Submitted by Anthony Davis
Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy

The Guernsey-based plasma gasification company, Cahill Energy seems baffled  by “the continuing objections from Barbadians” regarding the controversial waste-to-energy project, with Chief Executive Officer (CEO) […]Clare Cowan blaming ‘incredible misinformation’ for the resistance. – Barbados Today (23 July, 2015)

Under the headline “Exposed MOTTLEY CALLS ON PM TO INVESTIGATE EXCLUSIVE CONTRACT” on page 3 of BARBADOS TODAY dated June 16, 2015, In her reply to the 2015/16 Budget report, Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley stated: “Under a MOU signed on March 15 last year between the Minister of Finance,the Minister of the Environment Denis Lowe, the Minister of Energy Senator Darcy Boyce, and the Minister of Housing Denis Kellman, and the CEO of Cahill Energy Clare Cowan, the Canadian firm was exempted from paying a slew of taxes, including corporation tax, Value Added Tax, transfer tax, import duties on waste, tyres and other supply items, as well as export duties.”

It seems to me that Mrs. Cowan and the Minister of the Environment cannot understand the pros and quos of this infamous deal. Pray tell me, why would any company build any plant whereby the people of the relative country wouldn’t have to pay one red cent for placing the plant at the Government’s and the people’s disposal? Is this company a philanthropic one?

Methinks not!

I find it condescending of Mrs. Cowan to state that the reason they had awarded the building of this plant in Barbados is because Barbadians are the better educated of the people in the Caribbean. This statement is nothing but a means of buttering us up so that we would accept this waste of energy plant. Also, the economic situation of Barbados is at present no better than any of the other countries in the Caribbean.

If the people of Barbados do not have to spend anything on this project, who will pay for all of the free things which the Leader of the Opposition mentioned in her reply to the Budget, and to which no one on the Government benches found the audacity to refute? The Minister of Tourism, who spoke after the Leader of the Opposition didn’t even try to deny what she said, but made some statement about her not saying anything pertaining to the budget.

Mrs. Cowan sidestepped many questions about this sweetheart deal which is bound to make “Butch” Stewart green with envy. Mrs. Cowan is right in one thing, i.e. that we are educated. We are educated enough to know that there is no such thing as a free lunch. Someone has got to pay the bill. In this case however, those who called the tune won’t be the ones to pay the piper, but the taxpayers of Barbados – the people who you say won’t have to pay anything.

The Minister of Finance has “a low cash flow”, but he can afford to give away millions of our tax dollars in free water, free land, waivers of taxes, etc. for some company which we know nothing about. There are people in this country who don’t even get water on a regular basis, but still have to pay the BWA exorbitant sums of money for a commodity which they have not received. If one of these same people defaults on his/her payment I bet the water would be cut off.

How do we know if by digging so many wells on the free 27 acres of land at Vaucluse it will not destabilise the land and cause some environmental problem which would cause us to spend millions of dollars to rectify it? There are too many unknowns with this plant – especially seeing that no one is prepared to explain to the populace of this country what the real deal is. What is the situation with the state-of-the-art Andrews factory? Are we to assume that that is no longer viable? What about about all of these clean energy companies which have recently been formed?

In the MOU it states that Cahill Energy will be allowed to import tyres and other people’s garbage to be incinerated here, How come Mrs. Cowan is denying this? The Minister of the Environment stated that in 25 years Barbados would be free of garbage. Will the plant be decommissioned then if, as Mrs. Cowan stated, no garbage will be imported?

I SHOULD THINK NOT!

They are not philanthropists.

My biggest problem with this plant is the possibility of nuclear ash ending up here to be burnt at Vaucluse. We all know that the wind blows from whatever direction it pleases, whenever it pleases, and wherever it pleases so we cannot stand by and say: It does not affect me. This affects us all, and I think that the populace of this country had better get off their butts and see what they can do about this thing that is being fobbed off on us without any proper explanation.

This will be too large a burden for our children and their children to bear. The only thing that will be safe is the money flowing into Cahill’s pockets.

“Beware of gift-bringing Greeks!”

95 responses to “PROPOSED Cahill Waste to Energy Plant Generating More Questions Than Answers”

1. There still could be a book deal out there similar to donald trump …the art of the eel,…….slippery when wet or drunk

2. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Enuff, you have brought up again a pivotal point- and seemingly overlooked one – with your comment ” Estwick now plans to do “reearch” after MoUs done sign!!!… how a project that requires the change of use of acres of agriculture land …would impact on agriculture and water management policy In Barbados.”

Caswell, previously pointed out that he wanted justification of how key rules of project tender and related processes were circumvented to reach a singed MOU with Cahill.

