media has had to fill the void. Until and unless the traditional media manup to its responsibilities social media will gather momentum as this rudderless government is discovering with each passing day.

BU waits for the day the traditional media appreciates its role and focus on what is at the root of the problem, an irrelevant governance system.

34 responses to “DEMinishing Political Capital”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The razor thin margin of victory does not tie the Prime Minister’s hands. If he removes an errant minister from the Cabinet, that minister would go meekly and sit on the backbench. He would still get a salary and he would still be accumulating time to qualify for that almighty pensions. They wouldn’t dare cause resign and bring down the Government. You should recall that most of them were either unemployed, underemployed or unemployable before the 2008 elections. This is the best time financially in their lives and they wouldn’t spoil that.

In any event, if one of them decided to resign in an attempt to bring down the Government, Owen Arthur would not vote against the Government and risk his nemesis becoming Prime Minister. But none of this has any bearing on Stuart’s clinging on to power, I just feel that he likes the job and prestige of being PM and he is not going to take any action that would jeopardise his position. So what if the ministers are as poor as poison, he is still PM.

2. What should we read into the fact the government has been unable to activate many of the tax initiatives tabled in the recent Budget. How will it affect government’s balance sheet? The milk CESS, mobile tax, sweet drink tax etc. We note also modification to income tax rates have note been implemented either.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Incompetence plain and simple. They are taking directives from the IMF without understanding what to do.

4. @caswell

Are civil servants blameless in this matter? They are the ones responsible for implementing. Don’t they get an opportunity to review proposals?

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Senior civil servants must share some blame in accordance with the Code of conduct and ethics. Read paragraph 11 below:
    11. (1) Where an officer believes that he is being required to act in a way that

(a) is illegal, improper, or unethical;

(b) is in breach of an accepted convention or a professional code;

(c) may involve possible maladministration; or

(d) is otherwise inconsistent with this Code,

that officer shall report the matter in accordance with procedures laid down in the appropriate guidelines or rules of conduct for that officer’s Ministry or department or in accordance with the provisions of the relevant law

However, they are two problems: most of the senior public officers, including the Head of the Public Service, are acting. If they try to prevent the ministers’ excessive behaviour they would be reverted and a new person who is will to see and don’t see would be put in place; and the appropriate guidelines have not been put in place.

I will give you an example: an acting court marshal I reported that the Chief Marshal committed perjury by swearing that a person, who was to be arrested and taken to Dodds, could not be found and the warrant was returned to the court. Even while he was doing that other marshals went to the man’s home and served him with a summons to come to court. That acting marshal was reverted for his troubles by the Public Service Commission.

My information is that the wanted man used to canvass for the now Prime Minister. I an not suggesting that is why the Chief Marshal took the warrant and committed perjury.

6. @ David
    Are civil servants blameless in this matter? They are the ones responsible for implementing. Don’t they get an opportunity to review proposals?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, when you are doing shiite… yuh does have to keep it within a tight circle of yardfowls – least the smell escape and spread…or worse, the solid waste hit a fan…
    So…only those like AC and Dompey “get the opportunity to review proposals…”

7. @David, civil servants were responsible for implementing in the past. Various governments have so weekend the service and interfered with its smooth and efficient functioning that our civil service is only a very pale shadow of what it used to be (in my opinion). Today, we have formerly unemployed, unemployable and under employed persons elected to office one day and the next, behaving as if they are experts on everything under the sun. Go ahead and name just one of them that you would let run a rum shop for you. I’ll bet that at the end of this sad and sorry period for Barbados that not a single corporate body will want to invite Dr Doolittle to sit as a director or will want to appoint him as legal council. If so, what does that say of the others?

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

FearPlay

What rum shop? I would not trust them to run a snow cone cart.

9. Deputy Dawg alias bush sh.iite u are such an idiot every comment you reference AC you seem to be inhabited by a severe case of a illusion that gives u a severe case of diahrrea of the mouth ole fart.

