Submitted by Douglas
Santia Bradshaw, St. Michael South East M.P.

DEAR SANTIA,

How are you?

I read what the dailies reported in Parliament recently about the conditions existing in Barbados. According to media reports, while speaking on a resolution aimed at raising the profile of the anniversary date of the 1937 disturbances in the House of Assembly, you intimated that the conditions existing in 1937 are still present.

The newspaper reported that the Opposition MP stressed “while a majority of the population believed that the country had made progress since the social uprising, poor social and working conditions of the labour class, inequality in society and the concentration of wealth in the hands of a few, meant that conditions were favorable for fresh upheavals”.

I truly believe that your posture in debates are somewhat tainted when we can see the ideas of others germinating in your utterances. The reason I have penned this note to you revolves around your apparent shadowing of the leader. It is as if you are being groomed to take over from Cynthia, as the guardian of the gates. I really feel sad about your current political posture because I actually think you are brighter than Mia. If you just paused and took a cue from Lynette or Maria you would acknowledge a sense of independent intellect. However, your intellect seems absorbed in your quest to defend the indefensible. There is nothing wrong with supporting the leader, but surely by now you have recorded the fate of those that have gone before you.

The space which occupies your political geography is littered with your political colleagues demonstrating independence of thought. You have among your team members who are willing to allow the courts to settle internal political spats from all reports over the same indefensible. You have aspiring leaders. You have Owen loyalist and of course the Male Club from the East.

You see, the point I am making is of great importance. Look, I want to suggest that you should have a chat with Kerrie who was once a shadow of a former leader but has taken a lead in his own right. Kerrie is his own man and taking his own positions. There are so many examples which form part of your party’s history.

I raised the above to context the importance of independence of thought.  You possess greater intellect than the person that you show so much devoted loyalty, yet you seem to have surrendered your sovereignty of intellect by seeking to indulge the politics of Miaology. This country de serves a responsible opposition and as a young Member of Parliament you have that ability to deliver fresh ideas, if you would only step up.

However, I am hoping what was said recently, was not a true reflection of a member of Parliament who represents a constituency, in which there are areas with a profile of which you spoke…conditions favorable for fresh upheaval…

You exist in a space where there is upheaval among and between the opposition members. It appears from looking on, that you have three opposition leaders while nursing at least four factions within the small space.

You were at the meeting where she accused the Government of defaulting on a loan payment. I knew you believed her then as did a number of people. I know you recognized how damaging it was to the reputation of Barbados. I know that you were equally in shock when the Ministerial Statement was read and all of Barbados was alerted that is was indeed an untruth. Do you now understand why I am concerned for you?

All of the above present an opportunity to shine as the future. I implore you to raise the bar and engage in real political intellect and not submerge yourself in a future relationship which is defined by attempts to create narratives that could one day banish you to the backwater of Barbadian politics. Santia .. in closing I do care.

PS I have enclosed my contact details.

Loving Admirer,

Dougie

53 responses to “Dear Santia”

1. Hear the Ugly Man(I don’t mean Grynner).”The Minister of Finance,the Honourable Chris Sinckler,is eminent for me”.Now, Mr Ugly Man,that is all well and good if you and he were in a partnership,but you are not.You depend upon people especially the investing class to buy into your proposals.Sadly only mafia type investors like Cahill,Maloney,are the investors you attract.There is zilch confidence in you,Ugly Man and in Chris Sinckler.Add to that the quisling,dishonest fellow Boyce.You AC speak of OSA.Maybe you can ask Virgin Atlantic why they started to fly into Barbados,and why British Airways flew daily into Barbados PLUS 2 CONCORDES A WEEK.A female CEO and entrepreneur was so impressed with the Barbados product,that she chartered a Concord to Bim with her staff as a reward for their good workThere was tremendous confidence in the country Barbados.Tony Blair was seen regularly enjoying Barbados.Bill Clinton enjoyed Barbados.We were operating on such powerful cylinders that the owners of Sandy Lane push down a 5 star hotel and built a brand new one to replace it.Compare that to what obtains now.No Four Seasons up to now.No Beachlands in Vauxhall,St James up to now.Cow messing round with the former Cheffette site in Holetown but nothing being built there.Sandals rob Barbados blind with all and every tax concession they could wring out of the eminent Minister of Finance.I pause for breath.Barbados gone to de dawgs and their current handlers the DLP.

2. @ gabriel ac does not have to ask nobody anything, the BLP has a recorded history of corruption that speaks for itself steupse….u got to be kidding right!

3. Donna,

My Lord! Is this all you have to offer, Douglas?