All work and no pay!

A recent survey released through the U.S. Travel Association (USTA) and conducted by Oxford Economics concluded that last year, American workers walked away from US$52.4 billion in unused vacation time, forfeiting a total of 169 million paid days off.

The amount of vacation time American’s take as a nation is currently at a 40-year low. USTA stated as recent as the year 2000, the average US worker took roughly 20 vacation days a year. […] By last year, that had fallen to 16 days adding ‘for most workers wages and income have stagnated since the recession’, which perhaps gives an insight why.

In a related TIMES article, the findings of another survey, conducted by Harris Interactive for the job and salary site Glassdoor, says ‘we’ (Americans) only take about half the time off we’re entitled to, and 15 per cent of workers who get a vacation don’t take any of it. But should we deduce that economics is the sole reason? Again quoting Glassdoor, absolutely not!

Questioning people who take vacations only to work through them (which about six in ten workers do), a third of respondents said they do so because nobody else can do their job and about 20 per cent said they do so in the hopes of getting promotion.

Does this belief have any credibility?

Again, apparently not, reverting to the USTA survey which reveals that in fact people who forgo between 11 and 15 days are actually 6.6 per cent less likely to get a raise or bonus than colleagues who take all their vacation.

Other reasons given are that respondents were ‘very’ or ‘extremely’ stressed at work or in the words of USTA President and CEO, Roger Dow, ‘America’s work martyrs aren’t more successful’ and “ all work and no play is not going to get you ahead, it only gives you more stress’.

Clearly with an organisation that represents more than 2,000 tourism member partners, both corporate and individuals have a vested interest in ensuring the populous takes as many holidays as possible. But is there some way we can better leverage this vast number of potential travellers who currently abstain from or dramatically reduce quality rest and reinvigoration time?

From 7th September until the 14th November, American Airlines and US Airways will reduce their mileage to 25,000 miles return from many cities which service Barbados, requiring one or more connections. A planned trip to Louisville in Kentucky will actually cost me US$60 in taxes and needing only a single overnight hotel stay in Charlotte, North Carolina.

As I have mentioned so many times before, as a destination, we dismally fail to take advantage of these windows of opportunity and what is perhaps so surprising, they often occur during a time of the year when we clearly need the business. The merged airlines now have well over 100 million frequent flyer members and its difficult to understand why ‘we’ seem incapable of mounting a small campaign to attract even a tiny percentage of this vast number, who already have the means to reach us.

49 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column: Opportunity to Attract Frequent Flyers”

1. Across the board many jobs demand continuity so that tasks cannot be handed on or shelved until after a holiday break or even a lunch break.
    In my line of work lunch often was to grab a sandwich and a cup of coffee taken while at our desks.

I would fly to California for work and take a week or two as holidays in Florida, all the time dealing with work issues as a necessity.

Who are the frequent flyers? They are almost exclusively people traveling for business reasons.

It’s difficult to see how that can be a source to tap into for the benefit of tourism.

2. It had to take a tourism consultant from Singapore to suggest their experience is that it is better to measure tourist receipts above arrivals. As Enuff has been repeatedly saying, INSIGHT!

3. It is a known fact that some American companies are not only encouraging employees to take their vacations but are actually contributing to these vacations. I really don’t think that every time a pin drops in America , we can have a marketing program ready.Barbados is a high priced destination and in many instances, these workers cannot afford a vacation to these parts. We also have to understand that America itself has a very large tourist industry within its states. For example: A couple living in New York may opt to go to Las Vegas. In the meantime , a couple living in the South may opt to go to New York. Added to these facts, are the well planned tourism/vacation activities and , attractions within the states themselves. A couple visiting the Caribbean with two teenage children would need a whole lot of money. A Bajan visiting New York will in most cases stay with friends/family and have some cash for shopping. Sometimes we ac as if Barbados is the only destination in the world ! We act as if we alone have beaches and white sands. Millions of Americans go to Florida for their vacations, many of them simply cannot afford anywhere else. sometimes we need to be realistic and see the big picture- something that many of the stakeholders in our tourism industry, avoid like the plague.

4. It is the reason Barbados is an expensive destination that makes a frequent flyer segment attractive to target. How many tourists do we need to hit the numbers anyway.

5. Colonel Buggy Avatar

William Skinner July 20, 2015 at 9:57 AM

And given the present state of our beaches, not to mention the streets, Americans given a choice between Barbados and a US Staycation,would more likely opt for someplace like this .
    ( Photo Credit Daniel Piraino) https://www.flickr.com/photos/aerialcamera/19651846641/in/faves-28192603@N03/

http://i.imgur.com/cCzWM8O.jpg?1

6. Just bought a 50 dollar two liter bico icecream maine is nice and cheaper

7. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Interesting that Nantucket was highlighted as it is one of the most expensive places in the USA for acommodation, with a guest house room costing US$300 and a really nice hotel easily costing $1,000 a night.