10. Caswell does not even earn sufficient respect among his Union comrades an organization that builds and thrives on support among each other. His behaviour and attitudes have become a spectacle because of his outlandish and controversial appeal of wanting to out shout and disregard , no wonder !even among his own group of industrial partnership nobody takes him seriously. fact being that during the last round of industrial discussion he was discounted as a source of irrelevancy,
    His disagreeableness has cast him in a position of being a character of a chicken little and a pipe piper of unreasonableness

11. @Caswell .Fear Play, and Yard ducks,

Are you saying that the entire Civil Service is incompetent, untrustworthy, and no good?

12. yes alvin cummins that is what Caswell is saying nevertheless he stands vanguard as a spokes person for that which he claims to have disgust for,

13. Wait Alvin …you still here on BU?…
    You know that Sunshine Sunny Shine in Bim fuh CropOver right…?

…thought you would be busy with the affidavit …..

14. @ Alvin Cummins August 2, 2015 at 9:10 AM #

“@Caswell Fear Play, and Yard ducks, Are you saying that the entire Civil Service is incompetent, untrustworthy, and no good?”

Where in Franklyn’s or any other contributor’s response to this article, did they mentioned or implied “that the entire Civil Service is incompetent, untrustworthy, and no good?”

Alvin Cummins, it seems to me you have a serious problem with being able to read and understand what you read. Similar to your “colleagues” on BU who blindly supports the DLP, apparently you also have an allergic reaction to common sense.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alvin

I am not saying that the entire civil service is incompetent; I am saying that it has been neutered by an incompetent government. Most of the permanent secretaries and their deputies are acting. If they oppose the minister they are liable to be reverted to their substantive posts with a commensurate loss in pension. What about that you don’t understand?

I will not engage you again, I think you are a fool like the ACs, and I don’t have time for idiots.

16. @ ac

From whence commeth thou? Surely not from this planet.

Thine ignorance harrows me with fear and wonder.

17. Balaam ass , very befitting and to think you even have the nerve to name yourself

18. Caswell Franklyn

I will not engage you again, I think you are a fool like the ACs, and I don’t have time for idiots.

Nice shot,,indicative and which represented your exclusion as head of the union which you are leader at the official Industrial meeting between labour and govt,, Boo Ha Ha

19. @ Balaam
    …remember that we fight not against flesh and blood, but “against the rulers, against the authorities, against the world powers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    AC has been taken over by spiritual forces of evil. There is no other way to explain that devilish commitment to idiocy.

Unfortunately, for their sins with CLICO; their refusal to honour RIGHTEOUSNESS; their harbouring of crooked speakers; Deputy Speakers with ill-gotten riches; Low Ministers with wealthy mothers; and crooked schemes like CAHILL, this DLP government has been CURSED to accept the guidance of AC and (your own boy 🙂 ) Donkey….

Unfortunately, for harbouring and continuing to entertain such a crooked set of morons as leaders, WE ALL will suffer the consequences of that curse…

AC therefore plays a SPECIAL role on BU in highlighting the folly into which this country has allowed itself to fall in the last 20 years….

…and just as Bushie has whacker and MUST whack…
    …AC is possessed ..and must rant and rave.
    But the Bushman will continue to whack her ass
    …and put salt into the wounds caused by the nylon…

…until Caswell, Walter, Jeff and a few other SANE and intelligent Bajans step forward and RESTORE honour and RIGHTEOUSNESS to public life in Barbados.
    At that time, the whacker will be retired.

LOL ha ha ha

20. @Caswell

Your position accords with a discussion recently with a retired PS. He was not very flattering in his description about one or two ministers.

What do ac;s have in common, they comment from afar.

21. Exactly, political pimp you have come to the realization that “you are Balaam’s ass.” That is why I was able to effectively communicate with you; hence my use of the name “Balaam.”

And I know you won’t resist the temptation of responding with yet another Asinine Comment (AC), thereby proving once again you are Balaam’s ass.

