Clare Cowan
Clare Cowan

Fireworks started  the moment concerned Barbadians entered the LESCS  and were informed questions had to be written down to solicit answers from the panel assembled, including the much talked […]about Clare Cowan. In her opening statement she communicated the main purpose of the Open House was to debunk untruths being posted on the blog (BU) and Facebook.

A very informed crowd despite not having access to an open mike peppered the panel with questions about the project delivered by an obnoxious moderator. The bottom line: those who attended left unhappy because key questions were not answered or were deflected.

The disappointment for BU was hearing responses to two questions. The first was if Cahill Energy is aware of a plasma gasification plant built on any island of similar size to Barbados anywhere in the world. Clare Cowan answered she was not aware. And the second question: how would environmental standards be enforced – to which Clare Cowan responded a community effort is her best recommendation. She added the government will likely enact legislation borrowed from the UK or Canada to enforce the standards required.

Other interesting observations, not exhaustive:-

• Cowan implored Barbadians to ask the government about how it plans to pass on the benefits of energy savings to Barbados which provokes guffaws from the large and boisterous crowd.
  • Cahill Energy is a company registered in Guernsey with two shareholders.
  • Cowan refused to divulge any details about the agreement with government and cited standard NDA rules.
  • The general EIA was completed but a location specific EIA has to be also done to accompany an application to Town Planning permission.
  • Clare Cowan denied a finders fee was paid on the deal.
  • The TP has to approve for the project to become a reality.
  • Cowan denied Cahill Energy is a shell company.
  • The cost of the plant will be BBD700 million
  • The hazardous waste generated will be shipped to Canada.
  • The Environmentalist engineer on the panel admitted he was clueless about how the proposed plant will treat with Nano particulates.
  • The panel was non committal about the source and volume of water required to support plant operations until the EIS has been completed.
  • The building of the plant will create 700 jobs and to run it 75.
  • There is no plant of proposed size for Barbados operating as a commercially viable operation anywhere in the world.
  • The plant’s design is a 55:45 mix of waste and bio-feedstock.
  • The government has given 15 acres of land to the project at a value (according to Cowan) of two million dollars.
  • Zero Waste Management is a good option to aspire and implement but it does not deal with the waste management problem today.
  • Cahill Energy will work with SBRC and B’s Recycling because the gasification plant will not accept waste with a low calorific value including metals. B’s will be paid top dollar for waste.
  • Government officials were not present.
  • Barbados will 3,000 acres of king grass to feed the plant.
  • The investment is projected to have a 19% ROI

Several other points were raised however several questions about the agreement remained unanswered. The meeting started just after  7PM and finished promptly at 9.30PM to the relief of Clare Cowan who received ‘licks like peas’. An interesting event occurred after the meeting ended, Patrick Frost of BSTU fame address the assemble and urged everyone to analyse the data, continue to have a dispassionate debate and be ready when the EIA is released for public discussion. His intervention drew loud support.

The location of a plasma gasification plant has stirred deep emotions in Barbadians living on the rock. Perhaps it is the memory for some of Greenland.

Feel free to add, let the conversation begin!

148 responses to “Barbadians Turned Out in Large Numbers to say NO to Cahill Waste to Energy Plant”

1. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David, your statements are accurate that the minority segment of our population have their priorities right re this project. After all it affects them and their lives in Barbados as much as the next person.

But you are also being very kind to Observer and Dompey re their remarks that the picture of large numbers of whites does not reflect the Barbados that they knew over 30 years ago. People go where they want to be seen and heard; maybe Dompey and Observer just went to places where many white folks didn’t want to be seen or heard!

But also is it reasonable to compare ANYTHING today in B’dos with 30 years ago?

Unless you are in and out of Barbados regularly as a non-resident you can be discombobulated with new roads and getting around although you once knew the island like the back of your hand. Consider the confusion if you didn’t know the lay-of-the-land at all !!!

