Submitted by Douglas

PM SAYS A NEW RESPONSE IS NEEDED TO WHAT HE CALLS “NEW TRADE UNIONISM”

NUPW BLP

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is questioning the union’s position on escalating industrial industrial action even though the matter has been referred to the courts.[…]

Mr.Stuart has explained that the application before the court is not a regular application.  Mr Stuart says what is more concerning is that the BIDC has made certain reasonable commitments –

These include paying all entitlements if the courts determine the retirement exercise has been wrongful. Also to pay the retirees up until September and suspending the retirement orders. He added that the corporation is also willing to pay the workers up until December if need be. According to the prime minister the union is not allowing for the established processes to be completed. The Prime Minister also hinted that there are certain powers and procedures of parliament available to the government under Section 48 of the constitution. These speak to parliament making laws for peace, order and good governance of Barbados.

Prime Minister Stuart on NUPW strike action

335 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Breaks His Silence on NUPW BIDC Matter”

1. Well I never thought I would have seen the day or night when the sharpened tongues of the blp yardfowls cease to wag on BU. After all the calls to ban ac seems like the yardfowls ban themselves. What a pleasant surprise. Like they say day run till night catches up ..Hello

2. It was a surprise to hear on CBC that the SSA had returned to work. There was no sign of SSA trucks on the road as I moved around in my taxi all day. My neighborhood resembles Mount Stinkeroo the landfill or the slums of Haiti and West Africa the bad smells and the garbage is everywhere.

Looks are deceiving having said that the tumbrick shop steward guy from the SSA in photos with NUPW top brass looks as if has no intention of returning to work if a settlement is reached or not neither will his comrades. Its unfortunate innocent citizens are taking the brunt of this potential health hazard while SSA workers thumb their noses at their employers. Don’t expect the SSA employees back at work if at all before month end. It will take until year end to clear the neighborhoods of the big piles of rotting smelling rubbish. Don’t be caught off guard if the SSA workers like Customs either strike again with the blessing of the callous leadership at the NUPW or activate a go slow.

3. In and Out aka waiting, whatever.

4. Well my guys picked up my garbage since yesterday evening.

5. The BLP is led by a transvestite!

Barbadians…..are not surprised that individual is unable to make a statement on same – sex union.

But the church people
    of Barbados are patiently waiting on that individual….

6. Artaxerxes,

Don’t lose it now! I said that neither party has done enough to evoke such strong loyalty on my part FOR MY HACKLES TO RISE IN THE PRESENCE OF THEIR OPPONENTS.

And that is the truth. I once dated a guy, a lifelong friend, who was running for the BLP and actually helped him to stuff his envelopes all the while ribbing him that it wouldn’t do him any good. Never stuffed a DLP envelope in my life.

So, though Errol Barrow had done enough to evoke strong loyalty in me I never wanted to obliterate the Opposition. I was loyal to the DLP insofar as I believed it to be in the interest of Barbados. I welcomed the Opposition so I could hear alternative views and make an informed decision.

The reason why I will be staying away from the polls is not out of loyalty to the DLP but because I do not see the BLP today as being any better than the DLP today. If the likes of Bernard St. John, Henry Forde and Louis Tull were still running they would definitely get my vote. Heck, I’d even vote for Owen Arthur!

So in this case, my friend, you definitely err. My comments were not contradictory. I never placed partisan politics above Barbados. The only B and D I care about are the ones in the name BarBaDos.

You think I name AC or what?

7. Looks like the earth tremors failed to shake any sense into some people. Guess it would take a much stronger one to accomplish that. Don’t you realize that all this is vanity? Still you are behaving “like yuh mek yuhself”. Don’t let “the big one” find you making a fool of yourself. The very person whose very existence you abhor could be the person whose hand may dig you out from under the rubble. Will you refuse to take their hand when they reach to pull you out? Borrow some sense from somewhere, nuh girl!

8. What I can’t seem to grasp about certain persons is that fact their fail to do good consistently, but yet their want to hold government at a standard above and beyond, as far as the correct human conduct is concerned. I cannot accept in my mind even though I am cognizant the Barrow have had many of shortcomings, that he didn’t any wrong while in political office, but on the other hand, I have heard and did read of Adam many sexual -exploits while he held political office. Now, as an intelligent thinking people should we not leave open the possibility that our political leaders from time to time will fall short of the desired mark of expectation?

