Last week I used a couple of web based hotel booking sites to reserve some accommodation in Charlotte and Kentucky for an upcoming trip. One of them, Hotwire, offers a variety of star rated lodging where you do not actually know exactly […]which property you are staying at until pre-payment is made in full.

The advantage to the hotel is that they can hopefully dispose of unsold inventory, albeit at a lower than rack rate, a sales model known as ‘opaque’ and the guest benefits by getting a superior room at a discounted price.

As an exercise I used the same site to look at applying it to hotels on Barbados and was surprised to see a whole range of accommodation options from as little at US$64 including all taxes per night room only and as little as US$242 all-inclusive for two persons.

Hotwire makes their profit from a percentage, which I am told is between 20 and 25 per cent of the transaction amount. It at least partially dispels the largely held myth that we are always an overly expensive destination, when comparing lodging choices. Hotwire is an operating company of Expedia who also controls hotels.com and was originally launched in 2000 by four individuals and six major airlines. In 2003 it was acquired by IAC/InterActiveCorp for US$663 million.

Clearly they appear to be quite good at what they do, having won the accolade of J.D. Power and Associates ‘Highest in Customer Satisfaction for Independent Web Sites’ award for three consecutive years, 2007, 2008 and 2009. Booking hotels and in fact just about any element of travel like car hire and airline tickets has become something of a minefield and perhaps explains why so many people are attracted to the all-inclusive concept.

When I booked a car, the price varied for the same week and identical vehicle by almost 100 per cent. In the end the lowest rate was by selecting one of the biggest brands with the added advantage of a privileged check-in and drop-off, which at a major US airport, can save a lot of time.

The question to be asked perhaps is what fiscal difference would it make to the average hotel or tourism partner if they were able to reduce some of the dependency on these booking sites and increase the level of direct, rack rate bookings?

At least some hotels promise the lowest obtainable rate can only be obtained directly on their own website, but I have not always found this to be factual. A simple example is with Hilton bookings where the most inexpensive price needs advance payment in full for a non-changeable date and is non-refundable.

But the same rate can be obtained on some airline websites at an identical price but with a bonus of additional frequency flyer miles, therefore making it technically cheaper or more rewarding.

As technology and market reach dramatically improve, many more options are going to present themselves over the coming years and it will be even more critical to be at the lead of these changes if we are going to remain competitive as a destination.

75 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Reducing Dependence on Booking Agents”

1. @ Artax
    Shiite fella, you must be a descendent of Balaam from the bible….
    He was the last person documented to have spent so much time discoursing with a donkey…
    You inherited his genes or wuh..?

2. bush shite wuh yuh doing over hear uh mean you got to stick uh ugly big nose in every body back side, uh ugly ole igrunt drunk. btw ova dey on another blog a man called blackman seeking uh advice uh ole skunk..

3. Bush Tea July 29, 2015 at 9:31 PM #

“@ Artax, Shiite fella, you must be a descendent of Balaam from the bible….He was the last person documented to have spent so much time discoursing with a donkey…You inherited his genes or wuh….?”

Hahahahahahahahahaha

Bushie, that’s a good one. Don’t forget the patience of Job.

4. Was it an oversight ? I cannot recall seeing the Carnival Liberty listed in the Nation, as docking at the port today.

5. You mentioned “Sandals worldwide exposure and appeal that is by having hotels in various countries throughout the world.”

Sandals Resorts are NOT located “in various countries throughout the world” as you have erroneously suggested, but in the CARIBBEAN islands of Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Grenada, Jamaica, St. Lucia, and Turks & Caicos.

You have also implied “Sandals cascades multiple countries giving (the brand) a much bigger share of the tourism market which place them in a strategic position to control.”

Whereas Sandals operate 16 resorts, which are confined to 7 islands in the Caribbean, brands much more popular than Sandals, such as Fairmont Hotels & Resorts (owners of The Fairmont Royal Pavilion) operate approximately 83 luxury properties in 19 countries WORLDWIDE; and Hilton International operates over 530 Hilton branded hotels in 78 countries across 6 continents.