If they confined themselves to a certain segment of society or did not attend certain events or visit certain establishments to which white Bajans flocked then of course this picture would be startling to them.

All in all, the picture merely says to me that a lot of white folks came early or were very keen to sit upfront and sat in same area giving the photographer an excellent opportunity to capture that group.

Frankly David it really tells me nothing about the changing nature of BIM because I have attended meetings in good ole Barbados where I saw just as many white faces among the Blacks.

It is what is …even our 2.7% Whites fill up meetings in Barbados vrs our 92% Blacks. Always used to and always will…people go where they want to be heard.

2. De Ingrunt

I have travelled the four corners of Barbados as well as attended most if not all of the events which were held in Barbados in my time and during my many visits to Barbados. And added to that: I had had a better relationship with the white population in Barbados when compared to the average black citizen because my mother worked her entire career with various white families in Barbados, and of with she took me to work with her on numerous occasions. And I had had the opportunity to interact with some of the white Bajan kids my age and so forth and so on. Added to that as young lad growing up around district A police station area in St. Michael, I had also the opportunity to interact with white Barbadians of various classes who kept their annual horse and dog show at the mounted police facility in the 1970s. I had also befriended a very beautiful blonde hair white girl by the name of Rachel Dean, who I founded to be a very decent human been. But in all my years in Barbados, I have never seen that accumulation of white, haft- white and want to be white folks in one place in Barbados.

So De Ingrunt, I once knew the white population in Barbados like the back of my hand.

De Ingrunt, it is better that I inform you that I am related to Rihanna Fenty father’s side of the family, so there is some white in the genes some way along the line. Am I supposed to be proud of that? Let’s wait and hear what Bushie has to say about it.

3. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Dompey, you make it very difficult to dispute. But you really don’t get it sometimes.

Your being a friend to white kids of your mum’s employers has absolutely nothing to do with interacting with white folks in business meetings, Rotary or Lions Club events or other such social interface.

If you are so uninformed not to grasp my earlier comments and to attempt to translate roles where you were ‘submissive’ or ‘secondary’ to your white ‘friends’ to an understanding of “I have never seen that accumulation of white, haft- white and want to be white folks in one place in Barbados” then you are lost.

I have absolutely no idea what your familial relationship to Rhiana has to do with any of this. Or for that matter where your white family ancestry becomes relevant.

Again, for your benefit. If you have never seen so many whites in one place it simply means that you DID NOT attend the places where they were. It DOES NOT mean this is a new phenomena.

Please stop and think.

The fact that you believe that your status as a child of a maid who befriended the employers’ children gives you some special awareness of white folks’ social interaction when you did not evolve and move on to the stage where you became an equal to them in that social ‘intercourse’ is laughable.

Color may divides us but ‘class’ will also more effectively separates us. You good sir miss that point.

4. An adamant minister of the environment was featured on the night news supporting the plasma gasification plant as the best option for Barbados given our environmental governance system, whatever that means.

By the way, what does Lowe’s black lips and cheeks mean? Hypotension?

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Ask Georgie Porgie! Googled info not very specific.

6. David
    Poor circulation and dirty bowels?

7. The Cahill environmental engineer posits the view emissions will be no less harmful to what is being released by BL&P from burning heavy fuel. He was quick to point out the BL&P has not made emissions records public.

8. Who engineer, MoreHamHead Ali?

9. @Guy Fox

The Alter engineer, Macrenna.

10. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

@ De Ingrunt Word

“Please stop and think”

The usually smart DIW remarked earlier while speaking to Balaam’s Donkey that the latter should cease and then, incredulously, the should attempt to think!!

I am unsure of the origins this type of sadist behaviour and predilection to self inflicted pain and wonder how, post the weekly pronouncements of the Blogmaster and his kindly, renown warnings and now legendary “thine ignorance knows no bounds” admonishments, that DIW, and others, still entertain one, or both, of the dynamic duo, the helix gene, Assie and Cretin.