And here you reminding us that the entire cabinet of Barbados sat and listened to four of our esteemed ministers speak on the merits of this project and ‘approved’ the MOU and NOW one of those cabinet members comes to the public and speaks of doing research.

Was Donville also not a part of the cabinet discussions on the project?

Or is it that this major project was never discussed at Cabinet?

How could government make an agreement to buy energy to on-sell to our electricity grid unless there is an implicit ‘meeting of minds’ between the Ministry and BL&P/Elmera?

At least Donald Trump tells you straight up that honesty is for chumps…well he said that in one of his books before he was a politician. He also said back then : “You always want to put the best foot forward.” And, “I didn’t confirm or deny…as a politician would say.”

Donville, Estwick and the rest obviously follow that mandate: do not confirm or deny and always get that smile on with best foot forward.

Steeeupse. These people really consider us a bunch of blasted jackasses to so boldly assault our commonsense. But then again we let them do this over and over!

3. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@David, oh lawd as Dr Connectt said in the video attack the messenger or another lovely tactic is to refer to other projects tainted with corruption. These two have been used extensively by DLP critics.

Of course the fact that there are Latin phrases that describe this form of response tells us how damn old that strategy is.

Don’t these folks realize that if the strategy is so frigging old that anyone with a little grey matter understand their desperation!

Pathetic.

4. @Dee Word

It is old but it works, for a while anyway.

5. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Yes David, it surely does. As Pieces said recently in one of his post, ‘same shiiite, different day’.

So when we make references to the time of Julius Ceasar and Cicero and ting and those Romans before and after them that puts us in the realm of “malum quo communius eo peius” or ‘same damn shiiite, different century”. Smile.

In fact that Latin phrase is translated as “the more common an evil is, the worse it is”.

That I suggest captures our political market place perfectly!

6. You would think that with all the “noise” as the PM would call it being generated around this project that one of these rouge ministers would come out and say something.

After MAM’s revelation in the budget debate, her public meeting, the fiasco Cahill meeting, the Future Trust’s meetings and all the debate here on BU…….one would think that this government whom the people elected (not me) would come down from Mt Olympus and speak to the people. But no, they do not give a damn.

We need to take careful note of what the parasite ac posted:

“This one sided affair of angry noise coming from the other side would be crushed like an ant”………………….

So coming from a DLP pimp, does this means that they intend to “crack heads and shoot some people” if Barbadians protest?

I tell you these dems are desperate and desperate people do desperate things………do not take this “crushed like an ant” comment lightly! These ac comments come right out of George Street!

7. Bush Tea July 30, 2015 at 9:11 PM #

@ DD
    “How did she respond to the question …
    “What contributions were made to any politician’s Mother’s Union”

I think the moderator skipped over that question in her stack of paper.

8. Would some body please tell the Dr
    the population of Barbados is over two hundred thousandpeople many of whose voices have not been heard on the WTE .He therefore not take for grantedthat the few voices that have been vocally opposed to the plant speaks for the entire population

9. ac
    not many voices were heard when 6 millions Jews were gased by Hitler.

10. Professor Connett has made wanna-be Dr Lowe look like a child.

11. @ Guy Fox
    Professor Connett has made wanna-be Dr Lowe look like a child
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    a “child” ….. you mean a “baby jackass

12. This cockie maniacal assumption that a few voices of unhappy opposition would have the final say is tatical error founded out of self gratification and illusion .In a democracy the majority has the last word and so far going by the few thousands who have had there say so that constitutes a minority

13. Thine hignorance knows no bounds.

14. On the business of “transparency” going forward giving bits and pieces of a project that entails various decision would be a tactical error by the govt.transparency means giving factual and truthful information disposed and related to govt by those with the knowledge and skill after much research and findings. There is this accusing voice of expectation wanting for findings on this project to be revealed by govt in lieu of the fact a project of this type needs to be fully and completely assessed before final conclusion is passed on to govt to be accepted or denied by govt who must (then)tell the populace their conclusion
    The noise of garbage that has been emitted by those in opposition to the WTE plant sends a red flag indicative of a political foul stench in the air

15. ac
    The GOB has signed irrevocable agreements for implementation of the project for purchasing of all of the electrify generated therefrom. The rogue minister did that successfully.

They cannot share the actually agreements with the public because they know the people will convulse over the perversity of the arrangement.

16. So we have yard fowls defending the lack of transparency of the Cahill project and at the same time minister Donville Inniss admitted at the BCCI luncheon this week the government should make the documents public.

17. Because Donville and David E were probably the only two with sufficient balls to tell the PM and Cabinet it was doing shite validating rogue minister’s actions without the actually agreements being put before the members of Cabinet for their sight, albeit there was little they could do at that stage given the binding nature of the agreements.