22. Off topic.

I want to take this opportunity to congratulate “Classic” for winning the 2015 Crop Over Festival calypso competition. He has been knocking on the door and being over-looked for many years. It was about time he won the calypso crown.

Ironically, both his calypsos, “In bed together” and “Something Fishy,” are befitting of this article.

23. The effect is onYOU balaam who by your own choosing responded and was receptive to my previous comments which had said nothing about a balaam and for what ever reason gave rise for you to mount an irrational and disagreeable displeasure of what ac said, jack a,ss Have a shitty day,

24. Every damb blog the same nitpicking, nothing to learn from the exchanges by some. What a waste of time spent on planet earth.

Surely hignorance knows no bounds?

25. Didn’t the government through the MoL promised a few months ago some middle easterners were close to inking the Paradise (Four Seasons) deal?

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes;

Did you notice that amongst the songs the top three sang there were 4 that could be classified as being condemnatory against FS or the Government?

Classic had two. Donella had one and Colin Spencer had 1.

No! I am not hallucinating re. Colin Spencer. If you analyse his song It was actually an apology for being a D. It merely pointed out persons who he felt were feeding on the fatted lamb and in HIS estimation were therefore D’s like him.

That song cemented the swing against Freundel and his Government that other songs exemplified. Songs by Adonijah, a scion of a proud and fierce family of St Philip Dems, by Adrian Clarke, and even by Biggie Irie appear to be a turning point in this Government’s popular appeal.

Yuh site?

27. @Are-we-there-yet

There is a discussion on radio this year us the first year since 2006 we have seen anti government songs in the finals.

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Thanks! I didn’t know that there was a discussion. Which Station?

This final was actually epochal, imho.

I suspect, if one does a count, that there were probably more antigovernment songs than in any previous year’s competition in the middle of a political term.

There must be a message in this for the political class.

The worm might be turning and if so FS can’t continue with the pap he has been feeding the people and MIa might be forced to up her game and the possible third parties will soon have to declare themselves in the flesh.

I suspect there will be very interesting times ahead.

29. Puerto Rico has defaulted on a piece of public debt. The reasons PR finds itself in a political economic cesspool are very similar to the issues Barbafos in battling, high government spending, high pension costs, a shrinking tax base etc.

30. are-we-there-yet August 2, 2015 at 11:06 AM #

“Did you notice that amongst the songs the top three sang there were 4 that could be classified as being condemnatory against FS or the Government?”

AWTY, since 2008, the NCF has been offering various incentives or awards into the calypso competition, for calypsonians who sing or compose, for example, the best “nation building song,” etc, more or less encouraged calypsonians and composers to compose songs other than those that are critical of government’s performance.

31. Mohammed Burton Avatar
    Mohammed Burton

Can a corrupt government be allied with thee; this one organizes oppression under the pretense of the law?

32. It should concern Barbadian to hear Assistant Commissioner of Police say Barbadians who are witnessing crime are not reporting to the police. In a small society this has to be troubling. A government preoccupied with the economy appears to be struggling with the society component.

33. @ David
    Assistant Commissioner of Police say Barbadians who are witnessing crime are not reporting to the police.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It would be interesting to hear him try to speculate why this may be so….

Have you ever had cause to interact with our police /courts/ as a casual witness?
    Shiite man David….. EVEN YOU would think twice about a repeat experience.

The Assistant Commissioner would do well to look INSIDE for answers to that dilemma. Citizens are keen to work with and alongside courteous, professional, confidential and trustworthy police and court officials to create a safe society.

BUT NO ONE looks forward to being involved with louts who at times appear to be more alike the damn criminals than like the law keepers.
    As always there are exceptions, but it SURELY is the job of the Assistant Commissioner and his other top brass to ensure that the few exceptions are the louts….rather that the other way around…that is NOT JOHN CITIZEN’s job.
    If someone at his level would do their job, he would be shocked at the turn-around.

34. @Bush Tea You are correct of course, many of them behave like they ‘mek’ themselves.