Lef dem to bray by demselves, “stay away from de fire” or “if you go to the sea and drown, when you get back home I gine cut you backside”

Image dat de two uh dem is a box uh matches or de sea when you cant swim, and stan clear ok?

11. @ Guy Fox
    “Poor circulation and dirty bowels”
    …you mean ….”Full o’ shoiite”?

12. Think these people concerned about “National issues”? Maybe we should wait till after crop over ova fuh trute.

“AS BARBADOS wrestles with one the harshest economic periods in its post-Independence history, some Crop Over parties are already sold out ahead of this week’s last lap of fetes and parties”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/70348/fetes-sold-despite-tough-economic-times

13. ..so you see what we REALLY dealing wid now Hants….?
    Plenty brass bowls who are clueless as to their imminent fate…
    …and who don’t give two wuk-ups..
    We have the government that we DESERVE.
    …and are seeing the RESULTS that we deserve as a people…

Those SPIRITUAL LAWS are intractable….

14. @David July 25, 2015 at 7:09 PM “By the way, what does Lowe’s black lips and cheeks mean? Hypotension?”

There is no such thing as hypotension/low blood pressure in fat middle aged men. Instead virtually every one of them has high blood pressure/hypertension and neither hypertension nor the medicines used to treat it causes black lips. I should know since I am hypertensive myself and neither hypertension nor the medicines used to treat it cause black lips. Hypertension has NO external signs…which is why it is called the “silent killer”

If hypertension is not treated you continue to look and feel good, good, good all the way to your grave.

LOL!!!!

15. Dark Lips – Causes of Lip Discoloration
    http://www.healthhype.com/dark-lips-causes-of-lip-discoloration-brown-black-or-blue.html
    Illicit substances that are smoked are more likely to contribute to dark lips. It is one of several distinguishing features of crack cocaine and crystal meth users.

16. Bush Tea July 26, 2015 at 10:04 PM #

“Plenty brass bowls who are clueless as to their imminent fate……and who don’t give two wuk-ups..”

Bushie, how you mean the people “don’t give two wuk-ups?”

So, why you think all ah dem Crop Over fetes sell out?

Man, look, if the “brass bowls” dun care ‘bout wukking-up, all ah dem Crop Over fetes wouldn’t be sell out. Wukking-up is what duh paying to do….. lol.

17. LOL @ Artax
    Thanks Boss…. That explains it…
    We too busy ‘wukking up’ to give two wuk-ups bout Froon and his goons.

Imagine Crop-over is a sellout….and we ain’t even had a damn crop….

Imagine…
    Our main business gone from sugar to garbage…
    Instead of investing in the sugar industry, Froon and stinkliar are investing in garbage.
    ….we are actually PLANTING river tamarind to supplement our garbage.

Oh the symbolism…. 🙁

Shiite man…
    When you sink to the point where GARBAGE becomes your main business….
    Wuh yuh blise tuh get black lips…

18. Bush Tea July 27, 2015 at 7:33 AM #

“Imagine Crop-over is a sellout….and we ain’t even had a damn crop….”

And, Bushie, the sad thing about this situation is some people would present the argument that the level at which Crop Over activities are being patronized, is a sure sign that “things are good” in Barbados.

Perhaps it’s like Sinckler suggesting too many people in Barbados have two mobile phones, and used this as the basis to introduce a “cell phone tax” as a revenue generating policy.

Or, the political candidate following the “usual party script.” They, along with a few lackeys (yard fowls, ducks or goats), would canvass a constituency trying to solicit votes, while expressing a genuine interest in constituents and promising to help everyone one of them.

People buy into the campaign, vote for this politico and he wins the “seat.”