18. I listened carefully to what Lennie St Hill said at one of the meetings.There are a number of laws which the Govt must follow before this WTE can see the light of day.
    Secondly,for the information of AC once again,this govt is a de facto minority govt with only 31% electoral support so stop talking about minority and majority.Only the DLP!

19. A blast from the past

20. Ac also agree that a project of this type should be given full transparency but only when all the facts are conclusive and not given in bits and pieces drawn on a line of suspicious half truth and retractions which will place govt in a verbal line of criticisms

21. Grumpy Gremlin Avatar

produce the agreements, thats all the transparency needed on the Cahill matter.

22. Perhaps you should blame Cowan for information “given in bits and pieces drawn on the line of suspicious half truth.” The performance of Cowan and her panelist at the meeting, would obviously raise anyone’s suspicious.

However, the government is just as guilty for not addressing concerns raised about this project, since they failed (as promised), to “take Barbadians into their confidence and explaining to them what they (government) has been doing on their behalf.”

Remember, on page 47 of its 2008 election manifesto, the DLP promised Barbadians the following:

Under a DLP government, the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf through:

• Regular press briefings following meetings of the Cabinet of Barbados
    • Press briefings by Ministries/Departments to inform Barbadians of major developments and changes
    • The publication of details of agreements and contracts involving the government and its agencies
    • Formal Ministerial statements at regular intervals on the progress of ongoing programmes and projects

So far, there has not been any response from the minister or any other official from the Ministry of the Environment, about what transpired at the LESCS meeting.

23. There is no need for govt to step into a political land mine to pacify a few knowing full well their objectives are built around flaming fires
    . Decisions dealing with matters that involved an entire population must be adjudicated and well thought out with focusing on the entire population and not given by an advocacy of coercion

24. She has no marals this crazy bitch
    She struts around our hotels like she owns the place
    Where is our justice minister
    They should all be charged with fraud.

Foxy lady on July 31, 2015 at 4:25 AM
    This woman hasn’t worked in industry ever in her life
    Having watched and listened to her drone on on u tube and the nation
    It’s clear she absorbs information well but then regurgitates it incorrectly
    It’s obvious she has never worked outside an office environment and most certainly never in process or heavy industries
    How in gods name can she mascarade as the ceo of a waste to energy designer/ builder
    This is her only chance to make millions and go back to what ever she was doing before seventh heaven property introduced her to the hapless gang of 4.
    Surely we must stop this madness.

25. Due Diligence July 31, 2015 at 11:39 AM #

“A blast from the past…..”

DD, I have always been saying it seems as though politicians often forget what they say and hope that we, the electorate, don’t remember what they say either.

The video you posted is a perfect example. Ironically, what Lowe said at this meeting could be juxtaposed to our present situation in Barbados.

As it relates to Liz Thompson and saying she “was pronounced dead in Barbados and re-emerged with her hair falling out,” perhaps if Lowe could have seen what was in store for him in the future, he probably would not have made those comments.

Obviously, the DLP supporters assigned to BU will inform Lowe of this video, and hopefully, after watching it, he would reflect with sadness that December 30, 2010, he was admitted to the Medical Intensive Care Unit of the QEH, in serious condition, apparently suffering from respiratory problems.

Perhaps those in the audience that laughed at Lowe’s description of Thompson’s illness would have deemed it offensive, if others had behaved in a similar manner towards Lowe’s condition, while asking for sympathy on his part.

26. @Guy Fox

If the agreement has an irrevocable clause it must be contingent on the EIA being improved. The PM can work his magic with Cummins.

27. @AC
    Its good to see Donville is writing as one of the ACs today , can you say who will be Candidate for the St. James Central in the coming general election ,or if a person can call on you in the mean time

28. Forgetfulness seems to embrace the party supporters as well.

We had the consortium, in their July 29, 2015 post at 5:59 PM, saying “Well the word out is that the only thing that can stop this project is an act of GOD or the EPA…..”

They have been implying that those individuals, who raised concerns about transparency and mentioning government seemingly wanting to force WTE plant on Barbadians, are being unpatriotic and politically motivated.

Yet, the consortium mentioned “Decisions dealing with matters that involved an entire population must be adjudicated and well thought out with focusing on the entire population and not given by an advocacy of coercion…”

This is EXACTLY WHAT BARBADIANS HAVE BEEN ASKING OF THE DLP BEFORE THEY EMBARK UPON COMMENCING THE PROJECT, and by the AC consortium were labeling them as being political, negative and unpatriotic.

They are a DLP hypocrite.