8. @ David,

Most travel advisers would agree with you,that using the Caribbean to cash in on your frequent flyer miles should be considered. As a matter of fact, the Caribbean is promoted as on of the top twelve destinations frequent flyers should consider.However, the problem is where to go after you make the decision. Our problem is what it costs to actually spend a vacation here-not getting here.

9. $32 canadian dollars for 2 litres of Bico ice cream. Is this for real or Lawson tellin lies?

10. Does it not make sense for the garbage situation to trigger a national emergency? We have had garbage on our streets approaching 2 weeks in some areas. It is time to act if not for the sake of the locals think of the tourists who have paid thousands of dollars to travel here for crop over.

11. The beaches in Barbados are certainly one of the major attractions of the island, if not the number one attraction. The last time I looked the seaweed issue was so bad at Miami, Pebbles, Foul Bay, and others they were not useable. In some places 10ft wide and 4 ft deep with stinky seaweed.

Any tourist that comes and sees that is likely to never return. National disaster in the process of happening.

12. Ramon Gittens 2nd in his heat run 10.03. A little slow out of the blocks but he recovered well.

13. @Hants

Where does his time rank?

14. @ SITH
    Any tourist that comes and sees that is likely to never return.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Easily the NUMBER 1 challenge to our future right now, but of course brass bowls cannot see that OBVIOUS fact.
    Shiite man…. Bushie from ’bout here ..and don’t feel like coming back….far less a damn tourist with money in his pockets …and BETTER OPTIONS.

Our j(AC)kass leaders are distracted with issues like getting their hands on MORE LOANS, fighting with Sanitation workers (OF ALL PEOPLE) ….and seeking to pioneer a potentially disastrous plasma plant.

If our asses are not cursed…wunna tell Bushie another explanation…

Meanwhile, we have Peter Wickham (who do not even know what a telephonist is…) on VOB every damn day promoting bulling, and Cable and Wireless talking shiite about ‘fibre to every house’….. while stringing miles and miles of ugly-ass black wires from every higgly piggly pole in the place….

THAT should enhance our tourism attractiveness right?
    Who gave these modern day absentee slave owners permission to do this shiite?

In the event we have a serious storm, it should also make restoration of VITAL services easy …right???

…ohhh wait!!! They OWN our asses ent it…?
    …brass bowls!!

15. @Bushie

What PW do you?

Just heard him say a passenger on LIAT cleared customs at 11AM after touching down at 7AM. Do we have a problem anyone?

16. @David,

4th fastest time in first round of Heats.

17. @ David

What PW do you?
    How yuh mean…? 🙂
    …always on the radio shiiting up the place with the lotta bulla talk…!!!
    Skippa, …is BUSHIE who have to whack ’bout here hear…??!!

You ever whack a shiitty lawn yet…??

Why don’t he come on BU where he CAN’T cut off /talk over/ dismiss opposing views?

Imagine a man never heard of ‘telephonist’ yet ….and talking shiite bout the bible don’t make sense to him…!! ….ha ha ha

Wuh…GP bright as shiite …and pass for HC fair and square …and he don’t get it yet ….BUT, PW (who went to (Froon-school’) dismiss the bible “cause it don’t mek sense to he…”

….ha ha ha …LOL
    Oh shiirt…

18. @Bushie

If he doesn’t know the word give him credit for being honest. Can we assume he never heard the word telephony then😎

19. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants July 21, 2015 at 8:44 AM #

$32 canadian dollars for 2 litres of Bico ice cream. Is this for real or Lawson tellin lies?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    The last time I bought Bico Ice cream, a week ago, I paid Bds $22 for 1 litre. For the foreign made stuff, you need to trade in your Government Bonds for a Litre of the stuff.

20. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Bush Tea July 21, 2015 at 12:19 PM #
    ………………………………………………………..
    And once again within the last 3 decades, we are hearing that Pit toilets will be a thing of the past in Barbados.
    Wasn’t it the Prime Minister himself who chided Bajans for having “electrified” homes with running water?

21. @Colonel Buggy,

I paid $3 canadian for a litre of vanilla ice cream today.

Even Hagen Daas is about $10 a litre up here.