The first thing he does is to reward the “canvassing lackeys,” by giving them jobs at statutory corporations such as NCC, Drainage Unit, NHC, SSA, UDC, RDC or NAB, cleaning drains, clearing bush or as home helpers, while those individuals who assist in financing his campaign are appointed as either chairman, board members, managers or CEOs of statutory corporations, or POSTS ARE CREATED FOR THEM.

He somehow manages to get information relative to those who voted for him and those who did not. The lackeys also assist in gathering this information as well. They hang around the constituency office to “scope out” visitors and inform the politico “who belongs to him and who belongs to the other party.”

He uses this intelligence to determine who takes priority in receiving assistance and those he will not offer any assistance. Hence, those individuals loyal to his party benefits from largess and those whom he deems as the opposition are unable to benefit from any of government’s social services.

How this is done? The politico circumvents the board’s policy and orders his chairman to approve assistance to certain individuals from his constituency as well as his colleagues’.

The politico forgets his promise to assist ALL constituents, and as time goes by, his visits to the constituency becomes less and less. He passes through the villages in his vehicle with the heavily tinted windows “rolled up.”

However, he makes sure he is seen sitting “up front” while attending funeral services of deceased constituents.

By now it becomes apparent, to some people, that the politician does not have any real interest in the constituency.

19. Artaxerxes

But no politicians showed to hear the concerns of the large numbers of very informed Barbadians who turned out in large numbers at the Cahill Open House

20. Due Diligence July 27, 2015 at 10:56 AM #

“But no politicians showed to hear the concerns of the large numbers of very informed Barbadians who turned out in large numbers at the Cahill Open House….”

We heard and read of the parliamentary representative for St. Thomas, Cynthia Forde, was in attendance.

However, the fact that DLP representatives were absent, especially Denis Lowe and Sinckler, what message does this send to those individuals who have presented politically biased arguments, on BU, in favour of the WTE plant?

21. @ Artax
    “….He somehow manages to get information relative to those who voted for him and those who did not….”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …somehow manages…?!!?
    Boss, the information is collected on polling day when they insist that voters’ NID numbers are written on the piece torn from the ballot.
    It does not take much effort or common sense to realign the two bits of information after polling day to draw up a list on names and how they voted….

What other POSSIBLE reason can there be for forcing voters to write their NID on the torn off ballot slip….?
    Where else in the world is this done?

22. Bush Tea July 27, 2015 at 3:03 PM #

“Boss, the information is collected on polling day when they insist that voters’ NID numbers are written on the piece torn from the ballot.”

Bushie, that’s the reason why I deliberately mentioned “he somehow manages to get information..….”

Despite what some people may say, the evidence suggests there is a measure of truth in your comments as quoted above.

23. Are we saying sealed ballot boxes are being compromised unbeknownst to the court?

24. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Bushie it is your unequivocal opinion that at a date after elections that persons remove the confidential votes cast and search through these pieces of paper in order to marry the ballot paper to its matching numbered segment on which the NID was written prior to the ballot being cast?

And this is done in order to determine the voting record of the individual for purposes of victimization, approbation (favors, positions given) and/or simply to confirm voting habits?

And this practice is also done under the sympathetic and willing eye of the electoral department officials?

Furthermore this is condoned by both parties and they are maintaining this unethical method of voter demographic planning?

Really!

If we accept that there must be some method of paper trail or audit system in order to combat charges or attempts at voter fraud then this NID marking system; biometric match at poll station or some other unique identifier is required to validate the voter’s presence at one location only.

If we also accept that confidentiality MUST be maintained in matters of this type and that collusion by the Electoral staff would be required to reveal and match the NID noted slip to the previously sequestered ballots then your concern though understandable must be dismissed as unlikely…unless an investigation for fraud was being conducted.

I have heard of the concern previously but I am unaware of any actual claims or suggestions of Electoral impropriety in this way over the years.

What has prompted this again Mr. Bushie?