Both Hilton Barbados and Fairmont Royal Pavilion, (using your statements)

1) are also “widely publicized to target a (wide) cross section of the market, which means more people, would be aware of (their properties).”
    2) “have influence that is by far “stronger than Sandals, giving (their) worldwide exposure and appeal that is by having hotels in various COUNTRIES THROUGHOUT THE WORLD.”
    3) “therefore one can argue that overall (Fairmont or Hilton) purchasing influence and employment out numbers (Sandals) as (both hotels) cascade multiple countries giving (them) a much have bigger share of the tourism market which place them in a strategic position to control.”

For years, Royal Pavilion, which has a record of constant rare of high occupancy levels, can be considered one of the hotels that have been contributing to Barbados’ tourism product and to the social and economic development of the island. They have been able to achieve these tasks without the generous concessions granted to Butch.

Consistently high occupancy levels indicate a corresponding level of employment, productivity, purchasing power, marketing and influence.

it is quite obvious you do not have any knowledge of the hotel industry and are struggling in your attempt to represent Sandals. Your main objective is to defend the DLP’s decision to grant Butch those concessions. You are doing a very poor job.

Here endeth the lesson.

6. well bring the facts that Royal Pavillion compartively speaking contributes and outweighs Sandals in all five catergories mentioned ..bearing in mind that Sandals has more hotels in the carribbean .

7. Man Artax…
    ..yuh hear the woman is a rabbit (f)
    left she nuh!!!

Let she and the Donkey converse …. they understand each other. 🙂

8. You have responded, as I anticipated, with more unsubstantiated generalized statements. I shall, for the FINAL time, highlight the folly of your arguments on this issue, while takining into consideration the “five categories” you alluded to.

I don’t have to bring any facts, you are the one who has been making generalized statements concerning this issue, and have failed to bring any evidence to substantiate your claims, which makes your argument weak. The ONUS is on you to prove your assumptions.

Recall Sandals Barbados was opened On November 6, 2013. At this stage, only Sandals’ officials would be in a better position to analyze what impact or INFLUENCE the hotel’s MARKETING STRATEGY has on Barbados’ tourism product.

So far, there isn’t any evidence (reports, statistical data, etc. from Sandals or ANY OTHER SOURCE) to suggest that such task was undertaken.
    In the absence of such information, HOW DO YOU KNOW Sandals “outweighs” other hotels “in all five categories mentioned?” WHERE CAN THE STATISTICAL DATA be found to SUPPORT your claim, or is this only an ASSUMPTION on your part?

Yes, Sandals Resorts International (SRI) has approximately 16 hotels in the Caribbean. The only way the hotel can significantly contribute to EMPLOYMENT and PURCHASING POWER in Barbados, is if Barbadians are offered employment opportunities in the islands where Sandals Resorts are located, and if Barbados becomes the main venue from which purchases for ALL Sandals resorts are made.

If we use the hotel’s relationship with and preference for Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum as an example, Barbados cannot expect any significant purchases of Bajan rums. Interestingly, a check of Trip Advisor’s web-site revealed guests at Sandals Casaurina complained there was NO brand of Barbadian rum was available at the time of their stay.

Basically, PRODUCTIVITY is a ratio between input and output at a given quality level. As it relates to this issue, productivity must be defined and measured within the context of SRI and desired objectives as outlined by its mission statement, and NOT Barbados.

Once again, you have proven you do not have ANY KNOWLEDGE of the hotel industry. Essentially, your main aim is to justify the DLP’s decision, while trying to convince BU (and in the absence of supporting documentation), that despite the criticisms of those concessions granted to Sandals, the hotel was able improve Barbados’ tourism product.

ALL OF YOUR COMMENTS ARE BASED ON POLITICALLY BIASED ASSUMPTIONS AND NOT FACTS.