22. The 50 dollar icecream was at dover, eveytime I pay in us funds I am charged about a 2 dollar premium yet when I am qouted in us and I want to pay in bajan it all of a suden becoms 2 for one. ?.At dover 3 beach chairs and umbrella 25 bwi, accra beach 40 why

23. Colonel Buggy July 21, 2015 at 3:16 PM #

“The last time I bought Bico Ice cream, a week ago, I paid Bds $22 for 1 litre. For the foreign made stuff, you need to trade in your Government Bonds for a Litre of the stuff.”

If the Government has the money to redeem your Bonds

24. Hants July 22, 2015 at 10:42 AM #

What the h..l does Ashley Madison have to do with Barbados tourism, or $50 ice cream, or anything else of interest to to BU family

25. @DD,

Wtf don’t you mind yofb. I can post what I like, when I like until David bans me from this blog so gfy.

26. It is very simple instead of. Having to work 24. 7 to be able to by icecream you can live in canada get somepussy on the side and have cheap cost of living as well, dont feel bad , you can still wag your doggy at tourists passing by for free. Hants thats because of politicians living here

27. @David,

Akela Jones BRONZE medal in high jump. sweeeeeet!!!

28. That is good, was hoping her skills had her for silver. Let us hope the two boys perform later in the 100.

29. 1 Saint Lucia SPENCER Levern 1.94

2 Antigua and Barbuda FREDERICK Priscilla 1.91 PB

3 Barbados JONES Akela 1.91 PB

Personal best is a great acheivement for Jones.

30. @ David in the 100 we have 2 plus 1/2 Bajan Andre Degrasse ( father is a Bajan )

31. Hants July 22, 2015 at 12:04 PM #

SORRY!!!!!!!! to have offended you

32. @Due Dilligence,

Sometimes I get into rum shop mode and get on like a idiot. Don’t take me too seriously.

Now I am in a good mood because Bajans doing ok at the Pan Am games.

33. @ Hants
    You seem to be getting into rum-shop-mode more often of late….
    …anything to do with the piss poor performance of your DLP? 🙂

Remember that if carried to its logical conclusion,
    that path takes you to the AC /alvin C / extreme…

BTW..
    wtf care what ice cream cost in Canada? wuh shiite man Bushie surprise um ain’t free – cause most of the year wunna cold as shiite….
    How much for a pudding&souse up there? or a sea bath? …steupsss..
    How much for a ice cream Prudhoe Bay hotel? ..probably 10 cents ent it?

34. You mean some haggis and a sphitz?

35. @ Bush Tea,

The price for pudding&souse and a sea bath for me is CAD $531 plus.

I waiting till wunna clean up de garbage and stop pissing around at customs. lol

36. I waiting till wunna clean up de garbage…..

Yuh might cock up and dead waitin fuh dah, bozy.

37. Hants July 22, 2015 at 12:34 PM #

1 Saint Lucia SPENCER Levern 1.94

2 Antigua and Barbuda FREDERICK Priscilla 1.91 PB

3 Barbados JONES Akela 1.91 PB

Personal best is a great acheivement for Jones.

Dem East Caribbean girls sure does good at jumping up

38. What is with the drivers down here, they drive right in front of you blocking you if you are crossing the road are the people here really that ignorant or is my tan getting that good

39. @Hants

There is chaos at our ports of entry. No leadership, no management. No order. Long lines and yet business at usual.

JAs.

40. @David,

This is madness. Tourism is the no.1 industry at this time in our history.

Barbados will spiral into a deep recession if the LEADERSHIP at ALL LEVELS do not find a way to end the labour problems.

41. I have to say this was the fastest in 30 odd years tha I got through customs and airport i was near the last off the plane and was throug cuustos got my luggage and out the door in less than 15 minutes

42. @Lawson,

Is that because you had nothing to declare? lol

43. I alwas have something to declare lol no I had to promise to play nice with bu while I am here

44. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants July 24, 2015 at 10:49 AM #

Barbados will spiral into a deep recession if the LEADERSHIP at ALL LEVELS do not find a way to end the labour problems.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps the leadership’s aim from the outset is to destroy Barbados .All said and done, they will still have their big bank accounts ,and real estates, in Switzerland, Canada, Trinidad and the United States.

45. @ Colonel Buggy
    All said and done, they will still have their big bank accounts ,and real estates, in Switzerland, Canada, Trinidad and the United States.
    That is what the FIFA boys thought too…..

46. MR ,Bush Tea what happened to your buddy Pachaman ?Haven’t seen a word printed in his name in recent weeks, since u ole guy seems to know every thing about any thing maybe you can solve this puzzle

47. BAJAN DNA helps to win GOLD in the 200. Andre De Grasse. Canadian Baj/Trini

48. @ Colonel Buggy,

Canada has pitbull investigative reporters so I think they will avoid this jurisdiction.