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Again, Bushie is speaking confidently about things that he knows nothing of. I have worked at polling stations and as an election agent, and can confidently say that Bushie is talking rubbish. The ballot paper and the counterfoil, on which the national registration number is written, are stored separately at different locations. One is stored at the Electoral Office and the other at the Registration Department. The only way the two would be brought together is by the order of the Court.

There is nothing wrong with the voting process and the subsequent storage of the election material. The problem comes from ignoring the rules in relation to spending, and bribery of the electorate.

26. In discussion with Bajan Yankees at Soca Royale the talk was Cahill. One school of thought was it shouldn’t be allowed. A second opinion cautioned that if Cahill left and went to another island Bajans will live to regret their refusal to have the plant. A man reminisced on the St. Georges School of Medicine the lucrative foreign exchange earner for Grenada. That school’s first choice to domicile was Barbados before Mighty Gabby the most notorious political grasshopper prior to Malik with Teet sang cadavers and ran the medical university out of town. Examples of the Jazz Festival which is St. Lucia’s biggest money spinner was cited. The promoter who started the St. Lucia Jazz Festival was run out of Barbados . The ARC sailing race got mentioned it was said extreme difficulties with local customs officers made the ARC organizers look for a friendlier harbor. They picked the island Loveridge and certain BU bloggers demand tourists to go instead of Barbados. St. Lucia for a second time gained massively from Barbados’ loss.

Cahill doesn’t have to set up here if they skip town Cynthia Forde’s collection of signatures will be as worthless as sheep shite if the plant is successful in a different island. Enough examples of bad decisions that came back to haunt and hurt our island are there for everyone to see. We must be careful not to be led astray by people who don’t care if the island sinks or swims. There are many out there who don’t give two wuk ups about the national interest.

27. Yardfowl par excellence and troll.

28. St George's Dragon Avatar

Just Saying July 27, 2015 at 7:09 PM
    There are plenty of companies who would be interested in providing a WTE plant in Barbados.
    Now here’s a radical idea. Why don’t we work out a national waste management strategy; decide whether we need a WTE plant in the first place; put out local and international calls for expressions of interest; invite tenders for the plant (including for the provision of finance, if that’s what we choose to do).
    Here’s an even more radical idea. We could ask the firms interested whether they have ever built a plant like the one they are proposing before; we could check to see the extent to which they intend to sub-contract the work; we could ask for pollutant emissions data on operating plants; we could even put provisions in the contract to prevent them from selling the deal on, or alternatively make them pay us a share of any gain they make.
    In other words, we could do what all sensible Governments do when they procure projects like this.

29. @ Caswell
    What the hell does a bushman need to know?
    Obviously having ‘worked in a polling station as an election agent’ you know full well what happens to these bits of paper after elections are finished.

Bushie never worked in any damn polling station, but the Bushman KNOWS the mind of politicians. Tom Adams DID NOT start this procedure to create any audit trail.
    All that is needed for audit purposes is a record that each eligible voter collected ONE ballot paper and had the opportunity to enter their vote in the ballot box.

THERE IS NO DAMN NEED TO PROVIDE FOR A DIRECT TRACE BACK TO THE ACTUAL BALLOT.

You can be so naive that you probably DO think that some persons would not use that VALUABLE information for electioneering, victimisation and other nefarious purposes.

BTW… there is no need to ‘bring the two boxes together’.
    All that is needed is for someone to key the data from the ballots into a database … just including the vote and the ballot slip number.

The corresponding list is most likely already created on polling day as voters information is recorded.

….how difficult do you think it would be for a ‘winning politician’ to get access to these two lists without a ‘polling station election agent’ having a clue?

The only thing on a damn ballot paper should be the candidates’ names ..and spaces for a
    possible X.
    Please use your ‘polling station election agent’ expertise to explain to us why Barbados is different to everyone else in this regard and why this potential trace is needed.