29. What is noteworthy about this Arthur fellow who calls the talk show daily to defend the indefensible is that his name begins with a.

@Artax

There are exceptions to every rule😀

30. Decisions Yet, the consortium mentioned “Decisions dealing with matters that involved an entire population must be adjudicated and well thought out with focusing on the entire population and not given by an advocacy of coercion…”

Oh boy applying one thoughts to any comment can be foolish and immature especially when taken out of context and taking away from the contents that it should be applied
    The above comment is meant to be a continuum of comments which i made about transparency and the many actions involved with the WTE before govt can speak with certainty , Apparantly their are two different horses attached to the same wagon on this issue a horse of a different breed with a transparent attack on govt,
    the other horse who has remained silent and not perturbed by the braying and stomping of its partner

31. Where did these four rogue Minister meet this SLEAZE BAG of a Woman? Who was responsible for introducing her to them? Just looking at the video she hasn’t a clue. How can this bunch of IDIOTS manage to impress the Barbados Government and con them into building a 700M WTE plant? Lawd was it white puss dat turn dem heads? Don’t they have any pride at all? Some things are best left untouched.

32. yuh need to hush island gal you could not wait to have some one armed bandits to con govt into buying into Red jet ,never heard a word or talk about transparency coming from you and same noise makers .nevertheless knuckle heads like you were first in line to buy into some type of manufactured bogus cheap tickets plan from the airline

33. islandgal246 July 31, 2015 at 7:17 PM #

“Some things are best left untouched.”

Including that white puss.

34. Artaxerxes,

Did you hear the Stinkliar today in a request from Bajan Reporter to answer questions on Cahill say…………..let the fish gather………..people going on partial information etc……….plus a lot of lies!

Islandgal, I asked the same question on a thread here………how did these rogue ministers meet this con woman. The answer maybe….they were looking for one!

35. ac July 31, 2015 at 7:28 PM #

yuh need to hush island gal you could not wait to have some one armed bandits to con govt into buying into Red jet ,never heard a word or talk about transparency coming from you and same noise makers .nevertheless knuckle heads like you were first in line to buy into some type of manufactured bogus cheap tickets plan from the airline

AC you have a serious problem in recalling things. I never heard of Red Jet asking government to purchase shares as far as I know they wanted the some of the same subsidies they give to airlines coming into Barbados. I never bought a ticket to fly on Redjet. You are such a pile of cat shit!

36. wuh dam island gal uh husband ain.t guh uh none last nite, bozie ain,t my fault

wuh uh was one dem flying the flag fuh dee one arm bandit red jet looking forward to buying the bogus cheap tickets and not questioning the concessions they were supposed to /or got , girl dont mek me lafff ..HA! HA! guh long wid yuh long mout and dont bother muh spirit so early in the morning heifer i uh know uh must be angry as sh,iite this mornong waiting fuh that itch to be serviced ole heifer gih lond do ,,,steupse

37. Listen to me PIECE of SHIT because you does let yuh husband go up yur back door that doesn’t mean that everyone is doing it! Yuh rass hole too lose this morning! CORK IT!

38. Ha!Ha! What a jerk RoflmfaoHA HA

39. Why do some of you allow yourselves to be pulled into the gutter where some people are comfortable? It is so easy to ignore if you are focused.

40. S
    Cahill
    A
    M

41. St George's Dragon Avatar

I nominate ac to write the next DLP manifesto.

42. For your information speckled fowl David BU ac don’t go knocking at anybody door bear that in mind when yuh scalliwag friends come knocking at ac door to throw dutti water

43. Avoid the loud and the aggressive, they only distress the soul.

44. Harry "Crock" Hinds Avatar
    Harry “Crock” Hinds

Why can’t you people focus on proper reasoning and behave yourselves and behave like educated adults as you claim to be. I am not for or against CAHILL WASTE TO ENERGY because I do not know enough about THEM AND THE WORKS. I AM AGAINST ALL OF THE FREENESS THAT IS ON THE TABLE FOR THE COMPANY AND DEFINITELY NO IMPORTATION OF OTHER PEOPLE’S GARBAGE,IF THAT IS TO BE SO. THEN I WOULD SAY IT WOULD BE BEST TO EXPORT OUR GARBAGE TO ONE OF THE OTHER ISLANDS WHERE THE COMPANY CAN GET PERMISSION TO SET UP THE BUSINESS AND LET US IN BEAUTIFUL BARBADOS CONTINUE TO ENJOY GOOD FRESH AIR AND HEALTHY LONG LIVES. AT THE END OF THE DAY IT IS ALL ABOUT THEM MAKING MONEY. THE POLITICIANS AND THE COMPANIES THAT WANT TO SET UP HERE.