9. Absolutly Clueless AC

When one company has the advantage of not paying duties and taxes, while its competitors do not enjoy the same concessions, it has an edge over its competitors to outspend its competitors in other expenses, including on advertising.

Butch flexes his massive Marketing Might by running full page ads 2 or 3 times a week in the major newspapers in Toronto (and in other major North American cities).

Today’s ad in Toronto is a full-page ad on the back page of the Toronto Star Travel Section (cost about CDN$10,000.00.)

The ad is for Beaches.

Butch must be using his concessions to “place him in a strategic position to control” by creating brand awareness for the Beaches brand, so the tourists will flock to the Beaches Barbados Resort when it opens (in 2025?)

10. Rolling my eyes. all ac would say that Butch competitive spirit is unmatched to any named brand Hotel in Barbados well except sandy lane and maybe Crane whose brands even though well known attracts a tourist of a higher financial bracket
    You guys can kick the can the premise of my argument is that the sandals brand over all attracts a substantial amount of the tourism market worldwide

11. Due Diligence July 30, 2015 at 12:16 PM #

“When one company has the advantage of not paying duties and taxes, while its competitors do not enjoy the same concessions, it has an edge over its competitors to outspend its competitors in other expenses, including on advertising.”

That is correct DD, I did not remember to include that “advantage” in my assessment. And Butch also benefited from similar concessions in Grenada.

What people don’t want to realize that business people are always looking for “suckers” to exploit, and Barbados is the perfect “mark” for such an undertaking. Our exchange rate gives them certain advantages.

For example, since the Trinidadians have basically taken over our wholesale and retail sector, thet have not made any significant investment in Barbados. What they decided to do, was to almalgamate some of the retail outlets, closed the pharmacies, hardware stores and lumber yards, while retrenching employees in the process. Hence, there is a reduction in operating costs.

Trinidadian products now grace the shelves of their re-branded supermarkets, which many of us seem very eager to purchase.

They leave enough of the profits generated in Barbados to continue operation of businesses here, while taking advantage of BD$1.00 = TT$3.21 to finance investment and expansion in Trinidad.

12. ARTAX

I think it is fair to say that not all business people are always looking for “suckers” to exploit; but Barbados does seem to have more than its share.

13. The wonderful gap, going for breakfast with my wife and daughter one of the resident panhandlers starts calling me a honky and told us to go back home, then threatened to kill me my white bajan wife and daughter with the neck of a glass bottle he had in his hand.just as the police were driving by they put him up against the car quickly but I had seen him go after someone in a car just previous.THis is what barbados has come to . After years of coming this has to be the worst year for us and we will have to think of going to places like sandals so youu dont have to deal with the riff raff

14. Lawson next trip try Jamaica . lots of friendly faces but don’ tell the natives that you are from barbados and never mention the secret words Shanique Myrie good luck

15. St George's Dragon Avatar

If you mention Shanique Myrie to Immigration at Grantley Adams, they give you the finger, apparently.

16. AC you seem nonchalant that someone is threatening tourists in the gap, strange

17. @Lawson,

Sorry you had that experience.

This kind of lawlessness will damage the Tourist industry if it gets out of control.

18. Cruise numbers up

If the current trend continues, Barbados can expect a bumper cruise season this year.
    Indicating predictions of 585,000 passengers by year end, Chief Executive Officer for the Barbados Tourism Management Incorporated William Griffith outlined that there would be a five per cent increase over the 2014 figures, driven by more ships being added to the cruise schedule.
    In fact, he said that in the 2015-2016 winter season, twelve new ships would come to call, including the Brittannia and Mein Schiff III, while mega-vessel Norweigan Breakaway was expected to make several stops here.
    “The introduction of the two major vessels, Brittannia and Mein Schiff, means big business for Barbados as it relates to home porting and increased airlift into the island. This new business will also impact cruise and stag activity for passengers staying on island either before or after their cruise,” he added.
    Chairman Alvin Jemmott outlined that there have already been 52 cruise ship calls for the first six months of the year with 115,231 passenger arrivals and increase of six per cent in calls and 12 per cent in passenger arrivals over last year’s performance.
    Cruises will not be the only area in which more passengers will be seen, as Griffith highlighted that during the Crop-Over season, Caribbean Airlines would be increasing airlift through 408 additional seats between July 22 and August 2. Meanwhile, from September 10, there will be a daily service out of Kingston, Jamaica and three flights out of Nassau, the Bahamas