30. St George's Dragon Avatar

Our system is presumably inherited from the UK one. In the UK they write people’s electoral register number on the back of their ballot paper. The ballot paper and the counterfoil have the same number, so in theory, someone could check who people voted for – if they could get access to both sets of papers. As with everything else inherited, we have presumably not reviewed or changed it since independence.
    If I was an MP I don’t think I would be bothered to check who voted for me by going to the lengths of cross-checking voting papers with ID’s (even if I could). I suspect I would have enough information about who supports my party from knowing who is a party member, who came on the bus trip to Bath, who came to the last party gathering, who always attends the party boat trip, who I bought a vote from etc.
    It doesn’t need to be that complicated.

31. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Just Saying, you have a basket of economic goodies that all have a common denominator of being linked to Barbados and you have cited opportunities related to missed revenue from not being early adopters of those ventures. But I am unable to find the early adopter benefit re CAHILL.

What revenue will be lost and never regained if they go to another country? Please don’t tell me the investors!

How does a waste to energy site in St. Lucia or Grenada deny us the need for similar or related technology when all locations have garbage issues and need to manage them?

Some of the key issues raised re this plant relate to environmental concerns, its size, long term maintenance, actual cost of energy generated and of course the transparency of the project.

These are completely different concerns to a Medical School, Jazz Festival or Boating Festival/Race all of which are planned to be net revenue generating operations with quite manageable social and environmental impact.

You cannot seriously equate a $700M national project to any of those…unless of course you dismiss all common-sense!

32. Thanks for that background info Dragon.
    We also inherited parliamentary traditions from England, but Bushie has never seen anyone here resign when caught with their hands in the cookie jar…
    Also, the Public Workers in the UK do NOT seem to hold positions at the whim and fancy of politicians, so such a ‘background check’ would be useless for a British politician to have…

But in Barbados, how do politicians ensure that the “RIGHT” appointments are made?

LOL… you really think that it is too much trouble to, at times, check how a candidate for a PS /Judge/ Board Chairman position voted last two elections…?
    …when it is so easy to do so?
    …for people who have CLICO /CAHILL/ Sandals skeletons in their closets…?
    …and millions of dollars at stake?

Some people are soooo naive….

Simple solution.
    Remove the temptation.

33. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Bushie, I can agree that there is no absolute need for a direct trace back to the actual ballot. There just needs to be a trace back to the citizen completing the voting task.

But beyond that I am lost with your reasoning, so clarify a few details for me if you could.

How and when would “someone key the data from the ballots into a database … including the vote and the ballot slip number”,

You are adamant that this fraud is possible so clarify if the laptop would be used in the polling station to input this data or if the polling agents would capture details manually (and covertly) and then update to their dbase.

When you say that “The corresponding list is most likely already created on polling day as voters information is recorded” are you referring to the numbered list of ballots?

Can you highlight impropriety at the Electoral Dept. that allowed ” a ‘winning politician’ to get access to these two lists” despite the strict legal guidelines? Or are you assuming that it’s possible so thus it happened?

So other than your suppositions, how EXACTLY is/would the fraudulent data collection take place? And the fraudsters go unscathed.

Specifics if possible, PLEASE.

34. Just Saying July 27, 2015 at 7:09 PM #

“That school’s first choice to domicile was Barbados before Mighty Gabby the most notorious political grasshopper prior to Malik with Teet sang cadavers and ran the medical university out of town.”

I thought Hamilton Lashley was “the most notorious political grasshopper?”

35. @ De Word

I don’t care if Caswell Franklyn worked in a polling station or he was the Chief Electoral Officer.

I’m not going to argue about the security or confidentiality of the election process. But, from my personal experience and that of some individuals I know, politicians have a way of finding out who voted for them or not.

Franklyn, you may be knowledgeable in some areas, but not ALL areas. Please don’t characterize yourself as a “know-it-all.”