9. Donna

As you have iterated and the Bible has confirmed in ink at this moment at least, the things we so desire are all vanity and vexation of the spirit, but somehow we have given little or no thought to this ever present reality. We are so abhorred by the actions of our political leaders these days, and we ought not be because their are susceptible to same human weaknesses faults and failings of the common lot, but somehow this has failed to register with some our advanced thinking individuals. It is no surprise that the political environment has in the past and continues in the future to fuel the desire self-interest over the collective-interest. Politics has never been conceived to be an exact science, but when you hear Bush Tea and the common herd level their critiques of government you would think otherwise.

10. Bush Tea, this question is far you small fry: could you point to anyone individual in the political affairs in Barbados past or present, who has shaped, defined and embodied the true essence of political representation in Barbados? Or do you hold the whole lot to be the pompous, self-important indivduals who are concerned more with their self-serving agendas? For me, I thought at one point that Dr. Don Blackman stood aloof of the common herd of politicians in Barbados during the day and the reason being he brought the truth to the people even if it was delivered a little above their heads.

11. Back down memory lane…

‘10,000 to go home’

12. Fractured BLP Avatar

Any one heard from or had a sighting of the opposition leader since the earth tremor?

13. Yes, saw her having lunch with Clare Cowan and Darcy Boyce.

14. Fractured BLP Avatar

Ok . Cool David. For all your ‘hard’ work associated with those individuals…..you should have been at lunch with them also.

15. Barbados , the greatest small island state in the world. We have our challenges like anyone else but still the best country in the Caribbean and the world to live.
    I have full confidence in the Rt. Hon. Prime Minister and cabinet of this country especially when I look across the aisle at the power hungry ,meglomaniac opposition leader and her band of jokers who say that they will “rescue” Barbados – Wuk fa Wuk, Tieffin Kerrie Symmonds, Trevor Prescod, Cynthia “Chattel House on Prime Real Estate” Forde and the list goes on…..

If you think this line up of BLP misfits will bring transparency and accountability I have some land on the moon to sell you, Stupse.

16. The BLP yardfowls have such negative tunnel vision that someone said on another blog that Mottley will hold a public meeting on Sunday to expose why we should blame the hon. Prime Minister for the recent earth tremors.

What was frightening is that some people would actually turn up.

17. Fractured BLP Avatar

Bajanfuhlife

You are spot on BLP megalomaniacs.

I am surprised David allowed to publish that fact on BU.

Remember……David has a vested interest in promoting the BLP leader and her band of adventurers……!

18. Couldn’t make it, was otherwise engaged with Mark Maloney.

19. Again you are correct and it explains why David of BU held another meeting yesterday with Leroy Parris to discuss campaign financing.

20. @David – Do you know who are the major backers of the ongoing BLP election campaign since 2013 , the constant public meetings,newspaper ads, etc?
    Certainly, it cannot be the 99.9% of the population which according to the BLP spindoctors have no money and are daily disappearing into poverty?

21. @Bajanfuhlife

There is nothing preventing you from enlightening the blog.

22. @ David
    Those that know, and know that they know …entertain them
    Those that know, and know not that they know – awaken them
    Those that know not, and know that they know not…educate them
    Those that know not, and know not that they know not….
    …man ban their asses nuh!!! 🙂
    shiite man!

23. @David
    Was asked to remind you of your 9:30 am meeting with Doctor(sorta) Dennis Lowe. Jepter Ince called to cancel.

@Bushie
    So do you need entertaining, awakening, educating or banning? lol

Sad to see the usual blind partisanship on this and other issues. The political directorate have done an amazing job of splitting this country down the middle and encouraging our continued collective ignorance.

Just observing

24. Observing,

That’s what I said.

25. “If you think this line up of BLP misfits will bring transparency and accountability I have some land on the moon to sell you, Stupse.”

Bajanfuhlife …. So what is keeping your DLP misfits from bringing transparency and accountability that WAS PROMISED BY THEM ????? GET A LIFE YOU IGNORANT PIECE OF CAT SHIT! They have been in power for the last 7 years and we still waiting on these lying crooked SOBS to pass this legislation. Go and craw back under the shit pile you crawled out of ! I can’t believe that you will come here and say this and for you Fractured BLP your head is more fractured than yuh rass. You are one IGNORANT PIECE OF HORSE SHIT who comes here on BU to attempt to dirty up people’s mind. BUT YOU KNOW WHAT the only ones you have managed to foul up is your shitty partners Bajanfuhlife, Alvin Cummings , the Donkey and AC. NOW TEK YUH PISSY RASS and leff bout here!