Can help but notice that the Adrian Loveridge voice has remained silent amidst all of the good news Coming from the Barbados and Hotel tourist industry

19. Barbadians are happy tourism arrivals up, what we are not happy about is the forex reserves is down!

Are we earning more tourist from tourist receipts or are we spending at a high level.

Around the mulberry bush we go when will the political poppycock stop nobod knows.

The other thing we have to keep our eyes on is how the sargassum seaweed issue will affect the industry next year.

20. Spending from Barbados visitors increased by five percent despite a reduction in the average length of stay, said Alvin Jemmott, BTMI’s chairman. .

21. Barbados is the Caribbean’s Most Competitive Tourism Economy

What’s the most competitive tourism economy in the Caribbean?

It’s Barbados, according to the latest edition of the World Economic Forum’s Travel and Tourism Competitiveness report.
    The report, which covers 141 economies in the $7 trillion travel global sector, is published every two years.
    And while Barbados is not the most-visited destination in the Caribbean (an honor that belongs to the Dominican Republic), it got the top spot due to strong rankings on its prioritization of travel and tourism, environmental sustainability and ground and port infrastructure, among other categories.
    The report analyzes economies on a total of 14 different “pillars” organized into four subindexes: Enabling Environment, Travel and Tourism Policy and Enabling Conditions, Infrastructure and Natural and Cultural Resources.
    The pillars, which included everything from country brand strategy rating to the reliability of police services, are then calculated based on data from the WEF’s Executive Opinion Survey and other quantitative data.

22. Adrian did you take notes of all the tourism events and activities that having been taking place along the width and breadth of Barbados, not to mention the high profile celebrities that took to the street to enoy Crop over like lewis hamilton and his boo girlfriend Rhianna and one of my favourite girls from the atlanta house wives claudia
    How about naming your next article “SO Captivating “as a celebration to all the wonderful good news that is happening inside the tourist industry in Barbados,
    Recently there was an article in one of your favourite newspaper in the Caribbean which gave barbados props from the excellent job it was doing in increasing tourist to the little 166sqmiles, even the mentioned of your best friend butch was part of the article.

23. Here is something nice for you to read David and Adrian see if wunna agree on this maybe u both can play shuffle board have fun

http://caribjournal.com/2015/08/02/barbados-has-big-tourism-plans/#

24. right now AC is in Tourism heaven remembering the days when Adrian could not wake up fast enough in the morning to put these depressing articles about Barbados tourist industry ,man today i am smiling no actually grinning from ear to ear,
    the likes of miller and prodigal and some other strays have disappeared leaving the field wide open to say and do as i please

God bless Barbados and may his presence continues to shine a positive light in the midst of those who had prophesied Doom and Gloom.

25. a blast from the past . Adrian Loveridge

Barbadian tourism marketing prowess used to be the envy of most of our regional neighbours.

Nowadays, ‘we’ have almost become the laughing stock in the Caribbean, when plan after plan is proclaimed publicly, then months and sometimes years later, the majority fail to materialise in reality.

””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

must i remind you Sir that Rome was not built in a day,

OH by the way since David has muzzled you ac takes much delight in rubbing salt in your eyes all by myself and also having not to response to those who would kick my butt in defending your toxic attacks on govt proposals for the tourism industry which include rhianna promotion which u believe was a waste of tax payers money,.