36. Just Saying July 27, 2015 at 7:09 PM #

There seems to be a manual or similar book of guidelines that all DLP supporters must consult before writing their party political diatribe. I realized that ALL contributions posted by the DLP yard-fowls follow the same script. They always include some reference to patriotism or phrases like “national interest,” “if the island sinks or swims,” “putting country first,” “team Barbados,” “wrapping oneself in the flag,” etc. And there is a written rule or law that dictates everyone should be supportive of everything the DLP does.

Any individual, organization, group or club that may not necessarily agree with DLP policies are deemed to be “partisan,” being “political” or a member of the BLP.

This “Just Saying” joker is a perfect example. He/she mentioned the St. George’s School of Medicine, Jazz Festival and ARC yacht racing event.

37. Just Saying July 27, 2015 at 7:09 PM #

“Enough examples of bad decisions that came back to haunt and hurt our island are there for everyone to see. We must be careful not to be led astray by people who don’t care if the island sinks or swims. There are many out there who don’t give two wuk ups about the national interest.”

Let’s look at the Barbados Jazz Festival. This was an annual event held every year in the month of January and was last held in Barbados from January 7 – 11, 2010.
    On December 4, 2010 the organizers announced they would not be hosting the Festival in January 2011, since they were experiencing budgetary or financial problems. Unfortunately, the Jazz Festival has not been held since this announcement.

Fortunately, “Tom Hinds, managing director of Damal Investments and well known producer of high quality jazz events at his scenic Naniki Restaurant and Lush Life Resort, located in St. Joseph (Barbados),” launched the inaugural “Naniki Caribbean Jazz Safari” in January 2013.

This event is under the aegis of Damal Investments, Caribbean Tourism Organization, the tourism organizations of Barbados, Antigua & Barbuda, Grenada and St. Vincent.

The Naniki Jazz Safari concert series is launched each year in Barbados, before performances are extended to islands listed above and Suriname has also been included.

By choosing to write about the jazz festival, without proper research, is “an example of a bad decision that would come back to haunt you.”

38. So, you are a LIAR when you mentioned the “The promoter who started the St. Lucia Jazz Festival was run out of Barbados.”

39. Just Saying is aka waiting, togetherness etc. It matters he changes his or her name, the BS is the same.

40. Just Saying July 27, 2015 at 7:09 PM #

“Enough examples of bad decisions that came back to haunt and hurt our island are there for everyone to see. We must be careful not to be led astray by people who don’t care if the island sinks or swims. There are many out there who don’t give two wuk ups about the national interest.”

As it relates to the ARC event, in 2007 Island Global Yachting acquired Rodney Bay Marina, which has hosted the ARC fleet since 1990.

Remember, if any “bad decisions” were made, you would have to blame the “party that was in power then. From my recollection, it was Erskine Sandiford and the DLP.

41. Just Saying July 27, 2015 at 7:09 PM #

Finally, I would look briefly at the St. George’s University School of Medicine.

I’m sure many of us who contribute to BU, would remember the coup to overthrow Maurice Bishop of Grenada, in 1983 (my days at secondary school ended in 1982).

The Americans, under “Operation Urgent Fury,” invaded Grenada on October 5, 1983 at approximately 5:00am, in an effort to save the over 1,000 Americans, including the medical students, that resided on the island.

As a result of the coup, classes at the School of Medicine were disrupted. A campus was TEMPORARILY ESTABLISHED in Barbados to accommodate some of medical students so they could continue their lectures.

The St. George’s University School of Medicine re-opened on January 10, 1984, thereby allowing the students to return to the original campus.

Based on the available information, you are misrepresenting the truth in the issues you and those Bajan Yankees were discussing. Seems as though they are just as ill-informed as you are.

42. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Artax, I don’t believe that Caswell claims any status of all knowing Oracle based on his past activities as a poll clerk or polling agent.

Rather, he cites the clear process -legal and practical – for the management of the voting documents of which he is aware and I interpret his remarks of his past activities to suggest that based on those experiences he did not agree that the confidentiality of the voting process was compromised as described.