26. They will neither of them bring that legislation unless pressured by the electorate to do so. Right now our only determination is – who is smart enough to keep the goose alive and leave at least some of the golden eggs to hatch?

27. Islandgal
    Your last posting leaves no doubt in my mind, that your meals of the past few months, comprised only of Sargassum weed!

The pungent smell of your mouthings is shockingly revealing!

Imbecile…….Negrocrat! !!!

28. @In and Out July 16, 2015 at 11:35 PM “It was a surprise to hear on CBC that the SSA had returned to work. There was no sign of SSA trucks on the road as I moved around in my taxi all day. My neighborhood resembles Mount Stinkeroo the landfill or the slums of Haiti and West Africa the bad smells and the garbage is everywhere.”

The SSSA workers picked up the garbage in my neighbourhood yesterday. My household bin was not even full. The truth is too many of us manage our household waste badly and then we blame the good men and women of the SSA, when in truth we are the stink nasty ones.

to reduce the quantity and volume og household garbage do the following:

Buy only what you need.

Cook only as much as your household needs.

If perchance they are left overs, heat and eat the left overs before starting fresh cooking.

Tightly wrap fish and chicken bones, fat scales, feathers etc in old newspaper, pack in plastic bags and keep in the freezer until garbage day.

Do not put your newspapers, plastic metal and glass out with the household garbage, take these things to a recycling place. Some recyclers will ever pick up. Wash these things after you have washed the dishes using the same wash water, so that your recycling remains clean and unattractive to flies, rats, cockroaches etc. Of course you do not have to wash bleach, shampoo, detergent containers etc. as they are already clean. I keep my clean recycling in a clean bag in my back yard and I take my clean recycling to a recycling center once per month.

To reduce the volume/bulk of the garbage flatten boxes, tetra paks etc, so that you can put more items in the same sized bag.

Appoint a household garbage manager. I my home I am the garbage person, because truthfully if I did not do it it would not get done. Most men will be unable to manage the simple household strategies above, so garbage management will likely fall to the women of the household.

The 4 year old grandchild has already commended me for my recycling/household garbage management efforts, and has asked its parents to do the same, so even if I have been unable to positively influence the children yet, the grandchildren are learning and learning for a very young age.

The above is not too much trouble.

These are our homes.

These are our villages.

This is our country.

We talk about love of country but we must ask ourselves what do we DO to show that we love our country?

29. Observing July 17, 2015 at 9:06 AM “Was asked to remind you of your 9:30 am meeting with Doctor(sorta) Dennis Lowe.”

During the last election campaign, Dr. (sorta) Dennis Lowe went to my sister’s home to beg for a vote, she told him “you are not my doctor, so get out of my yard, NOW!!!”

He left with his tail between his legs and has not come back.

Politicians are no way as tough as they would like us to believe and as we pretend they are.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

30. He had made the mistake of introducing himself as Doctor.

Anybody who is not a poor great poppet knows that you do not call your self my your title.

For example I do not call myself Mr. Simon.

You leave it up to other people to grant you that honor.

She said that they way he introduced himself told her with a certainty that he is not someone that she would ever vote for.

Hee!!, hee!!, hee!!

31. I think that yesterday even mother nature tried to shake this government out of office.

32. Mother nature always wins.

ALWAYS.

33. Fractured BLP July 17, 2015 at 12:01 AM “The BLP is led by a transvestite! that individual is unable to make a statement on same – sex union. But the church people of Barbados are patiently waiting on that individual….

Dear Fractured BLP: Oh shut up and go tell the church people to stop troubling the little choir boys and choir girls.

34. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Who wields the power in the Cabinet? While the SSA was on strike, Dr Lowe, made sure that his constituency office and the surrounding area were kept cleared of garbage.
    Yesterday, just a few feet from a constituency office next door to the Britons Hill Post Office,there was a huge build up of garbage.

35. @David – given that you have such great insight into the financing of politics in Barbados, I was putting the question to you and the BLP spokespersons on the blog:

We have seen a non stop election campaign by the BLP since 2013 including political meetings, radio ads, etc.
    Since the BLP is saying that nearly everybody in this country is suffering and disappearing into poverty, whose money is being used to fund the ongoing BLP campaign?

An honest question requesting an honest reply.

Noticed I said an honest reply, not necessarily an intelligent reply so Islandgirl you are free to contribute.