Clearly the last point suggests what HE experienced only.

Now, sir if you and friends have experienced circumstances where politicians know how you voted that simply says something was compromised or very accurate assessments were made based on other factors. It does not call he entire voting process into disrepute.

So I completely agree. No argument “about the security or confidentiality” just a dispassionate review of the claims.

We all need to get a ground level clarity of the process for our own security and confidentiality in order to better understand how “politicians have a way of finding out who voted..”.

43. If, as Ms Cowan states in the news clip (ac July 24, 2015 at 6:22 PM #) “If you look at the plan, it has been approved by Health and Safety Canada, Health and Safety United States, Health and Safety UK, Health and Safety Japan, Health and Safety Europe, Health and Safety India”, that’s great news! So she will be able to show us the documentation from all these Health and Safety Organisations stating that they have studied the plans for the Barbados WTE plant and that they have approved them. I look forward to that. That would certainly calm the fears of the critics. Perhaps Ms. Cowan will be kind enough to pass copies of those documents to the press for publication.

44. @ de Ingrunt Word July 27, 2015 at 10:42 PM

Sorry Boss …. missed your questions (Bushie was busy … 🙂 )

You may not know Barbados very well, and Bushie does not KNOW the process for sure, but a little common sense goes a long way…
    Besides…. when you see a fellow fishing in a dry pond …he may not always be an idiot.

AFTER elections are done and forgotten, these ballots are stored securely somewhere.
    That means that some individual(s) have them under lock and key away from public scrutiny….right?

…that means that they have full access and ample time to do anything they may wish (or are directed) to do…. right?

Now we are told that these ballots are kept so that a court may request them in case a dispute arrises…..

Seriously….do you think the court will want to sift through 100000 ballots?
    An ‘official’ could therefore conceivably direct a clerk to ‘prepare a listing of the votes in each box’ in the event that such information is required by the court.

On polling day, as each voter is issued with a ballot paper, the serial number is associated with his name and NID number. This automatically creates the matching list.
    bring these two list together and it is a Bajan politician’s gold mind….

Now since such a DETAILED trace is absolutely unnecessary for audit purposes (we have a dry pond) pray tell Bushie why someone is fishing there every damn election?

SIMPLE SOLUTIONS…
    1 – Do not place the serial number on the voting section of the ballot stub
    2 – BURN the damn ballots the next day after results are finalised.

What appeal to what court what?
    …it is not even like our damn judges can count anyhow….
    …else they would be embarrassed at the number of outstanding court cases accumulating in the damn place.

45. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@ Dompey July 25, 2015 at 3:29 PM

your comments at “Dompey July 25, 2015 at 3:29 PM” are really embarrassing. you no longer live Barbados yet you still have that mystique with the white skin… the relationship you had with bajan whites as a child or for that matter on a social gathering has absolutely nothing to do with the real world. i live among white bajans and i do not give a rat’s bottom about them. i say this because they have this attitude that every black bajan wishes to be like them.. SMH. next when it comes to business, they would have nothing to do with you unless of course you are buying their product. i remember once when i was very interested in a local product and saw a white lady putting it on the shelf at the supermarket. i made simple inquires to her about the product, of course she was reluctant to talk, after all i am not white skin like her but then, it suddenly dawned her that i seem to want to purchase the product – she of course made a 360 degree turn in her attitude. of course, i DID NOT purchase it and hence forth never will. MOST bajans anyways are mixed, so you comparison to Rihanna’s dad says squat but that you seem to have an inferiority complex. grow up

46. This youtube video should be of interest to BU. This youtube video should be of interest to BU.

47. Watched the video. She seems like a lightweight. Surprised they did not hire a more glib individual to be the face of the company.

48. Grumpy Gremlin Avatar
    Grumpy Gremlin

Observer
    that would have cost too much money and would have diluted the split of profits to the ‘Bajan’ investors.